DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The term “several” in claims 1 and 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “several” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The number of turns is unclear.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "intended to be mounted on the balance cock" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation is part of the claimed invention. Claims 2-12 are rejected for inheriting the deficiencies of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “intended to receive an outside end of the strip” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation is part of the claimed invention. Claim 4 is rejected for inheriting the deficiency of claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase “is intended to extend at least beyond the penultimate coil” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation is part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations “the penultimate coil”, “the extended position” and “the contracted position” lack proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase is part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, “the inner wall” and “the outer wall” lack antecedent basis. It appears this claim should depend from claim 4.
As far as understood by the Examiner, the rejection stands as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Monnin, US 3,262,261.
Regarding claim 1, Monnin discloses a stud-holder for a regulating member of a horological movement (Fig 1), the regulating member comprising an inertial mass, for example a balance, a balance spring (3) comprising a strip wound about itself in several turns, and a balance cock (1), the stud-holder (2) comprising a main body intended to be mounted on the balance cock, and a stud (5) mounted on the main body in a first direction, characterised in that the stud-holder comprises an arm (2, extending from right to left) extending from the stud, the arm being directed in a second direction under the main body, the second direction forming a non-zero angle with the first direction, so as to pass at least in part beneath a balance spring held by the stud (Figures 1 and 2), when the stud-holder is mounted on the regulating member.
Regarding claim 2, Monnin discloses the second direction is substantially perpendicular (Fig 1, arm 2 extends right to left, the first direction is a vertical direction).
Regarding claim 3, Monnin discloses the stud (5) comprises a notch (8) intended to receive an outside end of the strip (3).
Regarding claim 4, Monnin discloses the notch (8) comprises an inner wall (10) and an outer wall (9), with the arm (2) extending from the inner wall.
Regarding claim 5, Monnin discloses the arm (2) is oriented radially towards the axis of the regulating member (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, Monnin discloses the main body comprises a radial member on which the stud is mounted (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 7, Monnin discloses the arm is elongated in a longitudinal direction (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 8, Monnin discloses the arm has the shape of a substantially flat tab (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 9, Monnin discloses the arm is intended to extend at least beyond the penultimate coil of the balance spring towards the centre of the balance spring, when the balance spring is in the extended position, preferably when it is in the contracted position (Fig 1 shows the arm two extending at least beyond the penultimate coil).
Regarding claim 10, Monnin shows the inner wall (10) is longer than the outer wall (9, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 11, Monnin discloses a regulating member for a horological movement, the regulating member comprising an inertial mass, for example a balance (1), a balance spring (3) comprising a strip wound about itself in several turns, wherein the regulating member further comprises the stud-holder (2) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Monnin discloses a horological movement comprising the regulating member according to claim 11.
Conclusion
/JASON M COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/EDWIN A. LEON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831