DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Initially claim 1 discloses “one or more piston holes” and later goes on to claim “at least one piston hole”, wherein it is unclear if these refer to the same piston holes or different piston holes. For the purposes of examination, the phrase “at least one piston hole” will be interpreted as “the one or more piston holes” to establish antecedent basis.
Claims 9 and 17 each contain similar limitations and so are also rejected for the same reasons.
2, 6-8, 10, 13-16, 18 and 20 are also rejected they depend on a rejected claim.
Claims 18-20 are also rejected as they depend on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-10 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mato (JP 2000320458, English translation previously appended) in view of Hetzel et al. (herein Hetzel) (US 4,275,999).Regarding Claims 1 and 9:In Figure 6, Mato discloses a pressure relief system for a portable air pump and inflator system (see paragraph [0002] wherein this system is usable for inflation), comprising: an electric air compressor (02) comprising: an electric motor (01), a piston cylinder (05), a piston (04, 013) having a piston head (04) within the piston cylinder (see Figure 6) and a piston rod (013) attached to the electric motor (see Figure 6 and paragraphs [0004]-[0005]), the piston head (04) including a piston valve (07) that allows air to enter the piston cylinder through one or more piston holes (see Figure 6 that shows at least one piston hole underneath piston valve 07 and paragraph [0002]), and a reed valve (010) configured to allow air to pass from the piston cylinder to an air outlet (011) while the portable air pump and inflator system is in operation (see paragraph [0002]), the piston head (04) further including a relief channel (channel in piston head immediately below piston valve 07, henceforth referred to as RC) that defines an opening through the piston head (as seen in Figure 6) to allow air pressure to escape from within a portion the piston cylinder (as evident from Figure 6, when the valve 07 is open, the channel RC allows air pressure to escape from a bottom portion of the cylinder to the reed valve 010 and out of the cylinder); and a compressor housing (024) enclosing the electric air compressor (see Figure 6).Mato fails to disclose: a relief channel that defines groove formed in the piston head underneath the piston valve and extending from an outer edge of the piston valve to the one or more piston holes underneath the piston valve, the relief valve allowing air pressure to escape from within a portion of the piston cylinder when the piston valve is closed.However, in Figures 1, 3 and 5, Hetzel discloses a similar portable pump (air compressor) wherein a piston head (21) further includes a relief channel (41) comprising a groove (41) formed in the piston head (21) underneath a piston valve (32) and extending from an outer edge of the piston valve to a piston hole underneath the piston valve (as seen in Figures 3 and 5), the relief channel (41) allowing air pressure to escape from within a portion of the piston cylinder (15) when the piston valve (32) is closed (As mentioned in column 4, line 67 to column 5, line 10: “Thus each time the compressor motor is halted and the compressor piston comes to rest, the compressor is readied for startup by return of the intake valve closure strip 32 to its "at rest" position (FIG. 5) in which position the compression cylinder 15 is vented to atmosphere through space 42 about the free end 30 of said intake valve closure strip 32. Thus, on startup of the compressor, the torque requirements of the motor are minimal because of the equalization of the pressure within the cylinder 15 with the outside atmosphere through which the piston moves in response to energizing of its drive motor.” This indicates that when the piston valve 32 is in a rest or partially closed position, the relief channel 30, 41 allows air pressure to escape a portion of the cylinder 15 such that air is vented to atmosphere for pressure equalization). Hence, based on Hetzel’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced Mato’s piston head (04) with a piston head including the piston valve and relief channel of the type taught by Hetzel, since doing so would allow for the piston head to vent pressure even when the piston valve was partially closed by providing a venting pathway through the piston head (as taught by Hetzel), wherein doing so would permit for the equalization of the pressure when the pump was stopped, thereby allowing for the motor torque to be lower on startup (see Hetzel’s cited section quoted above). NOTE: Based on the instant specification, the phrase “the piston valve is closed” is being interpreted as when the motor is shut off and the piston valve is not closed quickly enough to prevent backpressure from filing the cylinder (see paragraphs [0038]-[0039] of the instant specification). This is clearly similar to Hetzel’s own disclosure of a rest position when the motor is halted and the piston valve is partially closed (see column 4, line 67 to column 5, line 6). It is further noted that due to the presence of a relief channel, the piston valve of the instant invention can never be completely closed and can only at best be partially closed, thereby always allowing some air to flow past the piston valve. The degree of how tightly closed this piston valve can reach is not defined in the instant specification and so using a broadest reasonable interpretation, any partial closing including a rest or halted position that partially closes the hole under the valve is being interpreted as a closed position. Regarding Claims 2 and 10:Mato as modified by Hetzel, discloses the portable air pump and inflator system, wherein the relief channel (depicted as 30, 41 in Hetzel’s Figure 5, henceforth referred to as RC) allows air pressure to escape from within the portion of the piston cylinder when the portable air pump and inflator system is not in operation to release backpressure within the piston cylinder (pressure equalization as explained in Hetzel’s column 4, line 67 to column 5, line 10).Regarding Claims 5 and 13:Mato as modified by Hetzel, discloses the portable air pump and inflator system, further comprising an air hose (012) attached or attachable to the air outlet (011) of the electric air compressor.Regarding Claims 6 and 14:Mato as modified by Hetzel, discloses the portable air pump and inflator system, wherein the piston valve (07) is configured to allow air to enter the piston cylinder on a down-stroke of the piston (see paragraph [0002]). Regarding Claims 7 and 15:Mato as modified by Hetzel, discloses the portable air pump and inflator system, wherein the reed valve (010) is configured to allow air forced by the piston head (04) to pass from the piston cylinder (05) to the air outlet (011) on an up-stroke of the piston (see paragraph [0002]).Regarding Claim 16:Mato as modified by Hetzel, discloses the portable air pump and inflator system, wherein the relief channel protrudes from underneath the piston valve (see Hetzel’s Figures 3 and 5 wherein the relief channel 41 protrudes from under the piston valve 32).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mato (JP 2000320458, English translation appended) in view of Hetzel et al. (herein Hetzel) (US 4,275,999) in further view of Walmsley et al. (herein Walmsley) (US 2019/0003468). Regarding Claim 8:Mato as modified by Hetzel, is silent regarding a heat sink configured to dissipate heat generated by the electric air compressor.However, in Figure 1, Walmsley discloses a similar portable air pump and inflator system (100), wherein an electric air compressor (110, see paragraph [0022]) comprises a housing (126) formed from a high strength, highly thermally conductive light weight material such as aluminum that is configured to serve as a heat sink which is capable of dissipating heat generated by the electric air compressor (see paragraph [0036]). Hence, based on Walmsley’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have manufactured Mato’s compressor housing (024) from a high strength, highly thermally conductive light weight material such as aluminum that is configured to serve as a heat sink which is capable of dissipating heat generated by the electric air compressor (as taught by Walmsley in paragraph [0036]).
Claim(s) 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walmsley et al. (herein Walmsley) (US 2022/0364554) in view of Hetzel et al. (herein Hetzel) (US 4,275,999).Regarding Claim 17: In the specification and Figures 6A-7, Walmsley discloses a method of inflating an inflatable object (Walmsley discloses a pump 400 that is capable of inflating a bicycle tire to 80 psi, see paragraph [0063]) comprising: applying a first force to a piston (i.e., force applied to piston 514a downwards as depicted in Figure 6B which would be similar to the downstroke in direction Y5 explained in paragraph [0053]), the first force causing a down-stroke of the piston and allowing air to enter a piston cylinder via a piston valve that covers one or more piston holes (on the down stroke of the piston 514a shown in Figure 6B, the piston valve 520 allows for air to enter the cylinder via at least one piston hole in the piston, as explained in paragraph [0053] for inlet valve 420 which would also apply to this embodiment and the piston valve as seen in Figure 6B); applying a second force to the piston (upstroke shown in Figure 6D), the second force causing an up-stroke of the piston and allowing air forced by a piston head (514a) of the piston to pass from the piston cylinder to an air outlet (as described in paragraph [0053], movement in the upward direction Y6 causes compressed air to exist an air outlet 422a which would be similar to the air outlet shown in Figure 6D); and providing a relief channel (channel under piston valve 520, henceforth referred to as 520) extending from the piston cylinder through the piston (as seen in Figure 6C), the relief channel allowing air to flow out of the piston cylinder (as depicted in Figure 6C, some of the air is allowed to flow downwards through the relief channel outwards of a portion of the piston cylinder).Walmsley fails to disclose: providing a relief channel comprising a groove formed in the piston head underneath the piston valve and extending from an outer edge of the piston valve to at least one piston hole underneath the piston valve, the relief channel allowing air to flow out of a portion of the piston cylinder when a piston valve is closed.However, in Figures 1, 3 and 5, Hetzel discloses a similar portable pump (air compressor) wherein a piston head (21) further includes a relief channel (41) comprising a groove (41) formed in the piston head (21) underneath a piston valve (32) and extending from an outer edge of the piston valve to a piston hole underneath the piston valve (as seen in Figures 3 and 5), the relief channel (41) allowing air pressure to escape from within a portion of the piston cylinder (15) when the piston valve (32) is closed (As mentioned in column 4, line 67 to column 5, line 10: “Thus each time the compressor motor is halted and the compressor piston comes to rest, the compressor is readied for startup by return of the intake valve closure strip 32 to its "at rest" position (FIG. 5) in which position the compression cylinder 15 is vented to atmosphere through space 42 about the free end 30 of said intake valve closure strip 32. Thus, on startup of the compressor, the torque requirements of the motor are minimal because of the equalization of the pressure within the cylinder 15 with the outside atmosphere through which the piston moves in response to energizing of its drive motor.” This indicates that when the piston valve 32 is in a rest or partially closed position, the relief channel 30, 41 allows air pressure to escape a portion of the cylinder 15 such that air is vented to atmosphere for pressure equalization). Hence, based on Hetzel’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced Walmsley’s piston head (514a) with a piston head including the piston valve and relief channel of the type taught by Hetzel, since doing so would allow for the piston head to vent pressure even when the piston valve was partially closed by providing a venting pathway through the piston head (as taught by Hetzel), wherein doing so would permit for the equalization of the pressure when the pump was stopped, thereby allowing for the motor torque to be lower on startup (see Hetzel’s cited section quoted above). NOTE: Based on the instant specification, the phrase “the piston valve is closed” is being interpreted as when the motor is shut off and the piston valve is not closed quickly enough to prevent backpressure from filing the cylinder (see paragraphs [0038]-[0039] of the instant specification). This is clearly similar to Hetzel’s own disclosure of a rest position when the motor is halted and the piston valve is partially closed (see column 4, line 67 to column 5, line 6). It is further noted that due to the presence of a relief channel, the piston valve of the instant invention can never be completely closed and can only at best be partially closed, thereby always allowing some air to flow past the piston valve. The degree of how tightly closed this piston valve can reach is not defined in the instant specification and so using a broadest reasonable interpretation, any partial closing including a rest or halted position that partially closes the hole under the valve is being interpreted as a closed position. Regarding Claim 18: Walmsley as modified by Hetzel discloses the method, wherein during the up-stroke of the piston, the air further passes through a reed valve (as shown in Figure 6D and explained as flow through the a reed valve forming the outlet valve 422 during a piston upstroke in paragraph [0053]. This would apply to the operation shown in Figure 6D).Regarding Claim 20: Walmsley as modified by Hetzel discloses the method, further comprising filling the inflatable object (bicycle tire) with the air passing from the piston cylinder to the air outlet (as evident from Walmsley’s paragraphs [0053]-[0054] and [0063]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant has argued that Hetzel’s piston valve is not in the closed position but rather in a rest position when it allows air to escape through the piston head. However, based on the instant specification, the phrase “the piston valve is closed” is being interpreted as when the motor is shut off and the piston valve is not closed quickly enough to prevent backpressure from filing the cylinder (see paragraphs [0038]-[0039] of the instant specification). This is clearly similar to Hetzel’s own disclosure of a rest position when the motor is halted and the piston valve is partially closed (see column 4, line 67 to column 5, line 6 and shown in Figure 5). It is further noted that due to the presence of a relief channel, the piston valve of the instant invention can never be completely closed and can only at best be partially closed, thereby always allowing some air to flow past the piston valve. The degree of how tightly closed this piston valve can reach is not defined in the instant specification and so using a broadest reasonable interpretation, any partial closing including a rest or halted position that partially closes the hole under the valve is being interpreted as a closed position. It is also noted that when the piston is actively being closed for instance during an upstroke, the instant piston valve would not realistically allow air to flow through the piston hole into the top of the cylinder since the pressure of the air closing the valve shut would exceed the pressure of the air under the valve. In other words, the pressure closing the valve would exceed the pressure of the air trying to escape the vale through the relief channel such that air would not be allowed to flow upwards through the relief channel. Therefore, this limitation is being interpreted as partially closed at best when the motor operating the piston is shut off. It is also noted that the crux of this invention is to prevent backpressure from building up in the piston cylinder when the motor is halted and Hetzel is accomplishing the same function.
Due to these reasons, the arguments are not persuasive and the previous rejections are being maintained with further explanations.
Conclusion
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746