DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2024 (which appear to be duplicates) are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 (and claims 2-6 by dependency): This claim appears to lack a transitional phrase and reads a “cryostat containing”. Thus, the metes and bounds are unclear. For the purposes of examination and in light of the specification “cryostat containing a cryogenically-cooled internal volume” at the beginning of claim 1 is interpreted as “cryostat comprising: a cryogenically-cooled internal volume”
Regarding claim 2: the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Further, the term “about” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear what reads upon “about” 22 x 10-6 T and 67 x 10-6 T (i.e., how far below or above the range is included.
Regarding claim 3: “the wire” and “the nylon former” lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slutsky et al. ("Cryogenic magnetic coil and superconducting magnetic shield for neutron electric dipole moment searches”) in view of Hobson et al. (“Bespoke magnetic field design for a magnetically shielded cold atom interferometer”).Regarding claim 1:Slutsky teaches a cryostat containing
a cryogenically-cooled internal volume for containing an object to be tested at or apparatus to be operated at a cryogenic temperature (abstract; section 2.4; FIG. 3; FIG. 8), cooling means for reducing the temperature of the internal volume to the cryogenic temperature (section 2.2; section 2.4; FIG. 8), at least one coil winding within the cryogenically-cooled internal volume for generating a magnetic field in the internal volume (e.g., page 46; section 2.2; FIG. 3; FIG. 8), and passive magnetic shielding located within the cryogenically-cooled internal volume, outside the at least one coil winding (section 2.2; FIG. 3; FIG. 8)Slutsky fail to teach:
the internal coil winding generating a magnetic field to cancel the effect of an ambient magnetic field(Slutsky does teach the cancellation of ambient magnetic fields and noise – e.g., section 2.2)Hobson teaches:
coils inside a passive magnetic shield providing targeted cancellation of residual magnetic fields including from external background via an integrated coil arrangement that generates three uniform field components and three gradients to improve compensation over an extended region (abstract; FIG. 2; last paragraph of “Design” section through end of next page; FIG. 5)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ambient magnetic field / magnetic noise/interference cancellation of Hobson in the device of Slutsky to increase accuracy. Slutsky already teaches cancellation of ambient magnetic fields / noise. Hobson teaches an improved compensation structure inside a similar passive shield and also explicitly teaches retrofitting existing systems (Hobson – last paragraph of “Design” section, first paragraph of “Characterisation” section”, and, especially, last paragraph of “Discussion” section).
Regarding claim 2:Slutsky and Hobson teach all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above.As combined in the claim 1 rejection above, Slutsky and Hobson:
the least one coil winding provides active magnetic shielding to cancel the effect, within the cryogenically-cooled internal volume, of an ambient magnetic field of below 100 x 10-6 T, and preferably between about 22 x 10-6 T and 67 x 10-6 T(Operating the internal magnetic field compensation of Hobson when the ambient magnetic field is 100 x 10-6 T or below yields the instant claim limitation. The examiner notes that the instant claim provides no requirement as to where the “ambient magnetic field” value of 100 x 10-6 T or less is located that is to be cancelled at the measurement apparatus inside the volume – e.g., under BRI it could even be the ambient field measured outside the apparatus.)
Regarding claim 5:Slutsky and Hobson teach all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above.As combined in the claim 1 rejection above, Hobson teaches:
there are at least three coil windings, oriented in mutually orthogonal directions (e.g., abstract; last paragraph of “Design” section; FIG. 3; FIG. 5)
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slutsky et al. ("Cryogenic magnetic coil and superconducting magnetic shield for neutron electric dipole moment searches”) in view of Hobson et al. (“Bespoke magnetic field design for a magnetically shielded cold atom interferometer”) and further in view of Meinke et al. (US 20150318102 A1).Regarding claim 3:Slutsky and Hobson teach all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above.As combined in the claim 1 rejection above, Hobson teaches:
the wire of at least one of the at least one coil windings is supported on the nylon former in a pattern having arcuate sections(FIG. 3; “Design and manufacture of the coil former” – spanning pages 8 and 9 of the attached pdf)Hobson fails to explicitly teach:
the wire being retained in place by upstanding arcuate ridges located adjacent the arcuate sections, on the inner side of the arcMeinke teaches:
the wire being retained in place by upstanding arcuate ridges located adjacent the arcuate sections, on the inner side of the arc (e.g., FIGS. 8C-8K; claims 72-79)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more of the wire/coil retaining features of Meinke in the device of Slutsky and Hobson to make wire installation easier and for improved wire/coil retaining (especially for thermal expansion). Such a modification is easy given Hobson’s former is 3D printed.
Regarding claim 4:Slutsky, Hobson, and Meinke teach all the limitations of claim 3, as mentioned above.As combined in the claim 3 rejection above Meinke teaches:
the upstanding arcuate ridges have an elongate channel for receiving the wire, on the convex side thereof (e.g., FIGS. 8C-8K; claims 72-79)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slutsky et al. ("Cryogenic magnetic coil and superconducting magnetic shield for neutron electric dipole moment searches”) in view of Hobson et al. (“Bespoke magnetic field design for a magnetically shielded cold atom interferometer”) and further in view of Pinho-Meneses et al. (US 20220236350 A1)Regarding claim 6:Slutsky and Hobson teach all the limitations of claim 5, as mentioned above.Slutsky and Hobson fail to teach:
each of the at least three coil windings, is mounted on one of three nylon formers, the three formers each including a cylindrical portion and being sized so that a second former of the three fits concentrically within the first of the three, and a third former of the three fits concentrically within the secondPinho-Meneses teaches:
each of the at least three coil windings, is mounted on one of three nylon formers, the three formers each including a cylindrical portion and being sized so that a second former of the three fits concentrically within the first of the three, and a third former of the three fits concentrically within the second(e.g., [0107]; FIGS. 10A-10B)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use three nested formers, as taught by Pinho-Meneses, instead of one former for all 3 coil windings (as in Hobson) for ease of fabrication and control and/or as they are art-recognized equivalent means for using one or more former(s) for holding coils of differing orientations.
Conclusion
/HERBERT K ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855