DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II in the reply filed on 2/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the lighting device must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5-6 recites the limitation "at least one cover". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it’s unclear if the claims intended to introduce this term within themselves or to depend on a claim which introduces this term. For the purposes of examination, the former is assumed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cervone et al. US 20220018168 A1 (hereinafter Cervone) in view of Nolan et al. US 20110121631 A1 (hereinafter Nolan).
In regards to claim 1, Cervone teaches an outer handle device for a vehicle door, comprising: an outer handle (16) including an operating portion (40) configured to be manually operated (see fig 5), and being attached to a support case (14) fixed to an outer panel of a door (see fig 2)) so as to be movable between a housed position (see fig 5) where an outer surface of the outer handle is substantially flush with an outer surface of the outer panel (see fig 5) and a pop-up position where the operating portion protrudes outward from the outer panel (see fig 8); and an actuator (20) configured to drive the outer handle from the housed position to the pop-up position (para 27), wherein the outer handle is attached to the support case so that the outer handle is fully stroked manually from the pop-up position to a full stroke position further outward (para 37).
However, Cervone does not teach a light reflecting surface is provided at least part of a rear surface of an end portion at least on a vehicle rear side among exposed surfaces of the outer handle that are exposed to an outside in the pop-up position.
Nolan teaches a similar device where reflective tape may be applied to any part of the locking mechanism.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied a light reflecting surface is provided at at least part of a rear surface of an end portion at least on a vehicle rear side among exposed surfaces of the outer handle that are exposed to an outside in the pop-up position in Cervone in order to aid a user in locating or utilizing the handle (Nolan para 30).
In regards to claim 2, Cervone teaches an outer handle device for a vehicle door, comprising: an outer handle (16) including an operating portion (40) configured to be manually operated (see fig 5), and being attached to a support case (14) fixed to an outer panel of a door (see fig 2)) so as to be movable between a housed position (see fig 5) where an outer surface of the outer handle is substantially flush with an outer surface of the outer panel (see fig 5) and a pop-up position where the operating portion protrudes outward from the outer panel (see fig 8); and an actuator (20) configured to drive the outer handle from the housed position to the pop-up position (para 27), wherein the outer handle is attached to the support case so that the outer handle is fully stroked manually from the pop-up position to a full stroke position further outward (para 37).
However, Cervone does not teach a light reflecting surface is provided at least part of an upper surface, of the outer handle, that is exposed to an outside in the pop-up position.
Nolan teaches a similar device where reflective tape may be applied to any part of the locking mechanism.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied a light reflecting surface is provided at at least part of an upper surface, of the outer handle, that is exposed to an outside in the pop-up position in Cervone in order to aid a user in locating or utilizing the handle (Nolan para 30).
In regards to claim 3, Cervone in view of Nolan teaches the outer handle device for a vehicle door, according to claim 1, wherein, on the upper surface, of the outer handle, that is exposed to the outside in the pop-up position, at least one cover configured to cover at least part of the upper surface is detachably attached, and the light reflecting surface is provided at at least a rear surface of the at least one cover.
In regards to claim 4, Cervone in view of Nolan teaches the outer handle device for a vehicle door, according to claim 2, wherein, on the upper surface, of the outer handle, that is exposed to the outside in the pop-up position, at least one cover (Cervone 38) configured to cover at least part of the upper surface is detachably attached (Cervone see fig 15), and the light reflecting surface is provided at at least a rear surface of the at least one cover (Nolan teaches applying to any surface).
In regards to claim 5, Cervone in view of Nolan teaches the outer handle device for a vehicle door, according to claim 1, wherein a pivot shaft (42) configured to guide and support a pivotal movement of the outer handle (see figs 5 and 15) is fitted with the outer handle when the outer handle is pivotally operated from the pop-up position to the full stroke position, and one of the at least one cover is provided with an engagement portion (portion covering the heads of the pins , see fig 17) configured to engage with the pivot shaft to prevent the pivot shaft from coming off the outer handle (see fig 17 and para 35).
In regards to claim 6, Cervone in view of Nolan teaches the outer handle device for a vehicle door, according to claim 2, wherein a pivot shaft (42) configured to guide and support a pivotal movement of the outer handle (see figs 5 and 15) is fitted with the outer handle when the outer handle is pivotally operated from the pop-up position to the full stroke position, and one of the at least one cover is provided with an engagement portion (portion covering the heads of the pins , see fig 17) configured to engage with the pivot shaft to prevent the pivot shaft from coming off the outer handle (see fig 17 and para 35).
In regards to claim 7, Cervone in view of Nolan teaches the outer handle device for a vehicle door, according to claim 1.
However, Cervone does not teach wherein the outer handle is provided with a lighting device configured to illuminate the light reflecting surface.
Nolan teaches a lighting device used to illuminate their locking mechanism to indicate the locked or unlocked position (para 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the outer handle is provided with a lighting device configured to illuminate the light reflecting surface in order to indicate the status of the handle (see Nolan para 30).
In regards to claim 8, Cervone in view of Nolan teaches the outer handle device for a vehicle door, according to claim 2.
However, Cervone does not teach wherein the outer handle is provided with a lighting device configured to illuminate the light reflecting surface.
Nolan teaches a lighting device used to illuminate their locking mechanism to indicate the locked or unlocked position (para 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the outer handle is provided with a lighting device configured to illuminate the light reflecting surface in order to indicate the status of the handle (see Nolan para 30).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aubry EP 1975348 A1 – teaches a similar device.
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675