Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US Patent No. 8369080 B2 and Huang hereinafter) in view of Su et al (US Patent No. 7423869 B2 and Su hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses (figs. 1-8) a positioning structure configured for a server, the positioning structure comprising: a chassis (11) defining a cavity configured for accommodating the server (AA) and a first opening configured for the server moving into or out of the cavity in a first direction (D1); a door (3) rotatably connected to the chassis and configured for opening or covering the first opening; a locking piece (40) movably connected to the door; a first elastic piece (43) connected to the locking piece and the door; and a handle (50) movably connected to the door, the handle comprising a handle main body (flat surface of 50), wherein when the door covers the first opening (fig.1), the first elastic piece moves the locking piece into a slot (20) of the chassis to
position the door, when the door covers the first opening and the handle main body moves away from the chassis in the first direction (fig.6), and the locking piece moves out of the slot so that the door can be opened (fig.6). Huang does not explicitly disclose the locking piece comprising a first bevel; the handle main body comprising a second bevel contacting the first bevel in parallel, and the second bevel moves the locking piece by pushing the first bevel in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
However, Su teaches (figs. 1-11) the locking piece (61) comprising a first bevel (612); the handle main body (41) comprising a second bevel (477) contacting the first bevel in parallel, and the second bevel moves the locking piece by pushing (fig.5) the first bevel in a second direction (perpendicular of X) perpendicular to the first direction (X).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a first/second bevel of Su to device of Huang in order to provide a smooth sliding contact between the slanted faces (Su and col 3, lines 10-15).
Regarding Claim 2, Huang/Su discloses the positioning structure of claim 1. Su teaches wherein the locking piece further comprises a first stopping surface (S1), the handle main body further comprises a second stopping surface (S2), the first stopping surface is parallel to the second stopping surface, when the locking piece is moved into the slot, the first stopping surface contacts the second stopping surface to stop the handle main body from moving towards the chassis (shows in fig.10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a first/second stopping surface of Su to device of Huang in order to provide a smooth sliding contact between the slanted faces (Su and col 3, lines 10-15).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang/Su discloses the positioning structure of claim 1. Huang further teaches wherein the locking piece comprises a locking part (42), the locking part is insertable into the slot (14), the locking part defines a third bevel, the third bevel is located on a side of the locking part towards the chassis (fig.2).
Claims 9-10, 14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. in view of Su et al and further in view of Liu et al (US Patent No. 2024/0147651 A1 and Liu hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 9, Huang discloses (figs. 1-8) a positioning structure comprising: a chassis (11) defining a cavity configured for accommodating the server (AA) and a first opening configured for the server moving into or out of the cavity in a first direction (D1); a door (3) rotatably connected to the chassis and configured for opening or covering the first opening; a locking piece (40) movably connected to the door, a first elastic piece (43) connected to the locking piece and the door; and a handle (50) movably connected to the door, the handle comprising a handle main body (flat surface of 50), wherein when the door covers the first opening (fig.1), the first elastic piece moves the locking piece into a slot (20) of the chassis to position the door, when the door covers the first opening and the handle main body moves away from the chassis in the first direction, and the locking piece moves out of the slot so that the door can be opened (fig.6). Huang does not explicitly disclose the locking piece comprising a first bevel; the handle main body comprising a second bevel contacting the first bevel in parallel, and the second bevel moves the locking piece by pushing the first bevel in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. However, Su teaches (figs. 1-11) the locking piece (61) comprising a first bevel (612); the handle main body (41) comprising a second bevel (477) contacting the first bevel in parallel, and the second bevel moves the locking piece by pushing (fig.5) the first bevel in a second direction (perpendicular of X) perpendicular to the first direction (X). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a first/second bevel of Su to device of Huang in order to provide a smooth sliding contact between the slanted faces (Su and col 3, lines 10-15).
Huang/Su does not explicitly disclose a rack comprising: a rack body; and a positioning structure configured for positioning a server on the rack body. However, Liu discloses (figs. 1-7) a rack comprising: a rack body (200); and a positioning structure (150) configured for positioning a server on the rack body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a rack body of Su to device of Huang in order to provide for storing data installed on hard disk racks in the computer (Liu and[0027]).
Regarding Claim 10, Huang/Su/Liu discloses the rack of claim 9. Su teaches wherein the locking piece further comprises a first stopping surface (S1), the handle main body further comprises a second stopping surface (S2), the first stopping surface is parallel to the second stopping surface, when the locking piece is moved into the slot, the first stopping surface contacts the second stopping surface to stop the handle main body from moving towards the chassis (shows in fig.10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a first/second stopping surface of Liu to device of Huang/Su in order to provide a smooth sliding contact between the slanted faces (Su and col 3, lines 10-15).
Regarding Claim 14, Huang/Su/Liu discloses the rack of claim 9. Huang further teaches wherein the locking piece comprises a locking part (42), the locking part is insertable into the slot (14), the locking part defines a third bevel, the third bevel is located on a side of the locking part towards the chassis (fig.2).
Regarding Claim 17, Huang discloses (figs. 1-8) a positioning structure comprising: a chassis (11) defining a cavity configured for accommodating the server (AA) and a first opening configured for the server moving into or out of the cavity in a first direction (D1); a door (3) rotatably connected to the chassis and configured for opening or covering the first opening; a locking piece (40) movably connected to the door, a first elastic piece (43) connected to the locking piece and the door; and a handle (50) movably connected to the door, the handle comprising a handle main body (flat surface of 50), wherein when the door covers the first opening (fig.1), the first elastic piece moves the locking piece into a slot (20) of the chassis to position the door, when the door covers the first opening and the handle main body moves away from the chassis in the first direction, and the locking piece moves out of the slot so that the door can be opened (fig.6). Huang does not explicitly disclose the locking piece comprising a first bevel; the handle main body comprising a second bevel contacting the first bevel in parallel, and the second bevel moves the locking piece by pushing the first bevel in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. However, Su teaches (figs. 1-11) the locking piece (61) comprising a first bevel (612); the handle main body (41) comprising a second bevel (477) contacting the first bevel in parallel, and the second bevel moves the locking piece by pushing (fig.5) the first bevel in a second direction (perpendicular of X) perpendicular to the first direction (X). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a first/second bevel of Su to device of Huang in order to provide a smooth sliding contact between the slanted faces (Su and col 3, lines 10-15).
Huang/Su does not explicitly disclose a computing device comprising: a plurality of servers; and a rack comprising: a rack body; and a plurality of positioning structures configured for positioning the plurality of servers on the rack body. However, Liu discloses (figs. 1-7) A computing device comprising: a plurality of servers ([0025]); and a rack comprising: a rack body (200); and a plurality of positioning structures (150) configured for positioning the plurality of servers on the rack body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a rack body of Su to device of Huang in order to provide for storing data installed on hard disk racks in the computer (Liu and[0027]).
Regarding Claim 18, Huang/Su/Liu discloses computing device of claim 17. Su teaches wherein the locking piece further comprises a first stopping surface (S1), the handle main body further comprises a second stopping surface (S2), the first stopping surface is parallel to the second stopping surface, when the locking piece is moved into the slot, the first stopping surface contacts the second stopping surface to stop the handle main body from moving towards the chassis (shows in fig.10) and Huang further teaches wherein the locking piece comprises a locking part (42), the locking part is insertable into the slot (14), the locking part defines a third bevel, the third bevel is located on a side of the locking part towards the chassis (fig.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a first/second stopping surface of Liu to device of Huang/Su in order to provide a smooth sliding contact between the slanted faces (Su and col 3, lines 10-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-8, 11-13, 15-16 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art fails to disclose, “wherein the handle further comprises two elastic arms, the two elastic arms are located on opposite sides of the handle main body in the second direction, respectively, each one of the two elastic arms is connected to the handle main body and the door; when the handle main body moves away from the chassis, the two elastic arms elastically deform and cooperatively move the handle main body towards the chassis.”
Claims 4-5 are objected being depend on claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to disclose, “ wherein the door comprises a first rotating board and a second rotating board, the first rotating board is rotatably connected to the chassis, the second rotating board is located on the first rotating board, an installing space is formed between the second rotating board and the first rotating board, a part of the locking piece and a part of the handle main body is placed in the installing space.”
Claim 8 is objected being depend on claim 7.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art fails to disclose, “ wherein the handle further comprises two elastic arms, the two elastic arms are located on opposite sides of the handle main body in the second direction, respectively, each one of the two elastic arms is connected to the handle main body and the door; when the handle main body moves away from the chassis, the two elastic arms elastically deform and cooperatively move the handle main body towards the chassis.”
Claims 12-13 are objected being depend on claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art fails to disclose, “ wherein the door comprises a first rotating board and a second rotating board, the first rotating board is rotatably connected to the chassis, the second rotating board is located on the first rotating board, an installing space is formed between the second rotating board and the first rotating board, a part of the locking piece and a part of the handle main body is placed in the installing space.”
Claim 16 is objected being depend on claim 15.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art fails to disclose, “ wherein the handle further comprises two elastic arms, the two elastic arms are located on opposite sides of the handle main body in the second direction, respectively, each one of the two elastic arms is connected to the handle main body and the door; when the handle main body moves away from the chassis, the two elastic arms elastically deform and cooperatively move the handle main body towards the chassis, each one of the two elastic arms defines a connecting hole, the locking piece is placed in the connecting hole of each of the two elastic arms and is movable in the second direction, the handle main body defines a installing groove, the installing groove defines a second opening facing to the chassis, a first block and a second block are defined in the installing groove, the second bevel is formed on the first block and the second block, a guiding channel is formed between the first block and the second block, the guiding channel is connected to the second opening, the locking piece comprises a guiding part, the guiding part is placed in the guiding channel and movable in the second direction, the guiding part is further movable in the first direction relative to the handle main body.”
Regarding claim 20, the prior art fails to disclose, “wherein the door comprises a first rotating board and a second rotating board, the first rotating board is rotatably connected to the chassis, the second rotating board is located on the first rotating board, an installing space is formed between the second rotating board and the first rotating board, a part of the locking piece and a part of the handle main body is placed in the installing space, the chassis comprises a frame and sliding piece, the cavity and the first opening are formed in the frame, the sliding piece is located on the frame and movable in the first direction, a pushing part is formed on an end of the sliding piece away from the first opening, the pushing part is configured for pushing the server out of the cavity.”
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841