DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Romaswamy (US 2007/0192782).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 15,
Romaswamy teaches a computing device, and corresponding method of operation, the computing device comprising:
a processor ([0037] teaches an audio engine (228); and [0038] teaches a video engine (232) – at least 228 and 232 having processing functionality);
and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having stored thereon program instructions ([0017]-[0025] teach a series of machine readable instructions) that, upon execution by the processor, cause performance of operations comprising:
receiving a first audio signal associated with media presented by a monitored media device(see 116 in fig. 1; [0027] teaches a signal splitter 118 routes the inputs being provided to the television 116 to a multi-engine meter 120 to facilitate monitoring of the A/V content provided to and presented by the television 116);
receiving a second audio signal from a first media source of a plurality of media sources (104, 15, 108, 110, 112 in fig. 1) communicatively coupled to the monitored media device (116), each media source configured to provide media to the monitored media device ([0027] teaches a plurality of audio/visual (A/V) content sources 102 that may include any or all of a game console 104, a set-top box (STB) 106, a digital video disk (DVD) player 108, a video cassette recorder (VCR) 110, a personal video recorder (PVR), a digital video recorder (DVR) 112, etc. The A/V content sources 102 are coupled to the inputs of an A/V switch 114 to route the outputs from a selected one of the A/V content sources 102 to the inputs of a television 116);
comparing frequency band values of the first audio signal with corresponding frequency band values of the second audio signal to determine a comparison result ([0043] teaches that signature information for the content being presented may be compared to a set of reference signatures corresponding to a known set of content; [0047] teaches determining whether the input audio samples 304 correspond to an audio signal that possesses a particular spectral shape and gives as an example, processing the spectral shape of an audio signal whereby increased energy in a band at or near 15.75 kHz is detected – it is understood that spectral analysis is the process of examining a signal's content in terms of its frequencies. Said frequency band values are used in determining the source content in decision processor 600); and
based on the comparison result, detecting that the first media source of the plurality of media sources provided the media presented by the monitored media device ([0047] teaches a decision processor 224 of FIG. 2, to determine the A/V content source corresponding to the input audio samples 304).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 16,
Romaswamy teaches that the first audio signal is received via an audio sensor located in a viewing environment of the monitored media device, the audio sensor configured to capture audio output by the monitored media device ([0035] teaches that to facilitate the determination of source and content identification information, the multi-engine meter 120 may also be provided with one or more sensors 128).
Regarding claim 3,
Romaswamy further teaches receiving a third audio signal from a second one of the plurality of media sources([0036] teaches “ The example multi-engine meter 200 is configured to process composite A/V inputs that include stereo left and right audio input signals 204 and a video input signal 208. The stereo audio input signals 204 are sampled by an audio sampler 212 at a suitable sampling rate, e.g., 48 kHz, and converted to a digital monaural audio signal. The resulting digital audio samples are stored in an audio buffer 216.” Thus teaching that samples are collected from more than a single source i.e., at least a second and a third audio signal); and comparing the frequency band values of the first audio signal with corresponding frequency band values of the third audio signal to determine a second comparison result, wherein detecting that the first media source provided the media is further based on the second comparison result ([0076] teaches a metering engine metric evaluator 652 samples the available audio, video and metadata metrics/results obtained from the audio/video/metadata engines. A sub-process 702 determines the A/V content source providing the monitored A/V content presentation. At sub-process 703, the metering engine metric evaluator 652 determines content identification information).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18,
Romaswamy teaches the corresponding frequency band values of the second audio signal comprise frequency band values of a set of frequency bands, and the method further comprises selecting the set of frequency bands based on a first set of trending coefficients determined for the first audio signal and a second set of trending coefficients determined for the second audio signal (at least [0009] teaches signature-based identification wherein the content shall generate a substantially unique signature (e.g., a waveform, etc.) for that content. The signature information shall be compared to a set of reference signatures so as to determine a substantial match; [0047] teaches that audio signals may exhibit increased energy in a frequency band at or near 15.75 kHz due to video signal leakage. Thus, knowledge of whether the audio has a particular spectral shape i.e., increased energy corresponding to the identified and thus select trending coefficients, is used to determine the area of focus when determining a match.)
Regarding claims 5 and 12,
Romaswamy teaches that the frequency band values of the first audio signal and the frequency band values of the second audio signal are respective power spectral density values ([0109] –[0111] teaches the benefit of utilizing power spectral density (PSD) and teaches identifying different average values of different macroblocks, so as to identify a large sum of PSD differences as compared to a video image that does not exhibit macroblocking. This disclosure teaches that the compared signals used to detect macroblocking are derived from power spectral density (PSD) values. While the system also uses template matching, the specific process for macroblock detection is based on the analysis and comparison of signals derived from power spectral density values.)
Regarding claim 6,
Romaswamy teaches processing samples of the first audio signal to determine power spectral density values of the first audio signal; and processing samples of the second audio signal to determine power spectral density values of the second audio signal ([0109] teaches computing the power spectral density (PSD) of the signals in question).
Regarding claim 17,
Romaswamy teaches wherein the computing device is a meter located in a viewing environment of the monitored media device (see 1201 in fig. 1).
Regarding claims 8, 14 and 20,
Romaswamy teaches detecting that the first media source provided the media presented by the monitored media device based on the comparison result comprises detecting that the first media source provided the media presented by the monitored media device based on a determination that the comparison result satisfies a predefined threshold ([0110] teaches “…the macroblock detector 424 then compares the sum of PSD differences to a predetermined threshold set to detect macroblocking (block 1328). …Thus, if the sum of PSD differences is substantially zero (block 1336), the macroblock detector 424 reports that the A/V content source corresponds to a game console (block 1340). Otherwise, the macroblock detector 424 reports that the A/V content source is indeterminate (block 1344). The example process 1300 then ends.” This disclosure explicitly states that the determination is based on whether the comparison of the sum of PSD differences satisfies a predetermined threshold ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romaswamy (US 2007/0192782) in view of Thyssen (US 2013/0163781).
Regarding claims 7, 13 and 19,
Romaswamy teaches the features of claims 1, 9 and 15, but fails to expressly teach comparing the frequency band values of the first audio signal with the corresponding frequency band values of the second audio signal to determine the comparison result comprises cross-correlating the frequency band values of the first audio signal with the corresponding frequency band values over a window of n time delays over a range of time to determine the comparison result.
Thyssen teaches processing the respective frequency band values of the first audio signal and the respective frequency band values of the second audio signal for the subset of the frequency bands comprises:
cross-correlating the frequency band values of the first audio signal with the corresponding frequency band values over a window of n time delays over a range of time to determine the comparison result ([0040] teaches that a measure of coherence between the first audio signal and the second audio signal may be calculated, for example, by estimating a cross-correlation between the first audio signal and the second audio signal in a time domain or estimating a cross-spectrum between the first audio signal and the second audio signal in the frequency domain; [0050] teaches determining that breathing noise is present in the first audio signal based on the comparison thus teaches determining the comparison result).
Before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Romaswamy per the teachings of Thyssen for the purpose of utilizing cross-correlation techniques for determining the presence of an audio signal based upon a comparison.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 9,641,892 to PANGER. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of obvious wording variations.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 11, 14, 15, 18 and 20,
Comprehensive claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,641,892 teaches all features recited in claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 11, 14, 15, 18 and 20.
Regarding claims 7, 13 and 19,
Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 9,641,892 teaches all features recited in claims 7, 13 and 19.
Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 11, 12, 15 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,349,123 to PANGER. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of obvious wording variations.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 11, 15 and 18,
Comprehensive claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,349,123 teaches all features recited in claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 11, 15 and 18.
Regarding claims 5, 6 and 12,
Claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,349,123 teaches all features recited in claims 5, 6 and 12.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 12, 15 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,630 to PANGER. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of obvious wording variations.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 9, 15,
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,630 teaches all features recited in claims 1, 3, 9 and 15.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 16,
Claim 2, 9 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,630 teaches all features recited in claims 2, 10 and 16.
Regarding claims 5,
Claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,630 teaches all features recited in claims 5.
Regarding claims 6 and 12,
Claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,630 teaches all features recited in claims 6 and 12.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11, 12, 15 and 18are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,695,987 to PANGER. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of obvious wording variations.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 11, 15 and 18,
Comprehensive claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,695,987 teaches all features recited in claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 11, 15 and 18.
Regarding claims 5, 6 and 12,
Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,695,987 teaches all features recited in claims 5, 6 and 12.
Claims 1,9 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,204 to PANGER. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of obvious wording variations.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 15,
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,204 teaches all features recited in claims 1, 9 and 15.
Conclusion
/DIONNE PENDLETON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689