DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-9, 11-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Macke U.S 2020/0345499.
Claim 1: Macke discloses an augment 100 for a bone implant as best seen in figures 1a,b, the augment 100 having a body 120 that comprises: a first interface (see fig. 1b- annotated below) for fastening the augment to a plateau of the bone implant (hip bone 1, see paragraph 28); a second interface (see fig. 1b-annotated below) for fastening the augment to a bone; and a third interface (see fig. 1b-annotated below) to a fastening element for anchoring the bone implant in a medullary cavity of the bone, the third interface extending between the first interface and the second interface, and the body having an undercut (the cut out area 134 or the cut out area 496, fig. 4a) at the third interface.
Claims 2-3: Macke discloses wherein the bone implant is for a tibia or a
Femur (see paragraph 17)., wherein the undercut comprises a conical or concave course (see claim 34 of Macke) of the body from the second interface to the first interface.
Claims 5, 8, 11: Macke discloses wherein: the second interface (around the area 124, fig. 1b) extends in a plane, the undercut (around area 134, fig. 1b or around area 496, fig. 4a) comprises a wall of the body that is arranged at least in sections at an angle to the plane; wherein the body tapers (see fig. 1b) outside the third interface from the first interface to the second interface.
Claims 9, 12-13: Macke discloses wherein: the second interface (the area around 124, fig. 1b) extends in a plane, and the body extends outside the third interface from the first interface to the second interface at an angle to the plane;wherein: the body comprises a circumferential area extending between the first interface and the second interface (see annotated fig. 1b above), and the circumferential area comprises the third interface to the fastening element (see paragraph 28); wherein the circumferential area has a rough surface at least in sections.
Claims 14-16: Macke discloses wherein an area outside the third interface has a smooth surface; wherein: the third interface comprises a portion of a circumference of the body extending between the first interface and the second interface, and the undercut extends along the portion of the circumference of the body. , wherein the undercut extends over all of the portion of the circumference (see fig. 1 b annotated above).
Claims 19-20: Macke discloses wherein: the at least two augments comprise a first augment 100a and a second augment 100b, the first augment and the second augment are arrangeable against each other, and the first interface of the first augment is connectable to the second interface of the second augment to connect the first augment to the second augment. , wherein the third interface of the second augment is formed without an undercut (see paragraphs 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macke.
Claim(s) 6-7, 10: Macke disclose the invention substantially as claimed but is silent regarding wherein the angle is between 89° and 45° to the plane; wherein the angle is between 89° and 79° to the plane; wherein the angle is 90° to the plane.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the device of Macke by making the angle is between 89° and 45° to the plane; wherein the angle is between 89° and 79° to the plane; wherein the angle is 90° to the plane, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior arts and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device" Gardner V. Tec Syst., Inc., 725 F. 2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984). In the instant case it appears there has been no critically placed on the specific angle of the body wall, as evidence in applicant's specification at paragraph 6, wherein the ranges and values are given with no preference to one over another nor any evidence of unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771