Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 9, 11, 13, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20210219255 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses:
“A timing advance obtaining method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, first information from a network device, wherein the first information indicates the terminal device to perform random access to a first cell, and the first cell is a non-serving cell of the terminal device;” ([¶ 0051]: “As shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 310, the serving cell may transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order to the UE 120. The PDCCH order may trigger transmission, by the UE 120, of a RACH preamble on the non-serving cell.”)
“sending, by the terminal device, a random access preamble corresponding to the first cell to the network device based on the first information; and” ([¶ 0050]: “The serving cell and the non-serving cell can be provided by the same BS 110...”; [¶ 0052]: “As shown by reference number 320, the UE 120 may transmit a RACH preamble on the non-serving cell based at least in part on the PDCCH order.”)
“receiving, by the terminal device, a random access response message from the network device, wherein the random access response message comprises a first timing advance corresponding to the first cell.” ([¶ 0053]: “As shown by reference numbers 350 and 360, the UE 120 may receive a RACH response on the serving cell (e.g., a PCell, SCell, or SPCell) and/or the non-serving cell. For example, the RACH response may identify the timing advance.”)
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhang further discloses “receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information of the first cell from the network device, wherein the configuration information comprises one or more of the identifier of the first cell, synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) information corresponding to the first cell, or random access information of the first cell, the SSB information corresponding to the first cell comprises one or more of an SSB set, an SSB periodicity, or SSB transmit power, and the random access information of the first cell comprises one or more of random access preamble information, random access channel occasion information, or an association relationship between an SSB and a random access channel occasion.” ([¶ 0054]: “In some aspects, the non-serving cell to which the timing advance relates may be identified by a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the non-serving cell. In some aspects, a non-serving cell (e.g., each non-serving cell) may be associated with a corresponding TAG identifier, which may be signaled to the UE 120 using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), downlink control information (DCI), and/or the like.”)
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses:
“A timing advance obtaining method, comprising: sending, by a network device, first information to a terminal device, wherein the first information indicates the terminal device to perform random access to a first cell, and the first cell is a non-serving cell of the terminal device;” ([¶ 0051]: “As shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 310, the serving cell may transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order to the UE 120. The PDCCH order may trigger transmission, by the UE 120, of a RACH preamble on the non-serving cell.”)
“receiving, by the network device from the terminal device, a random access preamble corresponding to the first cell;” ([¶ 0050]: “The serving cell and the non-serving cell can be provided by the same BS 110...”; [¶ 0052]: “As shown by reference number 320, the UE 120 may transmit a RACH preamble on the non-serving cell based at least in part on the PDCCH order.”)
“determining, by the network device, a first timing advance of the first cell based on the random access preamble; and” ([¶ 0052]: “The UE 120 may transmit the RACH preamble so that the BS 110 associated with the serving cell and/or the B S 110 associated with the non-serving cell can determine a timing advance for the UE 120 based at least in part on a transmission time or RACH resource associated with the RACH preamble and a propagation delay associated with the RACH preamble.”)
“sending, by the network device, a random access response message to the terminal device, wherein the random access response message comprises the first timing advance.” ([¶ 0053]: “As shown by reference numbers 350 and 360, the UE 120 may receive a RACH response on the serving cell (e.g., a PCell, SCell, or SPCell) and/or the non-serving cell. For example, the RACH response may identify the timing advance.”)
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhang further discloses “sending, by the network device, configuration information of the first cell to the terminal device, wherein the configuration information comprises one or more of the identifier of the first cell, synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) information corresponding to the first cell, or random access information of the first cell, the SSB information corresponding to the first cell comprises one or more of an SSB set, an SSB periodicity, or SSB transmit power, and the random access information of the first cell comprises one or more of random access preamble information, random access channel occasion information, or an association relationship between an SSB and a random access channel occasion.” ([¶ 0054]: “In some aspects, the non-serving cell to which the timing advance relates may be identified by a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the non-serving cell. In some aspects, a non-serving cell (e.g., each non-serving cell) may be associated with a corresponding TAG identifier, which may be signaled to the UE 120 using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), downlink control information (DCI), and/or the like.”)
Claims 11, 13, 17, and 19 are similar to claims 1, 3, 7, and 9 with the differences amounting to that claims 1, 3, 7, and 9 are directed towards a method while claims 11, 13, 17, and 19 are directed towards an apparatus containing generic hardware. Such hardware is taught by Zhang in Fig. 2. Thus, claims 11, 13, 17, and 19 are rejected for similar reasons to claims 1, 3, 7, and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20210219255 A1) in view of Chen (US 20160205705 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first information comprises one or more of an identifier of the first cell, a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) identifier corresponding to the first cell, an identifier of the random access preamble, a random access channel occasion indication, or a physical random access channel mask index.”
However, Chen discloses the missing feature “wherein the first information comprises one or more of an identifier of the first cell, a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) identifier corresponding to the first cell, an identifier of the random access preamble, a random access channel occasion indication, or a physical random access channel mask index.” ([¶ 0173]: “Here, the PDCCH order contains an identifier of cell 3, which may specifically be a cell identifier or a serving cell identifier or another indication method for indicating cell 3. The PDCCH order also contains the dedicated random access preamble index allocated to the UE, and it is supposed that the dedicated random access preamble index allocated to the UE is 60.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhang and Chen, to modify the PDCCH order as disclosed by Zhang, to include cell and preamble identifiers as disclosed by Chen. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility in an efficient manner. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang with Chen to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first cell and the random access preamble identifier are indicated by the first information.”
However, Chen discloses the missing feature “wherein the first cell and the random access preamble identifier are indicated by the first information.” ([¶ 0173]: “Here, the PDCCH order contains an identifier of cell 3, which may specifically be a cell identifier or a serving cell identifier or another indication method for indicating cell 3. The PDCCH order also contains the dedicated random access preamble index allocated to the UE, and it is supposed that the dedicated random access preamble index allocated to the UE is 60.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhang and Chen, to modify the PDCCH order as disclosed by Zhang, to include cell and preamble identifiers as disclosed by Chen. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility in an efficient manner. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang with Chen to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first information comprises a field, and the field is used to indicate a serving cell or the first cell.”
However, Chen discloses the missing feature “wherein the first information comprises a field, and the field is used to indicate a serving cell or the first cell.” ([¶ 0173]: “Here, the PDCCH order contains an identifier of cell 3, which may specifically be a cell identifier or a serving cell identifier or another indication method for indicating cell 3. The PDCCH order also contains the dedicated random access preamble index allocated to the UE, and it is supposed that the dedicated random access preamble index allocated to the UE is 60.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhang and Chen, to modify the PDCCH order as disclosed by Zhang, to include a cell identifier field as disclosed by Chen. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility in an efficient manner. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang with Chen to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first information comprises one or more of an identifier of the first cell, a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) identifier corresponding to the first cell, an identifier of the random access preamble, a random access channel occasion indication, or a physical random access channel mask index.”
However, Chen discloses the missing feature “wherein the first information comprises one or more of an identifier of the first cell, a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) identifier corresponding to the first cell, an identifier of the random access preamble, a random access channel occasion indication, or a physical random access channel mask index.” ([¶ 0173]: “Here, the PDCCH order contains an identifier of cell 3, which may specifically be a cell identifier or a serving cell identifier or another indication method for indicating cell 3. The PDCCH order also contains the dedicated random access preamble index allocated to the UE, and it is supposed that the dedicated random access preamble index allocated to the UE is 60.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhang and Chen, to modify the PDCCH order as disclosed by Zhang, to include cell and preamble identifiers as disclosed by Chen. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility in an efficient manner. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang with Chen to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first information comprises a field, and the field is used to indicate a serving cell or the first cell.”
However, Chen discloses the missing feature “wherein the first information comprises a field, and the field is used to indicate a serving cell or the first cell.” ([¶ 0173]: “Here, the PDCCH order contains an identifier of cell 3, which may specifically be a cell identifier or a serving cell identifier or another indication method for indicating cell 3. The PDCCH order also contains the dedicated random access preamble index allocated to the UE, and it is supposed that the dedicated random access preamble index allocated to the UE is 60.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhang and Chen, to modify the PDCCH order as disclosed by Zhang, to include a cell identifier field as disclosed by Chen. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility in an efficient manner. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang with Chen to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claims 12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected for similar reasons to claims 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20210219255 A1) in view of Zhu (US 20220210825 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose “wherein the sending, by the terminal device, the random access preamble corresponding to the first cell to the network device based on the first information comprises: sending, by the terminal device, the random access preamble to the network device based on a first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) corresponding to an SSB identifier of the first cell.”
However, Zhu discloses the missing feature “wherein the sending, by the terminal device, the random access preamble corresponding to the first cell to the network device based on the first information comprises: sending, by the terminal device, the random access preamble to the network device based on a first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) corresponding to an SSB identifier of the first cell.” ([¶ 0217]: “For a PRACH transmission triggered by a PDCCH order, the PRACH mask index field (described in the 3GPP TS 38.212 clause 5), if the value of the random access preamble index field is not zero, could indicate the PRACH occasion for the PRACH transmission where the PRACH occasions are associated with the entity ID/SSB index associated with an entity ID indicated by the corresponding field(s) of the PDCCH order.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhang and Zhu, to modify the random access preamble as disclosed by Zhang, to an SSB identifier as disclosed by Zhu. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang with Zhu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claim 15 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 5.
Conclusion
/SAAD KHAWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412