DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/23/2025, 7/14/2025, 11/21/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ericsson “New Solution to KI of Emergency Services for UE-to-Network Relaying” – of record, hereinafter Ericsson.
Regarding claim 1 Ericsson discloses a communication method, wherein the method comprises: determining, by a relay terminal, that a network accessed by the relay terminal supports an emergency service (e.g., “5GC indicates emergency service support indicator…”); and sending, by the relay terminal, a first message useable for a remote terminal discovering the relay terminal, wherein the first message is a first discovery message (e.g., “…announces emergency support…”), and the first discovery message comprises a relay service code corresponding to the emergency service (e.g., “announces only support of emergency service…”); or the first message is a response message responsive to a second discovery message from the remote terminal, and the second discovery message comprises a relay service code corresponding to the emergency service (e.g., “announces only support of emergency service…”).
Regarding claim 2 Ericsson further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the relay terminal, that the network accessed by the relay terminal supports the emergency service comprises: determining, by the relay terminal, that the relay terminal has received an emergency service support indicator from an access and mobility management function network element or an access network device; wherein the emergency service support indicator indicates that the network accessed by the relay terminal supports the emergency service (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 3 Ericsson further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the relay terminal, the second discovery message (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 4 Ericsson further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the relay terminal, first configuration information from a policy control function network element, wherein the first configuration information comprises the relay service code corresponding to the emergency service (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 5 Ericsson further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the relay terminal, a seventh message from the remote terminal, wherein the seventh message requests to establish a connection to the relay terminal for transmission of the emergency service; and upon receiving the seventh message, in response to the relay terminal having no emergency protocol data unit (PDU) session for the transmission of the emergency service, requesting, by the relay terminal, to establish an emergency PDU session (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 6 Ericsson further discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the seventh message is a direct communication request message (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 7 Ericsson discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: a memory, configured to store a computer program; and at least one processor, configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory, to enable the apparatus to: determine that a network accessed by a relay terminal supports an emergency service (e.g., “5GC indicates emergency service support indicator…”); and send a first message useable for a remote terminal discovering the relay terminal (e.g., “…announces emergency support…”), wherein the first message is a first discovery message, and the first discovery message comprises a relay service code corresponding to the emergency service (e.g., “announces only support of emergency service…”); or the first message is a response message responsive to a second discovery message from the remote terminal, and the second discovery message comprises a relay service code corresponding to the emergency service (e.g., “announces only support of emergency service…”).
Regarding claim 8 Ericsson further discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to enable the apparatus to: determine that the relay terminal has received an emergency service support indicator from an access and mobility management function network element or an access network device; wherein the emergency service support indicator indicates that the network accessed by the relay terminal supports the emergency service (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 9 Ericsson further discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to enable the apparatus to receive the second discovery message (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 10 Ericsson further discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to enable the apparatus to: receive first configuration information from a policy control function network element, wherein the first configuration information comprises the relay service code corresponding to the emergency service (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 11 Ericsson further discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to enable the apparatus to: receive a seventh message from the remote terminal, wherein the seventh message requests to establish a connection to the relay terminal for transmission of the emergency service; and upon receiving the seventh message, in response to the relay terminal having no emergency protocol data unit (PDU) session for the transmission of the emergency service, request to establish an emergency PDU session (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 12 Ericsson further discloses the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the seventh message is a direct communication request message (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 13 Ericsson discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program executable on at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to perform: determining that a network accessed by a relay terminal supports an emergency service (e.g., “5GC indicates emergency service support indicator…”); and sending a first message useable for a remote terminal discovering the relay terminal, wherein the first message is a first discovery message (e.g., “…announces emergency support…”), and the first discovery message comprises a relay service code corresponding to the emergency service (e.g., “announces only support of emergency service…”); or the first message is a response message responsive to a second discovery message from the remote terminal, and the second discovery message comprises a relay service code corresponding to the emergency service (e.g., “announces only support of emergency service…”).
Regarding claim 14 Ericsson further discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the computer program is executable on the at least one processor to further enable the at least one processor to perform: determining that the relay terminal has received an emergency service support indicator from an access and mobility management function network element or an access network device; wherein the emergency service support indicator indicates that the network accessed by the relay terminal supports the emergency service (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 15 Ericsson further discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the computer program is executable on the at least one processor to further enable the at least one processor to perform: receiving the second discovery message (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 16 Ericsson further discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the computer program is executable on the at least one processor to further enable the at least one processor to perform: receiving first configuration information from a policy control function network element, wherein the first configuration information comprises the relay service code corresponding to the emergency service (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 17 Ericsson further discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the computer program is executable on the at least one processor to further enable the at least one processor to perform: receiving a seventh message from the remote terminal, wherein the seventh message requests to establish a connection to the relay terminal for transmission of the emergency service; and upon receiving the seventh message, in response to the relay terminal having no emergency protocol data unit (PDU) session for the transmission of the emergency service, requesting to establish an emergency PDU session (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 18 Ericsson further discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 17, wherein the seventh message is a direct communication request message (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 19 Ericsson further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message comprises at least one of an emergency registration indicator or emergency registration time information for the remote terminal to perform relay selection (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Regarding claim 20 Ericsson further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message is the response message responsive to the second discovery message from the remote terminal, and the sending, by the relay terminal, the first message comprises: in response to the relay service code in the second discovery message matching a relay service code stored in the relay terminal, sending the first message (e.g., see 5GC indicates emergency service support indicator in registration acceptance to UE; see also “5G Prs Se UE-to-Network Relay needs to handle emergency access request from a remote UE”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Applicant’s disclosure of multiple International Search Reports (ISRs) contain additional references and analysis considered highly relevant to the current application. The Examiner suggests examining these references and distinguishing the current claims from the cited prior art. The Examiner suggests an interview if it will help advance prosecution of this application.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845