DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Any references to applicant’s specification are made by way of applicant’s U.S. pre-grant printed patent publication.
This action is in response to the communication filed on 10/24/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 16, the applicant’s original disclosure does not describe how the termination of virtual machines is “based” on collecting log data. At best, the applicant only discloses that the termination of virtual machines occurs after or subsequent to the collection of log data (e.g. Specification, par. 27, 48).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17, the applicant’s original disclosure does not describe that the determination of a type of software sample is “based” upon the queue in which the sample is queued. Rather, the applicant’s disclosure states essentially the opposite notion - specifically that the virtual machine manager first identifies the type of software sample so as to later determine a queue for the sample (e.g. Specification, par. 18).
Claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 16, the recitation “…terminating the … child virtual machines based on collecting the log data …” renders the scope of the claims indefinite. Specifically, the examiner notes that those having ordinary skill in the art understand that correlation does not equal causation. Thus, while the action of shutting down a virtual machine and the action of collecting log data may be related in time – such as in the termination of a VM occurs after the collection of log data – the correlation of these two events does not suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that the action of collecting log data is the basis (i.e. “based on”) for the action of terminating the virtual machine.
Furthermore, the act of terminating a VM is unrelated and distinct from the act of collecting log data. Specifically, terminating a VM does not require nor depend upon a collection of log data, and the collection of log data does not require nor necessitate terminating a VM. Thus, it is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art as to the meaning of the claimed actions of termination being “based on” the collection.
Furthermore, the applicant’s disclosure fails to describe any such relationship, i.e. that VM termination is “based on” log data collection, other than that the termination occurs subsequently to the log data collection (e.g. Specification, par. 27, 48).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17, the recitation of “… determining the type of the software sample is based on one of a plurality of queues in which the software sample was queued … “ renders the scope of the claims indefinite.
Specifically, one of ordinary skill in the art would fail to understand why software samples are claimed as being determined based on the queue in which the sample is placed. Particularly, it does not make logical sense to first place software samples into distinct queues before the type of software sample has even been determined or identified – and then subsequently use the queue as the basis for determining the type of software sample. Rather, as is originally disclosed (e.g. Specification, par. 18), one of ordinary skill in the art would first determine the type of software sample, and then use the type of software sample as the basis for placing the software sample into an appropriate queue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ismael, US 2014/0337836 A1, in view of Tarasuk-Levin et al. (Levin), US 2018/0060104 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Ismael discloses:
A method comprising: booting a plurality of virtual machines (e.g. Ismael, fig. 4:410-415, 460-465) wherein each of the plurality of virtual machines has installed thereon a corresponding one of a plurality of guest operating systems (e.g. Ismael, par. 14, 16, 65, 69, 71 – herein each VM of the plurality of VMs may be instantiated with a different software profile, including a different type of guest operating system);
for each software sample of a plurality of software samples queued for malware analysis (e.g. Ismael, fig. 2:220; fig. 3:320; par. 4, 41, 42, 47, 49, 64-67), determining one or more guest operating systems of the plurality of guest operating systems with which the software sample is compatible based on a type of the software sample, wherein the one or more of the guest operating systems correspond to one or more virtual machines of the plurality of virtual machines (e.g. Ismael, par. 13, 25, 45-47, 65, 71, 72 – herein the suspicious malware samples are supplied to one or more VM’s (each having guest OSes) corresponding to a profile of the targeted operating system environment).
While Ismael discloses “cloning” virtual machines, Ismael does not appear to explicitly teach that such “cloning” is performed by “forking”.
Levin, however, teaches the cloning of virtual machines, wherein such cloning is performed by “forking” (e.g. Levin, par. 12, 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the “forking” teachings of Levin, and the operations associated with the forking, within the virtual machine cloning system of Ismael. This would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the teachings that “forking” a VM is the method for cloning the VM (i.e. Levin, par. 16 – “…forking, or cloning, …”).
Thus, the combination enables:
creating one or more child virtual machines based on forking the one or more virtual machines with a copy-on-write implemented fork (e.g. Ismael, par. 14-16, 72, 73; Levin, par. 16);
loading the software sample into each of the one or more child virtual machines (e.g. Ismael, par. 35, 47, 53);
and indicating if the software sample comprises malware based on analyzing behavior of the software sample in each of the one or more child virtual machines (e.g. Ismael, par. 54).
Regarding claim 2, the combination enables:
further comprising collecting log data from the one or more child virtual machines that indicate execution behavior of the software sample in the one or more child virtual machines, wherein analyzing behavior of the software sample comprises analyzing the log data (e.g. Ismael, par. 60, 67, 68).
.
Regarding claim 3, as best understood in view of the above noted issues of clarity, the combination enables:
further comprising terminating the one or more child virtual machines based on collecting the log data from the one or more child virtual machines (e.g. Ismael, par. 78, 81; Fig. 7a:725 – execution is completed, i.e. “terminated”, after analysis and event logging is collected).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood in view of the above noted issues of clarity, the combination enables:
determining the type of the software sample, wherein determining the type of the software sample is based on one of a plurality of queues in which the software sample was queued for malware analysis, wherein the plurality of queues corresponds to a plurality of types of software samples (e.g. Ismael, par. 33, 39, 47-49, 72).
Regarding claim 5, the combination enables:
wherein the plurality of guest operating systems comprise two or more versions of a first operating system, and wherein forking the one or more virtual machines comprises forking a subset of the plurality of virtual machines that corresponds to the two or more versions of the first operating system (e.g. Ismael, par. 13, 16, 18, 33, 47, 48, 61; Levin, Abstract; par. 80).
Regarding claim 6, the combination enables:
wherein forking the one or more virtual machines with a copy-on-write implemented fork comprises, for each of the one or more virtual machines, issuing a fork system call to create a corresponding one of the one or more child virtual machines, wherein the fork system call is implemented with copy-on-write (e.g. Ismael, par. 14-16, 72, 73; Levin, par. 14, 22, 85, 86).
Regarding claim 7, the combination enables:
further comprising pausing or quiescing each of the one or more virtual machines before forking the one or more virtual machines (e.g. Levin, Abstract; par. 2, 12-16, 22, 33-35; par. Ismael, par. 47-49).
Regarding claims 8 – 20 and 22, they are medium and apparatus claims, essentially corresponding to the method claims above, and they are rejected, at least, for the same reasons. Furthermore, Ismael discloses the recited medium, instructions, and processor (e.g. Ismael, par. 20, 21).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
See Notice of References Cited.
/JEFFERY L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495