DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fixed clamp position (claim 5; see 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection below) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4, “the rear end” should read ---a rear end---
Claim 1, line 6, “the foot” should read ---a foot of a user---
Claim 1, line 8, “the bottom” should read ---a bottom---
Claim 1, line 9, “a exercising counterweight member” should read ---an exercising counterweight member---
Claim 2, line 3, “the lower ends” should read ---lower ends---
Claim 2, line 6, “the upper end” should read ---an upper end---
Claim 2, line 7, “the upper end” should read ---an upper end---
Claim 3, line 6, “the bottom surface” should read ---a bottom surface---
Claim 3, line 16, “the inner side” should read ---an inner side---
Claim 4, line 3, “the left and right sides” should read ---left and right sides---
Claim 5, line 1, “the top” should read ---a top---
Claim 5, line 2, “the top” should read ---a top---
Claim 6, lines 1-2, “the upper surface” should read ---an upper surface---
Claim 6, lines 2-3, “the inner surfaces” should read ---inner surfaces---
Claim 7, line 3, “the inner side” should read ---an inner side---
Claim 7, line 5, “the left and right sides” should read ---left and right sides---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a counterweight fixing member (claim 1); a locking structure (claim 1).
The counterweight fixing member, with generic placeholder “member” coupled with functional language “counterweight fixing” and not modified by sufficient structure, has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure(s) of a left clip, a right clip, and a fixed installation portion (par. [0026]).
The locking structure, with generic placeholder “structure” coupled with functional language “locking” and not modified by sufficient structure, has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure(s) of an adjustable lace (par. [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the buckle and a fixed clamp position are arranged to buckle with each other” in lines 3-4. It is unclear if “a fixed clamp position” is a structure or merely a location. See drawing objection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Theofilos (US 2023/0330470).
Regarding independent claim 1, Theofilos discloses a foot dumbbell exerciser (Figs. 26A-34), comprising an exerciser body (kettle grab foot exercise accessory device 200) and a counterweight fixing member (dumbbell securing unit 16 including left clip/left wall 100, right clip/right wall 98, and a fixed installation portion/kettlebell grab main body engaging member 94), wherein the exerciser body is composed of a base support member (main body 202), a lateral support member (raised back wall 206), and an outer wrapping fixing member (pad 216); the lateral support member is vertically arranged on the rear end of the base support member and is integrally connected with the base support member (see Fig. 26A); the outer wrapping fixing member locks the foot to the base support member or releases the foot from the base support member through a locking structure (foot securing members 212, equivalent to the adjustable lace of the instant application); the counterweight fixing member is detachably mounted at the bottom of the base support member (via fixed installation portion/kettlebell grab main body engaging member 94); and a exercising counterweight member (dumbbell 120) is detachably mounted on the counterweight fixing member.
Regarding claim 2, Theofilos further discloses wherein the exercising counterweight member is a dumbbell (dumbbell 120), the counterweight fixing member comprises a left clip (left wall 100), a right clip (right wall 98) and a fixed installation portion (kettlebell grab main body engaging member 94), the lower ends of the left clip and the right clip are hinged with each other (at hinge 102), the left clip and the right clip form a cylindrical structure when closed (see cylindrical interior 96 formed by left wall 100 and right wall 98), a crossbar (bar portion 132) of the dumbbell is clamped and fixed in an inner cavity of the cylindrical structure (see alternate embodiment in Fig. 15 illustrating dumbbell securing unit 16 receiving bar portion 132 of dumbbell 120), the upper end of the left clip and the upper end of the right clip are provided with the fixed installation portion (see Fig. 13), and the left clip and the right clip are detachably connected to the base support member through the fixed installation portion (via receivers 224, openings 233 and screws 232).
Regarding claim 3, Theofilos further discloses wherein the fixed installation portion comprises a left protruding portion (second half 106 of the kettlebell grab main body engaging member 94), a right protruding portion (first half 104 of the kettlebell grab engaging member 94), and a fixed insert (screw 232); the left protruding portion protrudes from the upper end of the left clip (see Fig. 13), the right protruding portion protrudes from the upper end of the right clip (see Fig. 13), the left protruding portion is provided with a first through slot (opening 118, see Figs. 10-11), the right protruding portion is provided with a second through slot (opening 118, see Figs. 10-11), the bottom surface of the base support member is provided with a fixed installation slot (receiver 224), the left protruding portion and the right protruding portion are arranged to fit together when the left clip and the right clip are brought together (see Figs. 10-12), the fixed installation slot is for the left protruding portion and the right protruding portion to insert (par. [0069], “The foot exercise accessory device attachment member 222 may include a receiver 224 sized and shaped to receive and store therein at least a portion of the kettlebell grab engaging member 94”), a horizontal slot (opening 233) is provided at the bottom of the rear end of the base support member to communicate with the fixed installation slot, the fixed insert is inserted along the horizontal slot and passes through the first through slot of the left protruding portion and the second through slot of the right protruding portion in turn, and a second fixed installation portion (nut 234) for fixing the fixed insert is provided on the inner side of the horizontal slot (par. [0069], “The kettlebell grab engaging member 94 secures to the receiver 224 via screw 232 (through an opening 233 in one of the surfaces of the receiver 224 and/or surfaces of the main body 202, see at least FIGS. 26A, 26B,28, 32), and nut 234, with the screw inserted into a threaded opening within the receiver 224 (extending into and fitting within opening 118 of kettlebell grab engaging member 94). The receivers 224 positioned on the bottom 208 may also contain opening 233, see FIG. 26B”).
Regarding claim 7, Theofilos further discloses wherein the locking structure comprises an adjustable lace (foot securing member strap 212, equivalent to the adjustable lace as disclosed and illustrated by applicant), the outer wrapping fixing member is provided with a lace installation slot (between upper and lower outer portions of pad 216), the inner side of the adjustable lace is fitted and mounted in the lace installation slot (see Fig. 26A), both ends of the adjustable lace are fixedly mounted on the left and right sides of the lateral support member (via buttons 214, see Fig. 32), and the adjustable lace is provided with an adjustment buckle for adjusting the length of the adjustable lace (buckle illustrated in Figs. 32-33, par. [0067], “The foot securing member strap 212 may be a fixed length or may be designed to be length adjustable”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theofilos (US 2023/0330470) in view of Dickstein et al. (US 2022/0339487)
Regarding claim 5, Theofilos does not teach wherein the top of the left clip (100) is provided with a fixed clamp slot, the top of the right clip (98) is provided with a buckle structure extending in the direction of the left clip, and the buckle structure and a fixed clamp position (for purposes of rejection, the recited “a fixed clamp position” has been interpreted as “the fixed clamp slot”) are arranged to buckle with each other.
Dickstein et al., in the same field of endeavor with regards to exercising counterweight fixing members, teaches an exercising counterweight fixing member (Fig. 21) comprising a left clip (second body 2) wherein the top of the left clip is provided with a fixed clamp slot (indent 14) and a right clip (first body 1) wherein the top of the right clip is provided with a buckle structure (protruding tab 16; as “buckle” is defined by Merriam-Webster dictionary as “a fastening for two loose ends that is attached to one and holds the other by a catch” and the protruding tab 16 of Dickstein et al. includes a catch to attach to indent 14, the protruding tab 16 constitutes a buckle structure) extending in the direction of the left clip (see 21), and the buckle structure and the fixed clamp slot are arranged to buckle with each other (par. [0054], “The first inside face 12 of the first body 1 includes first formed protruding tab 16 constructed and arranged to be releasably engaged with a second formed indent 14 on the second inside face 11 of the second body 2 when the bodies are closed about the axis of the barrel hinge segments 6 and 7”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tops of the left clip and the right clip to respectively include a fixed clamp slot and a buckle structure, as is similarly taught by Dickstein et al., for the purpose of providing increased security to the exercising counterweight fixing member when secured around an exercising counterweight member (Dickstein et al. par. [0054], “The function of the adapted formed indents and formed protruding tabs is to distribute the gravity weight of the dumbbell along multiple contact points between the first body 1 and the second body 2.”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theofilos (US 2023/0330470) further in view of Swierski et al. (US 7,552,798), and further in view of Donaldson (US 5,169,364).
Regarding claim 6, Theofilos further teaches wherein the inner surfaces of the lateral support member (206) and the outer wrapping fixing member (216) are provided with buffer portions (annotated Fig. 26A), but does not teach wherein the upper surface (204) of the base support member (202) is provided with an anti-slip insole, and the buffer portions are elastic.
Swierski et al., in the same field of endeavor with regards to foot-worn exercise devices, teaches an upper surface (32) of a base support member (20) is provided with an anti-slip insole (anti-slip layer 52; see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper surface of the base support member of Theofilos to further include an anti-slip insole, as is similarly taught by Swierski et al., for the purpose of preventing unintended movement of the user’s foot when secured to the foot dumbbell exerciser.
Theofilos as modified by Swierski et al. does not teach the buffer portions are elastic.
Donaldson, in the same field of endeavor with regards to foot dumbbell exercisers, teaches a foot dumbbell exerciser (leg exercise device 1; Figs. 1-2) comprising buffer portions (padding 21) that are elastic (col. 5 lines 37-40, “A generous layer of padding 21, preferably constructed of neoprene foam padding approximately 1 in. thick, is provided to the inside surfaces of both the front and back halves 20 and 30 of the ankle boot 10”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the buffer portions of Theofilos to be elastic, as is similarly taught by Donaldson, for the purpose of providing enhanced comfort to a user while wearing the foot dumbbell exerciser.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a foot dumbbell exerciser in combination with all of the structural and functional limitations, and further comprising a second fixed installation portion comprising a V-shaped elastic piece, elastic piece installation grooves are provided on the left and right sides of the horizontal slot in the bottom surface of the base support member, the V-shaped elastic piece is mounted in the elastic piece installation grooves, the fixed insert is provided with insert grooves on both sides, and when the fixed insert is inserted into the horizontal slot, the V-shaped elastic piece is engaged with the insert grooves.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for additional pertinent prior art.
/KATHLEEN M FISK/Examiner, Art Unit 3784