DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation " the bag member ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 9, 11-18, 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Biswal (US2023/0084738).
Biswal teaches a container (Fig. 1B) for preserving a biological material (the container can function as such), comprising a phase change material (106) enclosed between a first layer (104) and a second layer (110) which form a wall of the container configured to receive and hold the biological material therein (the container can function as such).
The container of claim 1, further comprising an outer transport container wall (104).
Biswal teaches a container (Fig. 1B) for preserving a biological material (the container can function as such), comprising: a bowl (100) comprising a first layer (104) having a peripheral edge (upper edge) and a second layer (110) having a peripheral edge (108), the peripheral edge of the first layer adjoined to the peripheral edge of the second layer around a circumference (Figs 1A-1B); wherein said bowl is configured to receive and hold the biological material therein (the container can function as such); and a phase change material (106) between the first layer and the second layer (Fig. 1B).
The container of claim 1, wherein the container is capable of maintaining a temperature of at least about 8°C to about 12°C for at least 8 hours (the container is capable of such, especially if it’s used in a refrigerator).
The container of claim 1, wherein the container is capable of maintaining a temperature of about 10°C for at least 8 hours (the container is capable of such, especially if it’s used in a refrigerator).
The container of claim 1, wherein the biological material comprises an organ, a body fluid, a body tissue, cells or cell cultures (the container can be used with such a biological material).
The container of claim 1, wherein the biological material is an organ selected from the group consisting a lung, a heart, a kidney, a liver, a pancreas and a small intestine (the container can be used with such a biological material).
The container of claim 11, wherein the biological material comprises blood (the container can be used with such a biological material).
The container of claim 12, wherein the biological material is a lung (the container can be used with such a biological material).
The container of claim 11, wherein the biological material comprises one or more cells or cell cultures selected from the group consisting of reproductive cells, porcine cells, fetal cells, induced pluripotent stem cells (iPS cells) and embryonic stem cells (the container can be used with such a biological material).
The container of claim 1, wherein the bag member or the bowl is further configured to receive and hold a volume of a physiological solution or supportive media therein (the container can be used with such).
A method of preserving a biological material, comprising providing the container of claim 1 for said biological material ( such as bioprosthetic heart valve, paragraph 0023), placing said biological material into said container, and preserving the biological material in the container for a period of time (Fig. 1B).
A method of transporting a biological material ( such as bioprosthetic heart valve, paragraph 0023), comprising providing the container of claim 1 for said biological material (Fig. 1B), placing said biological material into said container (Fig. 1B), and transporting said biological material within said container.
The method of claim 17, wherein the method does not comprise cooling the container prior to the placing said biological material into said container (Fig. 1B, where the outer walls of the container is not cooled).
The method of claim 17, wherein the method comprises cooling the container prior to the placing said biological material into said container (Fig. 1B, where the PCM is cooled).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 10 and 19-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biswal.
The container of claim 1, Biswal DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the phase change material is an organic phase change material. Biswal does disclose that any latent heat storage PCM can be used (paragraph 0025). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to use such a PCM, in order to use an alternative PCM to suit the desired temperature and delivery time.
The container of claim 4, Biswal DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the phase change material is an octyl laurate. Biswal does disclose that any latent heat storage PCM can be used (paragraph 0025). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to use such a PCM, in order to use an alternative PCM to suit the desired temperature and delivery time.
The container of claim 1, Biswal DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the phase change material is an inorganic phase change material. Biswal does disclose that any latent heat storage PCM can be used (paragraph 0025). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to use such a PCM, in order to use an alternative PCM to suit the desired temperature and delivery time.
The container of claim 6, Biswal DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the phase change material is a salt hydrate. Biswal does disclose that any latent heat storage PCM can be used (paragraph 0025). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to use such a PCM, in order to use an alternative PCM to suit the desired temperature and delivery time.
The container of claim 1, Biswal DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the phase change material has a melting point of about 9.5 °C. Biswal does disclose that any latent heat storage PCM can be used (paragraph 0025). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to use such a PCM, in order to use an alternative PCM to suit the desired temperature and delivery time.
The method of claim 17, Biswal DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the biological material organ is an ex vivo organ. Biswal does disclose the container can hold various temperature sensitive contents (paragraph 0029). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to use the container to hold the above-mentioned material, in order to use a material needed by a user.
The method of claim 19, Biswal DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the organ is a lung. Biswal does disclose the container can hold various temperature sensitive contents (paragraph 0029). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to use the container to hold the above-mentioned material, in order to use a material needed by a user.
The method of claim 17, wherein the container preserves a temperature of the biological material at a temperature of 0°C to 12°C (paragraph 0023) for at least 5 hours. Biswal DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the container preserves the biological material for the above disclosed hours. However, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Biswal, to allow the container to keep contents cold for the above disclosed hours, in order to allow enough time for the biological material to reach its destination.
The method of claim 17, wherein the container preserves a temperature of the biological material at a temperature of 0°C to 12°C (paragraph 0023) for at least 10 hours. Biswal DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the container preserves the biological material for the above disclosed hours. However, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Biswal, to allow the container to keep contents cold for the above disclosed hours, in order to allow enough time for the biological material to reach its destination.
The method of claim 17, wherein the container preserves a temperature of the biological material at a temperature of 0°C to 12°C (paragraph 0023) for at least 15 hours. Biswal DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the container preserves the biological material for the above disclosed hours. However, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Biswal, to allow the container to keep contents cold for the above disclosed hours, in order to allow enough time for the biological material to reach its destination.
The method of claim 17, wherein the container preserves a temperature of the biological material at a temperature of 0°C to 12°C (paragraph 0023) for at least 20 hours. Biswal DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the container preserves the biological material for the above disclosed hours. However, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Biswal, to allow the container to keep contents cold for the above disclosed hours, in order to allow enough time for the biological material to reach its destination.
Conclusion
/KAREEN K THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736