DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2024-10-24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim reads “The computer-implemented method of claim 9” for examination purposes, the examiner interpreted the claim as “The computer-implemented method of claim 10”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim reads “The computer-implemented method of claim 9” for examination purposes, the examiner interpreted the claim as “The computer-implemented method of claim 10”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim reads “The computer-implemented method of claim 9” for examination purposes, the examiner interpreted the claim as “The computer-implemented method of claim 10”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Zheng et al. (US-20210263165-A1, published: 2021-08-26) hereinafter Zheng.
For examination purposes, claims 1-9 referring to a system, claims 10-15 referring to a method and claims 16-20 referring to a non-transitory machine readable medium are henceforth grouped together for claims mirroring the same limitations or which disclose analogous art to the invention as claimed.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Zheng discloses a vehicle system configured to receive a distress signal from a second vehicle, the vehicle system comprising: a memory that stores computer executable components (Zheng, fig. 1, par. 47; memory 160 may contain instructions to implement various methods described throughout this description including, for example, processes to implement the use of relative positioning between vehicles and between vehicles and external reference objects such as roadside units) examiner notes, see par. 57 for an indication of hazardous road conditions and inter vehicle maneuver coordination used as a broadest reasonable interpretation for a distress signal; and a processor that executes the computer executable components stored in the memory, wherein the computer executable components comprise (Zheng, fig. 1 par. 47; Memory 160 may be utilized with processor 110 and/or DSP 120): a communication component configured to receive the distress signal, wherein the distress signal comprises a second vehicle information to enhance location determination (Zheng, fig. 4, par. 57; data server 440 may provide input on road conditions, black ice, snow, water on the road and other environmental conditions which may also impact the decisions and decision criteria in inter-vehicle maneuver coordination block 325 and maneuver execution block 326. For example, in icy or rainy conditions, the vehicle 100 may execute and/or request increased inter-vehicle distance from adjacent vehicles or may choose route options that avoid road hazard conditions such as black ice and standing water) see also pars. 54 and 96; a navigation component configured to determine, using the second vehicle information (Zheng, fig. 3, par. 62; Vehicle performance estimates may also be obtained, for example, using external V2X input(s) 308, over a wireless network from vehicular data servers on the network.), if the second vehicle making the distress signal is travelling in the same direction (Zheng, fig. 3, par. 58; In block 332, the relative location of other vehicles relative to the vehicle location may be determined based on various sensor measurements including, but not necessarily limited to GNSS measurements (such as doppler and phase measurements) from the other vehicle and may also utilize other sensor measurements such as LIDAR, RADAR, SONAR and camera measurements), see also pars. 56, 67, and 96; and an alert component configured to provide an external alert to identify the vehicle system upon determining that the second vehicle is traveling in the same direction, wherein communication component establishes a communication connection with the second vehicle (Zheng, fig. 15, par. 96; the relative location of adjacent vehicles may be utilized to trigger and/or inform interactions with adjacent vehicles or other vehicles which may interact with the vehicle … For example, the vehicle may inform the vehicle in back of it of an upcoming road hazard … The vehicle may also use the determined relative position to inform how it reacts to requests and notifications from neighboring vehicles as well) see also figs. 3-5, 7, 9 and 11.
Regarding claims 10, Zheng discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, by a system of the vehicle comprising a processor based on sensory data captured of an external environment of the enclosure via one or more sensors integrated on or within the vehicle (e.g., a communication component), the distress signal, wherein the distress signal comprises a second vehicle information to enhance location determination (Zheng, fig. 4, par. 57; data server 440 may provide input on road conditions, black ice, snow, water on the road and other environmental conditions which may also impact the decisions and decision criteria in inter-vehicle maneuver coordination block 325 and maneuver execution block 326. For example, in icy or rainy conditions, the vehicle 100 may execute and/or request increased inter-vehicle distance from adjacent vehicles or may choose route options that avoid road hazard conditions such as black ice and standing water) see also pars. 54 and 96; determining, by the system (e.g., a navigation component), if the second vehicle making the distress signal is travelling in the same direction using the second vehicle information (Zheng, fig. 3, par. 58; In block 332, the relative location of other vehicles relative to the vehicle location may be determined based on various sensor measurements including, but not necessarily limited to GNSS measurements (such as doppler and phase measurements) from the other vehicle and may also utilize other sensor measurements such as LIDAR, RADAR, SONAR and camera measurements), see also pars. 56, 67, and 96; and providing, by the system (e.g., an alert component), an external alert to identify the vehicle system upon determining that the second vehicle is traveling in the same direction (Zheng, fig. 15, par. 96; the relative location of adjacent vehicles may be utilized to trigger and/or inform interactions with adjacent vehicles or other vehicles which may interact with the vehicle … For example, the vehicle may inform the vehicle in back of it of an upcoming road hazard … The vehicle may also use the determined relative position to inform how it reacts to requests and notifications from neighboring vehicles as well) see also figs. 3-5, 7, 9 and 11.
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 17, Zheng discloses the system, method and non-transitory media according to claims 1, 10 and 16, wherein the computer executable components further comprise: a request component configured to request assistance from other vehicles if determined that the vehicle system will no longer travel in the same direction as the second vehicle (Zheng, fig 3, par. 64; block 314 may utilize GNSS measurements from other vehicles to determine the relative positioning to other vehicles. This output from block 314 may be provided to prediction and planning block 318, which determines detected objects and vehicles and their associated trajectory via block 320 and determines vehicle maneuver and path planning in block 322, the outputs of which are utilized in block 326 vehicle maneuver execution either directly or via V2X inter-vehicle negotiation block 324, which would integrate and account for maneuver planning, location and status received from other vehicles) see also fig. 7.
Regarding claims 3, 12 and 18, Zheng discloses the system, method and non-transitory media according to claims 1, 10 and 16, wherein the computer executable components further comprise: a request component configured to request assistance from other vehicles if determined that the vehicle system location determination capabilities have dropped below a threshold, wherein the communication component transmit a notification to notify the second vehicle to take alternative actions (Zheng, fig. 8, par. 86; The connection may be contingent on the other vehicle being within a particular range or likelihood of being a collision risk. Similarly, if a connection already exists, it may be disconnected in block 850 if the range is greater than a threshold (i.e., the other vehicle is farther than a threshold distance away). If a connection already exists, GNSS measurement information, and/or other information discussed above, may be exchanged and processed if the range is less than a threshold, in block 840) see also fig. 7.
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Zheng discloses the system and non-transitory media according to claims 1 and 16, wherein the communication component transmits a notification to the second vehicle to take alternative actions if determined that the vehicle system unable to assist due to change in route or the vehicle system location determination capabilities have dropped below a threshold (Zheng, fig. 8, par. 86; The connection may be contingent on the other vehicle being within a particular range or likelihood of being a collision risk. Similarly, if a connection already exists, it may be disconnected in block 850 if the range is greater than a threshold (i.e., the other vehicle is farther than a threshold distance away). If a connection already exists, GNSS measurement information, and/or other information discussed above, may be exchanged and processed if the range is less than a threshold, in block 840), see also pars. 64 and 75-76. Examiner further notes, applicant is reminded the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met, see MPEP 2111.04 for additional information .
Regarding claims 7, Zheng discloses the vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the distress signal comprises location information of the second vehicle, including last known GPS location (Zheng, fig. 7, par. 85; a vehicle/device to vehicle/device communication architecture where vehicles and/or devices share GNSS measurement information, location, identification information and other information, using peer to peer communication ), lane distance, distance (Zheng, fig. 7 par. 85; In a peer to peer model, information flow between peers may be consistent across peers, or it may differ based on proximity or it may differ based on collision risk/threat (vehicles that are approaching are a higher risk than vehicles that are moving away; vehicles that are adjacent may have a higher collision risk than those two lanes away or across a cement barrier)), and direction vector (Zheng, figs. 1-2, par. 46; LIDAR 150 measurements may also be used to estimate rate of travel, vector directions, relative position and stopping distance by providing accurate distance measurements and delta distance measurements) see also par. 54 and fig. 5.
Regarding claims 13, Zheng discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein the communication component transmits a notification to the second vehicle to take alternative actions if determined that the vehicle system unable to assist due to change in route or the vehicle system location determination capabilities have dropped below a threshold (Zheng, fig. 8, par. 86; The connection may be contingent on the other vehicle being within a particular range or likelihood of being a collision risk. Similarly, if a connection already exists, it may be disconnected in block 850 if the range is greater than a threshold (i.e., the other vehicle is farther than a threshold distance away). If a connection already exists, GNSS measurement information, and/or other information discussed above, may be exchanged and processed if the range is less than a threshold, in block 840), see also pars. 64 and 75-76. Examiner further notes, applicant is reminded the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met, see MPEP 2111.04 for additional information and wherein communication component establishes a communication connection with the second vehicle (Zheng, fig. 8, par. 86; In block 820, it is determined if a connection is already established and, if not, in block 860 a connection may be established. The connection may be contingent on the other vehicle being within a particular range or likelihood of being a collision risk) see also par. 34 and figs. 7 and 9-12.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Zheng discloses the system and method according to claims 1 and 10, wherein the request component further requests assistance from other vehicles by transmitting a similar distress signal, wherein the similar distress signal comprise all the information contained in the distress signal and requesting a connection with another vehicle (Zheng, par. 81; vehicles and/or devices may share vehicle or device ID, GNSS measurements, vehicle or device location, and/or, in some embodiments, a measure of confidence and/or an estimate of error or some combination of location, measurements and/or confidence or error, thereof, to enable vehicles and devices to determine high accuracy relative position and, when available, to also propagate high accuracy absolution positioning. In an embodiment, vehicles and/or devices may broadcast their location and/or their GNSS measurements to other vehicles and/or nearby devices. In some embodiments, there may be a mix of broadcast and point to point communication and information sharing, such as by broadcasting a vehicle's or device's location, and in some embodiments, error estimates and/or uncertainty estimates, but by sending GNSS signal measurements only to vehicles and/or devices that request it, such as may be determined, for example, using the broadcast location, to be within a threshold range) see also par. 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US-20210263165-A1, published: 2021-08-26) hereinafter Zheng in view of Carraway (US-11184734-B1, published: 2021-11-23).
Regarding claims 5, 14 and 20, Zheng discloses the system, method and non-transitory media according to claims 1, 10 and 16, wherein the distress signal comprises second vehicle model information, license plate information, vehicle identification number (VIN), color, last known location, (Zheng, fig. 8, par. 86; a sample decision tree for peer to peer messaging including sharing of GNSS measurement information to be utilized for relative positioning. In step 810, a vehicle ID may be selected as provided by a server or a base station or as received in an over the air broadcast from other vehicles. In an embodiment, a broadcast ID may also be associated with a location of the source vehicle) see also figs 7, and 9-12 and non-GPS communication signal strength level (Zheng, par. 109; Vehicle 100 or a location server 460 may then obtain a location estimate for vehicle 100 based on these location related measurements using any one of several position methods such as, for example, GNSS, Assisted GNSS (A-GNSS), Advanced Forward Link Trilateration (AFLT), Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) or Enhanced Cell ID (E-CID), network triangulation, Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) or combinations thereof).
Zheng does not explicitly teach the inclusion of vehicle model, color or license plate information, however, in analogous art Carraway discloses methods for improving road safety in vehicle to everything communication environment, which share information between vehicles to include VIN and other vehicle associated data (Carraway, fig. 2, par. 36; “VIN and associated data 212/242” may store information such as the unique VINs that are associated with international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) numbers of the corresponding devices that are embedded in the first vehicle 200 and the second vehicle 230, respectively. In this case, each IMSI may be associated with the unique VIN, which can be used to identify the vehicle classification (e.g., emergency vehicle, private vehicle, public vehicle), make, build, and other information. “VIN and associated data 212/242” may further store vehicle information such as vehicle models, colors, and build. In an example embodiment, the first vehicle 200 and the second vehicle 230 periodically transmit the data in their respective “VIN and associated data 212/242” to the V2X server 170 to update the database 177 and particularly, to update the “VIN and associated data 252” that stores the VINs and associated data from the V2X components in the V2X communications environment) see also fig. 2 step 260.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention seeking to improve distress signal information sharing would be motivated to apply Carraway’s methods for sharing vehicle information in a V2X environment with Zheng’s system for autonomous vehicle location determination to enhance communication to first responders, and provide additional vehicle identification details to aid in their response to a distress signal.
Regarding claims 9, Zheng discloses the vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle system provides its speed and planned route to the distressed vehicle upon establishing the non-GPS communication connection (Carraway, par. 10; The V2X server then relays the distress call information to at least one vehicle that is classified as an emergency vehicle and in return, the V2X server receives the location and the projected path of the responding emergency vehicle. The location includes the current physical location while the projected path includes the route of the responding emergency vehicle from its current physical location going to the distress location) see also Zheng par. 57.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US-20210263165-A1, published: 2021-08-26) hereinafter Zheng in view of Horvath et al. (US- 20230256901-A1, published: 2023-08-17) hereinafter Horvath.
Regarding Claim 6, Zheng discloses the vehicle system of claim 1 (Zheng, par.26; various methods and apparatuses in a vehicle to provide for or otherwise support the determination and use of vehicle to everything (V2X) data elements to determine relative location), wherein the alert system comprises flashing lights or a horn.
Zheng does not explicitly disclose the system comprises flashing lights or a horn, however in analogous art Horvath discloses a security system for autonomous driving vehicles which upon transmission of an emergency signal comprising the vehicle position and status, the system activates the vehicles lights and horn (Horvath, pars. 25-27; if the autonomous vehicle comprises one or more lights, a horn, and at least one means for wireless communication with a remote station, the reaction module is configured to execute, as emergency reaction, one or more of the following: [0026] sending an emergency signal to the remote station via at least one means for wireless communication, [0027] sending a heartbeat-type signal comprising a position and a status of the autonomous vehicle to the remote station via at least one means for wireless communication, [0028] activating the one or more lights and the horn in a continuous way).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine Zheng’s methods for providing vehicle position determination using V2X communication with Horvath’s methods for activating the vehicle system horn and lights when and emergency alert is transmitted to aid in personnel and asset recovery when an emergency is reported.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nadeem Ahangar et al. “A Survey of Autonomous Vehicles: Enabling Communication
Technologies and Challenges”, Sensors 2021, 21, 706. The Department of Transport in the United Kingdom recorded 25,080 motor vehicle fatalities in 2019. This situation stresses the need for an intelligent transport system (ITS) that improves road safety and security by avoiding human errors with the use of autonomous vehicles (AVs). Therefore, this survey discusses the current development of two main components of an ITS: (1) gathering of AVs surrounding data using sensors; and (2) enabling vehicular communication technologies. First, the paper discusses various sensors and their role in AVs. Then, various communication technologies for AVs to facilitate vehicle to everything (V2X) communication are discussed. Based on the transmission range, these technologies are grouped into three main categories: long-range, medium range and short-range. The short-range group presents the development of Bluetooth, ZigBee and ultra-wide band communication for AVs. The medium-range examines the properties of dedicated short-range communications (DSRC). Finally, the long-range group presents the cellular-vehicle to everything (C-V2X) and 5G-new radio (5G-NR). An important characteristic which differentiates each category and its suitable application is latency. This research presents a comprehensive study of AV technologies and identifies the main advantages, disadvantages, and challenges.
Shaoshan Liu et al. “Edge Computing for Autonomous Driving: Opportunities and Challenges” Vol. 107, No. 8, August 2019. Safety is the most important requirement for autonomous vehicles; hence, the ultimate challenge of designing an edge computing ecosystem for autonomous vehicles is to deliver enough computing power, redundancy, and security so as to guarantee the safety of autonomous vehicles. Specifically, autonomous driving systems are extremely com plex; they tightly integrate many technologies, including sensing, localization, perception, decision making, as well as the smooth interactions with cloud platforms for high-definition (HD) map generation and data storage. These complexities impose numerous challenges for the design of autonomous driving edge computing systems. First, edge computing systems for autonomous driving need to process an enormous amount of data in real time, and often the incoming data from different sensors are highly heterogeneous. Since autonomous driving edge computing systems are mobile, they often have very strict energy consumption restrictions. Thus, it is imperative to deliver sufficient computing power with reasonable energy consumption, to guarantee the safety of autonomous vehicles, even at high speed. Second, in addition to the edge system design, vehicle-to-everything (V2X) provides redundancy for autonomous driving workloads and alleviates stringent performance and energy constraints on the edge side. With V2X, more research is required to define how vehicles cooperate with each other and the infrastructure. Last, safety cannot be guaranteed when security is compromised. Thus, protecting autonomous driving edge computing systems against attacks at different layers of the sensing and computing stack is of paramount concern. In this paper, we review state-of-the-art approaches in these areas as well as explore potential solutions to address these challenges.
Ning Lu et al. “Connected Vehicles: Solutions and Challenges”, Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/JIOT.2014.2327587 dated: May 30, 2014. Providing various wireless connectivities for vehicles enables the communication between vehicles and their internal and external environments. Such a connected vehicle solution is expected to be the next frontier for automotive revolution and the key to the evolution to next generation intelligent transportation systems (ITSs). Moreover, connected vehicles are also the building blocks of emerging Internet of Vehicles (IoV). Extensive research activities and numerous industrial initiatives have paved the way for the coming era of connected vehicles. In this paper, we focus on wireless technologies and potential challenges to provide vehicle-to-x connectivity. In particular, we discuss the challenges and review the state-of-the-art wireless solutions for vehicle-to-sensor, vehicle to-vehicle, vehicle-to-Internet, and vehicle-to-road infrastructure connectivities. We also identify future research issues for building connected vehicles
Tiziani (US-20190188493-A1) “Providing Autonomous Vehicle Assistance”, 2017. Systems and methods for providing autonomous vehicle assistance are disclosed. In one embodiment, a method is disclosed comprising recording an image of a scene surrounding an autonomous vehicle; classifying the image using a machine learning system, the classifying comprising identifying whether the image includes a danger; determining whether the autonomous vehicle is able to respond to the danger in response to identifying that the image includes the danger; and executing one or more security maneuvers, the security maneuvers manipulating the operation of the autonomous vehicle in response to the danger.
Hayee et al (US-20190186948-A1), “Real-Time Lane Departure Detection Using Map Shape Points And Trajectory Histories” 2019. A method includes accessing information stored for positions along a road and using the accessed information to identify an expected trajectory for a vehicle. Position information for the vehicle is received from a global positioning system for two different time points and is used to determine a trajectory of the vehicle. The trajectory of the vehicle and the expected trajectory are used to determine a lateral offset of the vehicle from the expected trajectory and the lateral offset is used to determine when to issue a lane departure warning for the vehicle
Christensen (US-20230056551-A1), “Emergency Vehicle Detection And Avoidance Systems For Autonomous Vehicles” 2023. The present disclosure generally relates to generating emergency vehicle warnings, automatic control of autonomous vehicles based upon the emergency vehicle warnings. More particularly, the present disclosure relates to generating data representative of emergency vehicle warnings and alternate autonomous vehicle routing based upon real-time information related to an emergency vehicle. The information related to the emergency vehicle may include emergency vehicle origination location data, emergency vehicle current location data, emergency vehicle route data, and/or emergency vehicle destination location data. An emergency vehicle warning and/or alternate vehicle routing for autonomous vehicles may be generated based further on information related to an autonomous vehicle. In one aspect, an emergency vehicle may wirelessly communicate with the autonomous vehicle and/or an insurance provider remote server. The insurance provider may adjust auto insurance for insured individuals, having vehicles with the vehicle safety functionality discussed herein, to reflect lower risk and provide insurance savings to customers.
Do et al. (US-20190088135-A1) “System And Method For Relative Positioning Based Safe Autonomous Driving”, 2019. Disclosed is a method and apparatus for managing a driving plan of an autonomous vehicle. The method may include obtaining observations of a neighboring vehicle using one or more sensors of the autonomous vehicle. The method may also include classifying one or more behavioral driving characteristics of the neighboring vehicle based on the observations. Furthermore, the method may include updating the driving plan based on a classification of the one or more behavioral driving characteristics of the neighboring vehicle, and controlling one or more operations of the autonomous vehicle based on the updated driving plan.
Li et al. (US-20230061410-A1) “Vehicle Positioning Method And Device, Positioned Vehicle, Vehicle To Be Positioned, And Storage Medium”, 2023. The present application discloses a vehicle positioning method and device, a positioning vehicle, a vehicle to be positioned, and a storage medium. The method includes: determining configuration information of a positioning reference signal of a positioning vehicle; and transmitting, according to the configuration information, the positioning reference signal to a vehicle to be positioned, and the vehicle to be positioned determines a positioning measurement quantity based on the positioning reference signal. The configuration information of the positioning reference signal is determined by the positioning vehicle and the transmission of the positioning reference signal is started to the vehicle to be positioned according to the configuration information, and the vehicle to be positioned can determine the positioning measurement quantity according to the positioning reference signal, and improving the positioning performance and avoiding configuration conflicts between positioning reference signals.
Christensen et al. (US-11119490-B1) “Technology For Managing Autonomous Vehicle Operation In Emergency Situations”, 2021. Systems and methods for modifying operation of an autonomous vehicle in an emergency situation are disclosed. According to aspects, a computing device detects, based on sensor(s), an emergency event associated with the autonomous vehicle. In response to detecting the emergency event, the computing device determines location(s) of emergency vehicle(s) and determines an assistance location for the autonomous vehicle. The computing device transmits the assistance location to the emergency vehicle(s), obtains a current operation of the autonomous vehicle, and determines a vehicle operation modification for the autonomous vehicle. The computing device generates, by a computer processor based on the vehicle operation modification, a set of vehicle control instructions for the autonomous vehicle, and provides the set of vehicle control instructions to the autonomous vehicle, where the autonomous vehicle executes the set of vehicle control instructions to cause the autonomous vehicle to travel to the assistance location.
/MARIO R CAMPERO MIRAMONTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649