Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference numeral 404 of figure 4 is described as a compressor in at least [0048] however figure 4 illustrates 404 as a fan or blower for condenser 406. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “1402” at paragraph [0066] in reference to figure 14. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “the control member is to adjust” rather than –the control member is configured to adjust--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “pose” is used in at least claim 1 and some of its dependent claims in reference to the ice shaper. However a pose is a sustained posture. For the purpose of examination the term “pose” with be read as –position--.
Claim 6 describes the target shape corresponds to one of texture or hardness; however as the claim is directed to the intent of the target shape the metes and bounds of the claim are not clear.
Claim 15 recites “the second chamber” at line 5 which lacks antecedent basis.
Claims depending from a rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-14, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fiedler (US 3,593,539).
Regarding claim 1, Fiedler discloses an ice maker, comprising:
an extruder (26) through which ice is directed from a first chamber (12) towards a second chamber;
an ice shaper (34) disposed in the second chamber, the ice shaper to modify a shape of the ice to be a target shape, the target shape corresponding to a pose of the ice shaper; and
a control member (36 and 35) coupled with the ice shaper, the control member to control the pose of the ice shaper.
Regarding claim 2, Fiedler discloses wherein the control member comprises at least one of a dial, a button, a switch, or a lever, the control member to control the pose of the ice shaper according to an input applied to the at least one of the dial, the button, the switch, or the lever (36 is described as an “adjusting nut” which is a dial, where a dial is defined as “a device that may be operated to make electrical connections or to regulate the operation of a machine”).
Regarding claim 4, Fiedler discloses the target shape corresponds to nugget ice or crushed ice (Fielder describes “small pieces or flakes of ice” which are nuggets or crushed; where the ice is crushed due to impact with the ice shaper)
Regarding claim 5, Fiedler discloses the control member is configured to adjust the pose of the ice shaper to be one of a plurality of positions of the ice shaper, a first position of the plurality of positions closer to the extruder than a second position of the plurality of positions (by adjusting the spring force provided by spring 35 the position of 34 is adjusted to a plurality of positions during operation).
Regarding claim 6, Fiedler discloses the target shape corresponds to at least one of a texture or a hardness of the ice (2:33-49 describes adjusting the ice characteristic where at least flake is a texture).
Regarding claim 7, Fiedler discloses the ice shaper comprises an outer surface (34a) extending from a first end to a second end, the outer surface decreasing in size in a direction from the first end to the second end (shape of 34a shown in at least figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Fiedler discloses the extruder (26) and the ice shaper (34) are centered on an axis, the extruder to direct the ice in a direction along the axis towards the ice shaper.
Regarding claim 9, Fiedler discloses the ice shaper comprises:
a shaft (29) coupled to the extruder; and a conical surface (34a is a curved conical surface) to contact the ice from the extruder, the conical surface positioned at a distance from the extruder that corresponds to the pose of the ice shaper.
Regarding claim 10, Fiedler discloses an auger (30) disposed in the first chamber (12), the auger to direct the ice from the first chamber to the second chamber through the extruder.
Regarding claim 11, Fiedler discloses a first stop (top of threaded portion of 27) coupled with the second chamber to receive the ice shaper at a first distance from the extruder, the first stop corresponding to the target shape being a nugget shape; and a second stop (bottom of threaded portion of 27) coupled with the second chamber to receive the ice shaper at a second distance from the extruder, the second stop corresponding to the target shape being a crushed shape, the second distance less than the first distance (both the positions produce nugget/crushed ice as the ice is in flake form which are nuggets or small pieces and crushed by impact with the shaper).
Regarding claim 12, Fiedler discloses one or more gears (threads of shaft 27 are a gear; as defined by Merriam-Webster a gear is “a mechanism that performs a specific function in a complete machine”) coupled with the control member (36 and 37) and with an outer surface of the ice shaper (34) such that movement of the control member causes a corresponding movement of the ice shaper by way of the one or more gears (adjustment of 36 changes spring pressure via spring 37 onto the ice shaper 34 thereby adjusting position/movement).
Regarding claim 13, Fiedler discloses the ice shaper comprises an inner surface forming a thread (threaded portion of shaft 27 shown in figure 1) that is rotatably coupled with a shaft (29) coupled with the extruder to the ice shaper to move relative to the extruder.
Regarding claim 14, Fiedler discloses a third chamber (23) coupled with the second chamber, the ice shaper positioned to direct the ice into the third chamber.
Regarding claim 19, Fiedler discloses an ice making system, comprising:
a die (11a; outlet of space 12 at 11a forms an annular die) to receive ice material driven by an auger (30) and extrude the ice material as one or more ice structures;
a cone (34; where 34 is a curved cone shape) facing the die, the cone to cause the one or more ice structures to break into pieces of ice of a selected length; and
an input device (36 and 37) coupled with the cone by at least one gear (threads of shaft 27 are a gear; as defined by Merriam-Webster a gear is “a mechanism that performs a specific function in a complete machine”) such that manipulation of the input device causes the cone to move to a selected distance from the die, the selected distance corresponding to the selected length.
Regarding claim 20, Fiedler discloses 20. The ice making system of claim 19, wherein the input device comprises at least one of a dial, a switch, a button, or a lever (36 is described as an “adjusting nut” which is a dial, where a dial is defined as “a device that may be operated to make electrical connections or to regulate the operation of a machine”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiedler (US 3,593,539).
Regarding claim 3, Fiedler discloses the control member (36 and 37) comprises an actuator (36), the ice maker comprising: a user interface (outer surface of adjusting nut/actuator 36) to receive an input indicative of at least one of the target shape or the pose of the ice shaper (location along threaded portion of 27).
Fiedler is silent concerning a controller. The examiner takes official notice that wrenches are old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Fiedler with a wrench (as a controller) in order to adjust/control the position of adjusting nut 36 and thereby control the pose/position of the ice shaper as discussed at 2:33-49.
Moreover as Fiedler is silent concerning precise means for adjusting the adjustment nut 36, but some solution is necessarily present to accomplish this function. It falls to mere selection of an identified predictable solution such as that provided by official notice in order to make or use the invention. When adopting a problem-solution oriented thinking, one of skill seeking to adjust an adjustment nut would look to known solutions, e.g. using a wrench to adjust a nut.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiedler (US 3,593,539) in view of Beusch et al (US 3,354,666).
Regarding claim 15, Fiedler discloses an ice maker, comprising:
a first chamber (12) comprising an inlet to receive water and an outlet;
an auger (30) disposed in the first chamber, the auger to drive ice material from freezing of the water in the first chamber through the outlet;
a die (11a; outlet of space 12 at 11a forms an annular die) between the first chamber (12) and a second chamber (15) such that the ice material is driven by the auger through the plurality of apertures to form a plurality of ice structures;
an ice shaper (34) disposed in the second chamber and facing the die such that contact of the plurality of ice structures with the ice shaper causes the plurality of ice structures to form into ice pieces having an expected shape, the expected shape corresponding to a position of the ice shaper relative to the die; and
a control member (36 and 37) coupled with the ice shaper, the control member to control the position of the ice shaper.
Fiedler lacks a die having a plurality of apertures. Beusch discloses a die (20) comprising a plurality of apertures (22) between a first chamber (3) and second chamber (17) such that the ice material is driven by the auger through the plurality of apertures to form a plurality of ice structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Fiedler with the apertures of Beusch in order to compress the ice during formation.
Regarding claim 16, Fiedler further discloses the control member comprises a rotatable member (36) coupled with at least one gear (threads of shaft 27 are a gear; as defined by Merriam-Webster a gear is “a mechanism that performs a specific function in a complete machine”) coupled with the ice shaper (34), wherein rotation of the rotatable member causes movement, via the at least one gear, of the ice shaper to the position (adjustment of the rotatable member 36 adjusts spring pressure of 37 which adjusts the movement of ice shaper 34).
Regarding claim 17, Fiedler discloses the ice shaper comprises a cone (34a is a curved conical surface) facing the die.
Regarding claim 18, Fiedler discloses a surface of the cone that faces the die is at an angle greater than or equal to 30 degrees and less than or equal to 70 degrees relative to an axis from the die to the cone (34a is a curved conical surface thus the curved conical surface includes angles between 30 and 70 degrees relative to the die).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takahashi et al (US 4,467,622) auger type ice maker.
Dedricks et al (US 3,342,040) auger type ice maker including shims 194 in figure 12 for adjusting distance to ice shaper 196.
Lunde (US 3,276,223) auger type ice maker with adjustment of ice shaper as shown in figures 3-5.
Keller (US 2,962,878) auger type ice maker with spring pressure adjustment of ice shaper.
Gardner et al (US 2017/0248357) auger type ice maker which die having plurality of apertures.
Guo (WO2025/133986) auger type ice maker.
Mathematics Stack Exchange, volume of a curved cone.
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799