Information Disclosure Statement
IDS(es) submitted on 10/24/2024 has/have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 10/24/2024 has been acknowledged.
Drawings
Drawing(s) submitted on 10/24/2024 have been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yau et al. (US 2024/0098579; effective filing date: 2/17/2023; hereinafter Yau).
Regarding claims 1, 11, 19 and 20 Yau discloses a method and system for:
receiving, by a mobile network operator (MNO) network, a call request from a wireless device ([0104]: subscriber making call from a visiting network);
determining the call request originated outside of the MNO ([0104]: subscriber making call from a visiting network); and
in response to the call request originating outside of the MNO, routing, by the MNO network, the call request through an established default bearer ([0105]: subscriber making call from a visiting network and routing call accordingly through a default bearer, like a proxy CSCF: [0107]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Yau discloses wherein the call request originated on a roaming network ([0104]: subscriber making call from a visiting network).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Yau discloses wherein the call request is routed through the established default bearer rather than a dedicated bearer ([0105]: subscriber making call from a visiting network and routing call accordingly through a default bearer, like a proxy CSCF: [0107]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Yau discloses further comprising re-routing the call request through a dedicated bearer based on a subscriber request ([0061]-[0064]: setting up dedicated bearer).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Yau discloses wherein the routing through the established default bearer comprises using a call session control function (CSCF) ([0107]: proxy CSCF).
Regarding claim 7 Yau discloses wherein the call request is for a voice over LTE (VoLTE) communication (Abstract: VoLTE).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Yau discloses wherein the established default bearer is a packet data network (PDN)/packet data unit (PDU) providing end-to-end user plane connectivity between the wireless device and a data network ([104]-[015]: use of PDN gateway).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8, 9, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yau in view of Rahman (US 2023/0007128; hereinafter Rahman).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Yau discloses all the particulars of the claim except for the limitation of wherein the dedicated bearer has a guaranteed bit rate (GBR).
However, Rahman does disclose the limitation of wherein the dedicated bearer has a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) ([0025]: dedicated bearer with GBR).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Rahman’s disclosure to provide successful voice calls over control plane.
Regarding claim 8, Yau discloses all the particulars of the claim escept for the method of claim 1, wherein the call request is for a voice over New Radio (VoNR) communication.
However, Rahman does disclose the limitation of wherein the call request is for a voice over New Radio (VoNR) communication ([0002]: placing a call using VoLTE or VoNR using default bearer).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Rahman’s disclosure to provide successful voice calls over control plane.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Yau discloses all the particulars of the claim except for wherein the established default bearer does not have a GBR.
However, Rahman does disclose the limitation of wherein the established default bearer does not have a GBR ([0024]: default bearer is a non-GBR).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Rahman’s disclosure to provide successful voice calls over control plane.
Conclusion
/CHUCK HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644