Election/Restrictions
2. Newly submitted claims 9-11 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The newly submitted claims are related to encoding/decoding apparatuses that perform encoding/decoding methods using transform skip enabled flag, dependent quantization enabled flag, and transform skip residual coding (TSRC) disabled flag which are independent and different from the originally claimed encoding/decoding methods that perform low frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) on chroma blocks based on an updated intra-prediction mode. There is an examination and search burden for these patentably distinct inventions. The newly submitted claims require a different field of search than the invention originally claimed.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, the newly submitted claims 9-11 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Specification
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bross et al. “Versatile Video Coding (Draft 7)” JVET-P2001-vE, hereinafter “Bross”.
As per claim 7, Bross discloses a non-transitory computer-readable digital storage medium that stores a bitstream (page 85, lines 5-8 from section 7.4.2.1), generated by the image encoding method of claim 4 (the method steps of claim 4 do not carry patentable weight as the claim is a product-by-process claim in which only the bitstream (product), generated by the method steps (process), is given weight. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 7 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no fictional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Bross which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (page 85, lines 5-8 from section 7.4.2.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bross et al. “Versatile Video Coding (Draft 7)” JVET-P2001-vE, in view of Egilmez et al. (US 2021/0099702) hereinafter “Egilmez”.
As per claim 1, Bross discloses an image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
obtaining intra prediction mode information (page 299, section 8.7.4.1, predModeIntra) and a low frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index (page 299, section 8.7.4.1, LFNST_idx) from a bitstream (page 176, section 8.4.5.1, predModeIntra is part of the inputs to the decoding process and LFNST_idx is encoded and included in the encoded data, see last 3 lines from page 153, 1st line from page 154 and table 123 on page 390);
updating an intra prediction mode of a chroma block to an intra DC based on the intra prediction mode of the chroma block being a cross-component linear model (CCLM) mode and a prediction mode of a luma block corresponding to the chroma block being a palette mode (page 299, section 8.7.4.1, When predModeIntra is equal to either INTRA_LT_CCLM, INTRA_L_CCLM, or INTRA_T_CCLM, predModeIntra is derived as follows…if CuPredMode[ 0 ][ xTbY + nTbW * SubWidthC / 2 ][ yTbY + nTbH * SubHeightC / 2 ] is equal to MODE_IBC or MODE_PLT, predModeIntra is set equal to INTRA_DC);
determining an LFNST set comprising LFNST matrices based on the updated intra prediction mode (page 302, section 8.7.4.3 Low frequency non-separable transformation matrix derivation process. Inputs to this process are: a variable nTrS specifying the transform output length, a variable predModeIntra specifying the intra prediction mode for LFNST set selection, a variable lfnstIdx specifying the LFNST index for transform selection in the selected LFNST set selection. Output of this process is the transformation matrix lowFreqTransMatrix); and
wherein the palette mode is the prediction mode corresponding to a specific position in the luma block (pages 299-300, section 8.7.4.1, if CuPredMode[ 0 ][ xTbY + nTbW * SubWidthC / 2 ][ yTbY + nTbH * SubHeightC / 2 ] is equal to MODE_IBC or MODE_PLT, predModeIntra is set equal to INTRA_DC),
wherein the specific position is set to ((xTbY+(nTbW*SubWidthC)/2), (yTbY+ (nTbH*SubHeightC)/2)) (see pages 299-300, section 8.7.4.1, if CuPredMode[ 0 ][ xTbY + nTbW * SubWidthC / 2 ][ yTbY + nTbH * SubHeightC / 2 ] is equal to MODE_IBC or MODE_PLT, predModeIntra is set equal to INTRA_DC. (xTbY+(nTbW*SubWidthC)/2, yTbY+ (nTbH*SubHeightC)/2) is considered a specific position in the luma block since ( xTbY, yTbY ) specifying the top-left sample of the current luma transform block relative to the top-left luma sample of the current picture),
wherein xTbY and yTbY denote top-left coordinates of the luma block, wherein nTbW and nTbH denote a width and a height of the chroma block (see first lines 1-5 from section 8.7.4.1 on page 299),
wherein SubWidthC and SubHeightC denote variables corresponding to the color format, wherein based on the color format being 4:2:0, SubWidthC and SubHeightC are 2, and wherein based on the color format being 4:2:2, SubWidthC is 2 and SubHeightC is 1 (see table 2 on page 19).
However, Bross does not explicitly disclose performing an LFNST on the chroma block based on a LFNST matrix derived from the LFNST set.
In the same field of endeavor, Egilmez discloses performing an LFNST on the chroma block based on a LFNST matrix derived from the LFNST set (paragraph 0006, Rather than always applying a LFNST for both luma transform coefficients and chroma transform coefficients, techniques described herein may selectively apply the LFNST to chroma transform coefficients based on a partitioning of the video data),
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Bross in view of Egilmez. One would be motivated as such as the video coder potentially reduces complexity of the video coder and reduces signaling overhead with little or no loss in prediction accuracy (Egilmez, paragraph 0006). This rationale applies to all combinations of Bross and Egilmez used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 2, Bross discloses wherein when an intra prediction type corresponding to the specific position is a matrix weighted (MW) intra prediction mode, the intra prediction mode of the chroma block is updated to an intra planar mode (page 299, section 8.7.4.1, If intra_mip_flag[ xTbY + nTbW * SubWidthC / 2 ][ yTbY + nTbH * SubHeightC / 2 ] is equal to 1, predModeIntra is set equal to INTRA_PLANAR).
As per claim 3, Bross discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein when the prediction mode corresponding to the specific position is an intra block copy (IBC) mode, the intra prediction mode of the chroma block is updated to an intra DC mode (pages 299-300, section 8.7.4.1, if CuPredMode[ 0 ][ xTbY + nTbW * SubWidthC / 2 ][ yTbY + nTbH * SubHeightC / 2 ] is equal to MODE_IBC or MODE_PLT, predModeIntra is set equal to INTRA_DC).
As per claim 4, the claim is directed to an image encoding method corresponding to the image decoding method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 1 are applicable for claim 4. In addition, Bross teaches deriving prediction samples for a chroma block based on an intra prediction mode for the chroma block being a cross-component linear model (CCLM) mode (pages 299-300, section 8.7.4.1, When predModeIntra is equal to either INTRA_LT_CCLM, INTRA_L_CCLM, or INTRA_T_CCLM, predModeIntra is derived as follows…); deriving residual samples for the chroma block based on the prediction samples (page 299, line 8 from section 8.7.4.1, Output of this process is the (nTbW)x(nTbH) array res[ x ][ y ] of residual samples).
As per claims 5-6, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 2-3 are applicable for claims 5-6.
As per claim 8, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 4 are applicable for claim 8; in addition, Egimez discloses obtaining a bitstream and transmitting the data comprising the bitstream (see Fig. 1, paragraph 0043, In one example, computer-readable medium 110 represents a communication medium to enable source device 102 to transmit encoded video data directly to destination device 116 in real-time, e.g., via a radio frequency network or computer-based network. Output interface 108 may modulate a transmission signal including the encoded video data, and input interface 122 may demodulate the received transmission signal).
Double Patenting
9. A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
10. Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1 and 4, 5, 6, 7 and 10, 11, 12, 13 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,750,817. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
11. Claims 1-8 provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/918,879 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
13. Claim 8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,750,817. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the claims of this application and the patented claims is that Applicant has added the following limitations of “wherein based on the color format being 4:2:0, SubWidthC and SubHeightC are 2, and wherein based on the color format being 4:2:2, SubWidthC is 2 and SubHeightC is 1.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add some limitations because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that adding some limitations in the claims is an obvious expedient since the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963).
14. Claims 1-6 and 8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,155,838. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,15,838 recite the decoding/encoding apparatus, corresponding to the decoding/encoding method of the instant application, to perform an LFNST on a chroma block based on a LFNST matrix derived from the LFNST.
15. Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 7-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,546,600. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘600 claims list all the features recited in claims 1-4 and 7-11 of the current application; also they are more narrow and therefore anticipates the instant claims.
16. Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 7-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,902,530. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘530 claims list all the features recited in claims 1-4 and 7-12 of the current application; also they are more narrow and therefore anticipates the instant claims.
17. Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,595,691. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘691 claims list all the features recited in claims 1-8 of the current application.
18. Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,101,509. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘509 claims list all the features recited in claims 1-8 of the current application.
19. Claims 1-8 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/812,345 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘345 claims list all the features recited in claims 1-8 of the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED JEBARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482