DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/14/2025, 4/16/2025, 10/22/2025, 1/23/2026, 4/17/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10, 12-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsushima (US 2015/0103746).
Re Claim 1, Matsushima discloses an address allocation method, comprising:
receiving a first message sent by a first node, wherein the first message comprises a first type identifier, and the first type identifier indicates a first address type ([0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300) ; and
sending a second message to the first node, wherein the second message comprises a first network address allocated to the first node or a service on the first node, and an address type of the first network address is the first address type ([0055], [0058]-[0060], The type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station is IPv4v6, the IP address allocated to the mobile station is transmitted with the bearer setting response signal).
Re Claim 2, Matsushima discloses wherein the method is applied to a second node, and the first node and the second node belong to a first communication domain ([0055]-[0060], fig. 4, communication is via eNodeB. UE/mobile state, network entities belon to the same network/communication domain).
Re Claim 3, Matsushima discloses wherein the first address type is a communication domain address or an IP address ([0055], [0058]-[0060], The type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station is IPv4v6.)
Re Claim 4, Matsushima discloses obtaining the first network address based on the first address type ([0055], [0058]-[0060], an IP address type of the connection destination communication network and the IP address of the address type is to be allocated to the mobile station is IPv4v6.).
Re Claim 7, Matsushima discloses wherein the obtaining the first network address based on the first address type comprises: allocating the first network address based on the first address type ([0055], [0058]-[0060], an IP address type of the connection destination communication network and the IP address of the address type is to be allocated to the mobile station is IPv4v6.).
Re Claim 8, Matsushima discloses wherein the obtaining the first network address based on the first address type comprises:
obtaining, based on the first address type and an identifier of a first service, the first network address allocated to the first service, wherein the first message further comprises the identifier of the first service on the first node ([0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300).
Re Claim 10, Matsushima discloses sending a third message to a third node, wherein the third message comprises the first type identifier, the third message further comprises one or more of the following: an identity of the first node and an identifier of a first service on the first node, and the third node is a management node in the first communication domain ([0011]-[0014], receives multiple packets/messages. Fig. 4, [0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300); and
receiving a fifth message sent by the third node, wherein the fifth message comprises the first network address, and the first network address is allocated by the third node based on the third message ([0011]-[0014], receives multiple packets/messages. Fig. 4, [0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300).
Re Claim 12, Matsushima discloses obtaining a historically allocated second network address, wherein the first address type is the IP address, wherein the second network address is a network address that is used by the first node in the first communication domain and whose address type is the communication domain address ([0012] In the above-described communication system, upon receiving a second packet having an IPv4 header encapsulated by an IPv6 header intended for the mobile station, the physical gateway may refer to the routing information, specify the first tunnel identification information as a next-hop address corresponding to the network identification information and the second tunnel identification information indicated in a destination address of the IPv6 header of the second packet, re-encapsulate the second packet by the specified first tunnel identification information, and transfer the re-encapsulated second packet to the base station.); and
obtaining the first network address based on an IPV6 prefix of the first communication domain and the second network address ([0049]-[0050], IPv6 prefix).
Re Claim 13, Matsushima discloses allocating a second network address to the first node, wherein the first address type is the IP address, wherein an address type of the second network address is the communication domain address([0055]-[0058], indicates there are multiple virtual gateways that are to be set as bearers byh DNS system based on the APN and have different addresses); and
obtaining the first network address based on an IPV6 prefix of the first communication domain and the second network address ([0049]-[0050], IPv6 prefix).
Re Claim 14, Matsushima discloses sending a third message to a fourth node, wherein the first address type is the IP address, wherein the third message comprises the first type identifier and an identity of the first node, and the fourth node is a management node in the first communication domain ([0011]-[0014], receives multiple packets/messages. Fig. 4, [0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300); and
receiving a seventh message sent by the fourth node, wherein the seventh message comprises the first network address, the first network address comprises an IPV6 prefix of the first communication domain and a second network address, the second network address is a network address that is used by the first node in the first communication domain and whose address type is the communication domain address, and the first network address is allocated by the fourth node based on the third message ([0011]-[0014], receives multiple packets/messages. Fig. 4, [0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300).
Re Claim 16, Matsushima discloses receiving an eighth message sent by the first node, wherein the eighth message comprises a second type identifier, the second type identifier indicates a second address type, and the second address type is different from the first address type (([0011]-[0014], receives multiple packets. [0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300); and
sending a ninth message to the first node, wherein the ninth message comprises a third network address allocated to the first node or the service on the first node, and an address type of the third network address is the second address type.
(([0011]-[0014], receives multiple packets. [0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300).
With respect to claims 17-20, they are similar to claims 1-3 and therefore are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 9, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Unpatentable over Matsushima and in view of Choukir (US 11,483,283).
Re Claim 5, Matsushima discloses obtaining the first network address based on a first relationship, wherein the first relationship represents a relationship among an identity of the first node, the first network address, and the first address type, wherein the first message further comprises the identity of the first node, wherein the first mapping relationship belongs to a set comprising a relationship among an identity of a node to which a network address is allocated, the network address of the node, and an address type of the network address of the node ([0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300). Matsushima does not disclose, however Choukir discloses mapping relationship (Col. 6, lines 11-40, creates mapping between RMAC1 to RMCA2, IPx, and IDx in the session content through relay through DHCP server).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Matsushima’s address allocation with Choukir’s address allocation which includes mapping between the session content through DHCP relays. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to manage communication sessions based on entries/mappings recorded in the session context parameters.
Re Claim 6, Matsushima discloses obtaining the first network address based on a second relationship, wherein the second relationship represents a mapping relationship among an identity of the first node, an identifier of a first service, the first network address, and the first address type, wherein the first message further comprises the identity of the first node and the identifier of the first service on the first node, wherein the second mapping relationship belongs to a set comprising a relationship among an identifier of a service to which a network address is allocated, the network address of the service, an address type of the network address of the service, and an identity of a node on which the service is located. ([0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300). Matsushima does not disclose, however Choukir discloses mapping relationship (Col. 6, lines 11-40, creates mapping between RMAC1 to RMCA2, IPx, and IDx in the session content through relay through DHCP server).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Matsushima’s address allocation with Choukir’s address allocation which includes mapping between the session content through DHCP relays. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to manage communication sessions based on entries/mappings recorded in the session context parameters.
Re Claim 9, Matsushima discloses sending a third message, wherein the first address type is the IP address, wherein the third message comprises the first type identifier, and the third message further comprises one or more of the following: an identity of the first node and an identifier of a first service on the first node ([0011]-[0014], receives multiple packets/messages [0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300; and
receiving a fourth message sent by the DHCP server , wherein the fourth message comprises the first network address, and the first network address is allocated by the DHCP server based on the third message ([0011]-[0014], receives multiple packets [0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300.
Matsushima does not disclose, however Choukir discloses DHCP server (fig. 1, col. 3, lines 30-45, Clients communicate with DHCP server and exchange messages by which the wireless clients request, and the DHCP server assigns to the clients, UP addresses from the DHCP address pool).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Matsushima’s address allocation with Choukir’s address allocation which includes DHCP server. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to manage communication sessions based on utilizing a well known network device that automatically assigns IP addresses.
Re Claim 11, Matsushima discloses sending a third message to a plurality of management nodes, wherein the first communication domain comprises the plurality of management nodes, wherein the third message comprises the first type identifier, and the third message further comprises one or more of the following: an identity of the first node and an identifier of a first service on the first node ([0011]-[0014], receives multiple packets/messages);
receiving sixth messages sent by the management nodes ([0011]-[0014], receives multiple packets/messages), wherein the sixth message corresponding to one of the plurality of management nodes comprises a network address allocated by the management node based on the third message; and
obtaining the first network address based on a sixth message sent by a target management node in the management nodes.
([0011]-[0014], receives multiple packets/messages [0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300; and
receiving a fourth message sent by the DHCP server , wherein the fourth message comprises the first network address, and the first network address is allocated by the DHCP server based on the third message ([0011]-[0014], receives multiple packets [0055], MME receives the attachment request signal which includes an APN that identifies a connection destination communication network, and an IP address type of the connection destination communication network. The IP address type indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6 as the type of an IP address to be allocated to the mobile station 300.
While Matsushima discloses other clients, Matsushima does not disclose, however Choukir discloses multiple wireless clients (Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 1-20, Multiple wireless clients in which has multiple management entities (MME) that facilitate the allocation of IP addresses).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Matsushima’s address allocation with Choukir’s address allocation to include multiple management nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another that in order to have connections with multiple wireless clients, multiple management nodes would be obvious to take care of the connections.
Re Claim 15, Matsushima does not disclose, however Choukir discloses unicast address identification information, indicating that the first network address is a unicast address (col. 15, lines 8-20, GUA (global unicast allocation) includes IPv6 prefixes for the IP subnet and that can be used by the wireless client to form global addresses IPv6);
multicast address identification information, indicating that the first network address is a multicast address;
anycast address identification information, indicating that the first network address is an anycast address; or quantity identification information, indicating a quantity of applied first network addresses.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Matsushima’s address allocation with Choukir’s address allocation to include unicast address allocation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another to be utilize a one-to-one transmission method.
Conclusion
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443