DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 10/24/2024 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2024 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites in lines 2-3 “have a signal quality” and it should be “have the signal quality”.
Claim 9 recites in lines 5-6 “based on the location of the second vehicle and the distance from the second vehicle, a location of the first vehicle” and it should be “based on the location of the second vehicle and the distance from the second vehicle, determine a location of the first vehicle”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “a signal quality threshold for acceptable risk of operation of the vehicle”. It is not clear for the Examiner what encompasses a threshold for acceptable risk since the term “acceptable” is relative, rendering the claim indefinite. The term “acceptable” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Thus, the claim fails to clearly recite the metes and bounds of the claims. For examination purposes, the Examiner interpreted “a signal quality threshold for acceptable risk of operation of the vehicle” as a signal quality threshold for the operation of the vehicle.
The same rationale applies to claim 17 reciting “the first signal strength is acceptable” and “a threshold acceptable”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang (AU 2022453597).
As to claim 1, Jiang teaches a system, located on a first vehicle operating in at least a partially autonomous manner (Jiang, Figs. 8-9, [0107], [0115]-[0118], the electronic device 90 in a vehicle that operates in an unmanned or autonomous manner), comprising:
a memory that stores computer executable components (Jiang, Fig. 9, [0118], the device includes a memory 902 storing a computer program 93); and
a processor that executes the computer executable components stored in the memory, wherein the computer executable components comprise (Jiang, Fig. 9, [0118], the device includes a processor 901 that executes the computer program stored 903 in the memory 902 to perform the functions of the device):
a signal component configured to (Jiang, Fig. 8, [0115], the device includes a processing module and selecting module to determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement) determine a signal quality of first navigation signals received at the first vehicle (Jiang, [0065], “receiving satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in a global navigation satellite system…determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle observes and collects satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in GNSS in real time through a GPS receiver”), wherein the first navigation signals are received from a first external system (Jiang, [0027], “A GPS receiver of a mobile station (corresponding to an unmanned mining vehicle 12 in FIG. 1) located near the reference station 10 not only observes one or more satellites 11, but also [0028] receives radio signals from the reference station 10”, [0065], “receiving satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in a global navigation satellite system”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle observes and collects satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in GNSS in real time through a GPS receiver”); and
a navigation component configured to (Jiang, Fig. 8, [0115], the selecting module 805), in response to determining, by the signal component, the first navigation signals have a signal quality below a signal strength threshold (Jiang, [0065], “when it is determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement, selecting the first positioning information as the target positioning information of the first vehicle”, [0066], “when it is determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement, the unmanned mining vehicle takes the first positioning information as the target positioning information”, [0071], the preset quality requirement is a received signal strength threshold), operate the first vehicle utilizing a second navigation signal received from a second external system (Jiang, [0065], “selecting the first positioning information as the target positioning information of the first vehicle”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle takes the first positioning information as the target positioning information”, [0045], “The first positioning data is satellite observation data collected by the GPS receiver of the reference station from one or more satellites in GNSS”, see also [0037]. The vehicle utilizes the first position information as the target position information of the vehicle, where the first position information is received from a reference station).
As to claim 7, Jiang teaches wherein the second navigation signal includes a location of the first vehicle (Jiang, [0010], “processing the first positioning data and current positioning data of the first vehicle using a real-time kinematic carrier phase differential technology to obtain first positioning information of the first vehicle, the first vehicle can obtain centimeter level positioning accuracy in a short time without increasing the construction cost and maintenance cost of the reference station”), and the first vehicle is operating in an autonomous manner (Jiang, [0116] “the first vehicle includes an unmanned mining vehicle or an autonomous mining vehicle”).
As to claim 12, Jiang teaches a computer-implemented method comprising (Jiang, Figs. 8-9, [0107], [0115]-[0118], the electronic device 90 in a vehicle that operates in an unmanned or autonomous manner. The device including a memory storing a computer program executed by a processor to perform the corresponding functions):
determining, by a device comprising a processor located on a first vehicle, signal quality of first signals received at the first vehicle (Jiang, [0065], “receiving satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in a global navigation satellite system…determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle observes and collects satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in GNSS in real time through a GPS receiver”) from a first external system (Jiang, [0027], “A GPS receiver of a mobile station (corresponding to an unmanned mining vehicle 12 in FIG. 1) located near the reference station 10 not only observes one or more satellites 11, but also [0028] receives radio signals from the reference station 10”, [0065], “receiving satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in a global navigation satellite system”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle observes and collects satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in GNSS in real time through a GPS receiver”) is below a signal quality threshold for acceptable risk of operation of the vehicle (Jiang, [0065], “when it is determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement, selecting the first positioning information as the target positioning information of the first vehicle”, [0066], “when it is determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement, the unmanned mining vehicle takes the first positioning information as the target positioning information”, [0071], the preset quality requirement is a received signal strength threshold. [0004]-[0005], the signal receive quality not meeting the preset quality requirement affect the positioning stability and work efficiency of the unmanned vehicle); and
switching, by the device, navigation of the vehicle from operation with the first data received from the first external system to operation with second signals comprising second data received from a second external system (Jiang, [0065], “selecting the first positioning information as the target positioning information of the first vehicle”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle takes the first positioning information as the target positioning information”, [0045], “The first positioning data is satellite observation data collected by the GPS receiver of the reference station from one or more satellites in GNSS”, see also [0037]. The vehicle utilizes the first position information as the target position information of the vehicle, where the first position information is received from a reference station).
As to claim 19, Jiang teaches wherein the program instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the processor to:
determine a position of the first vehicle based on the content of the second signal (Jiang, [0110], processing the first positioning data and current positioning data of the first vehicle using a real-time in a kinematic carrier phase differential technology to obtain first positioning information of the first vehicle, the first vehicle can obtain centimeter level positioning accuracy in a short time without increasing the construction cost and maintenance cost of the reference station); and
navigate the first vehicle based on the determined position of the first vehicle (Jiang, [0003], “high accuracy positioning technology is a necessary condition to realize the unmanned driving”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 13-17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (AU 2022453597) in view of Lei (US 2017/0160401).
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein the second external system is located onboard a second vehicle, a mobile device, street infrastructure, an internet node, or a mesh-network node.
As to claim 2, Lei teaches wherein the second external system is located onboard a second vehicle (Lei, Fig. 4, [0030], when the GPS receiver of the host device is unable to obtain location information, the host vehicle communicates with a neighboring vehicle to obtain location information), a mobile device (Lei, Fig. 4, [0030], when the GPS receiver of the host device is unable to obtain location information, the host vehicle communicates with a neighboring vehicle to obtain location information), street infrastructure, an internet node, or a mesh-network node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Lei in order to provide a solution when the navigation system is unable to detect the location of the host device using information from GPS, where the solution includes using another source, such as a neighbor vehicle, that provides the information (Lei, [0025]-[0026]).
As to claim 3, Jiang teaches wherein the first external system is a global positioning system (GPS) utilizing GPS signaling technology (Jiang, Fig. 2, satellites 23 send GPS signals. [0065], “receiving satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in a global navigation satellite system…determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle observes and collects satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in GNSS in real time through a GPS receiver”).
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 3, and the second external system utilizes signaling technology comprising any of BLUETOOTH®, cellular technology, 3G cellular technology, 4G cellular technology, 5G cellular technology, internet technology, ethernet technology, ultra-wideband, DECAWAVE®, IEEE 802.15.4a standard-based technology, Wi-Fi technology, Radio Frequency Identification technology, short-range communication technology, or near field communication radio technology.
However, Lei teaches and the second external system utilizes signaling technology comprising any of BLUETOOTH®, cellular technology, 3G cellular technology, 4G cellular technology, 5G cellular technology, internet technology (Lei, [0037], a DSRC module implementing a TCP/IP stack), ethernet technology, ultra-wideband, DECAWAVE®, IEEE 802.15.4a standard-based technology, Wi-Fi technology, Radio Frequency Identification technology, short-range communication technology (Lei, Figs. 1-2, [0018], the vehicle communicates with another vehicle via Dedicated Short Range Communication (DSRC) technology), or near field communication radio technology.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Lei in order to provide a solution when the navigation system is unable to detect the location of the host device using information from GPS, where the solution includes using another source, such as a neighbor vehicle, that provides the information (Lei, [0025]-[0026]).
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, further comprising a location component further configured to:
in response to the determination of the first navigation signals have a signal quality below the signal strength threshold, generate a request communication comprising a request for the second external system to provide at least one position relating to a location of the first vehicle.
As to claim 4, Lei teaches further comprising a location component further configured to:
in response to the determination of the first navigation signals have a signal quality below the signal strength threshold, generate a request communication comprising a request for the second external system to provide at least one position relating to a location of the first vehicle (Lei, [0028], “Navigation system 10 of host vehicle 12 employs transceiver 20 to communicate with transceiver 24 of neighboring vehicle 22 when GPS receiver 14 is unable to provide information indicative of the location of host vehicle 12. The communications include transceiver 20 of host vehicle 12 (“host transceiver 20”) requesting transceiver 24 of neighboring vehicle 22 (“neighboring transceiver 24”) to transmit the location of neighboring vehicle 22 to host transceiver 20…Controller 16 detects the general location of host vehicle 12 as being the obtained location of neighboring vehicle 22”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Lei in order to provide a solution when the navigation system is unable to detect the location of the host device using information from GPS, where the solution includes using another source, such as a neighbor vehicle, that provides the information (Lei, [0025]-[0026]).
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein the signal component is further configured to transmit the request communication to the second external system.
As to claim 5, Lei teaches wherein the signal component is further configured to transmit the request communication to the second external system (Lei, [0028], “The communications include transceiver 20 of host vehicle 12 (“host transceiver 20”) requesting transceiver 24 of neighboring vehicle 22 (“neighboring transceiver 24”) to transmit the location of neighboring vehicle 22 to host transceiver 20”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Lei in order to provide a solution when the navigation system is unable to detect the location of the host device using information from GPS, where the solution includes using another source, such as a neighbor vehicle, that provides the information (Lei, [0025]-[0026]).
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. As discussed above, Jiang discloses the signal receiving quality does not meet the received signal strength threshold (Jiang, [0065], [0066], [0071]). Jiang does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 6, wherein the signal quality of the first navigation signals being below the signal strength threshold is a function of reduction in signal strength of the first navigation signals due to the first vehicle operating in proximity to one or more buildings.
As to claim 6, Lei teaches wherein the signal quality of the first navigation signals being below the signal strength threshold is a function of reduction in signal strength of the first navigation signals due to the first vehicle operating in proximity to one or more buildings (Lei, Fig. 4, [0030], when the GPS receiver of the host device is unable to obtain location information, [0003], “the GPS receiver and the GNSS are unable to communicate with one another due to the vehicle being driven through a tunnel, an area with tall buildings, etc. In the latter cases, communication between the GPS receiver and the GNSS is prevented due to the tunnel or buildings or other obstruction attenuating or obstructing the communication signals”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Lei in order to provide a solution when the navigation system is unable to detect the location of the host device using information from GPS, where the solution includes using another source, such as a neighbor vehicle, that provides the information (Lei, [0025]-[0026]).
As to claim 13, Jiang teaches wherein the first external system is a global positioning system (GPS) comprising at least one satellite (Jiang, Fig. 2, satellites 23 send GPS signals. [0065], “receiving satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in a global navigation satellite system…determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle observes and collects satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in GNSS in real time through a GPS receiver”).
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, and the second external system is located onboard a second vehicle communicatively coupled to the first vehicle.
However, Lei teaches and the second external system is located onboard a second vehicle communicatively coupled to the first vehicle (Lei, Figs. 2-3, Fig. 4, [0030], when the GPS receiver of the host device is unable to obtain location information, the host vehicle communicates with a neighboring vehicle to obtain location information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Lei in order to provide a solution when the navigation system is unable to detect the location of the host device using information from GPS, where the solution includes using another source, such as a neighbor vehicle, that provides the information (Lei, [0025]-[0026]).
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 14, further comprising:
generating, by the device, a request communication, for the second external system to provide at least one position relating to a location of the first vehicle; and
transmitting, by the device, the request communication to the second vehicle.
As to claim 14, Lei teaches further comprising:
generating, by the device, a request communication, for the second external system to provide at least one position relating to a location of the first vehicle (Lei, [0028], “Navigation system 10 of host vehicle 12 employs transceiver 20 to communicate with transceiver 24 of neighboring vehicle 22 when GPS receiver 14 is unable to provide information indicative of the location of host vehicle 12. The communications include transceiver 20 of host vehicle 12 (“host transceiver 20”) requesting transceiver 24 of neighboring vehicle 22 (“neighboring transceiver 24”) to transmit the location of neighboring vehicle 22 to host transceiver 20…Controller 16 detects the general location of host vehicle 12 as being the obtained location of neighboring vehicle 22”); and
transmitting, by the device, the request communication to the second vehicle (Lei, [0028], “The communications include transceiver 20 of host vehicle 12 (“host transceiver 20”) requesting transceiver 24 of neighboring vehicle 22 (“neighboring transceiver 24”) to transmit the location of neighboring vehicle 22 to host transceiver 20”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Lei in order to provide a solution when the navigation system is unable to detect the location of the host device using information from GPS, where the solution includes using another source, such as a neighbor vehicle, that provides the information (Lei, [0025]-[0026]).
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, further comprising:
receiving, by the device, a first response communication, wherein the response communication comprises at least one of a position of the second vehicle, a position of the first vehicle, a time stamp, a direction of the second vehicle, a direction of the first vehicle, or an image of a structure proximate to the first vehicle.
As to claim 15, Lei teaches further comprising:
receiving, by the device, a first response communication, wherein the response communication comprises at least one of a position of the second vehicle, a position of the first vehicle (Lei, [0028], “Neighboring transceiver 24 responds by transmitting the location of neighboring vehicle 22 to host transceiver 20. Controller 16 receives the location of neighboring vehicle 22 from host transceiver 20. Controller 16 detects the general location of host vehicle 12 as being the obtained location of neighboring vehicle 22. Controller 16 detects the general location of host vehicle 12 being the location of neighboring vehicle 22 as the host vehicle and the neighboring vehicle are within the vicinity of one another”), a time stamp, a direction of the second vehicle, a direction of the first vehicle, or an image of a structure proximate to the first vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Lei in order to provide a solution when the navigation system is unable to detect the location of the host device using information from GPS, where the solution includes using another source, such as a neighbor vehicle, that provides the information (Lei, [0025]-[0026]).
As to claim 16, Jiang teaches further comprising:
navigating, by the device, the first vehicle (Jiang, [0003], “high accuracy positioning technology is a necessary condition to realize the unmanned driving”), based on at least one of the position of the second vehicle, the position of the first vehicle (Jiang, [0065], “selecting the first positioning information as the target positioning information of the first vehicle”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle takes the first positioning information as the target positioning information”, [0045], “The first positioning data is satellite observation data collected by the GPS receiver of the reference station from one or more satellites in GNSS”, see also [0037]. The vehicle utilizes the first position information as the target position information of the vehicle, where the first position information is received from a reference station), the time stamp, the direction of the second vehicle, the direction of the first vehicle, or the image of a structure proximate to the first vehicle.
As to claim 17, Jiang teaches a computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to (Jiang, Figs. 8-9, [0107], [0115]-[0118], the electronic device 90 in a vehicle that operates in an unmanned or autonomous manner. The device including a memory storing a computer program executed by a processor to perform the corresponding functions):
monitor signal strength of first signals received at a first vehicle (Jiang, [0065], “receiving satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in a global navigation satellite system…determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle observes and collects satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in GNSS in real time through a GPS receiver”) operating in an autonomous manner (Jiang, [0116] “the first vehicle includes an unmanned mining vehicle or an autonomous mining vehicle”), wherein the first signals are received from a first external system (Jiang, [0027], “A GPS receiver of a mobile station (corresponding to an unmanned mining vehicle 12 in FIG. 1) located near the reference station 10 not only observes one or more satellites 11, but also [0028] receives radio signals from the reference station 10”, [0065], “receiving satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in a global navigation satellite system”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle observes and collects satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in GNSS in real time through a GPS receiver”) and are utilized for navigation of the vehicle (Jiang, [0003], “high accuracy positioning technology is a necessary condition to realize the unmanned driving”);
determine a drop in the signal strength of the first signals from a first signal strength to a second signal strength (Jiang, [0065], “when it is determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement”, [0066], “when it is determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement”. The signal receiving quality drops from above the preset quality requirement to a signal strength quality below the preset quality requirement), wherein the first signal strength is acceptable for the autonomous operation of the first vehicle based on the first signals (Jiang, [0003], “high accuracy positioning technology is a necessary condition to realize the unmanned driving”, [0065], “when it is determined that a signal receiving quality meets a preset quality requirement, selecting the third positioning information as target positioning information of the first vehicle”) and the second signal strength is below a threshold acceptable for the autonomous operation of the first vehicle based on the first signals (Jiang, [0065], “when it is determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement, selecting the first positioning information as the target positioning information of the first vehicle”, [0066], “when it is determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement, the unmanned mining vehicle takes the first positioning information as the target positioning information”, [0071], the preset quality requirement is a received signal strength threshold); and
switch navigation (Jiang, [0003], “high accuracy positioning technology is a necessary condition to realize the unmanned driving”) of the first vehicle based on a second signal, wherein the second signal is sourced from a second external system (Jiang, [0065], “selecting the first positioning information as the target positioning information of the first vehicle”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle takes the first positioning information as the target positioning information”, [0045], “The first positioning data is satellite observation data collected by the GPS receiver of the reference station from one or more satellites in GNSS”, see also [0037]. The vehicle utilizes the first position information as the target position information of the vehicle, where the first position information is received from a reference station), wherein the first external system is a global positioning system (Jiang, Fig. 2, satellites 23 send GPS signals. [0065], “receiving satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in a global navigation satellite system…determined that the signal receiving quality does not meet the preset quality requirement”, [0066], “the unmanned mining vehicle observes and collects satellite positioning data sent by one or more satellites in GNSS in real time through a GPS receiver”).
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 17, and the second external system is located on a second vehicle communicatively coupled to the first vehicle.
However, Lei teaches and the second external system is located on a second vehicle communicatively coupled to the first vehicle (Lei, Fig. 4, [0030], when the GPS receiver of the host device is unable to obtain location information, the host vehicle communicates with a neighboring vehicle to obtain location information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Lei in order to provide a solution when the navigation system is unable to detect the location of the host device using information from GPS, where the solution includes using another source, such as a neighbor vehicle, that provides the information (Lei, [0025]-[0026]).
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 18, wherein the second signal includes content comprising at least one of a position of the second vehicle, a position of the first vehicle, a time stamp, a direction of the second vehicle, a direction of the first vehicle, or an image of a structure proximate to the first vehicle.
As to claim 18, Lei teaches wherein the second signal includes content comprising at least one of a position of the second vehicle, a position of the first vehicle (Lei, [0028], “Neighboring transceiver 24 responds by transmitting the location of neighboring vehicle 22 to host transceiver 20. Controller 16 receives the location of neighboring vehicle 22 from host transceiver 20. Controller 16 detects the general location of host vehicle 12 as being the obtained location of neighboring vehicle 22. Controller 16 detects the general location of host vehicle 12 being the location of neighboring vehicle 22 as the host vehicle and the neighboring vehicle are within the vicinity of one another”), a time stamp, a direction of the second vehicle, a direction of the first vehicle, or an image of a structure proximate to the first vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Lei in order to provide a solution when the navigation system is unable to detect the location of the host device using information from GPS, where the solution includes using another source, such as a neighbor vehicle, that provides the information (Lei, [0025]-[0026]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (AU 2022453597) in view of Lei (US 2017/0160401) and further in view of Guo et al. (US 2019/0271989), hereinafter “Guo”.
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein the second navigation signal includes a timestamp identifying when the second navigation signal was transmitted and a location of a second vehicle, wherein the second external navigation system is located onboard the second vehicle.
As to claim 8, Lei teaches, wherein the second external navigation system is located onboard the second vehicle (Lei, Fig. 4, [0030], when the GPS receiver of the host device is unable to obtain location information, the host vehicle communicates with a neighboring vehicle to obtain location information. Lei further discloses in [0028] that the host vehicle receives the location of the neighboring vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Lei in order to provide a solution when the navigation system is unable to detect the location of the host device using information from GPS, where the solution includes using another source, such as a neighbor vehicle, that provides the information (Lei, [0025]-[0026]).
Jiang and Lei teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang and Lei do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein the second navigation signal includes a timestamp identifying when the second navigation signal was transmitted and a location of a second vehicle.
However, Guo teaches wherein the second navigation signal includes a timestamp identifying when the second navigation signal was transmitted and a location of a second vehicle (Guo, Fig. 1, Fig. 4, [0029], a receiver of a vehicle receives a message from a neighboring vehicle including a time of transmission of the message, a location of the neighboring vehicle and a velocity of the neighboring vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang and Lei to have the features, as taught by Guo in order to improve the vehicle’s clock offset and location accuracy by performing a number of iterations of the synchronization method (Guo, [0055]).
Jiang and Lei teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang and Lei do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 9, further comprising a location component configured to:
determine a distance from the second vehicle, based on a time difference between the timestamp and a time at which the second navigation signal was received at the first vehicle; and
based on the location of the second vehicle and the distance from the second vehicle, a location of the first vehicle.
As to claim 9, Guo teaches further comprising a location component configured to (Guo, Fig. 1, [0028], “a processor 107 to perform clock and location computation”):
determine a distance from the second vehicle, based on a time difference between the timestamp and a time at which the second navigation signal was received at the first vehicle (Guo, [0047], [0051]-[0052], the difference tri - tti is used for the distance between the vehicle at the unknown location and the location of the neighbor vehicle retrieved from the message. The tti is the time at which the neighboring vehicle transmitted the message and tri is the time at which the vehicle received the message from the neighboring vehicle); and
based on the location of the second vehicle and the distance from the second vehicle, a location of the first vehicle (Guo, Fig. 1, [0030], the vehicle determines an unknown location of the vehicle by comparing distances between the vehicle’s location and the location of the neighboring vehicles retrieved from the message with distances traveled by the light between the time of the transmission of the message and corresponding receipt time. [0047], [0051]-[0052], the location of the vehicle 100 is determined based on equations 3-6, which include the location of the neighboring vehicle (xi, yi, zi) and distance between the vehicle at the unknown location and the location of the neighbor vehicle retrieved from the message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang and Lei to have the features, as taught by Guo in order to improve the vehicle’s clock offset and location accuracy by performing a number of iterations of the synchronization method (Guo, [0055]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (AU 2022453597) in view of Horita et al. (US 2016/0305794), hereinafter “Horita”.
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 10, wherein the second navigation signal includes an image and position data of a building proximate to the first vehicle.
As to claim 10, Horita teaches wherein the second navigation signal includes an image and position data of a building proximate to the first vehicle (Horita, Fig. 8, [0118], a landmark data message 512 is transmitted to the vehicle 2, Fig. 10, [0121], [0123]-[0125], the landmark data message 512 includes a landmark classification 652, position information for the landmark 653 and landmark image 663. [0072], “characteristic buildings in the vicinity of the road and so on may also be treated as being landmark information”, [0116], the landmark data road range information corresponds to the road range specified by the vehicle which is necessary to acquire. [0116], “landmark classifications (traffic signs, traffic lights, painted road marks, buildings, or the like) that are to be subjects of acquisition”, [0131], “the objective is to extract landmarks that are present in the vicinity of the path along which the vehicle is traveling”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Horita in order to enhance the accuracy of estimation of the position of a vehicle, while giving due attention to reduction of the burden of processing for recognition of landmarks (Horita, [0014]).
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, further comprising a location component configured to:
identify the location of the building in the image;
determine a distance from the building to the first vehicle; and
determine a location of the first vehicle, based on the location of the building and the determined distance between the first vehicle and the building.
As to claim 11, Horita teaches further comprising a location component configured to:
identify the location of the building in the image (Horita, [0116], the landmark is a building, [0121], [0124], the vehicle obtains the absolute position information of the landmark);
determine a distance from the building to the first vehicle (Horita, [0146], “the relative distance from the vehicle 2 to this landmark and its relative direction and so on are also calculated by using the matching location, the size of the landmark upon its image…”); and
determine a location of the first vehicle, based on the location of the building and the determined distance between the first vehicle and the building (Horita, [0116], the landmark is a building, [0159], “calculating the position of the vehicle upon the road map on the basis of its relative distance and its relative direction, which have been calculated by landmark recognition with respect to a landmark whose three dimensional position upon the road map is known”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Horita in order to enhance the accuracy of estimation of the position of a vehicle, while giving due attention to reduction of the burden of processing for recognition of landmarks (Horita, [0014]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (AU 2022453597) in view of Koyama et al. (WO 2023/228740), hereinafter “Koyama”.
Jiang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jiang does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 20, wherein the program instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the processor to:
receive a third signal, wherein the third signal is received from one of an intelligent traffic control system, an internet node, a second vehicle, or a mobile device; and
further navigate the first vehicle based on content in the third signal.
As to claim 20, Koyama teaches wherein the program instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the processor to:
receive a third signal, wherein the third signal is received from one of an intelligent traffic control system, an internet node (Koyama, Fig. 1, Fig. 4, “In step S20, the server device 200 transmits information indicating the route to the target position in response to receiving the route information request. The preceding vehicle 100-1 receives the information and automatically travels along the route to the target position based on the information”), a second vehicle, or a mobile device; and
further navigate the first vehicle based on content in the third signal (Koyama, Fig. 1, Fig. 4, page 6, “In step S20, the server device 200 transmits information indicating the route to the target position in response to receiving the route information request. The preceding vehicle 100-1 receives the information and automatically travels along the route to the target position based on the information”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to have the features, as taught by Koyama in order to reduce processing at the following device by receiving route information from the server compared to the case where route search is performed by the following device (Koyama, page 3 lines 42-46).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Choudhury et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0052028 – [0033] “modifying operating states of the GPS receiver in response to determining GPS position information is below a quality threshold in any other suitable manner”.
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473