DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 10/24/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2025, 04/28/2025, and 01/02/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 11-13, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 20240255608), Ma hereinafter, in view of Davydov et al. (US 20160254920), Davydov hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Ma teaches a method comprising (Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066] ):
establishing an association between a first resource block and a first type of signal (Fig. 7, Para. [0041] - As shown in FIG. 7, the communications and sensing signals are located at different resource blocks and slots. In this embodiment, the position of sensing signal is at both time and frequency domain. From the view of the time domain, each slot can have equal chance (or probability) of 1/7 to be used by sensing signal in some embodiments as shown in FIG. 7. From the view of the frequency domain, each resource block can have an equal chance (or probability) of ⅕ to be used by sensing signal in some embodiments as shown in FIG. 7. This embodiment can be seen as an example of irregular time and frequency pattern. The remaining resources other than the resources used for the sensing signal are used for communications. Different types of sensing signals can be used in this scheme. In this embodiment, gold sequence is assumed to be used; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0053] - [0043] The following section describes example techniques and/or design structures described in this patent document: [0044] A signal structure contains both communications signal and sensing signal, and the sensing signal has irregular resource pattern…….. [0048] The mentioned frequency domain can be at sub-carrier-wise, or resource-block-wise; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]),
establishing an association between a second resource block and a second type of signal (Fig. 7, Para. [0041] - As shown in FIG. 7, the communications and sensing signals are located at different resource blocks and slots. In this embodiment, the position of sensing signal is at both time and frequency domain. From the view of the time domain, each slot can have equal chance (or probability) of 1/7 to be used by sensing signal in some embodiments as shown in FIG. 7. From the view of the frequency domain, each resource block can have an equal chance (or probability) of ⅕ to be used by sensing signal in some embodiments as shown in FIG. 7. This embodiment can be seen as an example of irregular time and frequency pattern. The remaining resources other than the resources used for the sensing signal are used for communications. Different types of sensing signals can be used in this scheme. In this embodiment, gold sequence is assumed to be used; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0053] - [0043] The following section describes example techniques and/or design structures described in this patent document: [0044] A signal structure contains both communications signal and sensing signal, and the sensing signal has irregular resource pattern…….. [0048] The mentioned frequency domain can be at sub-carrier-wise, or resource-block-wise; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]),
transmitting the first type of signal in the first resource block; and transmitting the second type of signal in the second resource block (Fig. 11, Para. [0056] - FIG. 11 shows an exemplary flowchart for transmitting a waveform comprising joint communications and sensing signals. Operation 1102 includes transmitting, by a wireless device, a waveform that includes a signal structure having one or more time resources or one or more frequency resources, where the signal structure includes a plurality of data signals, where the signal structure includes a plurality of sensing signals configured to reflect from an object in an area where the wireless device is operating, and where locations of the plurality of sensing signals in the signal structure form an irregular pattern; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]).
Yet, Ma does not expressly teach the first resource block defined using a first spatial domain element and the second resource block defined using a second spatial domain element.
However, Davydov teaches
the first resource block defined using a first spatial domain element (Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037] - [0035] FIG. 5 illustrates a mapping of MBSFN reference signals in resource blocks 500, 502 corresponding to two antenna ports, respectively, according to another embodiment. The example shown in FIG. 5 corresponds to using an extended cyclic prefix and subcarrier spacing Δf=7.5 kHz. Again, “R.sub.x” indicates the resource blocks assigned to MBSFN references signals for antenna port X, and “R.sub.y” indicates the resource blocks assigned to MBSFN references signals for antenna port Y. The UE 122 is configured to use the MBSFN reference signals R.sub.x in the resource block 500 to estimate a channel for a first MIMO layer, and to use the MBSFN reference signals R.sub.y in the resource block 502 to estimate a channel for a second MIMO layer. The plurality of grayed out or hatched squares 510, 512 is resource elements that are assigned to MBSFN reference signals in the other antenna; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0021-0025]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0026-0030]; Fig. 3, Para. [0031-0032]; Fig. 4, Para. [0033-0034]; Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; Fig. 6, Para. [0038-0041]; Fig. 7, Para. [0042-000051]; Figs. 8-11; Fig. 12, Para. [0052-0063]; Fig. 13, Para. [0064-0082]; Para. [0083-0139]);
the second resource block defined using a second spatial domain element (Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037] - [0035] FIG. 5 illustrates a mapping of MBSFN reference signals in resource blocks 500, 502 corresponding to two antenna ports, respectively, according to another embodiment. The example shown in FIG. 5 corresponds to using an extended cyclic prefix and subcarrier spacing Δf=7.5 kHz. Again, “R.sub.x” indicates the resource blocks assigned to MBSFN references signals for antenna port X, and “R.sub.y” indicates the resource blocks assigned to MBSFN references signals for antenna port Y. The UE 122 is configured to use the MBSFN reference signals R.sub.x in the resource block 500 to estimate a channel for a first MIMO layer, and to use the MBSFN reference signals R.sub.y in the resource block 502 to estimate a channel for a second MIMO layer. The plurality of grayed out or hatched squares 510, 512 is resource elements that are assigned to MBSFN reference signals in the other antenna; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0021-0025]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0026-0030]; Fig. 3, Para. [0031-0032]; Fig. 4, Para. [0033-0034]; Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; Fig. 6, Para. [0038-0041]; Fig. 7, Para. [0042-000051]; Figs. 8-11; Fig. 12, Para. [0052-0063]; Fig. 13, Para. [0064-0082]; Para. [0083-0139]);
Examiner’s Note for Claim 1: Ma teaches the claimed association of different resource blocks with different types of signals and transmission of the respective signals in those resource blocks, including allocating different resource blocks to communication and sensing signals (Fig. 7, Para. [0041] and Para. [0044, 0048]) and transmitting a waveform containing communication and sensing signals (Fig. 11, Para. [0056]).
Davydov is relied upon for the spatial domain aspect not expressly taught by Ma. Davydov’s Fig. 5 and Para. [0035] associate resource block 500 with a first MIMO/spatial layer and resource block 502 with a second MIMO/spatial layer.
Thus, in the combination, Ma’s resource blocks associated with respective signal types are define using Davydov’s respective first and second spatial-domain elements, such that the first and second signal types are transmitted in resource blocks differentiated both by signal type and spatial domain. Davydov expressly describes MIMO layers as spatial layers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma’s invention of techniques for “signal structure designs for joint communications and sensing for wireless technologies” (Ma Para. [0004]) with Davydov’s invention of “using multiple spatial layers for physical multicast channel (PMCH) transmissions” (Davydov Para. [0002]) because Davydov’s invention provides means to incorporate spatial multiplexing in transmission schemes to “increase data rates” and “transmit independent and separately encoded data streams from each of multiple transmit antennas using the same sub-carriers in the same OFDM symbol periods” (Davydov Para. [0004]).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1: Fig. 5 from Davydov (US 20160254920) illustrates first and second resource blocks 500 and 502 associated with respective first and second MIMO spatial layers via antenna ports X and Y.)]
Regarding Claim 7, Ma teaches a method comprising (Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066] ):
obtaining an association between a first resource block and a first type of signal (Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0053; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]),
obtaining an association between a second resource block and a second type of signal (Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0053; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]),
receiving the first type of signal in the first resource block; and receiving the second type of signal in the second resource block (Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0053] - [0043] The following section describes example techniques and/or design structures described in this patent document: [0044] A signal structure contains both communications signal and sensing signal, and the sensing signal has irregular resource pattern…….. [0048] The mentioned frequency domain can be at sub-carrier-wise, or resource-block-wise……..[0052] A transmitter which transmits a signal with such structure. [0053] A receiver which receives a signal with such structure; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]).
Yet, Ma does not expressly teach the first resource block defined using a first spatial domain element and the second resource block defined using a second spatial domain element.
However, Davydov teaches
the first resource block defined using a first spatial domain element (Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0021-0025]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0026-0030]; Fig. 3, Para. [0031-0032]; Fig. 4, Para. [0033-0034]; Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; Fig. 6, Para. [0038-0041]; Fig. 7, Para. [0042-000051]; Figs. 8-11; Fig. 12, Para. [0052-0063]; Fig. 13, Para. [0064-0082]; Para. [0083-0139]);
the second resource block defined using a second spatial domain element (Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0021-0025]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0026-0030]; Fig. 3, Para. [0031-0032]; Fig. 4, Para. [0033-0034]; Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; Fig. 6, Para. [0038-0041]; Fig. 7, Para. [0042-000051]; Figs. 8-11; Fig. 12, Para. [0052-0063]; Fig. 13, Para. [0064-0082]; Para. [0083-0139]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma’s invention of techniques for “signal structure designs for joint communications and sensing for wireless technologies” (Ma Para. [0004]) with Davydov’s invention of “using multiple spatial layers for physical multicast channel (PMCH) transmissions” (Davydov Para. [0002]) because Davydov’s invention provides means to incorporate spatial multiplexing in transmission schemes to “increase data rates” and “transmit independent and separately encoded data streams from each of multiple transmit antennas using the same sub-carriers in the same OFDM symbol periods” (Davydov Para. [0004]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ma teaches an apparatus comprising (Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066] ):
at least one processor configured, by executing instructions, to (Fig. 9, element 910, Para. [0054]):
establish an association between a first resource block and a first type of signal (Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0053; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]),
establish an association between a second resource block and a second type of signal (Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0053; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]),
an interface coupled to the processor and configured by the processor to (Fig. 9, elements 910 and 915, Para. [0054]):
transmit the first type of signal in the first resource block; and transmit the second type of signal in the second resource block (Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]).
Yet, Ma does not expressly teach the first resource block defined using a first spatial domain element and the second resource block defined using a second spatial domain element.
However, Davydov teaches
the first resource block defined using a first spatial domain element (Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0021-0025]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0026-0030]; Fig. 3, Para. [0031-0032]; Fig. 4, Para. [0033-0034]; Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; Fig. 6, Para. [0038-0041]; Fig. 7, Para. [0042-000051]; Figs. 8-11; Fig. 12, Para. [0052-0063]; Fig. 13, Para. [0064-0082]; Para. [0083-0139]);
the second resource block defined using a second spatial domain element (Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0021-0025]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0026-0030]; Fig. 3, Para. [0031-0032]; Fig. 4, Para. [0033-0034]; Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; Fig. 6, Para. [0038-0041]; Fig. 7, Para. [0042-000051]; Figs. 8-11; Fig. 12, Para. [0052-0063]; Fig. 13, Para. [0064-0082]; Para. [0083-0139]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma’s invention of techniques for “signal structure designs for joint communications and sensing for wireless technologies” (Ma Para. [0004]) with Davydov’s invention of “using multiple spatial layers for physical multicast channel (PMCH) transmissions” (Davydov Para. [0002]) because Davydov’s invention provides means to incorporate spatial multiplexing in transmission schemes to “increase data rates” and “transmit independent and separately encoded data streams from each of multiple transmit antennas using the same sub-carriers in the same OFDM symbol periods” (Davydov Para. [0004]).
Regarding Claim 17, Ma teaches an apparatus comprising (Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066] ):
at least one processor configured, by executing instructions, to (Fig. 9, element 910, Para. [0054]):
obtain an association between a first resource block and a first type of signal (Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0053; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]),
obtain an association between a second resource block and a second type of signal (Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0053; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]),
an interface coupled to the processor and configured by the processor to (Fig. 9, elements 910 and 920, Para. [0054]):
receive the first type of signal in the first resource block; and receive the second type of signal in the second resource block (Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0053]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]).
Yet, Ma does not expressly teach the first resource block defined using a first spatial domain element and the second resource block defined using a second spatial domain element.
However, Davydov teaches
the first resource block defined using a first spatial domain element (Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0021-0025]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0026-0030]; Fig. 3, Para. [0031-0032]; Fig. 4, Para. [0033-0034]; Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; Fig. 6, Para. [0038-0041]; Fig. 7, Para. [0042-000051]; Figs. 8-11; Fig. 12, Para. [0052-0063]; Fig. 13, Para. [0064-0082]; Para. [0083-0139]);
the second resource block defined using a second spatial domain element (Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0021-0025]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0026-0030]; Fig. 3, Para. [0031-0032]; Fig. 4, Para. [0033-0034]; Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; Fig. 6, Para. [0038-0041]; Fig. 7, Para. [0042-000051]; Figs. 8-11; Fig. 12, Para. [0052-0063]; Fig. 13, Para. [0064-0082]; Para. [0083-0139]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma’s invention of techniques for “signal structure designs for joint communications and sensing for wireless technologies” (Ma Para. [0004]) with Davydov’s invention of “using multiple spatial layers for physical multicast channel (PMCH) transmissions” (Davydov Para. [0002]) because Davydov’s invention provides means to incorporate spatial multiplexing in transmission schemes to “increase data rates” and “transmit independent and separately encoded data streams from each of multiple transmit antennas using the same sub-carriers in the same OFDM symbol periods” (Davydov Para. [0004]).
Regarding Claims 2, 8, 12, and 18, Ma in view of Davydov teaches Claims 1, 7, 11, and 17.
Ma further teaches
wherein the first type of signal comprises a communication-only signal, and the second type of signal comprises a joint sensing and communication signal or a sensing-only signal (Fig. 7, Para. [0041] - As shown in FIG. 7, the communications and sensing signals are located at different resource blocks and slots. In this embodiment, the position of sensing signal is at both time and frequency domain. From the view of the time domain, each slot can have equal chance (or probability) of 1/7 to be used by sensing signal in some embodiments as shown in FIG. 7. From the view of the frequency domain, each resource block can have an equal chance (or probability) of ⅕ to be used by sensing signal in some embodiments as shown in FIG. 7. This embodiment can be seen as an example of irregular time and frequency pattern. The remaining resources other than the resources used for the sensing signal are used for communications. Different types of sensing signals can be used in this scheme. In this embodiment, gold sequence is assumed to be used; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0053] - [0043] The following section describes example techniques and/or design structures described in this patent document: [0044] A signal structure contains both communications signal and sensing signal, and the sensing signal has irregular resource pattern…….. [0048] The mentioned frequency domain can be at sub-carrier-wise, or resource-block-wise; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0033-0035]; Fig. 2, Para. [0036]; Fig. 3, Para. [0037]; Fig. 4-5, Para. [0038-0039]; Fig. 6, Para. [0040]; Fig. 7, Para. [0041]; Fig. 8, Para. [0042-0043]; Fig. 9, Para. [0054]; Fig. 10, Para. [0055]; Fig. 11, Para. [0056]; Fig. 12, Para. [0057]; Fig. 13, Para. [0058]; Para. [0059-0066]).
Regarding Claims 3, 9, 13, and 19, Ma in view of Davydov teaches Claims 1, 7, 11, and 17.
Yet, Ma does not expressly teach wherein the first spatial domain element comprises at least one of a beam, a multiple input multiple (MIMO) output layer, or a polarization.
However, Davydov teaches
wherein the first spatial domain element comprises at least one of a beam, a multiple input multiple (MIMO) output layer, or a polarization (Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037] - [0035] FIG. 5 illustrates a mapping of MBSFN reference signals in resource blocks 500, 502 corresponding to two antenna ports, respectively, according to another embodiment. The example shown in FIG. 5 corresponds to using an extended cyclic prefix and subcarrier spacing Δf=7.5 kHz. Again, “R.sub.x” indicates the resource blocks assigned to MBSFN references signals for antenna port X, and “R.sub.y” indicates the resource blocks assigned to MBSFN references signals for antenna port Y. The UE 122 is configured to use the MBSFN reference signals R.sub.x in the resource block 500 to estimate a channel for a first MIMO layer, and to use the MBSFN reference signals R.sub.y in the resource block 502 to estimate a channel for a second MIMO layer. The plurality of grayed out or hatched squares 510, 512 is resource elements that are assigned to MBSFN reference signals in the other antenna; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0021-0025]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0026-0030]; Fig. 3, Para. [0031-0032]; Fig. 4, Para. [0033-0034]; Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; Fig. 6, Para. [0038-0041]; Fig. 7, Para. [0042-000051]; Figs. 8-11; Fig. 12, Para. [0052-0063]; Fig. 13, Para. [0064-0082]; Para. [0083-0139]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma’s invention of techniques for “signal structure designs for joint communications and sensing for wireless technologies” (Ma Para. [0004]) with Davydov’s invention of “using multiple spatial layers for physical multicast channel (PMCH) transmissions” (Davydov Para. [0002]) because Davydov’s invention provides means to incorporate spatial multiplexing in transmission schemes to “increase data rates” and “transmit independent and separately encoded data streams from each of multiple transmit antennas using the same sub-carriers in the same OFDM symbol periods” (Davydov Para. [0004]).
Claims 4, 6, 10, 14, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Davydov, and further in view of Nilsson et al. (US 20250167968), Nilsson hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 4, 10, 14, and 20, Ma in view of Davydov teaches Claims 1, 7, 11, and 17.
Yet, neither Ma nor Davydov expressly teach associating/associate the first spatial domain element of the first resource block with a first spatial domain index, among a plurality of spatial domain indices.
However, Nilsson teaches
associating/associate the first spatial domain element of the first resource block with a first spatial domain index, among a plurality of spatial domain indices (Para. [0154] - In one embodiment, in case PUSCH is scheduled for spatial multiplexing (i.e., where different sets of PUSCH layers are transmitted in two different PUSCH transmissions transmitted in overlapping time/frequency resources), the first PUSCH transmission associated with a first set of layers is associated with a first common beam index (i.e., a first indicated Joint DL/UL TCI state), and the second PUSCH transmission associated with a second set of PUSCH layers is associated with a second common beam index (i.e., a second indicated Joint DL/UL TCI state). In one embodiment, the first set of layers is indicated with a first transmission precoder matrix indicator (TPMI)/SRI field in the DCI scheduling the PUSCH transmission and the second set of layers is indicated with a second TPMI/SRI field in the DCI scheduling the PUSCH transmission. In one embodiment, the first set of layers is associated with a first CDM group indicated with the Antenna port bitfield (as specified in 3GPP TS 38.212 v17.0.0) included in the in the DCI scheduling the PUSCH transmission and the second set of layers is associated with a second CDM group indicated with the Antenna port bitfield included in the in the DCI scheduling the PUSCH transmission. So for example, in case the Antenna port bitfield in DCI scheduling the PUSCH indicates antenna (DMRS) port 0 belonging to CDM group 0 and antenna (DMRS) port 2 belonging to CDM group 1, then the UE should associate the PUSCH layer transmitted on antenna port 0 with a first common beam index (i.e. a first indicated Joint DL/UL TCI state), and associate the PUSCH layer transmitted on antenna port 2 with a second common beam index (i.e. a second indicated Joint DL/UL TCI state); See Also: Fig. 1-2, Para. [0058-0068]; Fig. 3, Para. [0069-0070]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0071-0074]; Fig. 5, Para. [0075-0076]; Fig.6, Para. [0077-0108]; Fig. 7, Para. [0109-0111]; Fig. 8, Para. [0112-0115]; Fig. 9, Para. [0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0118]; Fig. 11, Para. [0119]; Fig. 12, Para. [0120]; Para. [0121-0125]; Fig. 13, Para. [0126-0168]; Fig. 14, Para. [0169-0180]; Fig. 15, Para. [0181-0191]).
Examiner’s Note for Claims 4, 10, 14, and 20: In the combination, Davydov’s first MIMO layer maps to the claimed first spatial domain element, while nilsson’s first common beam index maps to the claimed first spatial domain index, with Nilsson’s first and second common beam indices providing the claimed plurality of spatial domain indices. Thus, Nilsson supplies the indexed spatial domain association for the first spatial layer already applied to Ma’s first resource block in the Ma/Davydov combination.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide associating/associate the first spatial domain element of the first resource block with a first spatial domain index, among a plurality of spatial domain indices as taught by Nilsson, in the combined system of Ma/Davydov, so that it would provide “methods and devices which may enable an association between multi-TRP uplink transmissions with one or more of unified TCI states that are activated in a way that may minimize signaling overhead” (Nilsson Para. [0004]) such that a mechanism for identifying/controlling spatial domain elements is supplied.
Regarding Claim 6, Ma in view of Davydov teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Ma does not expressly teach and transmitting, to a terminal, …… the first spatial domain element.
and transmitting, to a terminal, …… the first spatial domain element (Table 3, Para. [0028-0030] - In another embodiment, more than one MIMO layer transmission for PMCH may be supported using one codeword. For example, FIG. 2B is a block diagram illustrating a single codeword 218 that is provided to both the first MIMO layer 212 and the second MIMO layer 216 through a multiplexer (MUX) 220. In such an embodiment, the total number of MIMO layers 212, 216 used for PMCH transmission may be indicated to the UE 122 via higher layer signaling by using a new field or parameter in the PMCH-Config information element. For example, a dataNumLayers-r13 field may indicate the total number of MIMO layers, as shown below………..[0030] As mentioned above, the subframes used for MBMS transmission are referred as MBSFN subframes and are configured to the UE 122 using higher layer (RRC) signaling. Each MBSFN subframe comprises a control region with one or two OFDM symbols and an MBSFN region occupying the remaining OFDM symbols of the downlink subframe. The control region of the MBMS subframe may include physical layer control channels that are transmitted in a unicast manner using cell specific reference signal (CRS) antenna ports (e.g., antenna ports 0-3). The MBSFN region of the MBMS subframe is transmitted in multicast manner using MBSFN reference signals (e.g., using antenna port 4).; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0021-0025]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0026-0030]; Fig. 3, Para. [0031-0032]; Fig. 4, Para. [0033-0034]; Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; Fig. 6, Para. [0038-0041]; Fig. 7, Para. [0042-000051]; Figs. 8-11; Fig. 12, Para. [0052-0063]; Fig. 13, Para. [0064-0082]; Para. [0083-0139]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma’s invention of techniques for “signal structure designs for joint communications and sensing for wireless technologies” (Ma Para. [0004]) with Davydov’s invention of “using multiple spatial layers for physical multicast channel (PMCH) transmissions” (Davydov Para. [0002]) because Davydov’s invention provides means to incorporate spatial multiplexing in transmission schemes to “increase data rates” and “transmit independent and separately encoded data streams from each of multiple transmit antennas using the same sub-carriers in the same OFDM symbol periods” (Davydov Para. [0004]).
Yet, neither Ma nor Davydov expressly teach associating a value of an indicator with the first type of signal; and transmitting, to a terminal, an association of the value of the indicator.
However, Nilsson teaches
associating a value of an indicator with the first type of signal (Para. [0154] - In one embodiment, in case PUSCH is scheduled for spatial multiplexing (i.e., where different sets of PUSCH layers are transmitted in two different PUSCH transmissions transmitted in overlapping time/frequency resources), the first PUSCH transmission associated with a first set of layers is associated with a first common beam index (i.e., a first indicated Joint DL/UL TCI state), and the second PUSCH transmission associated with a second set of PUSCH layers is associated with a second common beam index (i.e., a second indicated Joint DL/UL TCI state). In one embodiment, the first set of layers is indicated with a first transmission precoder matrix indicator (TPMI)/SRI field in the DCI scheduling the PUSCH transmission and the second set of layers is indicated with a second TPMI/SRI field in the DCI scheduling the PUSCH transmission. In one embodiment, the first set of layers is associated with a first CDM group indicated with the Antenna port bitfield (as specified in 3GPP TS 38.212 v17.0.0) included in the in the DCI scheduling the PUSCH transmission and the second set of layers is associated with a second CDM group indicated with the Antenna port bitfield included in the in the DCI scheduling the PUSCH transmission. So for example, in case the Antenna port bitfield in DCI scheduling the PUSCH indicates antenna (DMRS) port 0 belonging to CDM group 0 and antenna (DMRS) port 2 belonging to CDM group 1, then the UE should associate the PUSCH layer transmitted on antenna port 0 with a first common beam index (i.e. a first indicated Joint DL/UL TCI state), and associate the PUSCH layer transmitted on antenna port 2 with a second common beam index (i.e. a second indicated Joint DL/UL TCI state); See Also: Fig. 1-2, Para. [0058-0068]; Fig. 3, Para. [0069-0070]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0071-0074]; Fig. 5, Para. [0075-0076]; Fig.6, Para. [0077-0108]; Fig. 7, Para. [0109-0111]; Fig. 8, Para. [0112-0115]; Fig. 9, Para. [0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0118]; Fig. 11, Para. [0119]; Fig. 12, Para. [0120]; Para. [0121-0125]; Fig. 13, Para. [0126-0168]; Fig. 14, Para. [0169-0180]; Fig. 15, Para. [0181-0191]);
and transmitting, to a terminal, an association of the value of the indicator (Para. [0522-0540] - [0522] 1. A method in a UE for determining spatial filter for PUSCH transmission using the Unified TCI state framework for mTRP operation, where the method consist of: [0523] a. Receiving explicit configuration of one or more common beam indexes, where a first common beam index is associated with a first indicated Joint DL/UL TCI state and a second common beam index is associated with a second indicated Joint DL/UL TCI states; See Also: Fig. 1-2, Para. [0058-0068]; Fig. 3, Para. [0069-0070]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0071-0074]; Fig. 5, Para. [0075-0076]; Fig.6, Para. [0077-0108]; Fig. 7, Para. [0109-0111]; Fig. 8, Para. [0112-0115]; Fig. 9, Para. [0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0118]; Fig. 11, Para. [0119]; Fig. 12, Para. [0120]; Para. [0121-0125]; Fig. 13, Para. [0126-0168]; Fig. 14, Para. [0169-0180]; Fig. 15, Para. [0181-0191] )
Examiner’s Note for Claim 6: In the combined system, Davydov’s first MIMO layer associated with the MBSFN reference signals of resource block 500 maps to the claimed first spatial domain element, and Davydov’s higher layer signaling of the MIMO/MBSFN configuration to the UE provides the transmission of that spatial domain information to the terminal.
Nilsson’s common beam index maps to the claimed value of an indicator, with Nilsson providing transmission to the UE of the corresponding indicator/beam association (Nilsson Para. [0522-0523]. Thus, the combined signaling of Davydov and Nilsson provides the two pieces of information recited in Claim 6 (i.e., the indicator association and the first spatial domain element) to the terminal, within the Ma/Davydov system of Claim 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide associating a value of an indicator with the first type of signal; and transmitting, to a terminal, an association of the value of the indicator as taught by Nilsson, in the combined system of Ma/Davydov, so that it would provide “methods and devices which may enable an association between multi-TRP uplink transmissions with one or more of unified TCI states that are activated in a way that may minimize signaling overhead” (Nilsson Para. [0004]) such that a mechanism for identifying/controlling spatial domain elements is supplied.
Regarding Claim 16, Ma in view of Davydov teaches Claim 11.
Yet, Ma does not expressly teach transmit, to a terminal, ……….. with the first spatial domain element.
transmit, to a terminal, ……….. with the first spatial domain element (Table 3, Para. [0028-0030]; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0021-0025]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0026-0030]; Fig. 3, Para. [0031-0032]; Fig. 4, Para. [0033-0034]; Fig. 5, Para. [0035-0037]; Fig. 6, Para. [0038-0041]; Fig. 7, Para. [0042-000051]; Figs. 8-11; Fig. 12, Para. [0052-0063]; Fig. 13, Para. [0064-0082]; Para. [0083-0139]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ma’s invention of techniques for “signal structure designs for joint communications and sensing for wireless technologies” (Ma Para. [0004]) with Davydov’s invention of “using multiple spatial layers for physical multicast channel (PMCH) transmissions” (Davydov Para. [0002]) because Davydov’s invention provides means to incorporate spatial multiplexing in transmission schemes to “increase data rates” and “transmit independent and separately encoded data streams from each of multiple transmit antennas using the same sub-carriers in the same OFDM symbol periods” (Davydov Para. [0004]).
Yet, neither Ma nor Davydov expressly teach the processor is further configured, by executing instructions, to associate a value of an indicator with the first type of signal; and the interface is further configured by the processor to transmit, to a terminal, an association of the value of the indicator.
However, Nilsson teaches
the processor is further configured, by executing instructions, to associate a value of an indicator with the first type of signal (Para. [0154]; See Also: Fig. 1-2, Para. [0058-0068]; Fig. 3, Para. [0069-0070]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0071-0074]; Fig. 5, Para. [0075-0076]; Fig.6, Para. [0077-0108]; Fig. 7, Para. [0109-0111]; Fig. 8, Para. [0112-0115]; Fig. 9, Para. [0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0118]; Fig. 11, Para. [0119]; Fig. 12, Para. [0120]; Para. [0121-0125]; Fig. 13, Para. [0126-0168]; Fig. 14, Para. [0169-0180]; Fig. 15, Para. [0181-0191]);
and the interface is further configured by the processor to transmit, to a terminal, an association of the value of the indicator (Para. [0522-0540] - [0522] 1. A method in a UE for determining spatial filter for PUSCH transmission using the Unified TCI state framework for mTRP operation, where the method consist of: [0523] a. Receiving explicit configuration of one or more common beam indexes, where a first common beam index is associated with a first indicated Joint DL/UL TCI state and a second common beam index is associated with a second indicated Joint DL/UL TCI states; See Also: Fig. 1-2, Para. [0058-0068]; Fig. 3, Para. [0069-0070]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0071-0074]; Fig. 5, Para. [0075-0076]; Fig.6, Para. [0077-0108]; Fig. 7, Para. [0109-0111]; Fig. 8, Para. [0112-0115]; Fig. 9, Para. [0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0118]; Fig. 11, Para. [0119]; Fig. 12, Para. [0120]; Para. [0121-0125]; Fig. 13, Para. [0126-0168]; Fig. 14, Para. [0169-0180]; Fig. 15, Para. [0181-0191] )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the processor is further configured, by executing instructions, to associate a value of an indicator with the first type of signal; and the interface is further configured by the processor to transmit, to a terminal, an association of the value of the indicator as taught by Nilsson, in the combined system of Ma/Davydov, so that it would provide “methods and devices which may enable an association between multi-TRP uplink transmissions with one or more of unified TCI states that are activated in a way that may minimize signaling overhead” (Nilsson Para. [0004]) such that a mechanism for identifying/controlling spatial domain elements is supplied.
Claims 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Davydov, and further in view of Motlagh et al. (US 20230283435), Motlagh hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Ma in view of Davydov teaches Claims 1 and 11.
Yet, neither Ma nor Davydov expressly teach defining/define a reference signal pattern; and associating/associate the reference signal pattern with the first type of signal; and wherein the transmitting the first type of signal includes transmitting the reference signal pattern.
However, Matlagh teaches
defining/define a reference signal pattern and associating/associate the reference signal pattern with the first type of signal (Fig. 15, step 1502, Para. [0136-0157] - [0136] FIG. 15 is a flow chart diagram illustrating one embodiment of a method 1500 for configuring a sensing reference signal. In some embodiments, the method 1500 is performed by an apparatus, such as the network unit 104. In certain embodiments, the method 1500 may be performed by a processor executing program code, for example, a microcontroller, a microprocessor, a CPU, a GPU, an auxiliary processing unit, a FPGA, or the like. [0137] In various embodiments, the method 1500 includes receiving 1502, at a first device, configuration information from a second device. The configuration includes: a set of sensing reference signal sequence generation parameters; a set of sensing reference signal resource pattern parameters, wherein a pattern corresponding to the set of sensing reference signal resource pattern parameters includes time domain locations of symbols within a sensing reference signal, frequency domain locations of resource elements within the sensing reference signal, or a combination thereof; and information indicating to map a generated sequence based on the pattern on at least one antenna to create a sensing reference signal pattern. In some embodiments, the method 1500 includes generating 1504 a sensing reference signal. In certain embodiments, the method 1500 includes transmitting 1506 the sensing reference signal according to the configuration information, receiving the sensing reference signal according to the configuration information, or a combination thereof; See Also: Fig. 4-5, Para. [0069-0077]; Fig. 6-8, Para. [0078-0092]; Fig. 9, Para. [0093-0094]; Fig. 10, Para. [0095-0106]; Fig. 11-14, Para. [0107-0135]; Fig. 15, Para. [0136-0157]; Fig. 16, Para. [0158-0161]; Para. [0162-0236]);
and wherein the transmitting the first type of signal includes transmitting the reference signal pattern (Fig. 15, step 1506, Para. [0136-0157] - [0136] FIG. 15 is a flow chart diagram illustrating one embodiment of a method 1500 for configuring a sensing reference signal. In some embodiments, the method 1500 is performed by an apparatus, such as the network unit 104. In certain embodiments, the method 1500 may be performed by a processor executing program code, for example, a microcontroller, a microprocessor, a CPU, a GPU, an auxiliary processing unit, a FPGA, or the like. [0137] In various embodiments, the method 1500 includes receiving 1502, at a first device, configuration information from a second device. The configuration includes: a set of sensing reference signal sequence generation parameters; a set of sensing reference signal resource pattern parameters, wherein a pattern corresponding to the set of sensing reference signal resource pattern parameters includes time domain locations of symbols within a sensing reference signal, frequency domain locations of resource elements within the sensing reference signal, or a combination thereof; and information indicating to map a generated sequence based on the pattern on at least one antenna to create a sensing reference signal pattern. In some embodiments, the method 1500 includes generating 1504 a sensing reference signal. In certain embodiments, the method 1500 includes transmitting 1506 the sensing reference signal according to the configuration information, receiving the sensing reference signal according to the configuration information, or a combination thereof; See Also: Fig. 4-5, Para. [0069-0077]; Fig. 6-8, Para. [0078-0092]; Fig. 9, Para. [0093-0094]; Fig. 10, Para. [0095-0106]; Fig. 11-14, Para. [0107-0135]; Fig. 15, Para. [0136-0157]; Fig. 16, Para. [0158-0161]; Para. [0162-0236]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide defining/define a reference signal pattern; and associating/associate the reference signal pattern with the first type of signal; and wherein the transmitting the first type of signal includes transmitting the reference signal pattern as taught by Matlagh, in the combined system of Ma/Davydov, so that it would provide “methods for configuring a sensing reference signal” (Matlagh Para. [0004]) such that a “sensing TX node” can choose sensing pattern parameters according to criterion such as “to reduce peak-to-average power ratio (“PAPR”), to increase energy efficiency, to self-configure given prospective transient and/or permanent device capabilities, etc.” (Matlagh Para. [0088]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ma et al. (US 20240319320) Figs. 1-7 and Para. [0058-0071] teaches ISAC signal structures in which selected time-frequency resources are allocated to sensing signals while remaining resources are allocated to communication signals, with the sensing signal also usable as a reference signal for communications.
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468