Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (CN205395965U) in view of Minikey, JR (2015/0022913).
Regarding claim 1, Ji discloses A vehicle device mount system comprising:
a bracket mount (403) configured to extend from a vehicle component (5) in a vehicle, the bracket mount having opposing first and second sidewalls (402) with a plurality of connecting features (402) located on the first and second sidewalls (402);
an electronic device (2); and
a device holder (101) having a frame (102) configured to hold the electronic device, the frame having first and second levers (103) on opposite sides, the first lever having a first retention feature (103a) configured to matingly engage a first connecting feature (402) on the first sidewall and the second lever having a second retention feature (103b) configured to matingly engage a second connecting feature (402) on the second sidewall, wherein the first and second levers may be actuated to disengage the first and second retention features from the first and second connecting features to remove the device holder and the electronic device from the bracket mount (note the elastic arms 103a and 103b).
Ji does not disclose that the camera is mounted in the interior of the vehicle as claimed. Instead, the camera is mounted on the vehicle head or tail of the vehicle (page 1 of the translated text).
Minikey, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches mounting a camera in the interior of a vehicle (note Fig. 1). By mounting the camera on the rearview mirror 112, the front of the vehicle can be monitored.
Since the camera in Ji can be used to monitor front of the vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Minikey into Ji so that the front of the vehicle could be monitored by the camera.
Regarding claim 2, Ji discloses the first and second connecting features comprise first and second openings in the first and second sidewalls of the bracket mount (note openings 402).
Regarding claim 3, Ji discloses the retention features comprise first and second teeth (note the notches or hook-shaped structure on 103a and 103b in page 3 of the translated text).
Regarding claim 4, Ji discloses the first and second levers each include a first portion folded back towards a second portion at an acute angle (the elastic arms 103 can be pressed to engage or disengage the slots 402).
Regarding claim 5, Ji discloses the frame further comprises a top retainer and a bottom retainer for retaining the electronic device (note 102a and 102).
Regarding claim 6, Ji discloses the bracket mount further comprises alignment support features on the first and second walls for aligning and supporting the device holder in an opening (note Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Ji does not disclose the alignment support features comprise inward extending protrusions as claimed. The examiner takes Official Notice that using protruding guiding or sliding members as an alignment support means is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the well known alignment support features into Ji to perform the well known functions as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Ji discloses that the electronic device comprises a camera.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ji and Minikey discloses the bracket mount includes a cavity configured to face a windshield on the vehicle and to accommodate the camera so as to capture images forward of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 10, Ji discloses the camera comprises a driver assistance camera.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ji and Minikey discloses the bracket mount is a mirror bracket mount on a rearview mirror assembly.
Regarding claims 12-20, see similar rejections as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Uchiyama et al. (2018/0281696) shows a camera bracket for vehicles.
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422