Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “axis of the bottom plate” and “common axis” of claim 1 and 8 of any Figure must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency to a rejected bas claim.
3. Claim 1 recites the limitation “the plurality of bosses (6) are evenly spaced around the axis of the bottom plate (1)”. It is unclear to the examiner as to where exactly is the “axis of the bottom plate”. An axis could be taken at any point in any direction in a 3-dimensional object. Therefore, claim is rendered indefinite. As best understood from the specification and Figures 3-6 the axis will be placed at the center of screw hole, in the vertical direction from the nut to the bolt and will be treated as such for the sake of the current Office Action.
4. Claim 1 recites the limitation “the axis of the bottom plate” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Therefore, “the axis of the bottom plate” has not been established prior by the applicant, which renders the claim indefinite.
5. Claim 8 recites the limitation “their common axis” of the bottom plate and cover plate in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Therefore, “their common axis” has not been established prior by the applicant, which renders the claim indefinite.
6. Claim 8 recites the limitation “common axis” of the bottom and cover plate. It is unclear to the examiner as to where exactly is the “common axis”. An axis could be taken at any point in any direction in a 3-dimensional object. Therefore, claim is rendered indefinite. As best understood from the specification and Figures 3-6 the axis will be placed at the center of screw hole, in the vertical direction from the nut to the bolt, and will be treated as such for the sake of the current Office Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Foreign Reference (JP 3811463 B2). Foreign Reference will be referred to as “FR” for examination purposes.
9. Regarding claim 1, FR discloses a lightweight combined type grinding wheel comprising:
a bottom plate (cutting blade plate 2, Figure 6), a cover plate (elastic body 4, Figure 6) and an adapter (spindle 13a and male screw 13b, Figure 6);
wherein, the bottom plate (cutting blade plate 2, Figure 2) and the cover plate (elastic body 4, Figure 6) are coaxially fitted and detachably connected via the adapter (see Figure 6, wherein cutting blade plate 2 and elastic body 4 are connected coaxially via the spindle 13a and male screw 13b through intermediary means).
a plurality of bosses (cutting blade 3, Figure 2) are formed on a surface of the bottom plate (“the polishing tool 10 is rotated by a cutting blade plate 2 on a disc having a cutting blade 3 for polishing a surface”, paragraph [0020] Figure 2) facing away from the cover plate (cutting blades 3 protrude away from elastic body 4. Figure 6);
the plurality of bosses (cutting blade 3, Figure 2) are evenly spaced around the axis of the bottom plate (see bottom view of polishing tool 10 in Figure 2, wherein cutting blades are evenly spaced apart around cutting edge portion 2a);
abrasive grains are laid on the top surface of each of the bosses (wherein “a hard abrasive grain 3a made of diamond particles”, paragraph [0033], Figure 2);
the bosses (cutting blade 3, Figure 2) are spaced from each other, and a chip groove is formed between two adjacent bosses (see Figure 2, wherein there is a space between two adjacent cutting blades 3, which forms a chip groove);
the chip groove (space between two adjacent cutting blades 3, Figure 2) is used to discharge grinding chips generated by grinding (it is understood that spaces between cutting blades 3 can also allow for grinding chips to be dispersed away from workpiece).
Figure 2 (Foreign Reference FR)
Figure 6 (Foreign Reference FR)
10. Regarding claim 2, FR discloses the lightweight combined type grinding wheel of claim 1, and further discloses:
a plurality of weight-reducing holes (plurality of holes 5, wherein it is “effective for weight reduction”, paragraph [0026], Figure 2) are provided on both of the bottom plate and the cover plate (see Figure 4a where a similar embodiment shows hole 5 passing through both cutting blade part and elastic body, also shown but not annotated in Figure 6).
Figure 4a (Foreign Reference FR)
11. Regarding claim 3, FR discloses the lightweight combined type grinding wheel of claim 1 and further
the abrasive grains (abrasive grain 3a, Figure 2) are diamond abrasive grains (wherein “a hard abrasive grain 3a made of diamond particles”, paragraph [0033], Figure 2);
However, FR does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the diamond abrasive grains are fixed to the top surface of the bosses (6) by brazing.
In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. the grinding wheel, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. the placement of abrasive grains through brazing. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966
12. Regarding claim 8, FR discloses the lightweight combined type grinding wheel of claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the centers of the bottom plate (cutting blade plate 2, Figure 6) and the cover plate (elastic body 4, Figure 6) are both concaved along their common axis in a direction opposite to a protruding direction of the bosses (cutting blade 6, Figure 6) so as to form a mounting portion (see Figure 6, wherein both cutting blade plate 2 and elastic and elastic body concave upwards towards the spindle 13a, which is opposite to the direction of protruding cutting blades 3);
and the adapter (spindle 13a and male screw 13b, Figure 6) comprises a bolt (spindle 13a, Figure 6) and a nut (nut 15), which are fitted so as to lock (through intermediary means) the bottom plate (cutting blade plate 2, Figure 6) and the cover plate (elastic body 4, Figure 6);
the bolt (male screw 13b) is used to connect the lightweight combined type grinding wheel to other devices (see Figure 6, wherein polishing tool comprising cutting blade 2 and elastic body 4 is connected to electric tool 13 via spindle 13a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Reference (JP 3811463 B2) in view of Chen (CN 112548883 A). Foreign Reference will be referred to as “FR” for simplicity purposes.
15. Regarding claim 4, FR discloses the lightweight combined type grinding wheel of claim 1, however, it does not disclose wherein:
the top surface of the bosses is elliptical.
Chen is also concerned with a grinding too wherein it has protruding bosses at the bottom plate with abrasive. Furthermore, Chen discloses wherein the top surface of the bosses (polishing layer 022) is elliptical (wherein” the pattern of the grinding layer 022 can also be other block shapes”, paragraph [0040]). Additionally, Figure 4, provided below demonstrates that the shape of polishing layer is elliptical.
FR discloses a bottom plate with a plurality rectangular-shaped cutting blades with diamond grains for grinding/polishing. Chen teaches a bottom surface with plurality of elliptical shaped polishing layers in a similar function to polish a workpiece. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to have substituted the elliptical shaped polishing layer/bosses for the rectangular shaped cutting blades as a simple substitution of a known element to produce the predictable result of effective grinding/polishing via abrasive grains disposed on bosses of a grinding/polishing tool.
Figure 4 (Chen)
16. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Reference (JP 3811463 B2) in view of Qiu (CN 113714943 A).
17. Regarding claim 5, FR discloses the lightweight combined type grinding wheel of claim 1, however, it does not disclose wherein:
that the top surface of the bosses is arrow-shaped.
Qiu is also concerned with a grinding wheel with a plurality of bosses at a bottom surface used for grinding. Furthermore, Qiu discloses wherein that the top surface of the bosses (diamond cutter head 5) is arrow-shaped (“the diamond cutter head is an arrow-shaped structure”, paragraph [0024], Figure 1).
FR discloses a bottom plate with a plurality rectangular-shaped cutting blades with diamond grains for grinding/polishing. Qiu teaches a bottom surface with plurality of arrow shaped cutting heads in a similar function to grind/polish a workpiece. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to have substituted the arrow shaped cutting head/bosses for the rectangular shaped cutting blades as a simple substitution of a known element to produce the predictable result of effective grinding/polishing via abrasive grains disposed on bosses of a grinding/polishing tool.
Figure 1 (Qiu)
18. Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Reference (JP 3811463 B2) in view of Qiu (CH 660147 A5).
19. Regarding claim 6, FR discloses the lightweight combined type grinding wheel of claim 1, however, it does not disclose wherein:
that the top surface of the bosses is trapezoidal.
Brandt is also concerned with a grinding tool with bosses disposed at a bottom surface with abrasive elements. Furthermore, Brandt discloses wherein the top surface of the bosses is trapezoidal (see Figure 3c, wherein grinding element 45 is trapezoidal).
FR discloses a bottom plate with a plurality rectangular-shaped cutting blades with diamond grains for grinding/polishing. Brandt teaches a bottom surface with plurality of trapezoidal shaped grinding elements in a similar function to grind/polish a workpiece. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to have substituted the trapezoidal shaped grinding lining elements/bosses for the rectangular shaped cutting blades as a simple substitution of a known element to produce the predictable result of effective grinding/polishing via abrasive grains disposed on bosses of a grinding/polishing tool.
Figure 3c (Brandt)
20. Regarding claim 7, FR discloses the lightweight combined type grinding wheel of claim 6, however, it does not disclose wherein:
the number of the bosses is six or eight.
Brandt further teaches wherein the number of bosses (grinding lining elements 45) is six or eight (see Figure 3c, wherein the amount of trapezoidal grinding lining elements is 8).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to have further configure FR in view of Brandt to have 6 or 8 bosses. One of ordinary skill would be able to apply the appropriate number of bosses required for effective grinding.
21. Claim 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Reference (JP 3811463 B2) in view of Kobayashi (WO 2023008386 A1).
22. Regarding claim 9, FR discloses the lightweight combined type grinding wheel of claim 1, however it does not disclose wherein:
the thickness of the cover plate (2) is between 3 mm and 6 mm.
Kobayashi discloses a rotary tool to be spun on a shaft wherein comprises a plurality of grindstone at a bottom surface for grinding. Furthermore, Kobayashi discloses wherein the thickness of the cover plate (wherein “thickness of the resin substrate 11 is t1… the thickness t1 is 1.4”, paragraph [0023], Figure 5).
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose that the thickness of cover plate is between 3 mm and 6 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the cover plate of the grinding/polishing tool of FR to be 1.4 mm as taught by Kobayashi, and further have the thickness of the cover plate be between 3 mm and 6 mm as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would be able to adjust the thickness of the cover plate to be structurally and functionally secure.
Figure 5 (Kobayashi)
23. Regarding claim 10, FR discloses the lightweight combined type grinding wheel of claim 1, however it does not disclose wherein:
the thickness of the bottom plate is between 0.8 mm and 1.5 mm.
Kobayashi discloses a rotary tool to be spun on a shaft wherein comprises a plurality of grindstone at a bottom surface for grinding. Furthermore, Kobayashi discloses wherein the thickness of the bottom plate (wherein “the thickness of the holding plate 21 is t2… thickness t2 is 1 mm”, paragraph [0023], Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the bottom plate of the grinding/polishing tool of FR to be 1 mm as taught by Kobayashi, and further have the thickness of the cover plate be between 3 mm and 6 mm as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on claimed range, and since it has been held that "in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)", MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would be able to adjust the thickness of the cover plate to be structurally and functionally secure.
Conclusion
24. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kimoto (US 20130331015) discloses a grinding wheel rotated on a shaft wherein comprises a plurality of bosses at a bottom surface of grinding tool.
/D.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723