DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The applicant has amended Claim 8 and the corresponding rejections of Claims 8-9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are hereby withdrawn.
The applicant has argued that Ribero does not teach the limitations of cancelled Claim 5 (now integrated into the independent claims) because Ribero “merely changes a view (normal to panoramic or a view of cargo), it fails to disclose modifying the display to make it less obvious by changing size, color, contrast, or blurring until a trigger event occurs”. Additionally, the applicant argues that “Ribero fails to modify the display based on a degree of automated driving of the vehicle by making the data displayed less obviously than in a manual mode with low automation”. The argument appears to assert that Ribero does not teach the limitation because the driver-side and passenger-side image data is allegedly not displayed “less obviously” in higher automation modes than in lower automation modes. This argument is not persuasive because the alternative views presented in Ribero can all represent driver-side and passenger side data being presented less obviously via a change of size of said data. The broadest reasonable interpretation of driver-side and passenger-side data in the context of the claims is data related to the rear-view of the driver-side mirror and passenger-side mirror of a traditional vehicle. Ribero teaches changing the view to either a panoramic wide-angle of view or offering a trailer visualization. A panoramic view includes more of the environment of the vehicle and therefore presents the data specific to the driver-side and passenger-side as smaller than if they were presented alone rendered the data specific to those sides less obvious when compared to the image of the whole environment presented in the panoramic view. The trailer view also renders the driver-side and passenger-side less obvious by modifying the size of the representative image of those sides to either zero in the case that the trailer view takes over the whole image or at least smaller if the view includes some of the outside environment in addition to the trailer. Indeed, it is clear that Ribero is deliberately intending to make the driver-side and passenger-side views less obvious because Ribero specifically cites, in Paragraph [0065], that images of animals in a trailer are typically forbidden in a manually operated vehicle to avoid driver distraction and keep their focus on areas of the environment that are pertinent to the operation of a vehicle and that Ribero’s invention allows for a driver to engage in said distraction, by viewing the animals in the trailer for example, instead of the environment around the vehicle that is pertinent only to vehicle operation. In this way, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that Ribero teaches at least changing the size of driver-side and passenger-side image feeds (data) for the purpose of making it less obvious to the operator of the vehicle, therefore the rejections of the content of the limitations are being maintained (although the format of these rejections will change to reflect the new dependencies of the claims).
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ribero (US 2022/0314798) in view of Agnew (US 2015/0161458).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ribero (US 2022/0314798) in view of Agnew (US 2015/0161458) in view of Gross (US 2022/0089181).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ribero (US 2022/0314798) in view of Agnew (US 2015/0161458).
As per Claim 1:
Ribero discloses the following limitations:
“A computer-implemented method for controlling a graphical user interface on a display of a vehicle, wherein the graphical user interface comprises at least one driver-side digital rearview mirror area and at least one passenger-side digital rearview mirror area, the method comprising: receiving a current driving mode, wherein, if the current driving mode corresponds to high or full automation, the method comprises: receiving driver-side image data, comprising an image of a driver-side rear field of view, receiving passenger-side image data, comprising an image of a passenger-side rear field of view, displaying the driver-side image data in the driver-side digital rearview mirror area in such a way that said data are displayed less obviously than in a manual driving mode, by one or more of a change in size, a change in color, a change in contrast, and a change in blurring of the driver-side image data, displaying the passenger-side image data in the passenger-side digital rearview mirror area in such a way that said data are displayed less obviously than in the manual driving mode, by one or more of the change in size, the change in color, the change in contrast, and the change in blurring of the passenger-side image data”
Ribero Paragraphs [0061]-[0064] discloses changing the size of the display from the side cameras based on whether a vehicle is in autonomous driving mode. The broadest reasonable interpretation of driver-side and passenger-side data in the context of the claims is data related to the rear-view of the driver-side mirror and passenger-side mirror of a traditional vehicle. Ribero teaches changing the view to either a panoramic wide-angle of view or offering a trailer visualization. A panoramic view includes more of the environment of the vehicle and therefore presents the data specific to the driver-side and passenger-side as smaller than if they were presented alone rendered the data specific to those sides less obvious when compared to the image of the whole environment presented in the panoramic view. The trailer view also renders the driver-side and passenger-side less obvious by modifying the size of the representative image of those sides to either zero in the case that the trailer view takes over the whole image or at least smaller if the view includes some of the outside environment in addition to the trailer. Indeed, it is clear that Ribero is deliberately intending to make the driver-side and passenger-side views less obvious because Ribero specifically cites, in Paragraph [0065], that images of animals in a trailer are typically forbidden in a manually operated vehicle to avoid driver distraction and keep their focus on areas of the environment that are pertinent to the operation of a vehicle and that Ribero’s invention allows for a driver to engage in said distraction, by viewing the animals in the trailer for example, instead of the environment around the vehicle that is pertinent only to vehicle operation. In this way, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that Ribero teaches at least changing the size of driver-side and passenger-side image feeds (data) for the purpose of making it less obvious to the operator of the vehicle
Ribero does not disclose the following limitations that Agnew does disclose:
“identifying objects in the driver-side image data and the passenger-side image data, checking whether at least one trigger object has been identified in the objects, wherein, if at least one trigger object has been identified, the method comprises: adapting the graphical user interface, in particular the driver-side digital rearview mirror area and the passenger-side digital rearview mirror area, by one ore more of modifying the change in size, the change in color, the change in contrast, the change in blurring of the driver-side image data, and adding a color-highlighted frame around the at least one trigger object, and displaying the adapted graphical user interface on the display of the vehicle.”
Agnew Paragraphs [0012]-[0017] disclose a vehicle that uses a camera for rear-view visualization on a display screen for the driver that changes the graphical interface (i.e. the screen elements) when an object detected behind the vehicle is determined to be an emergency vehicle. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the location of the screen is arbitrary so long as it is in view of the driver. Paragraph [0015] discloses highlighting an emergency vehicle in a highlighting color.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Ribero with the object identification disclosed by Agnew. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system safer by preventing the obstruction of emergency vehicles based on occluded vision.
With regards to Claim 3, Ribero in view of Agnew discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the graphical user interface comprises at least one additional display area.”
Ribero Figure 3 discloses multiple display areas.
With regards to Claim 4, Ribero in view of Agnew discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the at least one trigger object corresponds to at least one of an ambulance, a fire truck, a police vehicle, a bicycle and a person.”
Agnew [Abstract] discloses identifying emergency vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Ribero with the object identification disclosed by Agnew. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system safer by preventing the obstruction of emergency vehicles based on occluded vision.
With regards to Claim 6, Ribero in view of Agnew discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“A computer program product containing instructions that, when the program is executed by a computer, cause said computer to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1.”
Ribero discloses a system that operates automatically and clearly via a computer.
As per Claim 7: this claim is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
As per Claim 8, this claim is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale. Additionally, Figure 5 discloses “a data processing device, comprising: a processor that is configured such that it is able to carry the steps of a computer-implement method, a computer-readable storage medium that is communicatively connected to the processor, a driver-side rearview mirror camera that is communicatively connected to the processor, and a display that is communicatively connected to the processor.
With regards to Claim 9, Ribero in view of Agnew discloses all of the limitations of Claim 8 and further discloses the following limitations:
“The data processing device as claimed in claim 8, wherein the data processing device is located in a vehicle.”
Ribero discloses a system that operates automatically and clearly via a computer as well as the other claimed devices, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the placement of processing components would be in the vehicle.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ribero (US 2022/0314798) in view of Agnew (US 2015/0161458) in view of Gross (US 2022/0089181).
With regards to Claim 2, Ribero in view of Agnew discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 but does not disclose the following limitations that Gross does disclose:
“wherein the current driving mode is characterized by a classification according to SAE J3016.”
Gross Paragraph [0002] discloses the various stages of autonomous operation according to SAE J3016.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Ribero in view of Agnew with the recognition of the definition of autonomous vehicles disclosed by Gross. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by ensuring that it complies with industry standards.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach examiner by telephone are unsuccessful the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Worden can be reached on (571) 272-4876. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/GODFREY ALEKSANDER MACIOROWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/THOMAS E WORDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658