DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 7, 11 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US Publication 2022/0078779).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a method for a network node, the method comprising:
allocating symbols within a slot; (i.e. fig. 3 shows a base station may communicate with a UE after an energy harvesting configuration; see paragraphs 123, 124) (See Also; communication frame structures are defined on the basis of 5G NR and LTE-A including symbols/subframes; see paragraphs 47 - 49)
configuring one or more of the symbols within the slot as one or more Radio Frequency (RF) harvesting symbols; (i.e. fig. 3 shows the base station may allocate/configure resources for the UE to perform EM energy harvesting; see paragraphs 123, 124) (See Also; fig. 13 shows the configured resources for EM harvesting includes one or more symbols within a time slot; see paragraphs 49, 50)
transmitting data during downlink symbols of the slot; (i.e. fig. 13 shows downlink data symbols (D) within the time slot for sending data to the UE)
receiving data from one or more user equipment (UE) devices during uplink
symbols of the slot; (i.e. fig. 13 shows uplink data symbols (U) within the time slot for receiving data from the UE) and
reserving the one or more RF harvesting symbols for transmission of an RF
harvesting signal. (i.e. fig. 13 shows one or more Energy harvesting (EH) symbols within the time slot for sending/obtaining electromagnetic energy from base station to UE; see paragraphs 49, 50)
Regarding claim 2, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the slot comprises a slot format that includes a symbol type specifically for the RF harvesting symbols. (i.e. fig. 13 shows RF harvesting symbols are placed in flexible symbols of the slot; see paragraph 50)
Regarding claim 3, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein configuring the one or more RF harvesting symbols comprises reconfiguring a flexible symbol, or sending a dynamic indication to indicate that the flexible symbol is one of the RF harvesting symbols. (i.e. fig. 13 shows RF harvesting symbols are placed in flexible symbols of the slot; see paragraph 50)
Regarding claim 4, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein configuring the one or more RF harvesting symbols comprises: configuring a first RF harvesting symbol and a second RF harvesting symbol; and allocating at least one of the uplink symbols after the first RF harvesting symbol, and at least one other of the uplink symbols after the second RF harvesting symbol. (i.e. fig. 15 shows in slot format (46) shows multiple EM harvesting symbols right before uplink symbols)
Regarding claim 5, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein configuring the one or more RF harvesting symbols comprises configuring multiple RF harvesting symbols consecutively in a burst, wherein the burst is followed by at least one of the uplink symbols. (i.e. two continuous flexible symbols (burst) may be utilized for energy harvesting and fig. 13 shows flexible symbols (X) may be followed by an uplink symbol; see paragraph 50)
Regarding claim 6, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network node acts as an emitter of the RF harvesting signal, and wherein one or more of the downlink symbols are configured as the one or more RF harvesting symbols. (i.e. the base station(s) are emitters of EM energy for harvesting and RF harvest symbols may be allocated in any portion of the frame structure by the base station; see paragraphs 39 - 41)
Regarding claim 7, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a first UE device from the one or more UE devices acts as an emitter of the RF harvesting signal, and wherein one or more of the uplink symbols are configured as the one or more RF harvesting symbols. (i.e. a flexible symbol may be utilized for RF energy harvesting, a flexible symbol may be uplink or downlink direction by definition)
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the RF harvesting symbol is used for unmodulated signal transmission or modulated signal transmission. (i.e. this is an intended use of the RF harvesting so given no patentable weight, however, it is well known to a POSITA that current inherent uses for the same is Battery-Free Devices to power ultra-low-power sensors, smart tags, or wearable devices or Backscatter Communications by "harvesting" the incoming RF signal from the network node and simply reflects/modifies it (backscattering) to transmit data which requires virtually zero battery power)
Regarding claim 12, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving an interference measurement associated with the RF harvesting symbols. (i.e. detection of interference in RF harvesting is performed by network devices; see paragraphs 57)
Regarding claim 13, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein configuring the one or more RF harvesting symbols is based on a type of an RF powered device. (i.e. the prior art supports energy harvesting and the allocation of frame structures by the base stations of different network (RF) types including 5G NR and LTE-A; see paragraphs 47)
Regarding claim 14, Xu teaches a method for a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving an allocation of symbols within a slot, wherein one or more of the
symbols within the slot are configured as one or more Radio Frequency (RF) harvesting symbols; (i.e. fig. 3 shows the base station may allocate/configure resources for the UE to perform EM energy harvesting; see paragraphs 123, 124) (See Also; fig. 13 shows the configured resources for EM harvesting includes one or more symbols within a time slot; see paragraphs 49, 50) (See Also; communication frame structures are defined on the basis of 5G NR and LTE-A including symbols/subframes; see paragraphs 47 - 49)
receiving data from a network node during downlink symbols of the slot; (i.e. fig. 13 shows downlink data symbols (D) within the time slot for sending data to the UE)
transmitting data to the network node during uplink symbols of the slot; ; (i.e. fig. 13 shows uplink data symbols (U) within the time slot for receiving data from the UE) and
reserving the one or more RF harvesting symbols for transmission of an RF
harvesting signal. (i.e. fig. 13 shows one or more Energy harvesting (EH) symbols within the time slot for sending/obtaining electromagnetic energy from base station to UE; see paragraphs 49, 50)
Regarding claim 15, Xu teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the slot comprises a slot format that includes a symbol type specifically for the RF harvesting symbols. (i.e. fig. 13 shows RF harvesting symbols are placed in flexible symbols of the slot; see paragraph 50)
Regarding claim 16, Xu teaches the method of claim 14, wherein configuring the one or more RF harvesting symbols comprises reconfiguring a flexible symbol. (i.e. fig. 13 shows RF harvesting symbols are placed in flexible symbols of the slot; see paragraph 50)
Regarding claim 17, Xu teaches the method of claim 14, wherein configuring the one or more RF harvesting symbols comprises sending a dynamic indication to indicate that the flexible symbol is one of the RF harvesting symbols. (i.e. fig. 13 shows RF harvesting symbols are placed in flexible symbols of the slot; see paragraph 50)
Regarding claim 18, Xu teaches the method of claim 14, wherein configuring the one or more RF harvesting symbols comprises: configuring a first RF harvesting symbol and a second RF harvesting symbol; and allocating at least one of the uplink symbols after the first RF harvesting symbol, and at least one other of the uplink symbols after the second RF harvesting symbol. (i.e. fig. 15 shows in slot format (46) shows multiple EM harvesting symbols right before uplink symbols)
Regarding claim 19, Xu teaches the method of claim 14, wherein configuring the one or more RF harvesting symbols comprises configuring multiple RF harvesting symbols consecutively in a burst, wherein the burst is followed by at least one of the uplink symbols. (i.e. two continuous flexible symbols (burst) may be utilized for energy harvesting and fig. 13 shows flexible symbols (X) may be followed by an uplink symbol; see paragraph 50)
Regarding claim 20, Xu teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the network node acts as an emitter of the RF harvesting signal, and wherein one or more of the downlink symbols are configured as the one or more RF harvesting symbols. (i.e. the base station(s) are emitters of EM energy for harvesting and RF harvest symbols may be allocated in any portion of the frame structure by the base station; see paragraphs 39 - 41)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Xu et al. (US Publication 2022/0078779) in view of Elshafie et al. (US Publication 2025/0219773) disclosed PCT/CN22/097293.
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses all the recited limitations of claim 1 as described previously from which claim 8 depends. Xu does not teach wherein reception of the RF harvesting signal, and transmission of a corresponding backscattering from a UE device occurs on a same RF harvesting symbol.
However, Elshafie teaches wherein reception of the RF harvesting signal, and transmission of a corresponding backscattering from a UE device occurs on a same RF harvesting symbol. (i.e. Elshafie discloses symbols may be split in the time domain so an energy harvesting device may be able to perform RF harvesting and transmission in the same symbol; see paragraphs 30)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to utilize one symbol in the time domain for both RF harvesting and transmission (backscatter) of Elshafie into the RF harvesting symbol allocation of Xu. Both Xu and Elshafie teach allocation of energy harvesting into uplink / downlink transmission symbols.
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Xu by beneficially reducing decoding and transmission delays and improving wireless communications latency.
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses all the recited limitations of claim 8 as described previously from which claim 9 depends. Xu does not teach wherein reception of the corresponding backscattering is on a same symbol and a same frequency as the RF harvesting signal.
However, Elshafie teaches wherein reception of the corresponding backscattering is on a same symbol and a same frequency as the RF harvesting signal. (i.e. Elshafie discloses symbols may be split in the time domain so an energy harvesting device may be able to perform RF harvesting and transmission in the same symbol, by definition of OFDM, splitting a symbol in the time-domain means the final product is two sub-symbols (one symbol) of the same frequency; see paragraphs 30)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to utilize one symbol in the time domain for both RF harvesting and transmission (backscatter) of Elshafie into the RF harvesting symbol allocation of Xu. Both Xu and Elshafie teach allocation of energy harvesting into uplink / downlink transmission symbols.
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Xu by beneficially reducing decoding and transmission delays and improving wireless communications latency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ROBERT J. LOPATA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/ROBERT J LOPATA/
October 6, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471