DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 December 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include one or more reference characters not mentioned in the description. Note, for instance, 58A (shown in FIG. 23), L1 (shown in FIG. 24 and
FIG. 34), and WD1 (shown in FIG. 33).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality:
In line 7 of claim 12, “servo band interval” should be changed to --a servo band interval-- for better clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakao et al. (JP 2022-039970) [English language equivalent document: Nakao et al. (US 2023/0206948)].
With respect to claims 1-16 and 18, Nakao et al. (JP 2022-039970) [English language equivalent document: Nakao et al. (US 2023/0206948)] teach a signal processing device (includes 38, see FIG. 5, for instance) comprising a processor (includes 120, see FIG. 12, for instance) that acquires and processes data read (see paragraphs [133]-[135] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) by a magnetic head (36B, for instance) from a magnetic tape (MT) on which a plurality of servo bands (includes SB1, SB2, and SB3, see FIG. 13, for instance) are formed, wherein the plurality of servo bands are disposed at intervals in a width direction (WD) of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), a plurality of servo patterns (includes each 51, for instance) are formed in each of the plurality of servo bands along a longitudinal direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), the magnetic head has a pair of servo reading elements (RSR1 and RSR2) corresponding to a pair of servo bands adjacent to each other in the width direction among the plurality of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), a first servo reading element (RSR1) included in the pair of servo reading elements reads the servo pattern included in a first servo band (SB1) included in the pair of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), a second servo reading element (RSR2) included in the pair of servo reading elements reads the servo pattern included in a second servo band (SB2) included in the pair of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), and the processor acquires a first signal based on a first result of reading the servo pattern in the first servo band via the first servo reading element while the first servo reading element is positioned on a reference region of the magnetic tape (see paragraph [0162] in the English language equivalent document, for instance), acquires a second signal based on a second result of reading the servo pattern in the second servo band being via the second servo reading element while the second servo reading element is positioned on the reference region (see paragraph [0162] in the English language equivalent document, for instance), and executes skew processing for a skew mechanism that skews the magnetic head based on a servo band interval signal corresponding to a servo band interval according to the first signal and the second signal, the skew processing being processing of skewing the magnetic head according to the servo band interval (see paragraphs [0158] and [0162] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) [as per claim 1]; wherein the servo band interval is used in common for a plurality of division areas (DT1-DT8) obtained by dividing a data band (DB1) in the width direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 14, for instance), and is a representative interval between a first servo pattern (in SB1), which is the servo pattern in the first servo band (SB1) of the pair of servo bands adjacent to each other via the data band, and a second servo pattern (in SB2), which is the servo pattern in the second servo band (SB2) of the pair of servo bands [as per claim 2]; wherein the representative interval is obtained by statistically processing results of measuring an interval between the first servo pattern and the second servo pattern for each of the division areas in a case where the magnetic tape is run (see paragraph [0195] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) [as per claim 3]; wherein the representative interval is obtained by statistically processing results of measuring an interval between the first servo pattern and the second servo pattern in a partial section of the division areas along a running direction of the magnetic tape for each of the division areas in a case where the magnetic tape is run (see paragraph [0221] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) [as per claim 4]; wherein the representative interval is obtained by statistically processing results of measuring an interval between the first servo pattern and the second servo pattern in an entire section of the division areas along a running direction of the magnetic tape for each of the division areas in a case where the magnetic tape is run (see paragraph [0195] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) [as per claim 5]; wherein the representative interval is an average value of results of measuring an interval between the first servo pattern and the second servo pattern for each of the division areas in a case where the magnetic tape is run (see paragraph [0221] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) [as per claim 6]; wherein the reference region is a BOT region (158, see paragraphs [0302]-[0303] in the English language equivalent document, and FIG. 32, for instance) [as per claim 7]; wherein the processor stores the servo band interval signal in a storage medium (includes 19 and/or 158, for instance, see paragraph [0309] in the English language equivalent document, for instance, i.e., “the magnetic tape drive 30 need only write the tilt feature information 144 into, for example, the cartridge memory 19 and/or the BOT region 158 after the end of the data recording operation with respect to the magnetic tape MT”) [as per claim 8]; wherein the magnetic tape is accommodated in a magnetic tape cartridge (10, see FIG. 6, for instance), the magnetic tape cartridge is provided with a noncontact storage medium (19) that is able to perform communication (MF) in a noncontact manner (with noncontact reading and writing device 50), and the storage medium includes the noncontact storage medium (see paragraph [0309] in the English language equivalent document, for instance, i.e., “the magnetic tape drive 30 need only write the tilt feature information 144 into, for example, the cartridge memory 19… after the end of the data recording operation with respect to the magnetic tape MT”) [as per claim 9]; wherein the storage medium includes a partial region of the magnetic tape (see paragraph [0309] in the English language equivalent document, for instance, i.e., “the magnetic tape drive 30 need only write the tilt feature information 144 into, for example,… the BOT region 158 after the end of the data recording operation with respect to the magnetic tape MT”) [as per claim 10]; wherein skew processing is performed by the signal processing device in a magnetic tape drive (30, see FIGS. 5 and 12, for instance) [as per claim 11]; wherein a magnetic tape (MT) comprises a plurality of servo bands (includes SB1, SB2, and SB3, see FIG. 13, for instance) formed thereon, wherein the plurality of servo bands are disposed at intervals in a width direction (WD) of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), a plurality of servo patterns (each 51) are formed in each of the plurality of servo bands along a longitudinal direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), and a servo band interval between a pair of servo bands adjacent to each other in the width direction among the plurality of servo bands corresponds to the servo band interval signal obtained from the signal processing device (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance, see also paragraph [0162] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) [as per claim 12]; wherein the servo band interval signal is stored in a partial region of the magnetic tape (see paragraph [0306] in the English language equivalent document, for instance, i.e., “Instead of or in addition to the BOT region 158, the pitch information 142, the servo pattern distance information 148, and/or the tilt feature information 144 may be stored in an EOT region (not shown) provided at the tail of the magnetic tape MT”) [as per claim 13]; wherein the partial region is a BOT region and/or an EOT region (see paragraph [0306] in the English language equivalent document, for instance, i.e., “Instead of or in addition to the BOT region 158, the pitch information 142, the servo pattern distance information 148, and/or the tilt feature information 144 may be stored in an EOT region (not shown) provided at the tail of the magnetic tape MT”) [as per claim 14]; wherein the magnetic tape is accommodated in a magnetic tape cartridge (10, see FIG. 5, for instance) [as per claim 15]; wherein a magnetic tape cartridge (10, see FIG. 6, for instance) comprising a noncontact storage medium (19) that is able to perform communication (MF) in a noncontact manner (with noncontact reading and writing device 50), wherein the servo band interval signal obtained from the signal processing device is stored in the noncontact storage medium (see paragraph [0305] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) [as per claim 16]; and a magnetic tape manufacturing method comprising recording the servo pattern in accordance with the servo band interval signal obtained from the signal processing device (see paragraphs [0194]-[0195] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) [as per claim 18].
With respect to claims 17, 19 and 20, Nakao et al. (JP 2022-039970) [English language equivalent document: Nakao et al. (US 2023/0206948)] teach a signal processing method (via element 120, see FIG. 12, for instance) comprising acquiring and processing data read (see paragraphs [133]-[135] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) by a magnetic head (36B, for instance) from a magnetic tape (MT) on which a plurality of servo bands (includes SB1, SB2, and SB3, see FIG. 13, for instance) are formed, wherein the plurality of servo bands are disposed at intervals in a width direction (WD) of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), a plurality of servo patterns (includes each 51, for instance) are formed in each of the plurality of servo bands along a longitudinal direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), the magnetic head has a pair of servo reading elements (RSR1 and RSR2) corresponding to a pair of servo bands adjacent to each other in the width direction among the plurality of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), a first servo reading element (RSR1) included in the pair of servo reading elements reads the servo pattern included in a first servo band (SB1) included in the pair of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), a second servo reading element (RSR2) included in the pair of servo reading elements reads the servo pattern included in a second servo band (SB2) included in the pair of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), and the signal processing method includes acquiring a first signal based on a first result of reading the servo pattern in the first servo band via the first servo reading element while the first servo reading element is positioned on a reference region of the magnetic tape (see paragraph [0162] in the English language equivalent document, for instance), acquiring a second signal based on a second result of reading the servo pattern in the second servo band via the second servo reading element while the second servo reading element is positioned on the reference region (see paragraph [0162] in the English language equivalent document, for instance), and executing skew processing for a skew mechanism that skews the magnetic head based on a servo band interval signal corresponding to a servo band interval according to the first signal and the second signal, the skew processing being processing of skewing the magnetic head according to the servo band interval (see paragraphs [0158] and [0162] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) [as per claim 17]; a magnetic tape (MT) on which the servo pattern is recorded in accordance with the servo band interval signal obtained by using the signal processing method (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance) [as per claim 19]; and a magnetic tape manufacturing method comprising recording the servo pattern on a magnetic tape in accordance with the servo band interval signal obtained by using the signal processing method (see paragraphs [0194]-[0195] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) [as per claim 20].
With respect to claim 21, Nakao et al. (JP 2022-039970) [English language equivalent document: Nakao et al. (US 2023/0206948)] teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program (see paragraph [0317] in the English language equivalent document, for instance, i.e., “the technology of the present disclosure extends to a storage medium that stores the program in a non-transitory manner”) executable by a computer (includes 120, see FIG. 12, for instance) to execute signal processing comprising acquiring and processing data read (see paragraphs [133]-[135] in the English language equivalent document, for instance) by a magnetic head (36B, for instance) from a magnetic tape (MT) on which a plurality of servo bands (includes SB1, SB2, and SB3, see FIG. 13, for instance) are formed, wherein the plurality of servo bands are disposed at intervals in a width direction (WD) of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), a plurality of servo patterns (includes each 51, for instance) are formed in each of the plurality of servo bands along a longitudinal direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), the magnetic head has a pair of servo reading elements (RSR1 and RSR2) corresponding to a pair of servo bands adjacent to each other in the width direction among the plurality of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), a first servo reading element (RSR1) included in the pair of servo reading elements reads the servo pattern included in a first servo band (SB1) included in the pair of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), a second servo reading element (RSR2) included in the pair of servo reading elements reads the servo pattern included in a second servo band (SB2) included in the pair of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 13, for instance), and the signal processing includes acquiring a first signal based on a first result of reading the servo pattern in the first servo band via the first servo reading element while the first servo reading element is positioned on a reference region of the magnetic tape (see paragraph [0162] in the English language equivalent document, for instance), acquiring a second signal based on a second result of reading the servo pattern in the second servo band via the second servo reading element while the second servo reading element is positioned on the reference region (see paragraph [0162] in the English language equivalent document, for instance), and executing skew processing for a skew mechanism that skews the magnetic head based on a servo band interval signal corresponding to a servo band interval according to the first signal and the second signal, the skew processing being processing of skewing the magnetic head according to the servo band interval (see paragraphs [0158] and [0162] in the English language equivalent document, for instance).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 12, 15, 17, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bui et al. (US 8,780,486) in view of Bui et al. (US 7,957,088).
With respect to claims 1, 11, 12 and 15, Bui et al. (US 8,780,486) teach a signal processing device (includes 2, see FIG. 1, for instance) comprising a processor (includes 20, for instance) that acquires and processes data read by a magnetic head (6a or 6b, for instance) from a magnetic tape (4) on which a plurality of servo bands (includes 8a and 8b, for instance) are formed, wherein the plurality of servo bands are disposed at at least one interval in a width direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), a plurality of servo patterns are formed in each of the plurality of servo bands along a longitudinal direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), the magnetic head has a pair of servo reading elements (10a and 12a, or 10b and 12b) corresponding to a pair of servo bands adjacent to each other in the width direction among the plurality of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), a first servo reading element (10a or 10b) included in the pair of servo reading elements reads the servo pattern included in a first servo band (8a) included in the pair of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), a second servo reading element (12a or 12b) included in the pair of servo reading elements reads the servo pattern included in a second servo band (8b) included in the pair of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), and the processor acquires a first signal based on a first result of reading the servo pattern in the first servo band via the first servo reading element while the first servo reading element is positioned on a reference region of the magnetic tape (see step 102 in FIG. 6, for instance), acquires a second signal based on a second result of reading the servo pattern in the second servo band being via the second servo reading element while the second servo reading element is positioned on the reference region (see step 102 in FIG. 6, for instance), and executes skew processing for a skew mechanism that skews the magnetic head based on a servo band interval signal corresponding to a servo band interval according to the first signal and the second signal, the skew processing being processing of skewing the magnetic head according to the servo band interval (see step 112 in FIG. 6, for instance) [as per claim 1]; wherein skew processing is performed by the signal processing device in a magnetic tape drive (2, see FIG. 1, for instance) [as per claim 11]; wherein a magnetic tape (4) comprises a plurality of servo bands (includes 8a and 8b, see FIG. 1, for instance) formed thereon, wherein the plurality of servo bands are disposed at at least one interval in a width direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), a plurality of servo patterns are formed in each of the plurality of servo bands along a longitudinal direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), and a servo band interval between a pair of servo bands adjacent to each other in the width direction among the plurality of servo bands corresponds to the servo band interval signal obtained from the signal processing device (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance) [as per claim 12]; and wherein the magnetic tape is accommodated in a magnetic tape cartridge (see lines 48-50 in column 3, for instance) [as per claim 15].
With respect to claims 17 and 19, Bui et al. (US 8,780,486) teach a signal processing method (by device 2, see FIG. 1, for instance) comprising acquiring and processing data read by a magnetic head (6a or 6b, for instance) from a magnetic tape (4) on which a plurality of servo bands (includes 8a and 8b, for instance) are formed, wherein the plurality of servo bands are disposed at at least one interval in a width direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), a plurality of servo patterns are formed in each of the plurality of servo bands along a longitudinal direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), the magnetic head has a pair of servo reading elements (10a and 12a, or 10b and 12b) corresponding to a pair of servo bands adjacent to each other in the width direction among the plurality of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), a first servo reading element (10a or 10b) included in the pair of servo reading elements reads the servo pattern included in a first servo band (8a) included in the pair of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), a second servo reading element (12a or 12b) included in the pair of servo reading elements reads the servo pattern included in a second servo band (8b) included in the pair of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), and the signal processing method includes acquiring a first signal based on a first result of reading the servo pattern in the first servo band via the first servo reading element while the first servo reading element is positioned on a reference region of the magnetic tape (see step 102 in FIG. 6, for instance), acquiring a second signal based on a second result of reading the servo pattern in the second servo band via the second servo reading element while the second servo reading element is positioned on the reference region (see step 102 in FIG. 6, for instance), and executing skew processing for a skew mechanism that skews the magnetic head based on a servo band interval signal corresponding to a servo band interval according to the first signal and the second signal, the skew processing being processing of skewing the magnetic head according to the servo band interval (see step 112 in FIG. 6, for instance) [as per claim 17]; and a magnetic tape (4) on which the servo pattern is recorded in accordance with the servo band interval signal obtained by using the signal processing method (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance) [as per claim 19].
With respect to claim 21, Bui et al. (US 8,780,486) teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executable by a computer to execute signal processing (see lines 41-56 in column 5, for instance) comprising acquiring and processing (by device 2, see FIG. 1, for instance) data read by a magnetic head (6a or 6b, for instance) from a magnetic tape (4) on which a plurality of servo bands (includes 8a and 8b, for instance) are formed, wherein the plurality of servo bands are disposed at at least one interval in a width direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), a plurality of servo patterns are formed in each of the plurality of servo bands along a longitudinal direction of the magnetic tape (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), the magnetic head has a pair of servo reading elements (10a and 12a, or 10b and 12b) corresponding to a pair of servo bands adjacent to each other in the width direction among the plurality of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), a first servo reading element (10a and 10b) included in the pair of servo reading elements reads the servo pattern included in a first servo band (8a) included in the pair of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), a second servo reading element (12a or 12b) included in the pair of servo reading elements reads the servo pattern included in a second servo band (8b) included in the pair of servo bands (as shown in FIG. 1, for instance), and the signal processing includes acquiring a first signal based on a first result of reading the servo pattern in the first servo band via the first servo reading element while the first servo reading element is positioned on a reference region of the magnetic tape (see step 102 in FIG. 6, for instance), acquiring a second signal based on a second result of reading the servo pattern in the second servo band via the second servo reading element while the second servo reading element is positioned on the reference region (see step 102 in FIG. 6, for instance), and executing skew processing for a skew mechanism that skews the magnetic head based on a servo band interval signal corresponding to a servo band interval according to the first signal and the second signal, the skew processing being processing of skewing the magnetic head according to the servo band interval (see step 112 in FIG. 6, for instance).
Bui et al. (US 8,780,486), however, remain silent as to the “at least one interval” being plural “intervals.”
Bui et al. (US 7,957,088) teach that arranging servo bands in plural intervals (see FIG. 3, for instance) is a notoriously old and well known servo band configuration. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the at least one interval in Bui et al. (US 8,780,486) be plural intervals as taught/suggested by Bui et al. (US 7,957,088). The rationale is as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have had the at least one interval in Bui et al. (US 8,780,486) be plural intervals as taught/suggested by Bui et al. (US 7,957,088) since such is a notoriously old and well known servo band configuration, and selecting a known servo band configuration on the basis of its suitability for the intended use is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/CRAIG A. RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688