Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bostock (2,917,220). Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ethridge (2,004,197). Each discloses a method of using a box, the box (C; defined box structure; respectively) comprising a first side panel (one 12; one 12) defining a top side end, a bottom side end, a first side end and a second side end, a second side panel (other 12; other 12 connected to 18) a top side end, a bottom side end, a first side end and a second side end, a third side panel (one 13; 13 between the two 12s) joining the second side end of the first side panel and the first side end of the second side panel and defining a first handle opening (one 21; 19 therein), the third side panel defining a top side end, a bottom side end, a first side end and a second side end, a fourth side panel (other 13; other 13 with a free edge) extending from the second side panel and defining a second handle opening (other 21; 19 therein), the fourth side panel defining a top side end, a bottom side end, a first side end and a second side end, a plurality of bottom flaps comprising a first bottom flap (one 11a; one 17), a second bottom flap (other 11a; other 17), a third bottom flap (one 11b; one 16), and a fourth bottom flap (other 11b; other 16), wherein the first bottom flap, the second bottom flap, the third bottom flap and the fourth bottom flap extend from the first side panel, the second side panel, the third side panel and the fourth side panel, respectively, a plurality of top flaps comprising a first top flap (one 20; one 14), a second top flap (other 20; other 14), a third top flap (one 27; one 15), and a fourth top flap (other 27; other 15), wherein the first top flap, the second top flap, the third top flap and the fourth top flap of the plurality of top flaps extend from the first side panel, the second side panel, the third side panel, and the fourth side panel, respectively, wherein the third top flap (one 27; one 15) defines a third handle opening (one 29; one 19 therein), the third handle opening being substantially aligned with the first handle opening in the third side panel when the third top flap is in a folded condition and the fourth top flap (other 27) defines a fourth handle opening (other 29; other 19 therein), the fourth handle opening substantially aligned with the second handle opening when the fourth top flap is in a folded condition (see Figures 1 and 5; see Figures 2 and 5), and a connecting panel (14; 18) extending from one of the first side panel, the second side panel, the third side panel and the fourth side panel, the connecting panel joining adjacent side panels of the first side panel, the second side panel, the third side panel and the fourth side panel, wherein the method comprises obtaining the box, extending one hand of a user’s two hands though each of the third handle opening and the fourth handle opening to grip and lift the box.
As to claim 2, each discloses that by the disposition of the first handle opening (one 21; 19 therein) and the third handle opening (one 29; one 19 therein) in adjacency, and the disposition of the second handle opening (other 21; 19 therein) and the fourth handle opening (other 29; other 19 therein) in adjacency in the box configuration, the user’s hands simultaneously grip the handle openings in the claimed method.
As to claim 3, each discloses, in the box configuration, a surface of the third side panel (one 13; 13 between the two 12s) contacting with a surface of the third top flap (one 27; one 15), an outer surface of the third side panel contacting an outer surface of the third top flap or an inner surface of the third side panel contacting an inner surface of the third top flap, and a surface of the fourth side panel (other 13; other 13 with a free edge) contacting with a surface of the fourth top flap (other 27; other 15), an outer surface of the fourth side panel contacting an outer surface of the fourth top flap or an inner surface of the fourth side panel contacting an inner surface of the fourth top flap.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either one of Bostock and Ethridge in view of Porter (909,664). Bostock and Ethridge each disclose handle openings, but not provided with handle flaps therewith. However, Porter discloses handle openings (defined by 7) provided with handle flaps (8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the box handle openings of either one of Bostock and Ethridge with handle flaps in the manner of Porter as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide a reinforcing and more protective hand hold as suggested by Porter.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either one of Bostock and Ethridge in view of Skolik et al. (8,770,468). Bostock and Ethridge each disclose the connecting panel (14; 18), but not provided with a pair of tabs. However, Skolik et al. disclose a similar blank including a connecting panel (6) provided with a pair of tabs (15, 16) serving as dust flaps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the blank connecting panel of either one of Bostock and Ethridge with tabs in the manner of Skolik et al. as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide dust flaps to the connected condition of the blank as suggested by Skolik et al..
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-21, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,760,531. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of each of claims 1-5 may be clearly wholly derived from claims 17-21, respectively.
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the additional references listed on the attached PTO-892, which, while not relied upon for the claim rejection, these references are deemed relevant to the claimed invention as a whole.
/BRYON P GEHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736
Bryon P. Gehman
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
BPG