Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application;
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15, 17, and 18 are currently amended; Claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 10, 12, 16, 19 and 20 are original;
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See claim rejections for how the prior art reads on the added limitations to the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, 17, 18, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyer (US Pat. No. 6565048).
Regarding claim 1, Meyer teaches a removable bracket for attachment to a structural member, the removable bracket comprising: a bracket main body formed from a single piece of material (102), wherein the bracket main body comprises a first portion (108) and a second portion (114) with a first bend between the first and second portions (bend between 108 and 114), and a third portion (104) with a second bend between the second and third portions (bend between 104 and 114), wherein the first bend and the second bend are on opposite sides of the second portion (the bend between 104 and 114 is on the opposite side of the bend between 108 and 114 with respect to piece 114); a mounting clip (80) mechanically coupled to the third portion, wherein the mounting clip is formed from a single piece of material and includes a flat potion, a curved portion, and a pronged portion(the mounting clip 80 is shown as a single piece of material, and includes a flat portion(labeled B below) a curved portion(labeled A below), and a pronged portion(82)) and wherein the mounting clip is configured to mount the bracket main body to the structural member by hand (clip is coupled to structure 60); a pair of prongs (two prongs 82) extending from the pronged portion of the mounting clip, wherein each of the pair of prongs is configured to insert into a respective one of a pair of holes in the structural member (capable of/intended use), wherein the structural member is one of a stringer, a girder or a lighting rail (structural member is intended use, attachment to beam 60 shows the mounting bracket of Meyer is capable of being used with a stringer, a girder, or a lighting rail).
Regarding claim 5, Meyer teaches the removable bracket of claim 1, wherein the pair of prongs each include a tabbed end (tabbed ends of 82) which extends from a respective one of the prongs and are each configured to be received by one of the pair of holes in the structural member (capable of/intended use).
Regarding claim 8, Meyer teaches the removable bracket of claim 1, that is capable of being used with the structural member is a lighting rail with the holes.
Regarding claim 9, Meyer teaches the removable bracket of claim 8, wherein when inserted through holes of the lighting rail, the tabbed ends are capable of contacting an inner edge of the lighting rail and a pad is capable of contacting a lower edge of the lighting rail.
Regarding claim 11, Meyer teaches a removable bracket, the removable bracket comprising: a bracket main body (102) configured to support an item when the removable bracket is mounted to a structural member, wherein the structural member is one of a stringer, a girder or a lighting rail (structural member is intended use, attachment to beam 60 shows the mounting bracket of Meyer is capable of being used with a stringer, a girder, or a lighting rail); a mounting clip (80) attached to the bracket main body (80 attached to 102), wherein the mounting clip is formed from a single piece of material and includes a flat potion, a curved portion, and a pronged portion(the mounting clip 80 is shown as a single piece of material, and includes a flat portion(labeled B below) a curved portion(labeled A below), and a pronged portion(82)) wherein the mounting clip comprises: a pair of prongs (82) configured to insert into a pair of holes in the structural member for mounting the bracket main body to the structural member (capable of/intended use); a pair of tabbed ends (tabbed ends of 82) extending from an end of each of the prongs, wherein the tabbed ends are bent away from the prongs such that when inserted into the holes in the structural member, the tabbed ends contact an inner edge of the structural member thereby preventing the prongs from sliding out of the holes (capable of/intended use).
Regarding claim 12, Meyer teaches the removable bracket of claim 11, wherein the bracket main body includes a first portion (108) and a second portion (114) with a first bend between the first and second portions (bend between 108 and 114), and a third portion (104) with a second bend between the second and third portions. (bend between 114 and 104)
Regarding claim 15, Meyer teaches the removable bracket of claim 11, wherein each of the tabbed ends include a rounded end configured to slide through the holes of the structural member (ends of 82 are rounded, and capable of/intended use).
Regarding claim 17, Meyer teaches the removable bracket of claim 12, wherein when the removable bracket is mounted to the structural member, the first bend aligns the first portion substantially horizontally and the second portion is angled upwardly from the first bend to the structural member (Capable of/intended use).
Regarding claim 18, the removable bracket of claim 17, wherein when the structural member is disposed beneath an interior ceiling panel and the item is a duct, the duct is secured to the first and second portion of the bracket main body such that the duct is wedged against the interior ceiling panel (Capable of/intended use).
Regarding claim 19, Meyer teaches the removable bracket of claim 12, wherein the bracket main body is formed from a single piece of material (102).
Regarding claim 20, the removable bracket of claim 12, wherein the mounting clip (80) is formed from a single piece of material (clip 80 are shown as being made from a single piece of material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Hanley (US Pat. No. 20200305629).
Regarding claim 2, Meyer teaches the removable bracket of claim 1. Meyer does not teach that it comprises a mounting hole through the bracket main body wherein the mounting hole is positioned in the second portion. Hanley teaches a mounting hole through the bracket main body wherein the mounting hole is positioned in the second portion (hole 26 in Fig. 2). Meyer and Hanley are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a bracket for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to put a hole in the second portion of the bracket. The motivation would have been to allow a securing means to be placed through the hole.
Regarding claim 7, Meyer teaches the removable bracket of claim 1, wherein the first bend has an angle between ninety degrees and one-hundred eighty degrees (angle is a right angle as described in column 2 lines 44-48). Meyer does not teach that the second bend has an angle less than ninety degrees. Hanley teaches that the second bend has an angle less than ninety degrees (as seen in Fig. 3 below). Meyer and Hanley are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a bracket for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the second bend less than ninety degrees. The motivation would have been to allow for tolerance between the different parts. In addition, the Examiner notes that it would have been obvious matter of design choice to make the bracket of Meyers have an angle of the second bend less than ninety degrees. A change is angle/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art see e.g. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claims 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Hanley as modified in view of McMath (US Pat. No. 8616512).
Regarding claim 3, Meyer as modified teaches the removable bracket of claim 2. Meyer as modified does not teach that the mounting hole is configured to receive a band which passes through the second portion and wraps around an underside surface of the first portion. McMath teaches that the mounting hole (hole within 80 on Fig. 5) is capable of receiving a band (78) which pass through the second portion and wraps around an underside surface of the first portion. Meyer and McMath are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a bracket for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a band through the mounting hole in the second portion of the bracket. The motivation would have been to secure something with the band to the bracket.
Claims 4, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Ryan (US Pat. No. 6364263).
Regarding claim 4, Meyer teaches the removable bracket of claim 1. Meyer does not teach the bracket comprising a pad disposed on a rear portion of the mounting clip, wherein the pad is configured to provide cushioning between the mounting clip and the structural member. Ryan teaches a pad disposed on a rear portion of the mounting clip, wherein the pad is configured to provide cushioning between the mounting clip and the structural member (friction pad 52 or 58 in Fig. 6B). Meyer and Ryan are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a bracket for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a pad between the mounting clip and the structural member. The motivation would have been to snugly engage the mounting clip to the structural member.
Regarding claim 13, Meyer teaches the removal bracket of claim 11. Meyer does not teach the bracket wherein a pad is attached to the mounting clip and provides cushioning when the mounting clip is mounted to the structural member. Ryan teaches the bracket wherein a pad is attached to the mounting clip and provides cushioning when the mounting clip is mounted to the structural member. (friction pad 52 or 58 in Fig. 6B). Meyer and Ryan are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a bracket for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a pad attached to the mounting clip that provides cushioning when the mounting clip is mounted to the structural member. The motivation would have been to snugly engage the mounting clip to the structural member.
Regarding claim 14, Meyer as modified teaches the removable bracket of claim 13, the tabbed ends capable of being installed into holes of the structural member, the bracket main body is capable of being rotated upwards and oriented to allow the tabbed ends to insert into the holes and once the tabbed ends are inserted, the bracket main body is capable of being rotated downward and the pad contacts a lower edge of the structural member.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Stock (U.S. Pat. No. 20020190171).
Regarding claim 6, Meyer teaches the removable bracket of claim 5, wherein the tabbed ends extend from the pair of prongs at a third bend. Meyer does not teach that the third bend has an angle between ninety degrees and one-hundred eighty degrees. Stock teaches that the tabbed end of the prong may have a bend at an angle between ninety and one-hundred eighty degrees (angle shown in Fig. 6 below). Meyer and Stock are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a bracket for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the angle of the bend between the tabbed end and the pair of prongs between ninety and one-hundred eighty degrees. The motivation would have been to allow for tolerance between the separate parts so they work as intended.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Wilson (US Pat. No. 11881694).
Regarding claim 10, the removal bracket of claim 1 is taught by Meyer. Meyer does not teach that a clip is adhered to the first portion and is configured for hanging an item beneath the removable bracket. Wilson teaches a clip is adhered to the first portion and is capable of hanging an item beneath the removable bracket (Securing member 118 Fig. 1). Meyer and Wilson are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a bracket for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to put a clip on the first portion that is configured for hanging an item beneath the removable bracket. The motivation would have been to secure an item to the bracket.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer as modified in view of McMath (US Pat. No. 8616512).
Regarding claim 16, Meyer teaches the removable bracket of claim 12. Meyer does not teach that the second portion include a centered mounting hole configured to allow a banded fastener to pass through the second portion and wrap around the first portion. McMath teaches that the second portion include a centered mounting hole (hole within 80 on Fig. 5) that is capable of allowing a banded fastener to pass through the second portion and wrap around the first portion. Meyer and McMath are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a bracket for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to put a hole in the second portion of the bracket. The motivation would have been to allow a securing means to be placed through the hole.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.D.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619