DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 4, 13, 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “thin flexible substrate” should read as “thin, flexible substrate.”
Claim 3: “polyethylenimine, polyethylenimine PEI-derivatives, ethoxylated polyethylenimine (PEIE),” should read as “polyethylenimine (PEI), polyethylenimine
Claim 4: “1wt.% to 2wt by weight” should read as “1.% by weight,” as per notation established in claim 1.
Claim 13: “5wt.% to 20 wt” should read as “5wt%,” as per notation established in claim 1.
Claim 17: “1wt.% to 30wt.%” should read as “1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 18, 20, and dependent claims thereof are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Claim 1: The term “thin” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not readily apparent to what degree of thinness is required by the wearable sensor. Examiner recommends removal of the term “thin.”
Re. Claim 18: Claim 18 recites the phrase “skin impedance of the adhesive polymer composition.” Examiner requests clarification as to what the term “skin impedance” as a property of the adhesive polymer composition. It is unclear if the limitation is directed to mean the impedance of the skin detected by the adhesive polymer composition, or whether the limitation is intended to be directed to the impedance of the conductive polymer composition as recited in Applicant’s Paragraph 0068.
Claim 18 further recites “at 30Hz” without specifying what signal or parameter is being modulated at 30 Hz. For purposes of examination, this is understood to refer to an alternating input current frequency of 30 Hz.
Re. Claim 20: Claim 20 requires an optional limitation of “patterning a surface of the electrically-conductive polymer, prior to curing, to increase a surface area of the coating.” Examiner notes that prior to curing a PDMS solution, the composition is understood to be in a liquid form prior to curing with cross-linkers. Examiner requests clarification as to how such a step is carried out prior to curing, and/or how patterning a liquid is carried out by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Jiang et al. (US 20250064371 A1) (hereinafter – Jiang) in view of
Y. Yamamoto, et al., “Efficient Skin Temperature Sensor and Stable Gel-less Sticky ECG Sensor for a Wearable Flexible Healthcare Patch.” Adv. Healthcare Mater. 2017, 6, 1700495. https://doi.org/10.1002/adhm.201700495. (disclosed by Applicant) (hereinafter – Yamamoto).
Re. Claim 1: Jiang teaches wearable sensor for monitoring physiological, or brain signals, or both (Title; Abstract: electromyographic sensing),
the sensor comprising:
a thin flexible substrate comprising a skin-contacting surface (Abstract: “The flexible electromyographic electrode array includes: a flexible substrate (100)…”),
wherein the skin-contacting surface is at least partially coated in an adhesive polymer composition (Fig. 2: skin adhesive layer formed on flexible substrate 100; Paragraph 0061: “In some preferred embodiments, the specific way of encapsulation includes performing encapsulation on the flexible substrate to form an insulating layer and a skin adhesive layer. In some preferred embodiments, an insulating material is used for primary encapsulation, a skin adhesive is used for secondary encapsulation after primary encapsulation, and the baffle is removed after encapsulation. Further, the electrode contact and the circuit board connection pattern are covered with the baffle, a PDMS solution (including PDMS and an appropriate amount of curing agent) is used for spin coating and encapsulation; after the spin coating is completed, the flexible electromyographic electrode array is dried to complete the primary encapsulation; then a flexible skin adhesive is used for spin coating and encapsulation; and after the spin coating is completed, the flexible electromyographic electrode array is dried to complete the secondary encapsulation, and the baffle is removed;” Paragraph 0070: “Then, a flexible skin adhesive (a mass ratio of component A to component B was 1:1, purchased from Dow Corning with a brand name of MG-9850) was used for spin coating and encapsulation…” Examiner notes that the MG-9800 series of adhesives from Dow Corning are soft elastomeric silicone adhesives),
the adhesive polymer composition comprising:
a silicone polymer (see previous citation).
Jiang does not teach the invention wherein the adhesive polymer composition comprises an amine-based polymer, wherein the adhesive polymer composition comprises from 1 to 10 wt.% amine-based polymer by weight of the adhesive polymer composition.
Yamamoto teaches analogous art in the technology of flexible sensors (Title; Abstract) utilizing an adhesive layer comprising amine (Page 2 of 7). Yamamoto further teaches an adhesive polymer composition comprising:
an amine-based polymer (Page 2 of 7: adhesive layer comprises PEIE (an amine), PDMS (a silicone polymer), and CNT (a conductive material)),
wherein the adhesive polymer composition comprises from 1 to 10 wt.% amine-based polymer by weight of the adhesive polymer composition (Page 2 of 7: “The maximum PEIE content… is around 3%;” Fig. 1d: varying concentration of PEIE and adhesion levels).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Jiang to include an adhesive layer of the composition of Yamamoto, the motivation being that doing so provides improved signal conductivity (Page 2 of 7) and further protects the electrodes 130 of the invention of Jiang when encapsulated by the conductive adhesive polymer.
Re. Claim 2: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 1. Yamamoto, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the silicone polymer is polydimethylsiloxane (Page 2 of 7: PDMS).
Re. Claim 3: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 1. Yamamoto, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the amine-based polymer is selected from one or more of a group consisting of:
polyethylenimine, polyethylenimine PEI-derivatives, ethoxylated polyethylenimine (PEIE), aminoethylaminopropyltrimethoxysilane (AEPS) and polyamidoamine (PAMAM)
(Page 2 of 7: PEIE).
Re. Claim 4: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 3. Yamamoto, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the adhesive composition comprises the amine-based polymer in a range from 1wt.% to 2wt by weight of the adhesive polymer composition (Page 2 of 7: “The maximum PEIE content… is around 3%;” Fig. 1d: varying concentration of PEIE and adhesion levels; Examiner notes that Yamamoto suggests a varying amount of PEIE depending on the weight percentage of CNT’s in solution).
Re. Claim 5: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 1. Yamamoto, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the adhesive polymer composition is derived from an adhesive polymer mixture comprising:
a silicone polymer (Page 2 of 7: PDMS);
a curing agent (Examiner notes that curing PDMS requires a curing agent, i.e., a cross-linker); and
an amine-based polymer (Page 2 of 7: PEIE),
wherein the adhesive polymer mixture comprises from 1 to 10 wt.% amine-based polymer by weight of the adhesive polymer mixture (Fig. 1d: varying percentages of PEIE to PDMS are contemplated, with 3% being a maximum for the study).
Re. Claim 6: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 5. Yamamoto, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein
the silicone polymer is uncured polydimethylsiloxane (Page 6 of 7: see curing steps; Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the PDMS solution prior to curing would be uncured PDMS),
or the curing agent is a curing agent for polydimethylsiloxane (see prior citation – curing PDMS entails that the curing agent is for PDMS, i.e., a cross-linker therefor),
or the amine-based polymer is polyethylenimine (PEI),
or any combination thereof.
Re. Claim 8: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 1. Yamamoto, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the adhesive polymer composition forms a film layer on the skin-contacting surface (Page 2 of 7; Fig .1e; Page 6 of 7: Conclusion section details use of the sensor on skin).
Re. Claim 9: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 1. Jiang further teaches the invention further comprising:
at least one electrode pad for monitoring physiological and/or brain signals (Figs. 1, 2: electrode contact(s) 130); and
optionally, circuitry electrically coupled to the at least one electrode pad (Figs. 5, 6, 10, 12).
Re. Claim 10: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 9. Yamamoto, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the at least one electrode pad is at least partially coated in a conductive polymer composition (Jiang, Paragraph 0069: “After the mask plate was peeled off, the dripped PEDOT:PSS-PVA solution would automatically form the required electrode contact pattern. The amount of the PEDOT:PSS-PVA solution was controlled at 0.5 microliters per square millimeter to form a uniform conductive polymer film. After drying at 80° C. for 10 min, a flexible electromyographic electrode array with excellent conductivity and flexibility was obtained;” additionally or alternatively, Examiner notes that the adhesive polymer mixture taught by Yamamoto is also considered a conductive polymer mixture coating the electrodes; Page 6 of 7: “… and the solution was poured on the ECG sensor regions...” Examiner notes that ECG sensor regions are analogous to electrode regions of the device of Jiang).
Re. Claim 11: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 10. Yamamoto, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the conductive polymer composition comprises:
an electrically-conductive material (Page 2 of 7: conductive CNTs; Page 3 of 7: “the sticky conductive layer for the ECG sensor…”);
at least one additive (Page 2 of 7: PEIE can be considered an additive); and
a silicone polymer (Page 2 of 7: PDMS).
Re. Claim 12: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 11. Yamamoto, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the silicone polymer is polydimethylsiloxane, or wherein the electrically conductive material is particulate carbon, or both (Page 2 of 7: PDMS and conductive CNTs).
Re. Claim 13: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 12. Yamamoto, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the particulate carbon is in a range from 5wt.% to 20 wt% by weight of the conductive polymer composition (Fig. 3a-3d: weight percentages of CNT may be 5, 7.5, or 10 wt%).
Re. Claim 14: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 11, but does not explicitly teach the invention wherein the at least one additive comprises a surfactant.
However, Yamamoto also contemplates incorporating the use of solvents and surfactants to alter viscosity of the materials of the device (Page 4 of 7).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the invention of Jiang as modified by Yamamoto to include the use of surfactants as taught by Yamamoto, the motivation being that doing so decreases viscosity of the PDMS mixture to allow for conductive CNT particles to disperse more uniformly, which allows for better control of the impedance for practical application of the device (Page 4 of 7).
Re. Claim 18: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 1, but does not teach the invention wherein at 30Hz, an electrical skin impedance of the adhesive polymer composition is in a range from 100kΩ to 2000kΩ. As best understood, the impedance for the material itself as disclosed in Yamamoto at roughly 30 Hz lies within a range between 106 to 107 ohms, (see annotated Fig. 3a below).
Examiner notes the lower bound appears to encompass or lie within a reasonable distance to the upper claimed range, i.e., 2000 kΩ, or 2x106 Ω. As per MPEP 2144.05, “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close.”
In the case that the impedance values shown at Fig. 3a are not interpreted as relatively close or encompassing the claimed range, Examiner further notes that Applicant’s disclosure does not provide evidence as to the criticality or unexpected results of the claimed range, and merely states that the claimed range is preferable (Paragraph 0068). Thus, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Jiang as modified by Yamamoto to include compositions having the claimed electrical characteristics since Applicant has not disclosed that this limitation solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Absent a teaching as to criticality that the particular impedance range required at an input frequency of 30 Hz, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. Yamamoto provides a graph for electrodes of 20 mm diameter (Fig. 3a), and further identifies a trend where higher concentrations of CNT and increasing diameters for electrodes result in a decreased impedance (Fig. 3b); thus, arriving at the claimed range would additionally be considered obvious depending upon the required size and frequency input to each the electrodes.
Re. Claim 20: Jiang teaches A method for manufacturing a wearable sensor for monitoring physiological, or brain signals, or both (Title; Abstract: electromyographic sensing),
the wearable sensor having a flexible substrate (Abstract: “The flexible electromyographic electrode array includes: a flexible substrate (100)…”)
and at least one electrode pad (Abstract: “…several liquid metal electrodes, wherein the liquid metal electrodes are arranged on the flexible substrate (100), and the liquid metal electrodes each include a wire and a circuit board connection pattern (110) which is located at one end of a wire (120); and several electrode contacts (130)…”,
the method comprising:
coating at least part of the flexible substrate in an adhesive polymer mixture (Fig. 2: skin adhesive layer formed on flexible substrate 100; Paragraph 0061: “In some preferred embodiments, the specific way of encapsulation includes performing encapsulation on the flexible substrate to form an insulating layer and a skin adhesive layer. In some preferred embodiments, an insulating material is used for primary encapsulation, a skin adhesive is used for secondary encapsulation after primary encapsulation, and the baffle is removed after encapsulation. Further, the electrode contact and the circuit board connection pattern are covered with the baffle, a PDMS solution (including PDMS and an appropriate amount of curing agent) is used for spin coating and encapsulation; after the spin coating is completed, the flexible electromyographic electrode array is dried to complete the primary encapsulation; then a flexible skin adhesive is used for spin coating and encapsulation; and after the spin coating is completed, the flexible electromyographic electrode array is dried to complete the secondary encapsulation, and the baffle is removed;” Paragraph 0070: “Then, a flexible skin adhesive (a mass ratio of component A to component B was 1:1, purchased from Dow Corning with a brand name of MG-9850) was used for spin coating and encapsulation…” Examiner notes that the MG-9800 series of adhesives from Dow Corning are soft elastomeric silicone adhesives),
the adhesive polymer mixture comprising a silicone polymer (see previous citation).
Jiang does not teach the invention wherein the adhesive polymer mixture comprises:
an amine-based polymer, and
optionally a curing agent,
wherein the adhesive polymer mixture comprises from 1 to 10 wt.% amine-based polymer by weight of the adhesive polymer mixture;
curing the adhesive polymer mixture to obtain a cured adhesive polymer coating.
Yamamoto further teaches an adhesive polymer mixture comprising:
an amine-based polymer (Page 2 of 7: adhesive layer comprises PEIE (an amine), PDMS (a silicone polymer), and CNT (a conductive material)),
and optionally a curing agent (Examiner notes that curing PDMS requires a crosslinker to be added in the curing process),
wherein the adhesive polymer mixture comprises from 1 to 10 wt.% amine-based polymer by weight of the adhesive polymer mixture (Page 2 of 7: “The maximum PEIE content… is around 3%”);
curing the adhesive polymer mixture to obtain a cured adhesive polymer coating (Page 6 of 7: see Experimental Section involving curing steps for PDMS, CNT ink, and PEIE).
Reasoning to modify Jiang with the teachings of Yamamoto is identical to that recited in the rejection of claim 1.
Yamamoto, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention comprising:
coating at least part of the at least one electrode pad in a conductive polymer mixture (Examiner notes that the adhesive polymer mixture taught by Yamamoto is also considered a conductive polymer mixture coating the electrodes; Page 6 of 7: “… and the solution was poured on the ECG sensor regions...” Examiner notes that ECG sensor regions are analogous to electrode regions of the device of Jiang; additionally or alternatively, Jiang, Paragraph 0069: “After the mask plate was peeled off, the dripped PEDOT:PSS-PVA solution would automatically form the required electrode contact pattern. The amount of the PEDOT:PSS-PVA solution was controlled at 0.5 microliters per square millimeter to form a uniform conductive polymer film. After drying at 80° C. for 10 min, a flexible electromyographic electrode array with excellent conductivity and flexibility was obtained),
the mixture comprising an electrically-conductive material (Page 2 of 7: conductive CNTs; Page 3 of 7: “the sticky conductive layer for the ECG sensor…”),
at least one additive (Page 2 of 7: PEIE can be considered an additive),
a silicone polymer (Page 2 of 7: PDMS),
and optionally a curing agent (Examiner notes that curing PDMS requires a crosslinker to be added in the curing process);
curing the electrically-conductive polymer mixture to obtain a cured electrically-conductive polymer on the at least one electrode pad (Page 6 of 7: see Experimental Section involving curing steps for PDMS, CNT ink, and PEIE; additionally or alternatively, refer to the citations of Kleyer in the rejections of claims 15-17 for an alternative teaching of a conductive polymer electrode pad coating); and
optionally, patterning a surface of the electrically-conductive polymer, prior to curing, to increase a surface area of the coating.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Jiang et al. (US 20250064371 A1) (hereinafter – Jiang) in view of
Y. Yamamoto, et al., “Efficient Skin Temperature Sensor and Stable Gel-less Sticky ECG Sensor for a Wearable Flexible Healthcare Patch.” Adv. Healthcare Mater. 2017, 6, 1700495. https://doi.org/10.1002/adhm.201700495. (disclosed by Applicant) (hereinafter – Yamamoto) in further view of
Mark Cutkosky, 30 June 2008, “PDMS Process Notes,” https://bdml.stanford.edu/twiki/bin/view/Rise/PDMSProceSS.html. (hereinafter – Cutkosky).
Re. Claim 7: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 6, but does not teach the invention wherein the adhesive polymer mixture comprises less than 10wt.% of the curing agent by weight of the adhesive composition.
This ratio is typical to cure common PDMS compositions such as Sylgard 182 and 184, as known from Cutkosky (Page 2: “1. Mix well 1:10 ratio by weight curing agent…”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Jiang as modified by Yamamoto to have utilized the claimed ratio of curing agent, since Cutkosky demonstrates that such a ratio is typical for PDMS compositions.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Jiang et al. (US 20250064371 A1) (hereinafter – Jiang) in view of
Y. Yamamoto, et al., “Efficient Skin Temperature Sensor and Stable Gel-less Sticky ECG Sensor for a Wearable Flexible Healthcare Patch.” Adv. Healthcare Mater. 2017, 6, 1700495. https://doi.org/10.1002/adhm.201700495. (disclosed by Applicant) (hereinafter – Yamamoto) in further view of
Kleyer et al. (US 6433055 B1) (disclosed by Applicant) (hereinafter – Kleyer).
Re. Claim 15: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 11, but does not teach the invention wherein the at least one additive comprises a first additive and a second additive.
However, Yamamoto teaches the inclusion of a surfactant, which may be considered a first additive. See rejection of claim 14 regarding modification to include a surfactant.
Thus, Jiang as modified by Yamamato including a surfactant is thus silent regarding the incorporation of a second additive.
Kleyer teaches analogous art in the technology of silicone-based electrically-conductive adhesives (Title; Abstract). Kleyer further teaches a PDMS-based composition (Col. 9, lines 62-64: “Silicone Base: a mixture consisting of 65.48% of Resin and 34.52 of a trimethylsiloxy-terminated polydimethylsiloxane having a viscosity of about 1,000 mm.sup.2 /s at 25 C”), wherein such a composition comprises conductive elements (Abstract), and further contains additives including hydroxy-functional compounds such as ethylene glycol (Col. 5, lines 13-24: “Examples of hydroxy-functional compounds suitable for use in the silicone composition of the present invention include, but are not limited to, monohydric alcohols such as methanol, ethanol, propanol, butanol, pentanol, hexanol, cyclohexanol, hepatanol, nonanol, decanol, undecanol, 1-phenylethanol, benzyl alcohol, allyl alcohol, 3-nitrobenzyl alcohol, 3-chlorobenzyl alcohol, 3-bromobenzyl alcohol, 3-iodobenzyl alcohol, and diethylene glycol butyl ether; dihydric alcohols such as ethylene glycol, propylene glycol (1,2-propanediol), polyethylene glycol, polypropylene glycol, polytetrahydrofuran, benzopinacole, 1,2-butanediol, 1,3-butanediol, 1,4-butanediol, trimethylene glycol (1,3-propanediol)”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Jiang as modified by Yamamoto to include hydroxy-functional groups as another additive, the motivation being that doing so improves electrical conductivity compared with similar silicone compositions lacking a hydroxy-functional organic compound (Col. 7, lines 60-64).
Re. Claim 16: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto and Kleyer teaches the invention according to claim 15. Kleyer, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the second additive is ethylene glycol (see rejection of claim 15).
Re. Claim 17: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto and Kleyer teaches the invention according to claim 16. Kleyer, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the ethylene glycol is in a range from 1wt.% to 30wt.% by weight of the conductive polymer composition (Cols. 11, 12: see Examples 7, 8, 10, and 12 each reciting a weight percentage of ethylene glycol encompassing the claimed range).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Jiang et al. (US 20250064371 A1) (hereinafter – Jiang) in view of
Y. Yamamoto, et al., “Efficient Skin Temperature Sensor and Stable Gel-less Sticky ECG Sensor for a Wearable Flexible Healthcare Patch.” Adv. Healthcare Mater. 2017, 6, 1700495. https://doi.org/10.1002/adhm.201700495. (disclosed by Applicant) (hereinafter – Yamamoto) in further view of
Xu et al. (US 20230389875 A1) (hereinafter – Xu).
Re. Claim 19: Jiang as modified by Yamamoto teaches the invention according to claim 1, but does not teach the invention wherein a skin-contacting surface of the adhesive polymer composition comprises patterning for increasing a surface area of the coating.
Xu teaches the invention wherein a skin-contacting surface of the adhesive polymer composition comprises patterning for increasing a surface area of the coating (Paragraph 0008: “Furthermore, kirigami-inspired structures can be introduced in these membrane devices, allowing for large-area integration on the skin with conformal contact”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Jiang as modified by Yamamoto to include patterning the skin-contacting surface of the device with the patterning suggested by Xu, the motivation being that doing so enables breathable and skin-conformable electronics that further provides high stretchability and large-area integration on skin (Abstract, Paragraph 0008).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791