Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “trim assembly coupled [to] the valve body” as recited in claims 1 and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: “a trim assembly coupled the valve body” should be changed to – a trim assembly coupled to the valve body --.. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant recites “a trim assembly coupled [to] the valve body”(claims 1 and 14), “the seat coupled to the cage such that removal of the cage from the valve body also removes the seat from the valve body” (claim 1), “the cage coupled to the plug” (claim 5), “the cage threadably coupled to the plug” (claim 6), see also claims 11, 17, and 20.
The metes and bounds of the term “coupled” are unclear and indefinite. The term “couple” is commonly defined as a first component joined to another component so that the first and second components work together. See the definition of “couple” attached to this action. Further, the term “join” is commonly defined as a first component fixed or fastened to a second component. See the definition of “join” attached to this action.
At least claims 1 and 14 are not in line with the common definitions for the terms “couple” and “join” insofar as the claims necessitate “a trim assembly couple [to] the valve body”. It is unclear and indefinite how applicant regards the trim assembly to be coupled to the valve body.
Further, any other useage of the term “couple” is unclear and indefinite because of the metes and bounds of the term being blurred by claims 1 and 14.
For purposes of examination the office regards recitation that the “trim assembly coupled [to] the valve body” as necessitating that the trim assembly contact the valve body. Such interpretation is supported by applicant’s drawings, lack of disclosure related to the coupling manner between the trim assembly and the valve body, and applicant’s additional useage of the term “couple”.
Other recitations of the term “couple” are interpreted as following the common defitions provided above.
Claims not specifically recited are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Semon (U.S. Patent 2,890,713).
In regards to claim 1, Semon discloses a valve comprising: a valve body (8, 9) defining a fluid passageway between an inlet (13) and an outlet (14) ; and a trim assembly (22, 23, 25) connected to the valve body (8, 9), the trim assembly (22, 23, 25) including: a cage (23, 25) having a central channel; a seat (22) in the fluid passageway, the seat (22) defining an orifice, the seat (22) coupled to the cage (23, 25) such that removal of the cage (23, 25) from the valve body (8, 9) also removes the seat (22) from the valve body (8, 9); and a flow control member (28) in the central channel of the cage (23, 25), the flow control member (28) moveable relative to the seat (22) between an open position and a closed position. See Fig. 2 and col. 2, lines 5-11.
In regards to claim 2, the cage (23, 25) and the seat (22) are coupled by one or more ribs (24).
In regards to claim 3, the cage (23, 25), the seat (22), and the one or more ribs (24) are constructed as a monolithic structure.
In regards to claim 4, one or more radial openings are defined between the cage, the seat, and the one or more ribs.
Claim(s) 14, 15, and 20, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boals (U.S. Patent 2,731,975)..
In regards to claim 14, Boals discloses a valve comprising: a valve body (3) defining a fluid passageway between an inlet (35) and an outlet (37); and a trim assembly coupled the valve body, the trim assembly including: a plug (P); a trim body (C1, C2) coupled to the plug (P), the trim body (C1, C2) defining a central channel, the trim body (C1, C2) having a first portion (C1) defining a seat (18), a second portion (C2) defining a cage, and one or more ribs (portion of C which extends around openings 33) extending between the first portion and the second portion (C1, C2); and a flow control member (20) in the central channel of the trim body, the flow control member (20) moveable between an open position to enable fluid flow through the seat (18) and a closed position in which fluid flow is blocked from flowing through the seat (18).
In regards to claim 15, the trim body has one or more radial openings (33) extending between an outer surface of the trim body and the central channel, the radial openings (33) defined between the first portion (C1), the second portion (C2), and the one or more ribs (portion of C which extend around 33).
In regards to claim 20, Boals further disclose that the second portion (C2) is coupled to the plug (P)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 11, and 16 as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boals (U.S. Patent 2,731,975).
In regards to claim 1, Boals discloses a valve comprising: a valve body (10) defining a fluid passageway between an inlet (35) and an outlet (37); and a trim assembly coupled the valve body (10), the trim assembly including: a cage (C) having a central channel; a seat (18) in the fluid passageway, the seat (18) defining an orifice, the seat (18) coupled to the cage (C); and a flow control member (20) in the central channel of the cage (C), the flow control member (20) moveable relative to the seat (C) between an open position and a closed position.
While Boals does disclose that seat 18 is retained by guide 30, Boals does not specifically disclose that removal of the cage from the valve body also removes the seat from the valve body.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have designed the fit between the seat and guide of Boals such that removal of the guide also removed the seat to assist in assembly as the component pieces could be assembled/disassembled as a unit rather than individually.
In regards to claim 5, the trim assembly includes a plug (P), the plug (P) threadably coupled to the valve body (3), the cage (C) coupled to the plug (P). In the instant case, the cage and plug are a monolithic unit.
In regards to claim 7, the plug (P) has a bore (28), the flow control member (20) extending into the bore (28).
In regards to claim 11, a plug (P) coupled to the valve body (3), the plug (P) defining a bore (28), wherein the flow control member (20) is at least partially disposed in the bore (28) of the plug (P), wherein a balance chamber (26) is defined in the bore (28) between an end of the flow control member (20) and an inner surface of the bore (28), and wherein the flow control member (20) has a balance passage (27) extending between a first opening on an outer side surface of the flow control member (20) exposed to the fluid passageway and a second opening on the end of the flow control member (20) to enable fluid communication between the fluid passageway and the balance chamber (26).
Boals discloses the claimed invention except for the trim body as a monolithic piece. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have made the seat and cage as a monolitic assembly, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formally been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Further, forming the seat and cage as a monolithic assembly would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to assist with assembly and disassembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8-10, 12, 13 and 17-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT K ARUNDALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753