DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to Applicant's communication filed February 18, 2026 in response to the Office action dated November 20,2025.
Claims 4, 12, 20 are canceled. Claims 21-23 are new. Claims 1-3, 5,6, 8, 9-11, 13, 14, and 16-19 have been amended.
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-23 are pending.
NOTE:
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art reference and any interpretations of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Specification
In view of Applicant’s amendment, objections to the specification are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Keremane et. al., U.S Patent Pub No. 2017/0116097 (hereinafter Keremane).
Regarding Claim 1, Keremane teaches a method, comprising: reading, by a first storage system controller and a second storage system controller (Fig.1,4; Para15-16 "a first storage controller, within a first storage cluster, may have a disaster recovery relationship with a second storage controller" Para53-54), first heartbeat data from a first region of a storage device assigned to the first storage system controller and second heartbeat data from a second region of the storage device assigned to a second storage system controller (Fig.4-7; Para48-19, 53-54 "The first storage controller 402 may store heartbeat status information, such as a series of sequence numbers indicative of progress of the first storage controller 402, state transition information, operating state information, etc., within a first memory section 404") ; and
determining, for the first storage system controller and the second storage system controller, a corresponding state of the storage device based on the first heartbeat data and the second heartbeat data (Fig.4-7; Para15-16-cluster storage system contains first and second controller continuously monitoring storage status using heartbeat; Para53-54 "Responsive to the current heartbeat status information indicating a failure of the first storage controller 402, the second storage controller 410 may automatically implement a switchover operation to takeover processing client I/0 requests previously processed by the first storage controller 402 before the failure." Para56-57 "In this way, both the first memory section 504 and the first disk mailbox 516 are used to convey health information of the first storage controller 502.", Para63-65).
Regarding claim 2, Keremane teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Keremane teaches wherein determining the corresponding state of the storage device comprises determining, that a particular storage system controller claims the storage device based on a detected change to heartbeat data corresponding to the particular storage system controller(Fig.4-7; Para53-54 "Responsive to the current heartbeat status information indicating a failure of the first storage controller 402, the second storage controller 410 may automatically implement a switchover operation to takeover processing client I/0 requests previously processed by the first storage controller 402 before the failure." Para56-57, 63-65).
Regarding claim 3, Keremane teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Keremane teaches writing, by the particular storage system controller, the heartbeat data corresponding to the particular storage system controller to the storage device (Fig.4-7, Para53-54, Para56-57, 63-65,67).
Regarding claim 5, Keremane teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Keremane teaches wherein determining the corresponding state of the storage device comprises determining, that the storage device is unclaimed based on a lack of detected changes in the first heartbeat data and the second heartbeat data, or an unhealthy status indicated in heartbeat data corresponding to another storage system controller(Fig.4-7, Para53-54, Para56-57 "In this way, both the first memory section 504 and the first disk mailbox 516 are used to convey health information of the first storage controller 502.", Para63-65).
Regarding claim 6, Keremane teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Keremane teaches further comprising initiating, a claim of the storage device in response to determining that the storage device is unclaimed(Fig.4-7, Para53-54, Para56-57, Para63-65).
Regarding claim 7, Keremane teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Keremane teaches wherein reading the first heartbeat data and the second heartbeat data is performed using one or more non- write-exclusive read operations (Fig.4-7, Para53-54 "The second storage controller 410 may perform remote direct memory access (RDMA) read operations to the first memory section 404 to obtain current heartbeat status information of the first storage controller 402." Para64-65).
Regarding claim 8, Keremane teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Keremane teaches further comprising determining whether to perform a failover based on messaging information exchanged between the first storage system controller and the second system storage controller (Fig.4-7; Para53-54, 56-57 "Responsive to the current heartbeat status information and/or the second current heartbeat status information indicating a failure of the first storage controller 502, the second storage controller 510 may automatically implement a switchover operation to takeover processing client I/0 requests previously processed by the first storage controller 502 before the failure" Para63-65).
Regarding claims 9-11, 13-19, 21-23, Keremane teaches these claims according to the reasoning set forth in claim 1-3,5-8.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments, see page 12-14, filed February 18, 2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues Keremane fails to teach “determining, for the first storage system controller and the second storage system controller, a corresponding state of the storage device based on the first heartbeat data and the second heartbeat data.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Keremane teaches automatic switchover within a clustered network where first and second controller continuously monitors failure status utilizing heart beat information and if one node fails and other node takes over, therefor, both controller are monitoring and storing status information(Fig.4-7; Para15-16, 29-cluster storage system contains first and second controller continuously monitoring storage status using heartbeat; Para48,53-54 "Responsive to the current heartbeat status information indicating a failure of the first storage controller 402, the second storage controller 410 may automatically implement a switchover operation to takeover processing client I/0 requests previously processed by the first storage controller 402 before the failure." Para 53-54 “The second storage controller 410 may store heartbeat status information, such as a series of sequence numbers indicative of progress of the second storage controller 410, state transition information, operating state information, etc., within a second memory section 412 “Para56-57 "In this way, both the first memory section 504 and the first disk mailbox 516 are used to convey health information of the first storage controller 502.", Para63-65). Therefore, Keremane teaches both first and second controller monitoring and storing heart beat status information.
Therefore, Keremane renders these claims unpatentable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TASNIMA . MATIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2135
/TASNIMA MATIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135