DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Non-Final Rejection Office Action in response to the 10/24/2024 filling of Application 18/925,687. Claims 1-9 are now presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alber US 2021/0158244 A1 in view of Rekstad US 2023/0267824 A1.
As per Claim 1 Alber teaches A method for identifying a field device to be operated in automation technology, comprising:
providing an operator unit, wherein at least one order ticket is present on the operator unit, wherein the order ticket has an access authorization for at least one of the field devices; (Alber para. 17 teaches The field device can be logged into by inputting secure login information into the field device. However, the login can also take place, as will be explained in more detail below, by using an authorized device, an operating tool or an authorization tool. Furthermore, it is provided that the user is automatically authorized to perform the work order by conveying the order ticket to the field device. In this case, it is therefore provided that the order ticket already contains the access authorization to the field device. The order ticket thus serves as an identifier (e.g., name of the user) and as an authenticator (e.g., contains a password or password equivalent for direct access to the field device) and furthermore includes the authorization to operate the field device according to the work order. By using a password equivalent instead of a password, the real password does not have to be revealed. The password may also only be valid for a limited time. If the operator or service technician thus conveys the order ticket to the field device, the login data which authorize the performance of the defined work order are automatically transmitted to the field device thereby.)
transmitting the order ticket to the relevant field device; (Alber para. 17 teaches The field device can be logged into by inputting secure login information into the field device. However, the login can also take place, as will be explained in more detail below, by using an authorized device, an operating tool or an authorization tool. Furthermore, it is provided that the user is automatically authorized to perform the work order by conveying the order ticket to the field device.)
checking the access authorization for validity by the field device; Alber para. 33 teaches the field device FG checks the order ticket AT or/and the authentication data. If the check is positive, the service technician ST receives authorization to perform the clearly defined work order. The work order may be one or more of the activities not mentioned exhaustively below: control, maintenance, unlocking of at least one parameter, calibration, exchange of a component of the field device, exchange of the field device. Depending on the work order, the service technician ST receives read or write access to the field device.
Alber does not teach signaling of those field devices that were able to successfully carry out the check for the validity of the access authorization. Alber para. 33 teaches the field device FG checks the order ticket AT or/and the authentication data. If the check is positive, the service technician ST receives authorization to perform the clearly defined work order. The work order may be one or more of the activities not mentioned exhaustively below: control, maintenance, unlocking of at least one parameter, calibration, exchange of a component of the field device, exchange of the field device. Depending on the work order, the service technician ST receives read or write access to the field device.
Alber does not teach searching for accessible field devices by means of the operator unit using a wireless communications protocol; carrying out the following steps for each of the field devices accessible from the operator unit; establishing a temporary communications connection between the operator unit and the relevant field device using a wireless communications protocol; However, Rekstad para. 37 teaches in step 408, the controllable device 305a may send a wireless communication in response to the pairing discovery request, where the wireless communication includes audio recording parameters to assist in the pairing process. The controllable device 305a may also send the wireless communication after detecting audio, such as a voice command or other audio signal to initiate pairing without having received a discovery request. Because RF communications can go through walls and floors, it is possible that more than one controllable device received the pairing request from the remote control 307, so it may be desirable to determine which controllable device was intended to be controlled by the user. The user may be near the intended controllable device, so to determine the intended controllable device, both devices may record audio (e.g., ambient noise, voice commands, sounds, or other audio signals) and compare fingerprints of the recorded audio. If only one controllable device received the discovery request, the remote control 307 and controllable device 305a may be able to skip recording and fingerprinting audio and initiate a pairing sequence with each other. [0042] In step 414, the controllable device 305a may receive a response that was sent by the remote control 307. The remote control 307 may have turned on its microphone 313 and recorded audio in accordance with one or more of the recording parameters in the message from the controllable device 305a. The remote control 307 may fingerprint the audio before sending it to the controllable device 305a. The remote control 307 may also stream the recorded audio back to the controllable device 305a. The controllable device 305b and the display devices 309a-b may also receive the response from the remote control 307. Instead of using such messages, the remote control 307 may also create a temporary pairing with the controllable device 305a to send the audio data. A temporary pairing may include, for example, a security enabled communication channel to allow the devices to exchange information to assist the pairing process prior to binding the pairing. The controllable device 305a may determine, in step 416, whether the response includes an audio fingerprint or recorded audio. If the response includes recorded audio, in step 418, the controllable device 305a may fingerprint the received audio or may send the received recorded audio to another controllable device, such as the server 303, for fingerprinting. Both Alber and Rekstad are directed to device discovery in a n network of devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Alber to include searching for accessible field devices by means of the operator unit using a wireless communications protocol; carrying out the following steps for each of the field devices accessible from the operator unit; establishing a temporary communications connection between the operator unit and the relevant field device using a wireless communications protocol as taught by Rekstad to assist the determination of which controllable device is the intended device for pairing (see para. 34).
As per Claim 2 Alber teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the steps of transmitting the order ticket and checking the access authorization for validity are repeated for each of the order tickets present on the operator unit Alber para. 31-33 teach A corresponding order ticket AT is created via an order management system AVS. The order ticket AT contains clear instructions as to which operator or which service technician with which qualification or with which specialist knowledge is authorized to perform which work order at which field device FG, if applicable, in which time period. Alternatively, the order ticket contains clear instructions as to which authentication medium AM (badge, smart card, smartphone, plant operator's specialist tool, etc.) is to be used by a service technician ST.
The order ticket AT is transmitted to the defined field device FG. The service technician ST logs into the defined field device FG, preferably by means of the order ticket AT. However, it is alternatively also possible for the service technician ST to log in via the additional input of authentication data.
The field device FG checks the order ticket AT or/and the authentication data. If the check is positive, the service technician ST receives authorization to perform the clearly defined work order. The work order may be one or more of the activities not mentioned exhaustively below: control, maintenance, unlocking of at least one parameter, calibration, exchange of a component of the field device, exchange of the field device. Depending on the work order, the service technician ST receives read or write access to the field device.
and wherein those field devices which were able to successfully carry out this validity check are also signaled. Alber para. 33 teaches The field device FG checks the order ticket AT or/and the authentication data. If the check is positive, the service technician ST receives authorization to perform the clearly defined work order. The work order may be one or more of the activities not mentioned exhaustively below: control, maintenance, unlocking of at least one parameter, calibration, exchange of a component of the field device, exchange of the field device. Depending on the work order, the service technician ST receives read or write access to the field device.
Alber does not teach establishing the temporary communications connection However, Rekstad para. 37 teaches in step 408, the controllable device 305a may send a wireless communication in response to the pairing discovery request, where the wireless communication includes audio recording parameters to assist in the pairing process. The controllable device 305a may also send the wireless communication after detecting audio, such as a voice command or other audio signal to initiate pairing without having received a discovery request. Because RF communications can go through walls and floors, it is possible that more than one controllable device received the pairing request from the remote control 307, so it may be desirable to determine which controllable device was intended to be controlled by the user. The user may be near the intended controllable device, so to determine the intended controllable device, both devices may record audio (e.g., ambient noise, voice commands, sounds, or other audio signals) and compare fingerprints of the recorded audio. If only one controllable device received the discovery request, the remote control 307 and controllable device 305a may be able to skip recording and fingerprinting audio and initiate a pairing sequence with each other. [0042] In step 414, the controllable device 305a may receive a response that was sent by the remote control 307. The remote control 307 may have turned on its microphone 313 and recorded audio in accordance with one or more of the recording parameters in the message from the controllable device 305a. The remote control 307 may fingerprint the audio before sending it to the controllable device 305a. The remote control 307 may also stream the recorded audio back to the controllable device 305a. The controllable device 305b and the display devices 309a-b may also receive the response from the remote control 307. Instead of using such messages, the remote control 307 may also create a temporary pairing with the controllable device 305a to send the audio data. A temporary pairing may include, for example, a security enabled communication channel to allow the devices to exchange information to assist the pairing process prior to binding the pairing. The controllable device 305a may determine, in step 416, whether the response includes an audio fingerprint or recorded audio. If the response includes recorded audio, in step 418, the controllable device 305a may fingerprint the received audio or may send the received recorded audio to another controllable device, such as the server 303, for fingerprinting. Both Alber and Rekstad are directed to device discovery in a network of devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Alber to include establishing the temporary communications connection as taught by Rekstad to to assist the determination of which controllable device is the intended device for pairing (see para. 34).
As per Claim 7 Alber teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein, using the order ticket, the operator unit logs on with one of the field devices which were able to successfully carry out the check for the validity of the access authorization, and establishes a complete communications connection. Alber para. 17 teaches The field device can be logged into by inputting secure login information into the field device. However, the login can also take place, as will be explained in more detail below, by using an authorized device, an operating tool or an authorization tool. Furthermore, it is provided that the user is automatically authorized to perform the work order by conveying the order ticket to the field device. In this case, it is therefore provided that the order ticket already contains the access authorization to the field device. The order ticket thus serves as an identifier (e.g., name of the user) and as an authenticator (e.g., contains a password or password equivalent for direct access to the field device) and furthermore includes the authorization to operate the field device according to the work order. By using a password equivalent instead of a password, the real password does not have to be revealed. The password may also only be valid for a limited time. If the operator or service technician thus conveys the order ticket to the field device, the login data which authorize the performance of the defined work order are automatically transmitted to the field device thereby.
As per Claim 8 Alber teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the order ticket contains at least one operating action permitted for the operator unit, wherein the field device, after logging on, enables the operating actions, contained in the order ticket, for the operator unit. Alber para. 17 teaches The field device can be logged into by inputting secure login information into the field device. However, the login can also take place, as will be explained in more detail below, by using an authorized device, an operating tool or an authorization tool. Furthermore, it is provided that the user is automatically authorized to perform the work order by conveying the order ticket to the field device. In this case, it is therefore provided that the order ticket already contains the access authorization to the field device. The order ticket thus serves as an identifier (e.g., name of the user) and as an authenticator (e.g., contains a password or password equivalent for direct access to the field device) and furthermore includes the authorization to operate the field device according to the work order. By using a password equivalent instead of a password, the real password does not have to be revealed. The password may also only be valid for a limited time. If the operator or service technician thus conveys the order ticket to the field device, the login data which authorize the performance of the defined work order are automatically transmitted to the field device thereby.
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alber US 2021/0158244 A1 in view of Rekstad US 2023/0267824 A1 and in further view of Kiriyama US 2015/0229643 A1.
As per Claim 3 Alber does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the signaling is carried out by the operator unit. However, Kiriyama para. 66 teaches next, in step 920, the sensor searching unit 115 reads permission policies of the sensors provided by the sensor provider(s) 130, and searches for any sensor the authorization policy of which matches the request policy of the sensor user 120 (policy matching). A list of the sensors that have been found is transmitted to the access management unit 116. In step 930, the access management unit 116 receives the list of the sensors from the sensor searching unit 115, transmits the list to the sensor user terminal 121, receives the information about the sensor that has been selected by and can be controlled by the sensor user 120, and finally, transmits the information for specifying the sensor user who can operate the sensor (the user ID, the user terminal ID, the certificate including them, a temporarily issued token, etc.) to the access control unit 140. The Examiner considers transmitting a list of the sensors that have been found is transmitted to the access management unit to be signaling of those field devices that were able to successfully carry out the check. Both Alber and Kiriyama are directed to verifying permissions for devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Alber to include signaling of those field devices that were able to successfully carry out the check for the validity of the access authorization as taught by Kiriyama to ensure a real-time, seamless connection between the user terminal 121 and the sensors even in the case where the user terminal 121 moves at high speed and the sensor use conditions are frequently changed (see para. 112).
As per Claim 4 Alber does not teach the method according to claim 3, wherein the operator unit creates a list of all field devices found, and wherein the operator unit marks, as a signal, each of the field devices in the list which were able to successfully carry out the check for validity of the access authorization. However, Kiriyama para. 66 teaches next, in step 920, the sensor searching unit 115 reads permission policies of the sensors provided by the sensor provider(s) 130, and searches for any sensor the authorization policy of which matches the request policy of the sensor user 120 (policy matching). A list of the sensors that have been found is transmitted to the access management unit 116. In step 930, the access management unit 116 receives the list of the sensors from the sensor searching unit 115, transmits the list to the sensor user terminal 121, receives the information about the sensor that has been selected by and can be controlled by the sensor user 120, and finally, transmits the information for specifying the sensor user who can operate the sensor (the user ID, the user terminal ID, the certificate including them, a temporarily issued token, etc.) to the access control unit 140. The Examiner considers transmitting a list of the sensors that have been found is transmitted to the access management unit to be signaling of those field devices that were able to successfully carry out the check. Both Alber and Kiriyama are directed to verifying permissions for devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Alber to include wherein the operator unit creates a list of all field devices found, and wherein the operator unit marks, as a signal, each of the field devices in the list which were able to successfully carry out the check for validity of the access authorization as taught by Kiriyama to ensure a real-time, seamless connection between the user terminal 121 and the sensors even in the case where the user terminal 121 moves at high speed and the sensor use conditions are frequently changed (see para. 112).
Claim(s) 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alber US 2021/0158244 A1 in view of Rekstad US 2023/0267824 A1 as applied to Claim 1 and in further view of Albert US 2019/0146447 A1.
As per Claim 5 Alber does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the signaling is carried out by each of the field devices which were able to successfully perform the check. However, Albert para. 31 teaches Via a message or notification, a smart device can discreetly and nonetheless clearly advise of such events without a separate device (e.g., a smartphone) having to be taken into one's hand. As mentioned, vibration systems additionally integrated into the smart device allow a type of communication that does not require any visual contact. This can achieve the following: Signaling the user that a field device located in the vicinity is in a condition that requires an action of the user. As a result, a field device can directly make itself noticeable to the user, even in confusing environmental situations. Signaling the user that a known field device is in the vicinity. The signaling information can include the device name, the device condition, and the current measured values. In this way, the main properties of a field device can already be read without any user interactions solely by approaching the field device. Signaling the user that a cyclic service check of a device in the vicinity is due in the near future and that this check could practically be carried out immediately as a result of the physical proximity of the user. Both Alber and Albert are directed to locating field devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Alber to include wherein the operator unit creates a list of all field devices found, and wherein the operator unit marks, as a signal, each of the field devices in the list which were able to successfully carry out the check for validity of the access authorization as taught by Albert to directly make itself noticeable to the user, even in confusing environmental situations (see para. 31).
As per Claim 6 Alber does not teach the method according to claim 5, wherein each of the field devices outputs an acoustic and/or optical signal as part of the signaling. However, Albert para. 31 teaches Via a message or notification, a smart device can discreetly and nonetheless clearly advise of such events without a separate device (e.g., a smartphone) having to be taken into one's hand. As mentioned, vibration systems additionally integrated into the smart device allow a type of communication that does not require any visual contact. This can achieve the following: Signaling the user that a field device located in the vicinity is in a condition that requires an action of the user. As a result, a field device can directly make itself noticeable to the user, even in confusing environmental situations. Signaling the user that a known field device is in the vicinity. The signaling information can include the device name, the device condition, and the current measured values. In this way, the main properties of a field device can already be read without any user interactions solely by approaching the field device. Signaling the user that a cyclic service check of a device in the vicinity is due in the near future and that this check could practically be carried out immediately as a result of the physical proximity of the user. Both Alber and Albert are directed to locating field devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Alber to include wherein each of the field devices outputs an acoustic and/or optical signal as part of the signaling as taught by Albert to directly make itself noticeable to the user, even in confusing environmental situations (see para. 31).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alber US 2021/0158244 A1 in view of Rekstad US 2023/0267824 A1 as applied to Claim 7 and in further view of Gupta US 2021/0116262 A1.
As per Claim 9 Alber teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the operator unit retrieves location information of the field device after logging on to the field device and navigates an operator to the location of the field device. However, Gupta para. 130 teaches At block 614, the apparatus 300 includes means, such as the request processing module 310, communications module 308, input/output module 306, processor 302, and/or the like, or a combination thereof, configured to generate a device navigation path from the user location to a field device location data object. In some embodiments, for example, the field device location data object may be included in the request handling information received at an earlier block. The device navigation path may be generated based on one or more of a public travel path map and/or a local field encoded map corresponding to a particular field within which the field device is located. In this regard, the device navigation path may enable navigation to the field device based on accessible public thoroughfares (e.g., public roadways, walkways, and/or the like) and private thoroughfares associated with the field based on the local field encoded map (e.g., private walkways for navigating through a field, such as a plant, worksite, facility, and/or the like). The apparatus 300 may leverage one or more APIs for generating the device navigation path. As the apparatus 300 is moved by the user (for example, as the user navigates towards the field device), the device navigation path may update based on the new user location associated with the apparatus 300. In some embodiments, the apparatus 300 is configured to utilize one or more third-party systems, or third-party functionality associated with third-party hardware, software, or the like. Both Alber and Gupta are directed to locating field devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Alber to include wherein the operator unit retrieves location information of the field device after logging on to the field device and navigates an operator to the location of the field device as taught by Gupta to reduce reliance on human operators by leveraging such automated processes. Further, the specific embodiments enable provision, such as by rendering, of specific data and corresponding interfaces that enable a user, such as a field engineer, to perform effective and efficient maintenance actions. In such circumstances, embodiments of the present disclosure reduce or prevent industrial plant downtime (see para. 60).
Relevant Art Not Relied Upon in as Rejection
Jarvis US 11645593 B2 The guest management system using the estimate of the period of time that the person should be onsite to perform the service based on the work order will configure the access control system, using the time estimate, to place the entry in the access control list to govern the period of time that the badge will provide access to the premises. In some implementations, doors that the technician needs access are tied to the work order, i.e., if the technician needs to work on the boiler, the technician's credentials will only provide access to those doors related to that equipment. A similar concept of access can apply to control aspect software module access.
Mahadevan US 20150281376 A1 Para. 75 Once a device is registered, device database 618 is updated to include the new device name and registration information associated with the new device. Device database 618 facilitates the process of discovering other devices on the network. During operation, when listener 610 receives an Interest message in the discovery service namespace (such as “/abc/devices/list”), response-generation module 614 generates a Content Object based on information stored in device database 618. In some embodiments, this Content Object may include a list of all currently registered devices in the network. In further embodiments, appropriate authentication and encryption is part of the device-discovery process. For example, only certain devices are authorized to obtain a list of all registered devices. In addition, a registered client device may optionally hide itself from being discovered by other client devices in the network.
Furuichi US 20160366135 A1 Para. 116 Another example of dynamically controlling a connection between a physical device and a virtual machine includes an access control policy for changing a configuration of the physical device such that utilization of data and/or a device is allowed during a predefined specific work in order to prevent information leakage. In response to a decision that at least one of the first and second connection permission conditions is not satisfied, the physical device changes a configuration of the physical device or a virtual machine in order to connect the physical device to the virtual machine, such that both of the first and second connection permission conditions are satisfied. The conditions may comprises predefined circumstances, such as worker ID; working time; a type of virtual machine to which a physical device is connected; and/or working area, such as a connection area. In response to a decision that both of the first and second connection permission conditions are satisfied, a connection between the physical device and the virtual machine is established. Further, a usage of the confidential information, such as floor map or design drawings; or of a specified device, such as a digital camera or digital video for recording a work is allowed.
Griesser US 2020/0170053 A1 Abstract teaches the present disclosure discloses a method for identifying a single field device in a list on a mobile device, such as on a display of a mobile device. The method includes steps of displaying on the mobile device a list of all field devices which can be reached in the same communication network as the mobile device and selecting a specific field device by physically interacting therewith. The method also includes steps of sending an identifier from the selected field device to the mobile device via the communication network and identifying the selected field device in the list of all field devices.
Conclusion
/DEIRDRE D HATCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625