DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18925707 filed 10/24/2024 is a Continuation of PCT/KR2024/015613, filed 10/15/2024 claims foreign priority to 202441015357, filed 03/01/2024
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 10/24/2024 and 09/12/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US 2023/0276336) in view of Yiu et al (US 20210227442).
Regarding claim 1, Wu et al discloses method (fig. 2, method) performed by a user equipment (UE) for handling a conditional handover (CHO) in non-terrestrial network (NTN) comprises (UE performs a CHO procedure from a source cell to the target candidate cell. The source cell or the target candidate cell may be a NTN cell, [0044], lines 1-3):
receiving, by the UE, CHO configuration information associated with one or more target candidate cells (In step 206, the source BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE, [0028], lines 1-2), wherein the CHO configuration information includes a signal measurements-based event and one of a timer-based event or a distance-based event (execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2);
starting, by the UE, a measurement for one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a first time instance (UE receives a mapping table including one or more entries. Each entry of the mapping table may include at least one of: a mapping association between “distance information of the UE” and “a timing advance (TA) value between the UE and the source cell”. The UE may calculate the distance information based on location information and ephemeris information of the UE, [0046], lines 1-2, [0047], lines 2-4);
determining, by the UE, whether the measurement for one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event is completed (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2);
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of performing, by the UE, a measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a second time instance, in accordance with a determination that the measurement for one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event is completed.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of performing, by the UE, a measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a second time instance, in accordance with a determination that the measurement for one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event is completed (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of performing, by the UE, a measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a second time instance, in accordance with a determination that the measurement for one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event is completed of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 2, Wu et al discloses method (fig. 2, method), further comprising:
determining, by the UE, whether an entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event is completed (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2); and
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of performing, by the UE, one of: a CHO procedure from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event being completed, or measurement configuration from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and the distance-based event being completed.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of performing, by the UE, one of: a CHO procedure from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event being completed, or measurement configuration from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and the distance-based event being completed (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of performing, by the UE, one of: a CHO procedure from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event being completed, or measurement configuration from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and the distance-based event being completed of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 3, Wu et al discloses method (fig. 2, method), wherein the CHO configuration information includes the timer-based event when the UE is in connected mode for 5G services, wherein the CHO configuration information includes the distance-based event when the UE is in connected mode for 5G services and the UE is in at least one of a mobility state and a stationary state (execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Wu et al discloses method (fig. 2, method), wherein performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event at the second time instance comprises:
determining, by the UE, whether the UE is in one of a mobility state or a stationary state (The SGSN 228 may track a location of the UE 202 and perform security functions and access control. In addition, the SGSN 228 may perform inter-EPC node signaling for mobility between different RAT networks; PDN and S-GW selection as specified by MME 224; MME selection for handovers; etc. The S3 reference point between the MME 224 and the SGSN 228 may enable user and bearer information exchange for inter-3GPP access network mobility in idle/active states, [0084], lines 1-4);
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of performing, by the UE, one of: based on the UE being in the mobility state, determining the second instance and a periodicity of the signal measurements-based event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the mobility state, and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity, and
based on the UE being in the stationary state, determining the second instance and a periodicity of the signal measurements-based event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the stationary state, and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of performing, by the UE, one of: based on the UE being in the mobility state, determining the second instance and a periodicity of the signal measurements-based event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the mobility state, and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5), and
based on the UE being in the stationary state, determining the second instance and a periodicity of the signal measurements-based event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the stationary state, and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of performing, by the UE, one of: based on the UE being in the mobility state, determining the second instance and a periodicity of the signal measurements-based event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the mobility state, and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity, and based on the UE being in the stationary state, determining the second instance and a periodicity of the signal measurements-based event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the stationary state, and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 5, Wu et al discloses method (fig. 2, method), wherein determining, by the UE, whether entry conditions for the timer-based event is completed comprises (execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2):
comparing, by the UE, current time of the UE while performing the measurement for the timer-based event with a specified threshold time (measurement based trigger condition includes the following two events, i.e., Event A3 and Event A5. In an assumption that a source cell is a master cell group or secondary cell group (SpCell), 3GPP TS 38.331 defines entering conditions and leaving conditions of Event A3 and Event A5, respectively. [0038] Event A3: a neighbour cell becomes offset better than a SpCell. [0039] Event A5: a SpCell becomes worse than one threshold and a neighbour cell becomes better than another threshold, [0037], lines 1-5); and
determining, the completion of the measurement for the timer-based event when the current time of the UE is greater than or equal to the specified threshold time (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Wu et al discloses method (fig. 2, method), wherein determining whether the measurement for the distance-based event is completed comprises (execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2):
determining, by the UE, distance between a current location of the UE with respect to a first reference location and second reference location (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2);
determining, by the UE, completion of the measurement for the distance-based event based on at least one of the distance between the current location of the UE and first reference location being greater than a specified first threshold of the first reference location and distance between the current location of the UE and second reference point being shorter than preconfigured second threshold of the second reference location (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Wu et al discloses method (fig. 2, method), wherein performing the measurement configuration from the source cell to the selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells comprises: determining, by the UE, whether the UE is in one of a mobility state or a stationary state (The SGSN 228 may track a location of the UE 202 and perform security functions and access control. In addition, the SGSN 228 may perform inter-EPC node signaling for mobility between different RAT networks; PDN and S-GW selection as specified by MME 224; MME selection for handovers; etc. The S3 reference point between the MME 224 and the SGSN 228 may enable user and bearer information exchange for inter-3GPP access network mobility in idle/active states, [0084], lines 1-4);
performing one of: based on the UE being in stationary state, skipping the measurement for the distance-based event (The UE may consider a location based event whose leaving condition is satisfied during another TTT (e.g., TTT2) as “not fulfilled” (skipped), [0075], lines 2-3); and
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of performing at least one of the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with reduced periodicity until the t-service timer is about expire for the serving cell or performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with increased periodicity based on the t-service timer being about to expire; or
based on the UE being in mobility state, performing the measurement for the distance-based event continuously; and
performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with reduced periodicity until the measurement for the distance-based event is determined to be completed.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of performing at least one of the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with reduced periodicity until the t-service timer is about expire for the serving cell or performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with increased periodicity based on the t-service timer being about to expire (network configures measurement configuration by configuring one of the events. When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. Currently, all the events are based on measurement value or comparison in RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR between serving cell and neighboring cell. In Aerial WI in LTE, event based on height (elevation) is introduced to trigger measurement report for Aerial UE. However, existing events will not work for NTN UE due to the low variation in signal and long propagation delay, [00215], lines 1-5); or
based on the UE being in mobility state, performing the measurement for the distance-based event continuously (UE receives a mapping table including one or more entries. Each entry of the mapping table may include at least one of: a mapping association between “distance information of the UE” and “a timing advance (TA) value between the UE and the source cell”. The UE may calculate the distance information based on location information and ephemeris information of the UE, [0046], lines 1-2, [0047], lines 2-4); and
performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with reduced periodicity until the measurement for the distance-based event is determined to be completed (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of performing at least one of the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with reduced periodicity until the t-service timer is about expire for the serving cell or performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with increased periodicity based on the t-service timer being about to expire; or based on the UE being in mobility state, performing the measurement for the distance-based event continuously; and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with reduced periodicity until the measurement for the distance-based event is determined to be completed of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 8, Wu et al discloses method (fig. 2, method) performed by a user equipment (UE) for handling a conditional handover (CHO) in non-territorial network (NTN) comprises (UE performs a CHO procedure from a source cell to the target candidate cell. The source cell or the target candidate cell may be a NTN cell, [0044], lines 1-3):
receiving, by the UE, CHO configuration information associated with one or more target candidate cells (In step 206, the source BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE, [0028], lines 1-2), wherein the CHO configuration information includes a signal measurements-based event and a distance-based event based on the UE being in a connected mode for 5G services and the UE being in a stationary state (execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2);
skipping, by the UE, a measurement for the distance-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a first time instance (The UE may consider a location based event whose leaving condition is satisfied during another TTT (e.g., TTT2) as “not fulfilled” (skipped), [0075], lines 2-3);
determining, by the UE, whether a t-service timer meets a t-service timer expiry threshold (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2); and
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of starting, by the UE, a measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a second time instance, in accordance with a determination that the t-service timer meets the t-service timer expiry threshold.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of starting, by the UE, a measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a second time instance, in accordance with a determination that the t-service timer meets the t-service timer expiry threshold (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (threshold), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of starting, by the UE, a measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a second time instance, in accordance with a determination that the t-service timer meets the t-service timer expiry threshold of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 9, Wu et al discloses method (fig. 2, method), further comprising:
determining, by the UE, whether an entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and the distance- based event is completed (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2); and
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of performing, by the UE, a CHO procedure from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and the distance-based event being completed.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of performing, by the UE, a CHO procedure from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and the distance-based event being completed (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of performing, by the UE, a CHO procedure from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and the distance-based event being completed of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 10, Wu et al discloses method (fig. 2, method), wherein performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event at the second time instance comprises (The SGSN 228 may track a location of the UE 202 and perform security functions and access control. In addition, the SGSN 228 may perform inter-EPC node signaling for mobility between different RAT networks; PDN and S-GW selection as specified by MME 224; MME selection for handovers; etc. The S3 reference point between the MME 224 and the SGSN 228 may enable user and bearer information exchange for inter-3GPP access network mobility in idle/active states, [0084], lines 1-4):
determining, by the UE, whether the UE is in one of a mobility state or a stationary state (The SGSN 228 may track a location of the UE 202 and perform security functions and access control. In addition, the SGSN 228 may perform inter-EPC node signaling for mobility between different RAT networks; PDN and S-GW selection as specified by MME 224; MME selection for handovers; etc. The S3 reference point between the MME 224 and the SGSN 228 may enable user and bearer information exchange for inter-3GPP access network mobility in idle/active states, [0084], lines 1-4);
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of performing, by the UE, one of: based on the UE being in the mobility state, determining the second instance and a periodicity of the signal-based measurement event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the mobility state, and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity, and
based on the UE being in the stationary state, determining the second instance and a periodicity of the signal-based measurement event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the stationary state, and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of performing, by the UE, one of: based on the UE being in the mobility state, determining the second instance and a periodicity of the signal-based measurement event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the mobility state, and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5), and
based on the UE being in the stationary state, determining the second instance and a periodicity of the signal-based measurement event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the stationary state, and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of performing, by the UE, one of: based on the UE being in the mobility state, determining the second instance and a periodicity of the signal-based measurement event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the mobility state, and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity, and based on the UE being in the stationary state, determining the second instance and a periodicity of the signal-based measurement event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the stationary state, and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 11, Wu et al discloses user equipment (UE) for handling a conditional handover (CHO) in non-terrestrial network (NTN) comprises (UE performs a CHO procedure from a source cell to the target candidate cell. The source cell or the target candidate cell may be a NTN cell, [0044], lines 1-3):
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry (processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to implement the above-mentioned method performed by a UE, [0005], lines 3-5); and
memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the UE to (processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to implement the above-mentioned method performed by a UE, [0005], lines 3-5):
receive CHO configuration information associated with one or more target candidate cells (In step 206, the source BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE, [0028], lines 1-2), wherein the CHO configuration information includes a signal measurements-based event and one of a timer-based event or a distance-based event (execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2);
start a measurement for one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a first time instance (UE receives a mapping table including one or more entries. Each entry of the mapping table may include at least one of: a mapping association between “distance information of the UE” and “a timing advance (TA) value between the UE and the source cell”. The UE may calculate the distance information based on location information and ephemeris information of the UE, [0046], lines 1-2, [0047], lines 2-4);
determine whether the measurement for one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event is completed (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2);
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of perform a measurement for the signal-measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a second time instance, in accordance with a determination that the measurement for one of the time-based based event or the distance-based event being completed.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of perform a measurement for the signal-measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a second time instance, in accordance with a determination that the measurement for one of the time-based based event or the distance-based event being completed (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of perform a measurement for the signal-measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a second time instance, in accordance with a determination that the measurement for one of the time-based based event or the distance-based event being completed of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6)
Regarding claim 12, Wu et al discloses UE (fig. 1, item 101-A, UE), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the UE to (processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to implement the above-mentioned method performed by a UE, [0005], lines 3-5):
determine whether an entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event is completed (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2); and
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of perform one of a CHO procedure from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event being completed; or
perform measurement configuration from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and distance-based event being completed.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of perform one of a CHO procedure from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event being completed (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5); or
perform measurement configuration from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and distance-based event being completed (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of perform one of a CHO procedure from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and one of the timer-based event or the distance-based event being completed; or perform measurement configuration from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and distance-based event being completed of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 13, Wu et al discloses UE, wherein the CHO configuration information includes the timer-based event based on the UE being in a connected mode for 5G services, wherein the CHO configuration information includes the distance-based event based on the UE being in a connected mode for 5G services and the UE being in at least one of a mobility state and a stationary state (execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Wu et al discloses UE, wherein, to perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event at the second time instance, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the UE to (processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to implement the above-mentioned method performed by a UE, [0005], lines 3-5):
determine whether the UE is in one of a mobility state or a stationary state (The SGSN 228 may track a location of the UE 202 and perform security functions and access control. In addition, the SGSN 228 may perform inter-EPC node signaling for mobility between different RAT networks; PDN and S-GW selection as specified by MME 224; MME selection for handovers; etc. The S3 reference point between the MME 224 and the SGSN 228 may enable user and bearer information exchange for inter-3GPP access network mobility in idle/active states, [0084], lines 1-4);
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of perform one of: based on the UE being in the mobility state, determine the second instance and a periodicity of the signal measurements-based event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the mobility state, and perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity, and
based on the UE being in the stationary state, determine the second instance and a periodicity of the signal-based measurement event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the stationary state, and perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of perform one of: based on the UE being in the mobility state, determine the second instance and a periodicity of the signal measurements-based event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the mobility state, and perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5), and
based on the UE being in the stationary state, determine the second instance and a periodicity of the signal-based measurement event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the stationary state, and perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of perform one of: based on the UE being in the mobility state, determine the second instance and a periodicity of the signal measurements-based event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the mobility state, and perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity, and based on the UE being in the stationary state, determine the second instance and a periodicity of the signal-based measurement event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the stationary state, and perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 15, Wu et al discloses UE, wherein, to determine whether entry conditions for the timer-based event are completed, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the UE to (processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to implement the above-mentioned method performed by a UE, [0005], lines 3-5):
compare current time of the UE while performing the measurement for the timer-based event with a specified threshold time (measurement based trigger condition includes the following two events, i.e., Event A3 and Event A5. In an assumption that a source cell is a master cell group or secondary cell group (SpCell), 3GPP TS 38.331 defines entering conditions and leaving conditions of Event A3 and Event A5, respectively. [0038] Event A3: a neighbour cell becomes offset better than a SpCell. [0039] Event A5: a SpCell becomes worse than one threshold and a neighbour cell becomes better than another threshold, [0037], lines 1-5); and
determine the completion of the measurement for the timer-based event when the current time of the UE is greater than or equal to the specified threshold time (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Wu et al discloses UE, wherein, to determine whether entry conditions for the distance-based event is completed, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the UE to (processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to implement the above-mentioned method performed by a UE, [0005], lines 3-5):
determine distance between a current location of the UE with respect to a first reference location and second reference location (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2);
determine completion of the measurement for the distance-based event when at least one of the distance between the current location of the UE and first reference location becomes greater than a specified first threshold of the first reference location and distance between the current location of the UE and second reference point becomes shorter than a specified second threshold of the second reference location (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Wu et al discloses UE, wherein, to perform measurement configuration from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the UE to (processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to implement the above-mentioned method performed by a UE, [0005], lines 3-5):
determine whether the UE is in one of a mobility state or a stationary state (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2);
perform one of: based on the UE being in the stationary state, skipping the measurement for the distance-based event (The UE may consider a location based event whose leaving condition is satisfied during another TTT (e.g., TTT2) as “not fulfilled” (skipped), [0075], lines 2-3); and
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of performing at least one of the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with reduced periodicity until the t-service timer is about expire for the serving cell or performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with increased periodicity when the t-service timer is about to expire; or
based on the being in the mobility state, performing the measurement for the distance-based event continuously; and
performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with reduced periodicity until the measurement for the distance-based event is determined to be completed.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of performing at least one of the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with reduced periodicity until the t-service timer is about expire for the serving cell or performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with increased periodicity when the t-service timer is about to expire (network configures measurement configuration by configuring one of the events. When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. Currently, all the events are based on measurement value or comparison in RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR between serving cell and neighboring cell. In Aerial WI in LTE, event based on height (elevation) is introduced to trigger measurement report for Aerial UE. However, existing events will not work for NTN UE due to the low variation in signal and long propagation delay, [00215], lines 1-5); or
based on the being in the mobility state, performing the measurement for the distance-based event continuously (UE receives a mapping table including one or more entries. Each entry of the mapping table may include at least one of: a mapping association between “distance information of the UE” and “a timing advance (TA) value between the UE and the source cell”. The UE may calculate the distance information based on location information and ephemeris information of the UE, [0046], lines 1-2, [0047], lines 2-4); and
performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with reduced periodicity until the measurement for the distance-based event is determined to be completed (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of performing at least one of the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with reduced periodicity until the t-service timer is about expire for the serving cell or performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with increased periodicity when the t-service timer is about to expire; or based on the being in the mobility state, performing the measurement for the distance-based event continuously; and performing the measurement for the signal measurements-based event with reduced periodicity until the measurement for the distance-based event is determined to be completed of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 18, Wu et al discloses user equipment (UE) for handling a conditional handover (CHO) in non-territorial network (NTN) comprises (UE performs a CHO procedure from a source cell to the target candidate cell. The source cell or the target candidate cell may be a NTN cell, [0044], lines 1-3):
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry (processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to implement the above-mentioned method performed by a UE, [0005], lines 3-5); and
memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the UE to (processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to implement the above-mentioned method performed by a UE, [0005], lines 3-5):
receive CHO configuration information associated with one or more target candidate cells (In step 206, the source BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE, [0028], lines 1-2), wherein the CHO configuration information includes a signal measurements-based event and a distance- based event based on the UE being in a connected mode for 5G services and the UE being in a stationary state (execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2);
skip a measurement for the distance-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a first time instance (The UE may consider a location based event whose leaving condition is satisfied during another TTT (e.g., TTT2) as “not fulfilled” (skipped), [0075], lines 2-3);
determine whether a t-service timer meets a t-service timer expiry threshold (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2); and
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of start a measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a second time instance, in accordance with a determination that the t-service timer meets the t-service timer expiry threshold.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of start a measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a second time instance, in accordance with a determination that the t-service timer meets the t-service timer expiry threshold (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (threshold), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of start a measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at a second time instance, in accordance with a determination that the t-service timer meets the t-service timer expiry threshold of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 19, Wu et al discloses UE, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the UE to (processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to implement the above-mentioned method performed by a UE, [0005], lines 3-5):
determine whether an entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and the distance-based event is completed (BS sends an RRCReconfiguration message, which contains CHO configuration information of candidate cell(s) and CHO execution condition(s), to the UE. In step 207, the UE sends an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the source BS. UE sends a CHO handover completion message to the one or more candidate target BSs. Execution condition for a CHO procedure in a NTN environment may include the following: Measurement based trigger condition: configuration of trigger thresholds and/or which measurement events to be used as a trigger condition should consider the NTN environment, e.g., the small variation of the cell quality measured (signal measurements- based event) in a cell center and at a cell edge in the NTN environment. Location based trigger condition may be expressed as a distance between the UE and the satellite (distance-based event). Time(r) based trigger condition (timer-based event): this condition may be based on UTC time (timer-based event) or a timer based solution (timer-based event). Time based CHO procedure in LEO scenarios should consider deterministic satellite movement, [0028], lines 1-3, [0030], line 1, [0031], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3, [0033], line 4, [0034], lines 1-2); and
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of perform a CHO procedure from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and the distance- based event being completed.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of perform a CHO procedure from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and the distance- based event being completed (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of perform a CHO procedure from a source cell to a selected target candidate cell of the one or more target candidate cells based on the entry condition for the signal measurements-based event and the distance- based event being completed of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 20, Wu et al discloses UE, wherein, to perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event at the second time instance, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the UE to (processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to implement the above-mentioned method performed by a UE, [0005], lines 3-5):
determine whether the UE is in one of a mobility state or a stationary state (The SGSN 228 may track a location of the UE 202 and perform security functions and access control. In addition, the SGSN 228 may perform inter-EPC node signaling for mobility between different RAT networks; PDN and S-GW selection as specified by MME 224; MME selection for handovers; etc. The S3 reference point between the MME 224 and the SGSN 228 may enable user and bearer information exchange for inter-3GPP access network mobility in idle/active states, [0084], lines 1-4);
Wu et al does not specifically disclose concept of perform one of: based on the UE being in the mobility state, determine the second instance and a periodicity of the signal measurements-based event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the mobility state, and perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity, and
based on the UE being in the stationary state, determine the second instance and a periodicity of the signal based measurement event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the stationary state, and perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity.
However, Yiu specifically teaches concept of perform one of: based on the UE being in the mobility state, determine the second instance and a periodicity of the signal measurements-based event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the mobility state, and perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5), and
based on the UE being in the stationary state, determine the second instance and a periodicity of the signal based measurement event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the stationary state, and perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity (When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. New event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT) (second time instance). For example, the UE may start a timer (second time instance) upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires (completed), [0025], lines 1-2, [0026], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Wu et al with concept of perform one of: based on the UE being in the mobility state, determine the second instance and a periodicity of the signal measurements-based event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the mobility state, and perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity, and based on the UE being in the stationary state, determine the second instance and a periodicity of the signal based measurement event for the one or more target candidate cells for the UE in the stationary state, and perform the measurement for the signal measurements-based event associated with the one or more target candidate cells at the second time instance based on the determined periodicity of Yiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve airborne vehicles systems, (Yiu, [0003], lines 1-6).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681