DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
Except as noted below, the information disclosure statements (IDSes) submitted on 10/202024 and 04/01/2025 are being considered by the examiner. The dates on the 10/24/2024 IDS for the submitted foreign patent documents are not correct.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 12, 14-15, 23, 24, and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, “wherein calculating the mass flow rate …” should be “wherein the calculating the mass flow rate ….” Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 12, “wherein calculating the housing heat storage level …” should be “wherein the calculating the housing heat storage level …,” and “wherein calculating the estimated first heater power level …” should be “wherein the calculating the estimated first heater power level ….” Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 14, “wherein calculating a first heating level…” should be “wherein the calculating a first heating level ….” Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 15, “wherein calculating the first effective heater power level …” should be “wherein the calculating the first effective heater power level ….” Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 23, “wherein calculating the estimated second heater power level …” should be “wherein the calculating the estimated second heater power level ….” Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 24, “wherein calculating a second heating level …” should be “wherein the calculating a second heating level ….” Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 28, “wherein calculating a first derived evaporator operating temperature …” should be “wherein the calculating a first derived evaporator operating temperature …,” and “calculating a second derived evaporator operating temperature …” should be “the calculating a second derived evaporator operating temperature ….” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11-12, 15, 17-18, 22-24, 27-28, 29, 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because, while independent claim 1 falls within a statutory class of a method (i.e., claim 1 passes Step 1 of the § 101 analysis, see MPEP § 2106.03.II), under Step 2A of the § 101 analysis, claim 1 recites a judicial exception without integrating the judicial exception into a practical application (i.e., fails Step 2A of the § 101 analysis). See MPEP § 2106.04.
Specifically, claim 1 recites “calculating a mass flow rate …,”“calculating a first heating level …,” and “calculating an estimated evaporator operating temperature of the evaporator ….” The claimed “calculations” are abstract ideas because they are mathematical concepts. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).I, III. In addition, claim 1 does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract ideas in the claimed “calculations” into a practical application (e.g., see claim 3, which positively recites a controlling step). Thus, claim 1 does not integrate the claimed calculations into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.04(d). In addition, the claim does not recite any improvement to the relevant technology. The claimed calculations do not “improve[] the functioning of a computer or improve[] another technology or technical field” and thus they are still abstract ideas that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1).
Finally, claim 1 also fails under Step 2B of the § 101 analysis because claim 1 fails to recite any additional elements that “amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” See MPEP §2106.05. Even assuming, arguendo, that the claimed “calculations” are a new idea, they are still abstract ideas, as discussed above, and thus do not amount to “significantly more.” See MPEP § 2106.05 (“a claim for a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea” quoting Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1151, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2016), emphasis original).
Claim 2 recites “calculating the estimated evaporator operating temperature based on the specific heat capacity,” which is an abstract idea. Because claim 2 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 7 recites “converting the blower speed to a blower volumetric flow” and “calculating the mass flow rate based on the blower volumetric flow and an air density for the airflow,” which are abstract ideas. Because claim 7 does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application, claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 8 recites “calculating the air density for the airflow based on the first discharge temperature,” which is an abstract idea. Because claim 8 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 9 recites “calculating the mass flow rate based on configuration of the distribution flap(s),” which is an abstract idea. Because claim 9 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 11 recites “calculating the housing heat storage level …,” “calculating an estimated first heater power level …,” and “calculating the first heating level …,” which are abstract ideas. Because claim 11 does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application, claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 12 recites “calculating the housing heat storage level …” and “summing the estimated first heater power level and the housing heat storage level,” which are abstract ideas. Because claim 12 does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application, claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 14 recites “calculating a first effective heater power level …” and “using the first effective heater power level as the first heating level,” which are abstract ideas. Because claim 14 does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application, claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 15 recites “applying a low pass filter with a variable averaging period to the estimated first heater power level,” which is an abstract idea. Because claim 15 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 17 recites “calculating the first heating level based on the air mix temperature flap position,” which is an abstract idea. Because claim 17 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 18 recites “calculating a second heating level …,” “calculating the estimated evaporator operating temperature …,” “converting the blower speed to a blower volumetric flow,” “calculating the mass flow rate based on the blower volumetric flow and an air density for the airflow,” “calculating the air density for the airflow based on the second discharge temperature,” and “calculating the air density for the airflow based on an average of the first discharge temperature and the second discharge temperature,” which are abstract ideas. Because claim 18 does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application, claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 22 recites “calculating the housing heat storage level …,” “calculating the estimated evaporator operating temperature …,” “calculating an estimated second heater power level …,” and “calculating the second heating level based on the estimated second heater power level,” which are abstract ideas. Because claim 22 does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application, claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 23 recites “summing the estimated second heater power level and the housing heat storage level,” which is an abstract idea. Because claim 23 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 24 recites “calculating a second effective heater power level based on the estimated second heater power level and the mass flow rate,” and “using the second effective heater power level as the second heating level,” which are abstract ideas. Because claim 24 does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application, claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 27 recites “calculating a first derived evaporator operating temperature …,” “calculating a second derived evaporator operating temperature …,” and “calculating the estimated evaporator operating temperature …,” which are abstract ideas. Because claim 27 does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application, claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 29 recites that “the method is performed by an air conditioning controller.” As discussed above, claim 1 recites abstract ideas without integrating the abstract ideas into a practical application. The use of an air conditioning controller to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than reciting the words “apply it,” which does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. MPEP §2106.05(f). Accordingly, claim 29 is rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claim 30 recites an air conditioning system comprising “an air conditioning controller configured to: calculate a mass flow rate based on the blower speed of the blower unit; calculate a first heating level of the air conditioning system based on at least one first heater parameter associated with the first heater, and estimate the evaporator temperature based on the first discharge temperature, the first heating level, and the mass flow rate.” Claim 30 recites a judicial exception without integrating the judicial exception into a practical application for the reasons given in claim 1. The use of an air conditioning controller to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than reciting the words “apply it,” which does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. MPEP §2106.05(f). Accordingly, claim 30 is rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claims 2, 7-9, 11-12, 15, 17-18, 22-24, and 27-29 are also rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-12, 14, 17, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0322044 to Jae Woong Kim (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0048364 to Kohei Takase (“Takase”), and further in view of Chinese Patent Application Publication No. CN112060860 to Evergrande Hengchi New Energy Automobile Research Institute Shanghai Co Ltd. (“Evergrande”).
Regarding claim 1:
A method for controlling an air conditioning system of a vehicle (Kim at Abstract.), the air conditioning system comprising
a blower unit (Kim discloses that the air conditioning system can include “a blower configured to allow air to flow around the evaporator.” Kim at par. [0039].),
a duct (Kim discloses the “blower [is] configured to allow air to flow in the air conditioning line” (“duct”). Kim at par. [0041].),
an evaporator (Kim discloses that the air conditioning system can include “an evaporator.” Kim at par. [0039].),
a first heater (Kim discloses that the air conditioning system can include “a heater (e.g., a PTC heater) configured to heat air having passed through the evaporator.” Kim at par. [0039].) and
the evaporator and the first heater being located in the duct (Kim discloses that the “PTC heater [is] disposed in an air conditioning line [and the] blower [is] configured to allow air to flow in the air conditioning line” (“duct”). Kim at par. [0041].),
the method comprising:
calculating a first heating level of the air conditioning system based on at least one first heater parameter associated with the first heater (Kim discloses calculating the amount of heat generation (“calculating a first heating level”) of a PTC heater based on the electric power consumed (“based on at least one first heater parameter associated with the first heater”). Kim at par. [0093].); and
In view of Takase,
the blower unit being configured to generate an airflow along the duct and to generate the airflow at a variable blower speed (As discussed above, Kim discloses a blower that allows air to flow in the air conditioning line (“generate an airflow along the duct”), but is silent on the type of blower. In a same field of endeavor, air conditioning system (and thus analogous art), Takase discloses a blower configured such that its speed that can be set by a control signal (“variable blower speed”). Takase at par. [0075]. Because Kim is silent on the type of blower, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have motivated to look for types of blowers (such as that in disclosed in Takase) which can be used in Kim’s air conditioning system. Because both Kim and Takase relate to air conditioning systems, one skilled in the art would have recognized that Takase’s variable speed blower can be incorporated into Kim’s system according to known methods and that the results would have been predictable. MPEP § 2143.I.A.).
a first discharge temperature sensor … the first discharge temperature sensor being configured to output a first discharge temperature sensed from the airflow in the duct located after the evaporator and first heater (Kim discloses that “Ta,do represents a temperature of air introduced into the interior through the air conditioning line.” Kim at par. [0053]. However, Kim does not explicitly disclose that Ta,do is sensed by a sensor “from the airflow in the duct located after the evaporator and first heater.” Takase discloses that a “blowoff temperature sensor 55 detects the temperature of the air in the vent communication air passage 11 c [and] … is disposed in the main duct 11, at a position downstream of the heater core 24 ….” Takase at par. [0057] and Fig. 1. Because Kim is silent on the discharge temperature sensor and its precise location, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to look for places in the air conditioning system to locate the discharge temperature sensor and then modify Kim’s air conditioning system accordingly. Because both Kim and Takase relate to air conditioning systems, one skilled in the art would have recognized that Takase’s blowoff temperature sensor and its location within the air conditioning system can be incorporated into Kim’s system according to known methods and that the results would have been predictable. MPEP § 2143.I.A.),
calculating a mass flow rate based on the blower speed of the blower unit (Kim discloses performing optimization calculations that take into the mass flow rate (mb) of the blower. Kim at pars. [0069]-[0073]. As discussed above, Kim in view of Takase will include a variable speed blower, which means that the blower speed will be accounted for in the mass flow rate calculations. Accordingly, Kim in view of Takase renders obvious the claimed calculations.);
In view of Evergrande,
calculating an estimated evaporator operating temperature of the evaporator based on the first discharge temperature, the first heating level, and the mass flow rate (Kim discloses a correlation between evaporator temperature (Ta,eo), discharge temperature (Ta,do), heating level (Phtr), and mass flow rate (mblwr). Kim at par. [0072] (Ta,do = Ta,eo + Phtr/(mblwrCpa)). However, Kim in view of Takase does not explicitly disclose calculating an estimated evaporator operating temperature. In a same filed of endeavor, air conditioning systems (and thus analogous art), Evergrande discloses determining a predicted evaporation temperature (“estimated evaporator operating temperature”) of the evaporator when the evaporator temperature sensor is abnormal and then controlling the system to the predicted evaporation temperature. Evergrande at Abstract. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate a predicted evaporation temperature into the system of Kim in view of Takase in order to “still effectively control the temperature of the vehicle air conditioning system when the evaporation temperature sensor of the evaporator is abnormal.” Evergrande at Abstract. Because Evergrande and Kim in view of Takase relate to air conditioning systems, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G. In the system of Kim in view of Takase and Evergrande the estimated evaporator operating temperature will be Ta,eo = Ta,do - Phtr/(mblwrCpa).).
Regarding claim 2: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the airflow has a specific heat capacity and the method comprises calculating the estimated evaporator operating temperature based on the specific heat capacity (As discussed above, the estimated evaporator operating temperature calculation will take into account the specific heat Cpa of the air. Kim at pars. [0053] and [0072].).
Regarding claim 3: The method according to claim 1, wherein the air conditioning system comprises
a compressor, the compressor being connected to the evaporator to drive the evaporator towards a target evaporator operating temperature (Takase disclose that the “cooling system also includes a compressor that compresses the refrigerant [and that] … when the compressor is driven, the refrigerant circulates in the cooling system, so that the air is cooled at around the evaporator 23. Takase at par. [0041]; see also Evergrande at Abstract. Thus, Kim in view of Takase and Evergrande discloses the claimed compressor arrangement.); and
the method comprises controlling the compressor to drive the evaporator towards the target evaporator operating temperature based on the estimated evaporator operating temperature (Evergrande discloses “determining the rotating speed of the compressor based on the predicted evaporating temperature and the target evaporating temperature so as to control the temperature of the air conditioning system according to the rotating speed.” Evergrande at Abstract. Thus, Kim in view of Takase and Evergrande discloses the claimed compressor control.)
Regarding claim 11: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one first heater parameter is a first heater power level (Kim at par. [0093].) and
wherein the air conditioning unit comprises a housing, the duct forming part of the housing and the housing having a heat storage level (Kim’s “thermal system model for vehicle interior air conditioning control is made in consideration of heat transfer from an engine and an internal component, solar heat, external heat transfer, ventilation thermal loss, and the like.” Kim at pars. [0051]-[0052] and Fig. 2. Thus, Kim takes into account heat storage levels in the vehicle such as the vehicle cab and interior structure. Under a broad but reasonable interpretation, “housing” is interpreted as the vehicle cab and interior structure, which house the air conditioning system and ducts.),
an ambient air temperature sensor being configured to output an ambient air temperature (Kim at par. [0065] and Fig. 2; see also Takase at par. [0055] (intake air temperature sensor 51).), and
calculating a first heating level comprises: calculating the housing heat storage level based on the mass flow rate and the ambient air temperature (Kim discloses dynamic equations for determining the heat transfer in the vehicle air conditioning system. Kim at pars. [0069]-[0072] and Fig. 2. The disclosed equations incorporate the claimed calculations. For example, the energy in the system based on Tcab and Tstr corresponds to the housing heat storage level);
calculating an estimated first heater power level based on the first dynamic state equations used to model the heat transfer for the for the heater power level and the housing heat storage level (Kim discloses dynamic state equations for modeling the heat transfer in the vehicle air conditioning system. Kim at pars. [0069]-[0072] and Fig. 2. The equations use a control variable that can include a heater power Phtr (“estimated first heating power level”). Kim at pars. [0074]-[0076].); and
calculating the first heating level based on the estimated first heater power level (Kim discloses that, based on a target temperature, an optimal control variable (“first heating level”) is determined and then the “the vehicle interior [is heated or cooled] on the basis of the determined control variable.” Kim at par. [0105].).
Regarding claim 12: The method according to claim 11,
wherein calculating the housing heat storage level comprises calculating the housing heat storage level using the mass flow rate and the ambient air temperature as inputs to a heat transfer model of the housing; wherein calculating the estimated first heater power level comprises summing the estimated first heater power level and the housing heat storage level (The modeling equations disclosed in Kim take into account energy transfers from the vehicle cab, interior structure, heater power, etc. Kim at pars. [0069]-[0072]. Thus, the claimed calculations are incorporated into the modeling equations of Kim.).
Regarding claim 14: The method according to claim 11, wherein calculating a first heating level comprises:
calculating a first effective heater power level based on the estimated first heater power level and the mass flow rate (Kim discloses dynamic state equations for modeling the heat transfer in the vehicle air conditioning system. Kim at pars. [0069]-[0072] and Fig. 2. The equations use a control variable that can include a heater power Phtr. Kim at pars. [0074]-[0076]. As seen in the modeling equations, the mass flow rate of the blower is taken into account. Thus, the first effective heater power level will be the first heater power level in the system of Kim in view of Takase and Evergrande.); and
using the first effective heater power level as the first heating level (Kim discloses that, based on a target temperature, an optimal control variable (“first heating level”) is determined and then the “the vehicle interior [is heated or cooled] on the basis of the determined control variable.” Kim at par. [0105].).
Regarding claim 17: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the air conditioning system comprises an air mix temperature flap, the air mix temperature flap is configured to move between an open position and a closed position and in the open position the airflow is able to pass through the first heater and in the closed position the airflow is unable to pass through the first heater so that the air mix temperature flap position controls heating of the airflow (Takase discloses an air mixing door 32 (“air mixing temperature flap”) that operates as claimed. Takase at par. [0090] and Fig. 1.), and
the at least one first heating parameter is the air mix temperature flap position (Takase discloses that the target opening state of the air mixing door 32 (“air mix temperature flap position”) determines the temperature of the air fed to the vanes. Thus, along with the power level of the heater discussed in claim 1, the “at least one first heating parameter” will also include the target opening state of the air mixing door 32.), and
the method comprises: calculating the first heating level based on the air mix temperature flap position (Takase discloses a temperature estimating unit 43 that estimates (“calculating”) the temperature Tat of the air fed to the vent according to a proportion based on the position of air mixing door 32. Takase at par. [0090] and Fig. 1.).
Regarding claim 29: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the method is performed by an air conditioning controller (Kim discloses a controller 100. Kim at par. [0038] and Fig. 1. Thus, Kim in view of Takase and Evergrande renders obvious the claimed controller.).
Regarding claim 30:
An air conditioning system for a vehicle (Kim at par. [0038] and Fig. 1.), the air conditioning system comprising:
a duct; a blower unit being configured to generate an airflow along the duct and to generate the airflow at a variable blower speed; an evaporator located in the duct; a first heater located in the duct; a first discharge temperature sensor being configured to output a first discharge temperature sensed from the airflow in the duct located after the evaporator and first heater; and an air conditioning controller configured to: calculate a mass flow rate based on the blower speed of the blower unit; calculate a first heating level of the air conditioning system based on at least one first heater parameter associated with the first heater, and estimate the evaporator temperature based on the first discharge temperature, the first heating level, and the mass flow rate (Kim discloses a controller 100. Kim at par. [0038] and Fig. 1. Please see claim 1 for an analysis of the remaining features.).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Evergrande, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2001/0003903 to Liu et al. (“Liu”).
Regarding claim 5: The method according to claim 3,
wherein the air conditioning system comprises an evaporator temperature sensor configured to output an evaporator operating temperature (Kim in view of Takase and Evergrande discloses “an evaporator temperature sensor configured to output an evaporator operating temperature.” For example, Kim discloses that evaporator temperature (Ta,eo) can be state temperature (Kim at par. [0070]) and Evergrande discloses using a temperature sensor to determine the evaporator temperature (Evergrande at Abstract).), and
the method comprises comparing the difference between the evaporator operating temperature and the estimated evaporator operating temperature to a fault threshold (As discussed above, Evergrande discloses using an estimated evaporator operating temperature for controlling the compressor if the evaporator sensor is abnormal. Evergrande at Abstract. In addition, Takase discloses detecting abnormality in an air conditioning system based on a difference between a detected temperature and an estimated temperature. Takase at Abstract and pars. [0032] and [0073]. However, Kim in view of Takase and Evergrande does not explicitly disclose “comparing the difference between the evaporator operating temperature and the estimated evaporator operating temperature to a fault threshold.” In a same field of endeavor, vehicle air conditioning systems (and thus analogous art), Liu discloses comparing the actual temperature of an evaporator with a theoretical value (i.e., estimate value) as an indication of a normal or abnormal state of the air conditioning system based on a predetermined threshold (“fault threshold”). Liu at pars. [0008], [0028]-[0031] and Fig. 3. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to compare the actual temperature of the evaporator to an estimated temperature in order to detect abnormal operation, e.g., icing. Liu at par. [0031]; see also Takase at Abstract (comparing a temperature sensor value to an estimated value to detect an abnormality in the system.). Because the references relate to air conditioning controls, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP § 2143.I.G.);
determining a fault with the evaporator temperature sensor if the difference is above the fault threshold (Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande, and Liu renders obvious the claimed “determining.” Liu at pars. [0008], [0028]-[0031] and Fig. 3 (determining problem if difference between measured temperature and estimated temperature is above a predetermined value.); see also Evergrande at Abstract and p. 3 (determining abnormality in the temperature sensor short-circuit and open circuit).);
controlling the compressor to drive the evaporator towards the target evaporator operating temperature based on the evaporator operating temperature whilst the difference is below the fault threshold (Evergrande discloses that in normal operation, the compressor is controlled according to the evaporation temperature signal (“based on the evaporator operating temperature”). Evergrande at Background.); and
controlling the compressor to drive the evaporator towards the target evaporator operating temperature based on the estimated evaporator operating temperature whilst the difference is above the fault threshold (Evergrande discloses that the compressor is controlled based on the predicted evaporation temperature (“based on the estimated evaporator operating temperature”) in case of an abnormal sensor. Evergrande at Abstract.).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Evergrande, and further in view of Centrifugal_fan, 08/16/2022, Wikipedia, https://web.archive.org/web/20220816002834/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centrifugal_fan (“Wiki1”), Mass_flow_rate, 07/21/2022, Wikipedia, https://web.archive.org/web/20220721041415/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mass_flow_rate (“Wiki2”), and Density_of_air, 06/11/2022. Wikipedia, https://web.archive.org/web/20220611214048/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Density_of_air (Wiki3”) (collectively “Wiki Articles”).
Regarding claim 7: The method according to claim 1, wherein calculating the mass flow rate based on the blower speed comprises:
converting the blower speed to a blower volumetric flow; and calculating the mass flow rate based on the blower volumetric flow and an air density for the airflow (As discussed above in claim 1, Kim in view of Takase and Evergrande discloses calculating the mass flow rate from the blower. It is common knowledge to one skilled in the art that blower speed corresponds to volumetric flow and mass flow rate can be calculated based on volumetric flow and the density of air, as evidenced by Wiki1 and Wiki2. Because Kim in view of Takase and Evergrande is silent on the on the details of the calculations, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have motivated to look for how to calculate the mass flow rate. One skilled in the art would have recognized that Wiki Articles provide the details necessary to calculate the mass flow rate of a blower using known methods and that the results would have been predictable. MPEP § 2143.I.A. Accordingly, the claimed converting and calculating are rendered obvious based on Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande and Wiki Articles.).
Regarding claim 8: The method according to claim 7, the method comprising
calculating the air density for the airflow based on the first discharge temperature (As discussed above, Kim in view of Takase and Evergrande measures the discharge temperature (Ta,do). It is common knowledge to one skilled in the art that temperature affects the density of air, as evidenced by Wiki3. Accordingly, the claimed converting and calculating are rendered obvious based on Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande and the articles Wiki1, Wiki2, and Wiki3.).
Regarding claim 9: The method according to claim 7,
wherein the air conditioning system comprises a distribution system, the distribution system comprising at least one distribution flap for controlling the airflow through the air conditioning system (Takase discloses duct 10, which includes main duct 11, branch duct 11, and division ducts 13 (“distribution system”), and air mixing door 32 (“distribution flap”). Takase at pars. [0033] and [0046] and Fig. 1.), and
the method comprises calculating the mass flow rate based on configuration of the distribution flap(s) (Takase discloses the temperature of the air fed to the vent will depend on the operating states of the air mixing door 32 and the air conditioning door 33. Takase at par. [0090]. Because the discharge temperature depends on the position of the air missing door 32, the mass flow rate, which depends on temperature (as discussed above in claim 8), will also be based on the air missing door 32. Accordingly, Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande and the Wiki Articles renders obvious the claimed “calculating.”).
Claims 18, 22-24, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande, Wiki Articles, and further in view of European Patent Publication No. EP1955881 to Trapp et al. (“Trapp”) ).
Regarding claim 18: The method according to claim 1,
wherein the air conditioning system comprises a second heater, the duct diverges into a first channel and a second channel after the evaporator, the first heater is located in the first channel and the second heater is located in the second channel (Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande , and Wiki articles discloses separate flow paths (“first channel” and “second channel”) after the evaporator (Takase at Fig. 1), but does not explicitly disclose a second heater. In a same field of endeavor, air conditioning systems (and thus analogous art), Trapp discloses a vehicle air conditioning system with parallel air flow paths for front seat passengers and back seat passengers. Trapp at p. 2, first full par. Each air flow path will have a heater. Trapp at p. 4, last par. (“In this case, both evaporators 12,14 each associated with a fan 24,26, each generating an airflow 28,30, which flow through the evaporator 12 and 14 and are then supplied to the interior of a vehicle after passing of heating units.”). It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to add a second flow path with heater to the system of Kim in view of Takase and Evergrande in order to increase the comfort of passengers. Trapp at p. 2, first full par. Because the references relate to vehicle air conditioning systems, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.),
the air conditioning system further comprises a second discharge temperature sensor, the second discharge temperature sensor being configured to output a second discharge temperature sensed from the airflow in the second channel after the evaporator and second heater, the first discharge temperature sensor being configured to output the first discharge temperature sensed from the airflow in the first channel after the evaporator and first heater (As discussed above with respect to claim 1, Kim in view of Takase, and Evergrande discloses a discharge temperature in the claimed configuration. Kim at par. [0053] and Takase at par. [0057] and Fig. 1. Because the system of Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande, and Trapp will include two flow paths, based on the teachings of Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande, and Trapp, it would have been obvious to add a second discharge temperature sensor for sensing the temperatures of the two flow paths (see analysis in claim 1).), and the method comprises:
calculating a second heating level of the air conditioning system based on at least one second heater parameter associated with the second heater; and calculating the estimated evaporator operating temperature based on the first discharge temperature, the first heating level, the second discharge temperature, the second heating level, and the mass flow rate; wherein calculating the mass flow rate based on the blower speed comprises: converting the blower speed to a blower volumetric flow; and calculating the mass flow rate based on the blower volumetric flow and an air density for the airflow; the method comprises calculating the air density for the airflow based on the second discharge temperature (As discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 7, Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande, and Wiki Articles renders obvious the claimed features for a single flow path. Because the system of Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande, Wiki Articles, and Trapp will include two flow paths, it would have been obvious to perform the same calculations for the second flow path (see analysis in claims 1 and 7).);
the method comprises calculating the air density for the airflow based on an average of the first discharge temperature and the second discharge temperature (Wiki3 discloses that air density is dependent on temperature. Trapp discloses taking the ratio of mass flows through the two flow paths for determining heat quality ratio. Trapp at p. 4. Thus, Trapp teaches to use proportioned values with respect to the flow paths when calculating respective heat related parameters. Here, because there are separate flow paths and the airflow density calculation is with respect to a common blower, the temperatures of both paths must be taken into account in order to temperature compensate the air density (as taught by Wiki3) of the blower air. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to average the discharge temperatures when calculating the air flow density (e.g. when the mass flows through the two paths are the same).
Regarding claim 22: The method according to claim 18
wherein the at least one second heater parameter is a second heater power level; and wherein the air conditioning unit comprises a housing, the duct forming part of the housing and the housing having a heat storage level, and an ambient air temperature sensor being configured to output an ambient air temperature, and calculating a second heating level comprises: calculating the housing heat storage level based on the mass flow rate and the ambient air temperature; calculating an estimated second heater power level based on the second heater power level and the housing heat storage level; and calculating the second heating level based on the estimated second heater power level (As discussed above with respect to claim 11, Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande , and Wiki Articles discloses the claimed housing, the claimed temperature sensor, and the claimed calculations. Kim at pars. [0051]-[0052], [0065], [0069]-[0072], [0074]-[0076], and [0105] and Fig. 2; see also Takase at par. [0055] (intake air temperature sensor 51).Because the system of Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande, Wiki Articles and Trapp will include two flow paths, based on the teachings of Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande, Wiki Articles, and Trapp, it would have been obvious to add a second discharge temperature sensor for sensing the temperatures of the flow paths (see analysis in claim 11).
Regarding claim 23: The method according to claim 22,
wherein calculating the estimated second heater power level comprises summing the estimated second heater power level and the housing heat storage level (The modeling equations disclosed in Kim take into account energy transfers from the vehicle cab, interior structure, heater power, etc. Kim at pars. [0069]-[0072]. Thus, the claimed calculations are incorporated into the modeling equations of Kim.).
Regarding claim 27: The method according to claim 18, wherein calculating the estimated evaporator operating temperature comprises:
calculating a first derived evaporator operating temperature based on the first discharge temperature, the first heating level, and the mass flow rate (Please see analysis in claim 1 with respect to calculating an estimated (derived) evaporator operating temperature.);
calculating a second derived evaporator operating temperature based on the second discharge temperature, the second heating level, and the mass flow rate (As discussed above, the system of Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande, Wiki Articles, and Trapp will include two flow paths. The calculations performed for “second derived evaporator operating temperature” will be the same as those for the “first derived evaporator operating temperature” but taking into account the second path. Accordingly, Kim in view of Takase, Evergrande, Wiki Articles, and Trapp renders obvious the claimed calculation.),and
calculating the estimated evaporator operating temperature by taking an average of the first derived evaporator operating temperature and the second derived evaporator operating temperature (Trapp discloses taking the ratio of mass flows through the two flow paths for determining heat quality ratio. Trapp at p. 4. Thus, generalizing, Trapp teaches to use proportioned values with respect to the flow paths when calculating respective heat related parameters. Here, because there are separate flow paths and the airflow density calculation is with respect to a common blower, the temperatures of both paths must be taken into account in order to temperature compensate the air density (as taught by Wiki3) of the blower air. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to calculate the estimated temperatures by taking the average of the first and second derived evaporator operating temperatures when calculating the air flow density (e.g. when the mass flows through the two paths are the same).).
Regarding claim 28: The method according to claim 27,
wherein calculating a first derived evaporator operating temperature is based on half the mass flow rate; and calculating a second derived evaporator operating temperature is based on half the mass flow rate (Please see analysis in claim 27.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 24 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, assuming the objections and 101 rejections are overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khayyam, Hamid, Abbas Z. Kouzani, and Eric J. Hu. "Reducing energy consumption of vehicle air conditioning system by an energy management system." 2009 IEEE intelligent vehicles symposium. IEEE, 2009 discloses energy management of air conditioning systems in vehicles.
Peng, Guangqian, et al. "Thermal management of the passenger compartment in electric vehicles." 2022 7th International Conference on Power and Renewable Energy (ICPRE). IEEE, 2022 discloses thermal management of air conditioning systems in vehicles.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0039438 to Wsakisaka et al. discloses control of air to front and back seat areas in a vehicle.
U.S. Patent No. 10,882,379 to Srivastava et al. discloses controlling heaters in an air conditioning system.
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116