DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This office action is a non-final rejection in response to the filing of the application on 10/24/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “detector of a temperature sensor (claim 4)”, the “presser” (claim 5) must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al, US Patent Application Publication (US 2016/0272072 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu et al discloses a power receiving apparatus (100, 112) (see Fig 1-4, 5B) comprising:
a coupler (116,104a) provided in a state where a position thereof relative to an electric cable (110) through which an AC current flows is fixed (132) (see Fig 1-4, 5B; par. [0040]-[0043]), the power receiving apparatus (112) receiving power from the electric cable (110) in a noncontact manner (104a) and supplying the power to a target equipment (114,118) (see Fig 1-4, 5B),
wherein the coupler (116,104a) includes a magnetic core (Fig 5B and par. [0058]) disposed to surround the electric cable (110) (see Figs 1-4, 5B; see magnetic core in par. [0058]), and a coil (104a) wound around the magnetic core (see Figs 1-4, 5B; see magnetic core in par. [0058]),
the magnetic core (Fig 5B and par. [0058]) includes a first core portion (536b) and a second core portion (538b) that are divided from each other by a core division plane (534b) (see Fig 5B and par. [0075]-[0076],
in the second core portion (538b), a facing surface (portion of 534b specifically between 538b and 536b) is formed in a flat shape to be disposed along the core division plane (534b) while facing the first core portion (536b) (see Fig 5B and par. [0075]-[0076]), and
a nonmagnetic body made of a nonmagnetic material (plastic protective layer 534b) is disposed along the facing surface (portion of 534b specifically between 538b and 536b) to cover the facing surface (portion of 534b specifically between 538b and 536b), and sandwiched between the first core portion (536b) and the second core portion (538b) (see Figs 1-4 and 5B, and par. [0075]-[0076],
in addition, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). (see MPEP 2114).
Furthermore, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)).
Regarding claim 5, Huang et al discloses the power receiving apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a housing (102a) including an insertion through-hole (Fig 1) through which the electric cable (110) is inserted (see Fig 1 disclosing the cable 110 connected to the 102a via a through-hole connection), and accommodating the first core portion (536b) and the second core portion (538b) (see Fig 1, accommodating has been broadly interpreted as the 536b and 538b as being located in a position ready for power transfer in relation to the base wireless charging system 102a) (see Figs 1-4, 5B and par. [0040]-[0041]), wherein the housing (102a) includes a presser (electromagnetic field, par. [0040]-[0041]) that presses (electromagnetic field, par. [0040]) either one of the first core portion (536b) and the second core portion (538b) toward a remaining one (see Fig 1 disclosing the electric vehicle induction coil 116 can interact with the base system induction coil 104a for example, via a region of the electromagnetic field generated by the base system induction coil 104a.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al, US Patent Application Publication (US 2016/0272072 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Huang et al discloses the power receiving apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a direction along the electric cable (110) is defined as an electric cable direction (see Fig 1), and includes a pair of tip surfaces (see Fig 5B, reproduced and annotated below) disposed along the core division plane (534b), and the facing surface (portion of 534b specifically between 538b and 536b) is disposed in parallel to the pair of tip surfaces (see upper portion of facing surface is in parallel to the Tip surfaces).
Huang et al does not discloses the first core portion is formed in a U shape surrounding the electric cable when viewed from the electric cable direction;
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang et al by including the first core portion is formed in a U shape surrounding the electric cable when viewed from the electric cable direction, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.),
the claimed shape (U Shape) does not provide any unexpected results.
In addition, Huang et al discloses that various modifications of the above-described embodiments will be readily apparent, and the generic principles defined herein can be applied to other embodiments without departing from the spirit or scope of the invention. Thus, the present invention is not intended to be limited to the embodiments shown herein but is to be accorded the widest scope consistent with the principles and novel features disclosed herein (Huang et al, par. [0177]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang et al discloses the power receiving apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the nonmagnetic body (plastic protective layer 534b) is formed in a single plate or sheet shape (see Fig 5B disclosing the protective plastic layer 534 and par. [0076]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang et al discloses the power receiving apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the first core portion (536b) includes a pair of arm portions (see pair of arm portions in Fig 5B annotated below) of which end surfaces are the tip surfaces, respectively, and a connection portion that connects opposite sides of the pair of arm portions to the tip surfaces to each other (Fig 5b), the coil (multi-turn coils 536b) is wound around the connection portion, and a detector of a temperature sensor (temperature monitoring 314, par. [0066]) is disposed to be in contact with at least one of the pair of arm portions (see Fig 5B and par. [0066],[0075]-[0076]).
Examiner Note
8. The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the cited prior art in the PTO-892 form attached.
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALFONSO PEREZ BORROTO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836