Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 10/24/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species II, III, and IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/24/2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the outer surface of the toothed structure being a convex arc surface must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adibi (US D1080338 S).
Regarding claim 1, Adibi teaches a toothed structure (ratchet pawl design, 1st annotated Figure, provided below), comprising: a body comprising an inner surface and an outer surface, wherein the inner surface is disposed relatively to the outer surface (inner and outer surface are arranged together as parts of the ratchet pawl); two tooth parts disposed on two ends of the inner surface (tooth parts are arranged on top of the inner surface); and two recessed spaces disposed on the body (recessed spaces are arranged on a side surface of the ratchet pawl), and corresponding to the two tooth parts, respectively (Each recessed space is arranged directly below each tooth part). (Figs. 1-8; See 1st Annotated image)
1st Annotated image of Adibi’s Figures 1 and 2 representing a claimed design of a ratchet pawl
Regarding claim 2, Adibi teaches the toothed structure (ratchet pawl design, Fig. 4; see 2nd annotated image provided below) of claim 1, wherein, a reference line is defined from the two tooth parts toward the outer surface (reference line is defined from tooth part to outer surface), respectively, each of the two recessed spaces has a recessed space thickness along the reference line (recessed space thickness defined across the circumference of the circle), and a tooth wall thickness is provided between each of the two tooth parts and each of the two recessed spaces along the reference line (tooth wall space thickness defined and shown between the tooth part and the recessed space); the recessed space thickness is greater than the tooth wall thickness (Recessed space thickness appears significantly greater than tooth wall thickness).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
2nd Annotated image shows a front view of the ratchet pawl (Fig. 4 of Adibi) with a defined reference line and various thicknesses.
Regarding claim 3, Adibi teaches the toothed structure (ratchet pawl design, Figs. 1-2, see 3rd annotated image provided below) of claim 1, wherein, a wall thickness is provided between each of the two recessed spaces and the outer surface along the reference line (In the 3rd annotated image, the wall thickness is defined from the recessed space to the surface delimited by the concave arc below the recessed space. See the 1st annotated image for a clearer view of the outer surface (not labelled) that is delimited by the concave arc below the recessed space.); the recessed space thickness is greater than the wall thickness (Recessed space thickness appears significantly greater than wall thickness).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
3rd Annotated Image of Adibi’s Ratchet Pawl Design (Fig. 4) with a defined reference line and various thicknesses.
Regarding claim 5, Adibi teaches the toothed structure (ratchet pawl design, see 1st annotated image) of claim 1, wherein each of the two recessed spaces is a groove or a through hole (Fig. 2, recessed spaces are grooves).
Regarding claim 6, Adibi teaches the toothed structure (ratchet pawl design, see 1st annotated image) of claim 1, wherein each of the two recessed spaces is in a round shaped or in a drop-shaped (Fig. 2, recessed spaces are round-shaped).
Regarding claim 7, Adibi teaches the toothed structure (ratchet pawl design, 1st annotated image) of claim 1, wherein the inner surface is a concave arc surface (Fig. 1, inner surface is a concave arc).
Regarding claim 8, Adibi teaches the toothed structure (ratchet pawl design, 1st annotated image) of claim 1, wherein the outer surface is a planar or convex arc surface (Figs. 1-6, 1st and 2nd annotated images show that the outer surface of Adibi’s ratchet pawl is a planar surface with a recessed space in the center of the outer surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adibi (US D1080338 S).In reference to claim 3, Adibi teaches the toothed structure of claim 2 (Figs. 1-8, see 2nd annotated image above), wherein, a wall thickness is provided between each of the two recessed spaces and the outer surface along the reference line (see 2nd annotated image, wall thickness is defined between the recessed space and the outer surface.
Adibi lacks,
the recessed space thickness is greater than the wall thickness.
However, there is a finite number of possible solutions that would be obvious to try for the instant invention which are the recessed space thickness is greater than, equal to, or less than the wall thickness.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the solution of the recessed space thickness being greater than the wall thickness to Adibi’s ratchet pawl design (see 1st and 2nd annotated images above) with a reasonable expectation of success of either decreasing the wall thickness to design a smaller pawl that can fit more easily in a ratchet wrench, or increasing the recessed space thickness to design a lighter pawl that is easier for a user to engage with in a ratchet wrench and the results would have been predictable.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adibi (US D1080338 S) in view of Lee (US 20060101952 A1).
In reference to claim 4, Adibi teaches the toothed structure of claim 1 (Figs. 1-8, see 1st-2nd annotated images), wherein the body further comprises: two side surfaces connected between the inner surface and the outer surface (Figs. 3-4, 1st annotated image).
Adibi lacks,
the two recessed spaces are opened on one of the two side surfaces and extend from the one of the two side surfaces to the other one of the two side surfaces.
However, Lee teaches a pawl (2) with two recessed spaces (channels 24 and 25) that are opened on one of the two side surfaces and extend from the one of the two side surfaces to the other one of the two side surfaces (Fig. 1, 24-25 are opened on one side surface and extend to the other side surface).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of the recessed spaces of Adibi with the recessed spaces of Lee (24 and 25), so that the recessed spaces seen in the ratchet pawl design of Adibi are through holes that extend from one side surface to the other side surface, as opposed to grooves, for the purpose of having a pawl that can have springs arranged in the recessed spaces for a ratchet mechanism in a wrench, and the results would have be predictable.
Conclusion
/BUKATUN NOOR CHOWDHRY/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/ROBERT J SCRUGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723