DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B in the reply filed on 7/13/26 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2, 4-14, 18-19, and 21-25 read on the elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 13-14, 18, 21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rawlings, US 5,338,369.
Regarding claims 1 and 18:
Rawlings discloses a roofing system, comprising:
a roof deck (7); and
a plurality of photovoltaic modules installed on the roof deck, wherein each PV modules includes
at least one solar cell (45)
an encapsulant (46) encapsulating the at least one solar cell, and
a backsheet (49), wherein the backsheet is below the encapsulant (refer to Fig. 3A), wherein the backsheet comprises a first layer which comprises a plurality of cavities.
Regarding claims 4, 10-11, 21 and 25:
Rawlings discloses wherein the cavities are open channels such that air is free to circulate within the cavities, thereby disclosing a filler material of air.
Regarding claims 13 and 14:
Rawlings discloses wherein the cavities comprise at least two channels extending between opposite end of the first layer along a major dimension of the PV module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-9, 19 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rawlings, US 5,338,369 in view of Diao et al., CN 111350292.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 7-9, 19, and 21-24:
Rawlings discloses a roofing system with a photovoltaic module as set forth above.
Rawlings does not disclose a backsheet that specifically includes a closed cavity and a filler material in at least one cavity.
Diao discloses a photovoltaic module (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) having a plurality of cavities (11-14) wherein at least one of the cavities is closed (refer to Figs. 4-7) and further comprising a filler material in at least one cavity of the plurality of cavities, the filler material comprising a fire-retardant material that is a liquid and a phase-change material comprising hydrated salts of calcium or sodium.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to incorporate the closed cavities and fillers as suggested by Diao into the PV roofing system of Rawlings in order to increase energy storage capacity.
Claims 4, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rawlings, US 5,338,369 in view of Fernandes et al., US 2017/0194895.
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 12
Rawlings discloses a roofing system with a photovoltaic module as set forth above.
Rawlings does not disclose a backsheet that specifically includes a closed cavity and a filler material in at least one cavity.
Fernandes discloses a photovoltaic module (10, Fig. 2) having a backsheet (18) forming plurality of cavities wherein at least one of the cavities is closed (the sheets are sandwiched together and hold an inert gas implying a closed cavity) and further comprising a filler material in at least one cavity of the plurality of cavities, the filler material comprising an inert gas (para. 0036).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to incorporate the closed cavities and inert gas as suggested by Fernandes into the PV roofing system of Rawlings in order to increase the efficiency of the solar cells (para. 0036).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRENT W HERRING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633