DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 8-18,20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7,8-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,162,407 in view of claim 1,7,13 of U.S. 11,364,845. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the narrower claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,162,407 would encompass the broader claims 1-7,8-15 of the current application. U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,162,407 does not explicitly emphasize that object detection precedes the determination of device usage as separate logical emphasis. U.S. 11,364,845 teaches determining whether the driver is using a computer device; and condition alert output based on such determination. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention before the effective filing date of the claim invention was made to apply U.S. 11,364,845’s explicit device usage determination logic to U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,162,407 vehicle-based monitoring system to reinforce driver distraction mitigation and ensure alerts and provided only when the driver is using the device.
Claims 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7,8-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,162,407 in view of claim 1,7,13 of U.S. 11,364,845 of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,493,911. U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,162,407 teaches detection of a person ahead of the vehicle while moving. Further classification is an obvious refinement of the same detection process. U.S. Patent No. 10,493,911 teaches determining that the vehicle is in motion while the people are in the crosswalk.
Current application
U.S. 12,162,407
U.S. 11,364,845
U.S.
1
1
1
2
2
2
3
3
1
4
4
4
5
5
3
6
6
6
7
7
1
8
1
9
/
10
/
11
/
12
8
1,7
13
9
8
14
10
7
15
11
10
16
12
9
17
13
12
18
14
7
19
/
20
15
1,13
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the change" and “the at least one condition” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the change" and “the at least one condition” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hampiholi (US 2016/0267335) in view of Salomonsson et al. (US 2014/0222280).
As per claim 1, Hampiholi discloses
A computing system of a vehicle (in-vehicle computing system 200, head unit 304a, processor(s); Para 5,30,34; Fig. 2, 3A), comprising:
a vehicle monitoring system comprising at least one sensor (sensor subsystem 2010, driver-facing and additional sensors; Para. 34,60,64);
a network communication interface (communication interface with wearable/mobile devices; Para 30,31,42);
one or more processors (one or more processor performing data processing); and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to (non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions for monitoring and object detection; Para 31,32-36,41,42,43-44,47,58,62,64; Fig. 5-6):
using the vehicle monitoring system while the vehicle is moving, process sensor data from the at least one sensor to detect an object ahead of the vehicle (detect objects and pedestrians ahead using front facing/driver-facing camera (Para. 58,62,64,32-36,43).
However, Hampiholi does not explicitly discloses wirelessly connect with a computing device of a driver of the vehicle while the driver is within the vehicle; determine, based on being wirelessly connected with the computing device of the driver, that the driver of the vehicle is using the computing device; based on detecting the object and determining that the driver is using the computing device, output an alert to the computing device of the driver.
Salomonsson discloses a vehicle alert system comprising at least one camera and associated sensors to monitor the driver and external conditions (Para. 24-29). Salomonsson teaches wireless connecting with a driver’s computing device, determining whether the driver is interacting with a mobile device such as cell phone or PDA, and outputting an alert to the driver’s device when the driver is determined to be inattentive due to device use (Para 25,27).
Therefore, Salomonsson discloses a vehicle monitoring system comprising at least one sensor (camera/sensor; Para. 29,32-37,43-46); a network communication interface (Para 24); one or more processors and a memory (Para. 24); wirelessly connect with computing device (Para. 25-27,49-52); determine driver is using device (Para. 25-27); output alert computing device based on detection and driver usage (Para 25).
However, Salomonsson does not explicitly disclose processing sensor data to detect objects ahead of the vehicle while the vehicle is moving.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention before the effective filing date of the claim invention was made to modify Hampiholi to include the driver-device monitoring and alerting functionality taught by Salomonsson. Specifically, Hampiholi provides a robust vehicle monitoring system for detecting objects and assessing driver distraction, and Salomonsson provides techniques for determining whether a driver is using a computing device and alert the driver accordingly. Combining these teachings would have been a predictable application of known techniques to improve driver safety by providing alerts to drivers using mobile devices when objects are detected ahead of the vehicle. Similarly, it would have been obvious to apply Hampiholi’s object detection while moving to the driver-monitoring system of Salomonsson to improve overall driver awareness and safety.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious at the time the invention before the effective filing date of the claim invention was made to combine the systems and methods of Hampiholi and Salomonsson to arrive at the computing system of claim 1. Such a combination yields predictable results and would have been within the ordinary skill of a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. It would be an implementation of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
As per claim 2, the combined invention meets the limitation of claim and Salomonsson further discloses detecting the object comprising detecting a traffic light changing states (Para. 20, 29).
As per claim 3, the combined invention meets the limitation of claim and Salomonsson further discloses at least one output device; wherein the computing system further outputs the alert via the at least one output device (Para. 16,26,29). Hampiholi discloses similar limitation (Fig. 3A-3B, 4).
As per claim 4, the combined invention meets the limitation of claim and Salomonsson further discloses the at least one output device comprises a display screen of the vehicle (Para 26 and 29). Hampiholi discloses similar limitation (Fig. 3A-3B, 4).
As per claim 5, the combined invention meets the limitation of claim and Salomonsson further discloses the at least one output device comprises at least one audio speaker of the vehicle (Para 16). Hampiholi discloses similar limitation (Fig. 3A-3B, 4).
As per claim 6, the combined invention meets the limitation of claim and Salomonsson further discloses the at least one sensor comprises one or more cameras of the vehicle (Para 29). Hampiholi discloses similar limitation (Para. 64).
As per claim 7, the combined invention meets the limitation of claim and Salomonsson further discloses the alert indicates the change in the at least one condition external to the vehicle (Para 24,26). Hampiholi discloses similar limitation (Para. 64-65; Fig. 4).
As per claims 12-18, 20; they correspond to claims 1-7; they are therefore rejected for the similar set forth.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejection(s), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HOI C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689