DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5-7 and 15-17 recite "the automated status update response." However, two different automated status update responses are introduced in base claims 1 and 11. It is unclear which response is being referenced in these claims.
The term "empathetic" in claims 5 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "empathetic" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, whether or not a response is "empathetic" is a subjective human determination with no clear standard that can vary from person to person. The dependent claims inherit the rejections of their respective base claims and, as such, are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims read on embodiments that do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
MPEP 2106 Step 1:
Claims 1-10 do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because they recite software per se (i.e., program code not stored or processed on any physical media). The claims are directed to a "system" not embodied or executed on any physical hardware (e.g., memory, processor, etc.), and the bodies of the claims merely recite "an AI-driven job recruitment system in communication with a machine learning model" used to perform the steps. Functional descriptive material such as a computer program must be structurally and functionally interrelated with a medium to allow its intended uses to be realized. Accordingly, claims directed to software per se are not within any of the four statutory categories and are not patentable subject matter. In re Warmerdam, 33 F.3d 1354, 1361, 31 USPQ2d 1754, 1760 (Fed. Cir. 1994). As the broadest reasonable interpretation of these claims reads on a software-only embodiment, they do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter. See MPEP § 2106.03 for further guidance and discussion on computer-related nonstatutory subject matter.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter (abstract idea without significantly more). Claims are eligible for patent protection under § 101 if they are in one of the four statutory categories and not directed to a judicial exception to patentability. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208 (2014). Claims 1-20, each considered as a whole and as an ordered combination, are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
MPEP 2106 Step 2A – Prong 1:
The claims recite an abstract idea reflected in the representative functions of the independent claims—including:
receiving a plurality of recruitment listings, wherein each recruitment listing includes data indicative of job qualifications;
compiling a body of knowledge based on the received recruitment listings; receiving a job application from a candidate, wherein the job application includes a resume and a target recruitment listing among the plurality of recruitment listings;
extracting relevant data from the resume by analyzing the resume;
providing the job application to a hiring entity corresponding to the target recruitment listing; upon providing the job application to the hiring entity,
providing the candidate with an automated status update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate is being considered for the target recruitment listing;
receiving an acceptance/rejection communication from the hiring entity, indicating whether the candidate has been accepted or rejected for the target recruitment listing;
when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been accepted for the target recruitment listing, providing the candidate with an automated acceptance update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate has been accepted for the target recruitment listing; and
when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing, providing the candidate with an automated rejection update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing.
These limitations taken together qualify as a certain method of organizing human activities because they recite collecting, analyzing, and outputting information for determining and notifying if a person should be hired for a job listing based on relevant data extracted from a resume (i.e., in the terminology of the 2019 Revised Guidance, fundamental economic practices; commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities). Additionally, it recites processes that can be performed mentally (e.g., a person observing relevant data in a resume, evaluating it based on aspects of a job recruitment listing, and arriving at a judgment on whether or not the applicant should be accepted or rejected).
It shares similarities with other abstract ideas held to be non-statutory by the courts (see LendingTree, LLC v. Zillow, Inc., 656 Fed.Appx. 991 (Fed. Cir. 2016)—applying for loans and receiving offers via a third-party intermediary, similar because at another level of abstraction the claims could be characterized as applying for jobs and receiving an acceptance or rejection via a third-party intermediary; In re: Killian, No. 2021-2113, Fed. Cir., Aug. 23, 2022)—collecting information, understanding that information, and determining eligibility for benefits, similar because at another level of abstraction the claims could be characterized as collecting information, understanding that information, and determining eligibility for a job recruitment listing).
These cases describe significantly similar aspects of the claimed invention, albeit at another level of abstraction. See Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., 842 F.3d 1229, 1240-41 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("An abstract idea can generally be described at different levels of abstraction. As the Board has done, the claimed abstract idea could be described as generating menus on a computer, or generating a second menu from a first menu and sending the second menu to another location. It could be described in other ways, including, as indicated in the specification, taking orders from restaurant customers on a computer.").
MPEP 2106 Step 2A – Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no meaningful limitations that transform the exception into a patent eligible application. The elements merely serve to provide a general link to a technological environment (e.g., computers and the Internet) in which to carry out the judicial exception (computer, AI system, machine learning model—all recited at a high level of generality). Although they have and execute instructions to perform the abstract idea itself (e.g., modules, program code, etc. to automate the abstract idea), this also does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as it merely amounts to instructions to "apply it."
Aside from such instructions to implement the abstract idea, they are solely used for generic computer operations (e.g., receiving, storing, retrieving, transmitting data), employing the computer as a tool. See FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("[T]he use of generic computer elements like a microprocessor or user interface do not alone transform an otherwise abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter.") (citing DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245,1256 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) (emphasis added). See also Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox. Corp., Fed Cir. No. 2023-2437 (Apr. 18, 2025) ("Finally, the claimed methods are not rendered patent eligible by the fact that (using existing machine learning technology) they perform a task previously undertaken by humans with greater speed and efficiency than could previously be achieved.") (slip op. at 15); ("[T]he only thing the claims disclose about the use of machine learning is that machine learning is used in a new environment.") (slip op. at 13).
The claims only manipulate abstract data elements into another form. They do not set forth improvements to another technological field or the functioning of the computer itself and instead use computer elements as tools to improve the functioning of the abstract idea identified above. Looking at the additional limitations and abstract idea as an ordered combination and as a whole adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Rather than any meaningful limits, their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation of the abstract idea identified in Prong One. None of the additional elements recited "offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking 'the use of the [method] to a particular technological environment,' that is, implementation via computers." Alice Corp., slip op. at 16 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 610, 611 (U.S. 2010)).
At the levels of abstraction described above, the claims do not readily lend themselves to a finding that they are directed to a nonabstract idea. Therefore, the analysis proceeds to step 2B. See BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("The Enfish claims, understood in light of their specific limitations, were unambiguously directed to an improvement in computer capabilities. Here, in contrast, the claims and their specific limitations do not readily lend themselves to a step-one finding that they are directed to a nonabstract idea. We therefore defer our consideration of the specific claim limitations’ narrowing effect for step two.") (citations omitted).
MPEP 2106 Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons as presented in Step 2A Prong 2 (i.e., they amount to nothing more than a general link to a particular technological environment and instructions to apply it there). Moreover, the additional elements recited are known and conventional computing elements (computer, AI system, machine learning model —see published Specification ¶¶ 0048-52, 90 describing these at a high level of generality (including as a "general purpose computer" implementing the AI system and machine learning model) and in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy the statutory disclosure requirements).
The Federal Circuit has recognized that "an invocation of already-available computers that are not themselves plausibly asserted to be an advance, for use in carrying out improved mathematical calculations, amounts to a recitation of what is 'well-understood, routine, [and] conventional.'" SAP Am., Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 890 F.3d 1016, 1023 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (alteration in original) (citing Mayo v. Prometheus, 566 U.S. 66, 73 (2012)). Apart from the instructions to implement the abstract idea, they only serve to perform well-understood functions (e.g., receiving, storing, retrieving, transmitting data—see Specification above as well as Alice Corp.; Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334 (Fed. Cir. 2015) covering the well-known nature of these basic computer functions).
"The use and arrangement of conventional and generic computer components recited in the claims—such as a database, user terminal, and server— do not transform the claim, as a whole, into 'significantly more' than a claim to the abstract idea itself. We have repeatedly held that such invocations of computers and networks that are not even arguably inventive are insufficient to pass the test of an inventive concept in the application of an abstract idea." Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1056 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (citations and quotation marks omitted). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Dependent Claims Step 2A:
The limitations of the dependent claims but for those addressed below merely set forth further refinements of the same abstract idea without changing the analysis already presented (i.e., they merely narrow the same abstract idea identified above without adding any new additional elements beyond it). Additionally, for the same reasons as above, the limitations fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they use the same general technological environment and instructions to implement the abstract idea as the independent claims. Claims 8 and 18 add a communication portal, however this generic element only further limits the genal linking of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Dependent Claims Step 2B:
The dependent claims merely use the same general technological environment and instructions to implement the abstract idea. Although they add the elements identified in 2A above (communication portal), these do not amount to significantly more for the same reasons they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Moreover, the Specification also indicates this is the routine use of known components for the same reasons presented with respect to the elements in the independent claims above (see ¶¶ 0068 describing the element at a high level of generality and without appreciable technical specifics). Accordingly, they are not directed to significantly more than the exception itself, and are not eligible subject matter under § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 11, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Champaneria, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0114593 (U.S. Pat. Pub. Citation 3 of the IDS filed 11/25/2024).
As per claim 1, Champaneria teaches a system of performing automated job recruitment, comprising:
an AI-driven job recruitment system in communication with a machine learning model (¶¶ 0064, 94), wherein the machine learning model is configured to:
receive a plurality of recruitment listings, wherein each recruitment listing includes data indicative of job qualifications (¶¶ 0016, 58);
compile a body of knowledge based on the received recruitment listings (¶¶ 0058-60, 69);
receive a job application from a candidate, wherein the job application includes a resume and a target recruitment listing among the plurality of recruitment listings (¶¶ 0118, 170);
extract relevant data from the resume by analyzing the resume (¶ 0087);
provide the job application to a hiring entity corresponding to the target recruitment listing (¶¶ 0170-72);
upon providing the job application to the hiring entity, provide the candidate with an automated status update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate is being considered for the target recruitment listing (¶¶ 0106-07, 110-111—follow-up communications; ¶ 0119—candidates are notified of available timeslots for an interview, see also ¶ 0177 and Fig. 7—72; see also ¶ 0116 discussing types of communications);
receive an acceptance/rejection communication from the hiring entity, indicating whether the candidate has been accepted or rejected for the target recruitment listing (¶¶ 0173, 190; Fig. 6—53, Fig. 8—81);
when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been accepted for the target recruitment listing, provide the candidate with an automated acceptance update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate has been accepted for the target recruitment listing (¶ 0190; Fig. 8—81); and
when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing, provide the candidate with an automated rejection update response, indicating to the candidate that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing (¶¶ 0137, 189; Fig. 6—53).
As per claim 5, Champaneria teaches claim 1 as above. Champaneria further teaches the automated status update response is a personalized empathetic response generated based on the extracted relevant data (¶¶ 0155-56, 162, 250; see also ¶ 0119—dynamic adaptation of communication content).
As per claim 7, Champaneria teaches claim 1 as above. Champaneria further teaches the automated status update response is one of a plurality of automated status update responses (¶¶ 0110, 138, 190; Fig. 6—53), and the user chooses the frequency of receiving the plurality of automated status update responses (¶ 0139).
As per claims 11, 15, and 17, Champaneria teaches a computer-implemented method of performing automated job recruitment, comprising: steps implementing the functionality of analogous claims 1, 5, and 7 (see citations above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champaneria in view of Rodriguez, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0136049 (Reference A of the attached PTO-892).
As per claims 6 and 16, Champaneria teaches claims 5 and 15 as above. Champaneria further teaches the automated status update response is personalized (¶¶ 0155-56, 162, 250; see also ¶ 0119—dynamic adaptation of communication content). Champaneria does not explicitly teach it is personalized based on a birthdate of the user; which is taught by Rodriguez (¶ 0094). It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate this element for the same reason it is useful in Rodriguez—namely, to customize communications based on the person's age. Both Champaneria and Rodriguez deal with customizing communications content to people, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that Rodriguez's age-based personalization could have been implemented in Champaneria's system with routine engineering producing predictable results.
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champaneria in view of Kriendler, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2012/0173528 (Reference B of the attached PTO-892).
As per claim 8, Champaneria teaches claim 1 as above. Champaneria further teaches the system employs a machine learning model (see above), but does not explicitly teach to establish a connection with a communication portal of an unemployment agency; and transmit employment data corresponding to the candidate to the unemployment agency. However, this is taught by Kriendler (¶¶ 0153, 171). It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate this element for the same reason it is useful in Kriendler—namely, to comply with government requirements for benefits. Moreover, this is merely a combination of old elements in the art of employment searching. In the combination, no element would serve a purpose other than it already did independently, and one skilled in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
As per claim 9, Champaneria in view of Kriendler teaches claim 8 as above. Kriendler further teaches the employment data includes job search data indicating a job search status corresponding to the candidate (¶ 0171), which would have been obvious to incorporate for the same reasons as the elements in claim 8 above.
As per claim 10, Champaneria in view of Kriendler teaches claim 8 as above. Kriendler further teaches the employment data includes an employment status corresponding to the candidate (¶ 0171), which would have been obvious to incorporate for the same reasons as the elements in claim 8 above.
As per claims 18-20, Champaneria in view of Kriendler teaches the features of analogous claims 8-10 (see citations and obviousness rationale above).
Novel and Non-Obvious Subject Matter
Claim 2 recites: "when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing, the machine learning model is further configured to: compare the extracted relevant data from the resume with each recruitment listing in the body of knowledge other than the target recruitment listing; determine whether the candidate is a match with any one of the recruitment listings in the body of knowledge other than the target recruitment listing; when it is determined that the candidate is a match with any one of the recruitment listings in the body of knowledge other than the target recruitment listing, provide the candidate with an automated matching update response, including information related to the matching recruitment listing; and when it is determined that the candidate is not a match with any one of the recruitment listings in the body of knowledge other than the target recruitment listing, provide the candidate with an automated non-matching update response, indicating to the candidate that a match was not found," and claim 12 recites: "when the acceptance/rejection communication indicates that the candidate has been rejected for the target recruitment listing, the method further comprises: comparing the extracted relevant data from the resume with each recruitment listing in the body of knowledge other than the target recruitment listing; determining whether the candidate is a match with any one of the recruitment listings in the body of knowledge other than the target recruitment listing; when it is determined that the candidate is a match with any one of the recruitment listings in the body of knowledge other than the target recruitment listing, providing the candidate with an automated matching update response, including information related to the matching recruitment listing; and when it is determined that the candidate is not a match with any one of the recruitment listings in the body of knowledge other than the target recruitment listing, providing the candidate with an automated non-matching update response, indicating to the candidate that a match was not found." These limitations could not be found in any reasonable combination of prior art references. As such, claims 2-4 and 12-14 have not been rejected under prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,293,335. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the elements of the application claims are to be found in the reference patent. The difference between the application claims and the reference patent claims lies in the fact that the reference patent claims include more elements and are thus more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1-18 of the reference patent is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of the application claims 1-20. A generic invention is "anticipated” by the "species." In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims 1-20 are anticipated by claims 1-18 of the reference patent, they are not patentably distinct.
A complete reply to this Office Action must contain a substantive response (by way of amendment to overcome the rejection, specific arguments explaining why the rejection was made in error, or by filing a Terminal Disclaimer). See MPEP 804(I)(B)(1). The rejection will not be held in abeyance and incomplete replies will be treated as not fully responsive under MPEP 714.03.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Williams, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2025/0131382 (Reference C of the attached PTO-892) relates to instantaneous hiring of job applicants.
Sethre, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0394615 (Reference D of the attached PTO-892) relates to instantaneous hiring of job applicants.
Xue, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0197480 (Reference E of the attached PTO-892) relates to instantaneous hiring of job applicants.
Guo, et al., RésuMatcher: A personalized résumé-job matching system, Expert Systems with Applications, Vol. 60, 2016, pgs. 169-182 (Reference U of the attached PTO-892) relates to instantaneous hiring of job applicants.
Ali, et al., Resume classification system using natural language processing and machine learning techniques, Mehran University Research Journal of Engineering & Technology, Vol. 41, No. 1, 2022, pgs. 65-79 (Reference V of the attached PTO-892) relates to instantaneous hiring of job applicants.
Ajunwa, et al., Platforms at work: Automated hiring platforms and other new intermediaries in the organization of work, Work and Labor in the Digital Age Research in the Sociology of Work, Vol. 33, 2019, pgs. 61–91 (Reference W of the attached PTO-892) relates to instantaneous hiring of job applicants.
/DANIEL VETTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628