DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,740,752. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the claims of the present Application.
Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,153,771. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the claims of the present Application.
Present Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,153,771
U.S. Patent No. 11,740,752
1. A device comprises:
a touch screen that includes a plurality of sensors;
a touch screen controller that includes a plurality of drive sense circuits, wherein a drive sense circuit of the plurality of drive sense circuits is associated with a sensor of the plurality of sensors, and wherein the drive sense circuit senses an electrical characteristic of the sensor; and
a processing module operably coupled to the plurality of drive sense circuits, wherein the processing module is operable to:
receive a sense signal regarding the electrical characteristic;
determine a coordinate location of the sensor based on the sense signal; and
generate a proximal touch signal that includes the coordinate location of the sensor.
1. A touch controller comprises:
2. The touch controller of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensing circuits are operably coupled to the plurality of sensors, and wherein a sensing circuit of the plurality of sensing circuits coupled to the sensor that is operable to: sense the electrical characteristic of the sensor.
a processing module operably coupled to a plurality of sensing circuits, wherein the processing module is operable to:
receive a sense signal regarding an electrical characteristic of a sensor of a plurality of sensors;
determine the sense signal indicates the electrical characteristic is affected by an identifying signal emitted by a finger;
determine a coordinate location of the sensor; and
generate a proximal touch signal that includes the coordinate location of the sensor
10. A device comprises:
a touch screen that includes a plurality of sensors;
a touch screen controller that includes a plurality of drive sense circuits, wherein a drive sense circuit of the plurality of drive sense circuits is associated with a sensor of the plurality of sensors;
a signal generator operable to generate an identifying signal having an identifying frequency component, wherein, when the device is proximal to a body, the body conducts the identifying signal and, when a finger is proximal to the touch screen, the finger emits the identifying signal;
wherein the drive sense circuit sense the electrical characteristic of the sensor; and
generate a sense signal regarding the electrical characteristic;
a processing module operably coupled to the plurality of sensing circuits, wherein the processing module is operable to:
receive the sense signal regarding the electrical characteristic;
interpret the sensed signal to determine whether the electrical characteristic is affected by the identifying signal emitted by the finger;
when the affect is detected, determine a coordinate location of the sensor; and
generate a proximal touch signal that includes the coordinate location of the sensor.
In regards to claim 2, it is rejected over claim 1 of ‘771 and claims 1 and 10 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 3, it is rejected over claim 11 of ‘771 and claims 7 and 16 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 4, it is rejected over claim 19 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 5, it is rejected over claim 19 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 6, it is rejected over claim 7 of ‘771 and claims 3 and 12 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 7, it is rejected over claim 7 of ‘771 and claims 3 and 12 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 8, it is rejected over claim 7 of ‘771 and claims 3 and 12 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 9, it is rejected over claim 6 of ‘771 and claims 2 and 11 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 10, it is rejected over claim 6 of ‘771 and claims 2 and 11 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 11, it is rejected over claim 8 of ‘771 and claims 4 and 13 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 12, it is rejected over claim 8 of ‘771 and claims 4 and 13 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 13, it is rejected over claim 9 of ‘771 and claims 5 and 14 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 14, it is rejected over claim 9 of ‘771 and claims 5 and 14 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 15, it is rejected over claim 9 of ‘771 and claims 5 and 14 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 16, it is rejected over claim 10 of ‘771 and claims 6 and 15 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 17, it is rejected over claim 10 of ‘771 and claims 6 and 15 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 18, it is rejected over claim 3 of ‘771 and claims 1 and 10 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 19, it is rejected over claim 12 of ‘771 and claims 8 and 17 of ‘752.
In regards to claim 20, it is rejected over claim 13 of ‘771 and claims 9 and 18 of ‘752.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gray et al (US 2022/0057879).
In regards to claim 1, Gray discloses a device comprises:
a touch screen (display 85) that includes a plurality of sensors (Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 128-129; intersection of electrodes 85);
a touch screen controller (touch screen processing module 82) that includes a plurality of drive sense circuits (drive-sense circuits DSC 28), wherein a drive sense circuit of the plurality of drive sense circuits is associated with a sensor of the plurality of sensors, and wherein the drive sense circuit senses an electrical characteristic of the sensor (Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 114); and
a processing module (processing module 42) operably coupled to the plurality of drive sense circuits, wherein the processing module is operable to:
receive a sense signal regarding the electrical characteristic (Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 115, 132-133; the signal is received from the DSC);
determine a coordinate location of the sensor based on the sense signal (Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 115, 132-133); and
generate a proximal touch signal that includes the coordinate location of the sensor (Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 115, 132-133).
In regards to claim 9, Gray discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises an intersection of a row electrode and a column electrode (Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 128-129; intersection of electrodes 85).
In regards to claim 10, Gray discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises a capacitive sensor (Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 114, 128-129).
In regards to claim 11, Gray discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the electrical characteristic comprises a self-capacitance (Fig. 10 and paragraphs 167-170).
In regards to claim 12, Gray discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the electrical characteristic comprises a mutual-capacitance (Figs. 11-12 and paragraphs 171-173).
In regards to claim 18, Gray discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the drive sense circuit is further operable to:
generate the sense signal regarding the electrical characteristic (Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 115, 132-133; the signal is received from the DSC).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray et al (US 2022/0057879) in view of Weaver et al (US 2013/0176275).
In regards to claim 13, Gray does not disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the processing module is further operable to, in a low power mode:
enable the drive sense circuit to sense the electrical characteristic of the sensor and to generate a sense signal regarding the electrical characteristic.
Weaver discloses wherein the processing module is further operable to, in a low power mode (idle mode or sleep mode):
enable the drive sense circuit to sense the electrical characteristic of the sensor and to generate a sense signal regarding the electrical characteristic (paragraphs 53-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gray with the teachings of Weaver, low-power mode, because it would reduce power consumption of the device and increase the battery life.
In regards to claim 14, Gray does not disclose the device of claim 13, wherein the processing module is further operable to, in the low power mode:
disable the drive sense circuit from sensing self-capacitance of the sensor.
Weaver discloses wherein the processing module is further operable to, in the low power mode (idle mode or sleep mode):
disable the drive sense circuit from sensing self-capacitance of the sensor (paragraphs 53-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gray with the teachings of Weaver, low-power mode, because it would reduce power consumption of the device and increase the battery life.
In regards to claim 15, Gray does not disclose the device of claim 13, wherein the processing module is further operable to, in the low power mode:
disable the drive sense circuit from sensing mutual-capacitance of the sensor.
Weaver discloses wherein the processing module is further operable to, in the low power mode (idle mode or sleep mode):
disable the drive sense circuit from sensing mutual-capacitance of the sensor (paragraphs 53-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gray with the teachings of Weaver, low-power mode, because it would reduce power consumption of the device and increase the battery life.
In regards to claim 16, Gray does not disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the processing module is further operable to, in a noisy mode:
enable the drive sense circuit to sense the electrical characteristic of the sensor and to generate a sense signal regarding the electrical characteristic.
Weaver discloses wherein the processing module is further operable to, in a noisy mode (spectrum estimation mode):
enable the drive sense circuit to sense the electrical characteristic of the sensor and to generate a sense signal regarding the electrical characteristic (paragraphs 53-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gray with the teachings of Weaver, a noisy mode, because it would reduce the interference in the signals giving a better detection results.
In regards to claim 17, Gray does not disclose the device of claim 16, wherein the processing module is further operable to, in the noisy mode:
enable the drive sense circuit to sense self-capacitance of the sensor; and enable the drive sense circuit to sense mutual-capacitance of the sensor.
Weaver discloses wherein the processing module is further operable to, in the noisy mode (spectrum estimation mode):
enable the drive sense circuit to sense self-capacitance of the sensor; and enable the drive sense circuit to sense mutual-capacitance of the sensor (paragraphs 53-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gray with the teachings of Weaver, a noisy mode, because it would reduce the interference in the signals giving a better detection results.
In regards to claim 19, Gray does not disclose the device of claim 1, wherein processing module is further operable to generate the proximal touch signal by:
using a touch heatmap to determine a center of a proximal touch of a finger.
Weaver discloses wherein processing module is further operable to generate the proximal touch signal by:
using a touch heatmap to determine a center of a proximal touch of a finger (paragraphs 30, 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gray by substituting using the heatmap of Weaver to determine a location of the touch in place if the method used by Gray because the results would have yielded a device capable of detecting the location of a touch.
In regards to claim 20, Weaver discloses wherein processing module is further operable to generate the proximal touch signal by:
using a touch heatmap to determine a center of a proximal touch of a finger (paragraphs 30, 33).
Gray and Weaver do not disclose the device of claim 1, wherein processing module is further operable to generate the proximal touch signal by:
using an averaging function to determine a center of a proximal touch of a finger.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an averaging function to determine a center of a touch because Applicant has not disclosed that using an averaging function to determine a center of a touch provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with using a touch heatmap to determine a center of a touch because they both are able to locate a touch on the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cormier Jr. et al (US 2014/0002406) discloses It should be appreciated that most of the time the touch screen of a cell phone, electronic notepad, or the like is not actually being touched. A capacitive touch screen panel in a low-power mode must recognize the presence of a touch by scanning the touch screen panel frequently, which typically involves "waking up" the touch screen controller system 36, scanning the touch screen panel 13A, and determining if a touch is present. If so, the system goes into a high power mode, and if not, the system goes into a low-power sleep mode, in which the system nevertheless dissipates a significant amount of power. There is no practical way of determining if a touch is occurring except to detect its presence by frequently performing a full touch screen panel scan. The high amount of associated power consumption required for such frequent full panel scanning merely to determine if a touch is present is very undesirable. To summarize, the location of a touch on a capacitive touch screen panel is determined by measuring the mutual capacitance between each row conductor and each column conductor, and the capacitive touch screen sensors must be continually scanned to determine if there is a present touch on touchscreen panel 13A, and for the example of a 10 row by 6 column touch screen panel, this requires measuring 60 mutual capacitances (and in a larger touch screen panel, even more mutual capacitances must be measured) just to determine if a touch is present (paragraph 27). Touch screen controller system 36-1 in FIG. 5 includes everything in Prior Art FIG. 1, and further includes touch presence monitoring circuit 80, which operates during a low-power "touch presence monitoring mode" to detect the presence of a valid touch on touch screen panel 13A. The portions of touch screen controller 36-1 which are substantially the same as the portions shown in Prior Art FIG. 1 operate essentially the same as in prior art touch screen controller 36 of FIG. 1 (paragraph 62).
/MICHAEL PERVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629 March 6, 2026