DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the groove surrounds an outside of the pixel opening, however Figure 3 shows the groove extends outside the pixel opening, therefore the groove surrounds an outside of the pixel opening. The rejection as set forth below is maintained and made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al., CN 108110037.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches (at least in Figure 3) a display panel, comprising a planarization layer (2), an anode (3) on a side of the planarization layer, and a pixel defining layer (4) on a side of the anode facing away from the planarization layer; wherein the pixel defining layer is provided with a pixel opening (see Figure 3, opening for emitting layer 7) and part of the anode is exposed through the pixel opening (see Figure 3); and the planarization layer is provided with a groove (31), the groove surrounds an outside (see Figure 3, groove extends outside of the pixel opening) of the pixel opening (see Figure 3), and the groove penetrates through at least part of the planarization layer (31 penetrates into layer 2); and the anode covers the groove (anode 3 extends through groove 31), and an end of the anode is located at a side of the groove facing away from the pixel opening (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the groove penetrates through part of the planarization layer (id at Figure 3, anode 3 and groove 31 penetrate through part of planarization layer 2).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches a pixel circuit (drain electrode 1 is connected to pixel circuit which is not shown) on a side of the planarization layer facing away from the anode (see Figure 3); wherein the planarization layer is further provided with an anode connection via (via where anode 3 connects to drain electrode 1), and the anode is electrically connected to the pixel circuit through the anode connection via (id); and the groove is disposed on a side of the anode connection via facing the pixel opening (groove 31 is inward of the via toward the pixel opening, see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches a pixel circuit (Figure 3, pixel circuit connected to drain electrode 1) on a side of the planarization layer (2) facing away from the anode (3); wherein the planarization layer is further provided with an anode connection via (via through which anode 3 connects to drain 1), and the anode is electrically connected to the pixel circuit through the anode connection via (id); and the groove is integrated with the anode connection via (groove 31 is in the same layer 2 as via therefore is integrated).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches a plurality of sub-pixels (display inherently has multiple sub-pixels, although just one is shown), wherein a sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises the anode (3, Figure 3); and a light emission angle of the sub-pixel is positively correlated to a grooving volume of the groove surrounding the sub-pixel (see Figure 3, light emission angle would necessarily correlate to the grooving volume of the groove because emitted light would reflect from the angled side walls of the grooves and affect the emission angle).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the planarization layer (Figure 3, layer 2) is provided with a plurality of grooves (31), and the plurality of grooves each surround the pixel opening (Abstract and Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the groove comprises a continuous closed groove (Abstract and Figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Liu teaches a display device, comprising a display panel (Abstract and Figure 3); wherein the display panel comprises a planarization layer (2), an anode (3) on a side of the planarization layer, and a pixel defining layer (4) on a side of the anode facing away from the planarization layer (see Figure 3); wherein the pixel defining layer is provided with a pixel opening (for light emitting layer 7), and part of the anode is exposed through the pixel opening (see Figure 3); and the planarization layer is provided with a groove (31), the groove surrounds an outside (see Figure 3, groove extends outside the pixel opening) the pixel opening (Abstract and Figure 3), and the groove penetrates through at least part of the planarization layer (31 penetrates through part of layer 2); and the anode covers the groove (anode 3 extends through groove 31), and an end of the anode is located at a side of the groove facing away from the pixel opening (end of anode 3 is on the opposite side of groove 31 from the pixel opening, see Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Matsuedaumi et al., CN 107689210.
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1, but is silent as to an inorganic insulation layer. However, in the same field of endeavor of display devices, Matsuedaumi teaches an inorganic insulating layer on a side of the planarization layer facing away from the anode (Figure 9, planarization layer 28 and inorganic insulating layer 27). Further, Matsuedaumi teaches the via connecting the anode to the transistor extends through the planarization layer and through the inorganic insulating layer to the circuit layer. It would have been well known to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that a typical substrate configuration would have included an inorganic insulating layer between the planarization layer and the substrate in order to prevent display elements from contacting the signal wires. Therefore, based on the teaching of Matsuedaumi, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an inorganic insulating layer between the planarization layer and substrate in the Liu device to ensure the anode would not have extended far enough to erroneously contact the signal wire. Further, based on the teaching in Liu, the anode groove would have extended to the inorganic insulating layer, but would not have extended through said layer.
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 4, but is silent as to an inorganic insulation layer and signal wire. However, in the same field of endeavor of display devices, Matsuedaumi teaches an inorganic insulating layer on a side of the planarization layer facing away from the anode (Figure 9, planarization layer 28 and inorganic insulating layer 27) and a signal wire between the inorganic insulating layer and the planarization layer (Figure 9, layers 21 and 23 insulate signal wire); wherein the anode is insulated from the signal wire (id). Further, Matsuedaumi teaches the via connecting the anode to the transistor extends through the planarization layer and through the inorganic insulating layer to the circuit layer. It would have been well known to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that a typical substrate configuration would have included an inorganic insulating layer between the planarization layer and the substrate in order to prevent display elements from contacting the signal wires. Therefore, based on the teaching of Matsuedaumi, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an inorganic insulating layer between the planarization layer and substrate in the Liu device to ensure the anode would not have extended far enough to erroneously contact the signal wire. Further, based on the teaching in Liu, the anode groove would have extended to the inorganic insulating layer, but would not have extended through said layer.
Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 19, but is silent as to an inorganic insulation layer. However, in the same field of endeavor of display devices, Matsuedaumi teaches an inorganic insulating layer on a side of the planarization layer facing away from the anode (Figure 9, planarization layer 28 and inorganic insulating layer 27). Further, Matsuedaumi teaches the via connecting the anode to the transistor extends through the planarization layer and through the inorganic insulating layer to the circuit layer. It would have been well known to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that a typical substrate configuration would have included an inorganic insulating layer between the planarization layer and the substrate in order to prevent display elements from contacting the signal wires. Therefore, based on the teaching of Matsuedaumi, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an inorganic insulating layer between the planarization layer and substrate in the Liu device to ensure the anode would not have extended far enough to erroneously contact the signal wire. Further, based on the teaching in Liu, the anode groove would have extended to the inorganic insulating layer, but would not have extended through said layer.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu.
Regarding claim 18, Liu teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1, but fails to specifically teach the length of the second anode portion is greater than 1 mm. However, it would have been well known to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the length of the anode should be chosen based on the size of the pixels and the spacing therebetween. Therefore, it is the position of the examiner that lacking criticality and unexpected results, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the length of the anode portion on the opposite side of the groove in order to ensure proper spacing between pixel elements within the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 11-13 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or suggest the grooving volume of the grooves of respective sub-pixels is different from the grooving volume of other grooves. The prior art further fails to teach or suggest a connecting line between the grooves of the sub-pixels.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al., CN 111162095 teaches a display comprising a groove formed in a planarization layer surrounding an anode. However, Zhang fails to teach the anode ends on a side of the groove facing away from the pixel opening.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARY ELLEN BOWMAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/MARY ELLEN BOWMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875