DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to the reply filed on October 24, 2024.
Priority
This Application filed on 10/24/2024 is a CON of 18/441,397 (ABN) filed on 02/14/2024 which is a CON of PAT 11931370 filed on 10/07/2022 which claims priority to INDIA 202141046000 filed on 10/08/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed on 10/24/24 (2), is in compliance with the provisions of S7 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
The rejections are as below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shaik et al. (US 20170143744 A1), as evidenced by Cremophor (Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions (Fifteenth Edition), 2006).
Shaik et al. teaches a pharmaceutical formulation of cyclophosphamide comprising cyclophosphamide and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, wherein moisture content of the liquid formulation is less than about 2.0% by weight. Abstract and [0117] The reference teaches stability data with less than 0.49% impurities at 3 months [0366] [0369] . The reference shows the formulations are stable for 6 months. Sealed vials were charged on stability at 2-8° C. and 25° C./60% RH. (see i.e. Table 4 Example 3). The levels of impurity A in the formulation is less than about 1.5% by weight of label content of cyclophosphamide or its hydrate after storage at 2° C.-8° C. for at least 6 months. [0094] The reference teaches the use of non-aqueous solvents suitable for the formulations of the present invention include but not limited to alkyl alcohols, for example, ethanol/anhydrous ethanol/dehydrated alcohol/absolute alcohol, ethylene glycol, propylene glycol, butylene glycol, glycerin or glycerol, polysorbates, for example TWEEN 20, TWEEN 40, and TWEEN 80, and cyclodextrins (such as hydroxypropyl-.beta.-cyclodextrin), polyalkylene glycols, such as polyethylene glycol, polypropylene glycol, and polybutylene glycol, diemthyl acetamide, niacinamide, a diol such as a straight chain, branched or cyclic aliphatic diol, a triol such as straight chain, branched or cyclic aliphatic triol, a polyoxyethylene ether and a polyethylene glycol ether. [0306] The reference teaches stable liquid formulations of cyclophosphamide wherein excipient is at least one non-aqueous solvent selected from the group comprising ethanol, propylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, dimethyl acetamide, glycerol, polysorbate 80, polyethoxylated castor oil or combinations thereof. [0058] The liquid formulations of cyclophosphamide excipients are at least one non-aqueous solvent selected from the group comprising ethanol, propylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, dimethyl acetamide, glycerol, polysorbate 80, polyethoxylated castor oil or combinations thereof. [0208] The formulation is in a range between about pH 3 to about pH 9. [0253] The cyclophosphamide is at the pharmaceutically effective concentration in the range of about 0.1 mg/mL to about 5 g/mL [0217]. The ethanol is in the concentration of 10 to 100% by weight of the composition. [0162] The non-aqueous solvent system is combination of ethanol such as glycerol with ethanol or propylene glycol with ethanol or polyethylene glycol with ethanol or polysorbate with ethanol or cremophor with ethanol. [0163] Non aqueous solvent or combination of non-aqueous solvents are present in the formulation in a range from about 10 to 100% by weight. [0164] The formulations can be used as ready-to-use or ready-to-dilute compositions for oral or injections.
(Cremophor is a non-ionic solubilizer and emulsifier that is made by reacting ethylene oxide with castor oil (1). It is a pale yellow oily liquid consisting of a mixture of components, primarily polyethylene glycol conjugates. Fatty acid esters of polyethyleneglycol are also present, as well as hydrophilic polyethylene glycols and ethoxylated glycerol. Of note: Castor oil’s major fatty acid is the unsaturated, hydroxylated is ricinoleic acid).
While the reference teaches a non-aqueous lipid solvent which includes the claimed co-solvent combination, the reference fails to specify the co-solvent is in less than 10% by weight of the composition or the RC-A impurity of claim 2.
However, the prior art teaches the ethanol is in the concentration of 10 to 100% by weight of the composition. [0162] The non-aqueous solvent system is combination of ethanol such as glycerol with ethanol or propylene glycol with ethanol or polyethylene glycol with ethanol or polysorbate with ethanol or cremophor with ethanol. [0163] Non aqueous solvent or combination of non-aqueous solvents are present in the formulation in a range from about 10 to 100% by weight. [0164] The reference teaches stability data with less than 0.49% impurities at 3 months [0366] [0369] . The reference shows the formulations are stable for 6 months. Sealed vials were charged on stability at 2-8° C. and 25° C./60% RH. (see i.e. Table 4 Example 3). The levels of impurity A (Bis (2-Chloroethyl) amine hydrochloride ) in the formulation is less than about 1.5% by weight of label content of cyclophosphamide or its hydrate after storage at 2° C.-8° C. for at least 6 months. [0094]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use ethanol in 10% of the composition and has a RC-A impurity of less than about 1%w/w. The motivation to incorporate use ethanol in 10% of the composition and have a RC-A impurity of less than about 1%w/w is because the prior art teaches ethanol is in the concentration of 10 to 100% by weight of the composition. [0162]. Further, the levels of impurity A (Bis (2-Chloroethyl) amine hydrochloride ) in the formulation is less than about 1.5% by weight of label content of cyclophosphamide or its hydrate after storage at 2° C.-8° C. for at least 6 months. [0094]. Hence, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully incorporating a vehicle such as glycerol monolinoleate to achieve liquid properties.
Relevant prior art:
Srivinivasan et al. (WO2017207719A1)
Shaik et al. (US10849916B2)
Shaik et al. (WO2016005962A2)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11931370. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims are drawn to table, ready-to-administer, liquid composition for oral administration comprising:(i) cyclophosphamide at a concentration of about 10 mg/ml;(ii) a non-aqueous lipid solvent is selected from a group consisting of phospholipids, medium-chain fatty acids, medium-chain fatty acid esters of glycerol, medium-chain fatty acid esters of polyethylene glycol, medium-chain fatty acid esters of propylene glycol, long-chain fatty acids, long-chain fatty acid esters of glycerol, long-chain fatty acid esters of polyethylene glycol, long-chain fatty acid esters of propylene glycol, or combinations thereof; and(iii) a co-solvent selected from ethanol and glycerin; wherein a concentration of the non-aqueous lipid solvent ranges from about 60% to 99% by weight of the composition; wherein a concentration of the co-solvent is less than 10% by weight of the composition; and wherein a level of total impurities in said liquid composition is less than 5% as determined by HPLC when stored at 2-8° C. for at least 3 months while the claims herein are generally drawn to a stable, ready-to-administer solution for oral administration comprising: (i) cyclophosphamide at a concentration of about 5 mg/ml to about 100 mg/ml; (il) a non-aqueous lipid solvent selected from phospholipids, medium- chain fatty acids, medium-chain fatty acid esters of glycerol, medium-chain fatty acid esters of polyethylene glycol, medium- chain fatty acid esters of propylene glycol, long-chain fatty acids, long-chain fatty acid esters of glycerol, long- chain fatty acid esters of polyethylene glycol, long-chain fatty acid esters of propylene glycol, or combinations thereof; and (ill) a co-solvent; wherein a concentration of the co-solvent is less than 10% by weight of the composition; and wherein a level of total impurities in said liquid composition is less than 5% as determined by HPLC when stored at 2-8° C for at least 3 months..
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/LAYLA SOROUSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622