DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US. Pub: 2020/0201393 A1~hereinafter “Ahn393”) of record in view of Ahn et al. (US. Pub: 2018/0183003 A1~hereinafter “Ahn”003”) of record and Jang et al. (US. Pub: 2023/0209935 A1~hereinafter “Jang”).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn”393 discloses (in at least figs. 1-3) a display device, comprising: a stretchable substrate (111; [0055]); a plurality of plate patterns (112) spaced apart from each other on the substrate; a plurality of light emitting diodes (160) disposed on the plurality of plate patterns; a plurality of connection lines (182, 280; [0088]-[0089]) disposed between the plurality of plate patterns and being stretchable (see at least figs. 1 and 2); an encapsulation layer (119; should be 118 see [0137]-[0138]) covering the plurality of light emitting diodes.
Ahn”393 does not expressly disclose a protective layer surrounding a side surface of the encapsulation layer, wherein the protective layer is disposed to surround a side surface of the encapsulation layer each of the plurality of plate patterns and wherein portions of the protective layer disposed on adjacent ones of the plurality of plate patterns are at least partially spaced apart from each other.
Ahn “003” discloses (in at least figs. 4, 7-8) a display device comprised of, in part, a protective layer (240; [0058]; [0063]) surrounding a side surface of the encapsulation layer (230; [0058]; [0062]; at least fig. 4), wherein the protective layer (240) is disposed to surround a side surface of the encapsulation layer (230) to prevent particles from being permeated into the thin film transistor layer and the organic light emitting diode layer ([0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Anh “393 with the protective layer teaching of Ahn “003 wherein the protective layer is disposed to surround a side surface of the encapsulation layer each of the plurality of plate patterns and portions of the protective layer disposed on adjacent ones of the plurality of plate patterns are at least partially spaced apart from each other for the benefit of preventing particles from being permeated into the thin film transistor layer and the organic light emitting diode layer of each of the plurality of plate patterns. Furthermore, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Also, Jang discloses (in at least figs. 1-3) a display device comprised of, in part, a protective layer (118) surrounding a side surface of the encapsulation layer (117), wherein the protective layer (118) is disposed to surround a side surface of the encapsulation layer (117) each of the plurality of plate patterns (as evident by at least figs. 1-3) and wherein portions of the protective layer (118) disposed on adjacent ones of the plurality of plate patterns (see figs. 1-3) are at least partially spaced apart from each other for the benefit of preventing moisture permeation into the thin film transistor layer and the organic light emitting diode layer of each of the plurality of plate patterns.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Ahn”393 with the teachings of Jang for the benefit of preventing moisture permeation into the thin film transistor layer and the organic light emitting diode layer of each of the plurality of plate patterns.
Regarding claim 2, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang does not expressly disclose a top surface of the encapsulation layer, and a top surface of the protective layer are positioned on the same plane.
However, Ahn “003 discloses (in at least figs. 4, 7 and 8) the protective layer (240; [0058]; [0063]) surrounding a side surface of the encapsulation layer (230; [0058]; [0062]; at least fig. 4) to prevent particles from being permeated into the thin film transistor layer, the organic light emitting diode layer and the encapsulation layer ([0063]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the top surface of the encapsulation layer and the top surface of the protective layer of Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang to position on the same plane, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang discloses (in at least figs. 7 and 8 Ahn “003) the encapsulation layer (390; [0089]-[0091]) further includes: a first inorganic encapsulation layer (391; [0091]); an organic encapsulation layer (392; [0091]) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer; and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (393; [0091]) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the organic encapsulation layer (see figs. 7 and 8), and the first inorganic encapsulation layer (391) and the second inorganic encapsulation layer (393) are in contact with each other in an outer area of the plurality of plate patterns (see figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 4, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang discloses (in at least figs. 7 and 8 Ahn “003) the protective layer (240) covers ends of the first inorganic encapsulation layer (391) and the second inorganic encapsulation layer (393).
Regarding claim 5, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang discloses (in at least figs. 7 and 8 Ahn “003; figs. 1-3 Ahn “393) a bank (384; [0082]) disposed to cover ends of anodes (381) of the plurality of light emitting diodes (380), wherein the protective layer (240) is disposed to overlap the bank on the plurality of plate patterns (see at least figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 6, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang discloses (in at least figs. 7-8 and 13 Ahn “003; figs. 1-3 Ahn “393) the protective layer (240) overlaps the anodes of the plurality of light emitting diodes (380).
Regarding claim 7, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang discloses (in at least figs. 7-8 and 13 Ahn “003; figs. 1-3 Ahn “393) a plurality of transistors (150) disposed on the plurality of plate patterns, wherein the protective layer (240) overlaps some of the plurality of transistors.
Regarding claim 8, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang discloses (in at least figs. 7-8 and 13 Ahn “003; figs. 1-3 Ahn “393) a top surface of the protective layer (240) is disposed higher than a top surface of the encapsulation layer (390).
Regarding claim 9, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang discloses (in at least figs. 7-8 and 13 Ahn “003; figs. 1-3 Ahn “393) the protective layer (240) includes openings corresponding to a plurality of emission areas on the bank (see at least figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 10, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang discloses (in at least figs. 6-8 and 13 Ahn “003; figs. 1-3 Ahn “393) the protective layer (240) is disposed on the plurality of connection lines (182, 280).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang does not expressly disclose the protective layer, and the plurality of connection lines have the same shape and width on a plane; and the protective layer is disposed to completely overlap the plurality of connection lines.
However, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang discloses (in at least figs. 6-8 and 13 Ahn “003; figs. 1-3 Ahn “393) a protective layer (240) and a plurality of connection lines (314; 182, 280).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the protective layer and the plurality of connection lines of Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang to have the same shape and width on a plane, wherein the protective layer is disposed to completely overlap the plurality of connection lines in order to prevent particles from being permeated into the thin film transistor layer, the organic light emitting diode layer and the encapsulation layer. Also, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang discloses (in at least figs. 6-8 and 13 Ahn “003) the protective layer (240; [0063]) is formed of a stretchable organic material (244).
Regarding claim 14, Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang does not expressly disclose the protective layer includes a moisture-absorbing material.
However, it is well-known in the art to form a display device comprises a protective layer that includes a moisture-absorbing material as evident by Sugiura et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0028400 A1) of record at least fig. 1 and paragraphs ([0015]- [0032]) in order to absorb water and to maintain the interior of the device in a dry state ([0017]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Ahn “393 as modified by Ahn “003 and Jang with the moisture-absorbing material protective layer of Sugiura in order to absorb water and to maintain the interior of the device in a dry state.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875