Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “the rear side”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 11 recites “the latter”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brunetto (US20190143424A1).
Claim 1
Brunetto teaches a tool (100), a. comprising at least one cutting plate (10) for machining a workpiece, b. comprising a carrier (Figure 9), having a plate seat (104) for the cutting plate, c. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting edge (38) for machining the workpiece, d. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting corner (22) where the cutting edge terminates (Figure 1), e. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one lateral face (12), having a contact face (12) and a clearance face (26), f. wherein the contact face abuts the plate seat (¶0034), g. wherein the clearance face is circumscribed by the cutting edge (Figure 1 / Figure 5), h. wherein, at least at the cutting corner, the clearance face protrudes in relation to the contact face (Figure 1).
Claim 2
Brunetto teaches the tool according to claim 1, wherein the clearance face and the contact face are separated by a separating line (T) having an S-shaped or L-shaped path. (Figure 5 shows that a line drawn between the clearance face (26) and the contact face (12) is a L shape.)
Claim 3
Brunetto teaches the tool according to claim 1, wherein the cutting plate comprises a rear side (14) having a rear corner (20), wherein the cutting plate comprises a cutting corner rim (34) extending from the cutting corner to the rear corner (Figure 1), wherein the clearance face and the contact face meet at a separating line which runs along the lateral face in the direction of the cutting corner rim and drops off towards the rear side of the cutting plate. (Figure 1)
Claim 4
Brunetto teaches the tool according to claim 1, wherein the clearance face and the contact face are connected via a deburred transition. (Applicant defined “deburred transition” in ¶0054 and Figures 2-8 as a step or transition with an inner radius. Figures 3-4 of Brunetto show the transition between the contact face (12) and the clearance face has a radius.)
Claim 5
Brunetto teaches the tool according to claim 1, wherein the clearance face is offset from the contact face by a step. (Figure 4)
Claim 6
Brunetto teaches the tool according to claim 1, wherein the clearance face has a larger clearance angle (F1, F2) than the contact face. (Figure 4 shows the contact face (12) has an angle close to parallel to an axis running vertically through the cutting insert in the orientation in said Figure. The clearance face is angled with respect to this axis.)
Claim 8
Brunetto teaches the tool according to claim 1, wherein the clearance face has a height (H) that is measured between the cutting edge and the contact face, wherein the height (H) varies along the cutting edge. (Figure 1 shows the clearance face has a varying height along the cutting edge (32). For example, the height at the corner (20) is smaller than the height at the opposite corner (22).)
Claim 9
Brunetto teaches the tool according to claim 1, wherein the cutting plate comprises a further cutting edge that terminates at the cutting corner, wherein the cutting plate comprises a further lateral face, having a further contact face and a further clearance face (Figure 2 shows the cutting insert has a mirrored structure such that there is a cutting edge, lateral face, cutting corner, contact face and clearance face.), wherein the further contact face abuts the plate seat (¶0034),
wherein the further clearance face is circumscribed by the further cutting edge, wherein, at least at the cutting corner, the further clearance face protrudes in relation to the further contact face. (Figures 1-2)
Claim 10
Brunetto teaches the tool according to claim 1, wherein the cutting plate is an indexable insert plate. (¶0018)
Claim 11
Brunetto teaches the tool according to claim 1, wherein the latter is configured as a milling tool. (¶0031 “milling cutter”)
Claim 12
Brunetto teaches a cutting plate for a tool according to claim 1. (Figure 1)
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Satran (US5685670A).
Claim 1
Satran teaches a tool (32), a. comprising at least one cutting plate (1) for machining a workpiece, b. comprising a carrier (Figure 3b), having a plate seat (33) for the cutting plate, c. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting edge (10a/10b/11a/11b) for machining the workpiece, d. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting corner (corners of the generally square cutting insert) where the cutting edge terminates (Figure 2a shows the cutting edges end at the corner, and a new one begins (i.e. 10a turns into 11a)), e. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one lateral face (14), having a contact face (15) and a clearance face (7a), f. wherein the contact face abuts the plate seat (“For this purpose, the pocket side surface 35 is formed with a protrusion 36 having a protrusion face wall 37 and protrusion side walls 38 (only one being seen) and a cross-sectional shape generally mating the cross-sectional shape of the depression 14 of the insert. The height of the protrusion 36 in the axial direction exceeds the depth of the depression 14 and the width of the protrusion 36 in the radial direction is less than a length of the depression 14 and so that the protrusion can be freely received within the depression 14.” Col. 6, Lines 25-35), g. wherein the clearance face is circumscribed by the cutting edge (Figure 2a), h. wherein, at least at the cutting corner, the clearance face protrudes in relation to the contact face (Figure 2a).
Claim 7
Satran teaches the tool according to claim 1, wherein the clearance face at the cutting corner extends to the rear side of the cutting plate. (Figure 2a)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 form.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US20190105718A1
2017-10-09
A tool (58),
a. comprising at least one cutting plate (20) for machining a workpiece,
b. comprising a carrier (60), having a plate seat (62) for the cutting plate,
c. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting edge (40) for machining the workpiece,
d. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting corner (42) where the cutting edge terminates,
e. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one lateral face (30), having a contact face (52) and a clearance face (54),
f. wherein the contact face abuts the plate seat (¶0128),
g. wherein the clearance face is circumscribed by the cutting edge (Figure 5),
h. wherein, at least at the cutting corner, the clearance face protrudes in relation to the contact face. (32)
US20080170916A1
2007-12-26
A tool (64),
a. comprising at least one cutting plate (1) for machining a workpiece,
b. comprising a carrier (70), having a plate seat (72) for the cutting plate,
c. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting edge (15/17) for machining the workpiece,
d. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting corner (19) where the cutting edge terminates,
e. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one lateral face (11), having a contact face (21) and a clearance face (27),
f. wherein the contact face abuts the plate seat (¶0072),
g. wherein the clearance face is circumscribed by the cutting edge (Figure 4),
h. wherein, at least at the cutting corner, the clearance face protrudes in relation to the contact face. (Figure 4)
US20120195700A1
2011-12-30
A tool (52),
a. comprising at least one cutting plate (10) for machining a workpiece,
b. comprising a carrier (Figure 4), having a plate seat (54) for the cutting plate,
c. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting edge (20/30) for machining the workpiece,
d. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting corner (40) where the cutting edge terminates,
e. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one lateral face (12), having a contact face (18) and a clearance face (48),
f. wherein the contact face abuts the plate seat (¶0043),
g. wherein the clearance face is circumscribed by the cutting edge (Figure 1),
h. wherein, at least at the cutting corner, the clearance face protrudes in relation to the contact face. (Figure 1)
US6142716A
1999-09-08
A tool (Figure 7),
a. comprising at least one cutting plate (10) for machining a workpiece,
b. comprising a carrier (Figure 7), having a plate seat (Figure 7) for the cutting plate,
c. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting edge (17/18) for machining the workpiece,
d. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting corner (29) where the cutting edge terminates,
e. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one lateral face (12) having a contact face (24B) and a clearance face (22A/23A),
f. wherein the contact face abuts the plate seat (implied by the name “abutment surface”),
g. wherein the clearance face is circumscribed by the cutting edge (Figures 1-3),
h. wherein, at least at the cutting corner, the clearance face protrudes in relation to the contact face. (Figure 4)
US20100003090A1
2009-06-22
A tool (1),
a. comprising at least one cutting plate (2) for machining a workpiece,
b. comprising a carrier (3), having a plate seat (7) for the cutting plate,
c. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting edge (6) for machining the workpiece,
d. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting corner (19) where the cutting edge terminates,
e. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one lateral face (Figures 4-5) having a contact face (not labeled) and a clearance face (15),
f. wherein the contact face abuts the plate seat
g. wherein the clearance face is circumscribed by the cutting edge (Figures 4-5),
h. wherein, at least at the cutting corner, the clearance face protrudes in relation to the contact face. (Figure 4, near item 21)
US20110299946A1
2011-05-31
A tool (50),
a. comprising at least one cutting plate (10) for machining a workpiece,
b. comprising a carrier (52), having a plate seat (54) for the cutting plate,
c. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting edge (20) for machining the workpiece,
d. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting corner (32) where the cutting edge terminates,
e. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one lateral face (16) having a contact face (44) and a clearance face (24),
f. wherein the contact face abuts the plate seat (¶0032)
g. wherein the clearance face is circumscribed by the cutting edge (Figures 1-2),
h. wherein, at least at the cutting corner, the clearance face protrudes in relation to the contact face. (Figures 1-2, Item 36)
US20210060668A1
2020-08-04
A tool (1),
a. comprising at least one cutting plate (2) for machining a workpiece,
b. comprising a carrier (3), having a plate seat (90) for the cutting plate,
c. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting edge (11 / 14) for machining the workpiece,
d. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting corner (C1-C4) where the cutting edge terminates,
e. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one lateral face (10) having a contact face (not labeled) and a clearance face (not labeled),
f. wherein the contact face abuts the plate seat (¶0037)
g. wherein the clearance face is circumscribed by the cutting edge (Figure 3),
h. wherein, at least at the cutting corner, the clearance face protrudes in relation to the contact face. (Figure 3)
US20220152713A1
2020-03-25
A tool (100),
a. comprising at least one cutting plate (200) for machining a workpiece,
b. comprising a carrier (1), having a plate seat (11/12) for the cutting plate,
c. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting edge (82) for machining the workpiece,
d. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting corner (83) where the cutting edge terminates,
e. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one lateral face (70) having a contact face (60/70) and a clearance face (75),
f. wherein the contact face abuts the plate seat (¶0052 describes 11-13 as “seating surfaces”)
g. wherein the clearance face is circumscribed by the cutting edge (Figure 8),
h. wherein, at least at the cutting corner, the clearance face protrudes in relation to the contact face. (Figure 8)
US20240408681A1
2022-10-05
A tool (101),
a. comprising at least one cutting plate (1) for machining a workpiece,
b. comprising a carrier (103a), having a plate seat (105) for the cutting plate,
c. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting edge (9 / 13) for machining the workpiece,
d. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one cutting corner (15) where the cutting edge terminates,
e. wherein the cutting plate comprises at least one lateral face (Figure 3) having a contact face (not labeled) and a clearance face (not labeled),
f. wherein the contact face abuts the plate seat (Figure 17)
g. wherein the clearance face is circumscribed by the cutting edge (Figure 4-5),
h. wherein, at least at the cutting corner, the clearance face protrudes in relation to the contact face. (Figure 1)
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726