DETAILED ACTION
2. This application is entitled to and claims the benefit of priority of KR Patent App. No. 10-2023-0190388, filed 12/22/2023. The preliminary amendment filed on 10/24/2024 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner.
3. Claims 1-14 are pending. Claims 1-14 are under examination on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements submitted on 10/24/2024, and 01/06/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statements.
Drawings
5. The drawings are received on 10/24/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Priority
6. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted on 11/28/2024 under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
7. Claims 9, 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: It is suggested that “wherein the NIR-absorbing dye is a squaraine series having a chemical structure of" (all occurrences) be deleted and " wherein the NIR-absorbing dye is a squaraine series having a functional group of chemical structure of" be inserted in its stead so as to engender claim language clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinohara et al. (JP2017-149820 A, machine translation, hereinafter “’820”).
Regarding claim 1: ‘820 discloses a composition (Page 8/27) comprising: a resin, an ultraviolet (UV) absorbing dye, and a near infrared ray (NIR) absorbing dye (Page 22/27, [0075]), wherein the UV-absorbing dye and the NIR-absorbing dye are dispersed between polymer chains of the resin (Page 22/27, [0076]).
It is noted that the limitation “for a camera module lens” is interpreted as an intended use since there is no apparent structural difference required by the composition other than that recited in the body of the claim (see MPEP 2111.02, II).
10. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiono et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0184765 A1 , hereinafter “’765”).
Regarding claim 1: ‘765 discloses a composition for a camera module lens (Page 24, [0195]), the composition comprising: a resin, an ultraviolet (UV) absorbing dye, and a near infrared ray (NIR) absorbing dye (Page 13, [0155], Example 2), wherein the UV-absorbing dye and the NIR-absorbing dye are dispersed between polymer chains of the resin (Page 10, [0119]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 2-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (JP2017-149820 A, machine translation, hereinafter “’820”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shiono et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0184765 A1 , hereinafter “’765”).
Regarding claims 2-3: The disclosure of ‘820 is adequately set forth in paragraph 9 above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘820 teaches the UV-absorbing dye comprises an amount of 0.1 to 5 parts by weight, preferably 0.2 to 4 parts by weight, and more preferably 0.3 to 3 parts by weight based on a total weight of the composition, and the NIR-absorbing dye comprises an amount of 0.001 to 3 parts by weight, preferably 0.002 to 2 parts by weight, and more preferably 0.005 to 1 part by based on a total weight of the composition (Page 22/27, [0075]).
The disclosure of ‘765 is adequately set forth in paragraph 10 above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘765 teaches the total content of the UV-absorbing dye (U) and the NIR-absorbing dye (A) in the transparent resin is, as represented by the mass (PHR) of the dyes per 100 parts by mass of the transparent resin, preferably from 0.5 to 30, and with a view to reducing the film thickness, more preferably from 0.5 to 20. The content of the dye (U) is preferably from 0.1 to 20, more preferably from 0.5 to 15. The content of the dye (A) is preferably from 0.5 to 25, more preferably from 1.0 to 20 (Page 11, [0133]).
Thus, the subject as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549.
Regarding claim 4: The disclosure of ‘820 is adequately set forth in paragraph 9 above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘820 teaches the ring-opening metathesis polymer is a polymer obtained by ring-opening polymerization of cyclic olefins using a catalyst (Page 15/27, [0049]), the UV-absorbing dye such as benzotriazole, triazine, and benzophenone-based compounds, and the like (Page 18/37, [0060]) that preferably has a maximum absorption wavelength of 350 nm or more and 370 nm or less (Page 17/37, [0059]), and the NIR-absorbing dye includes squarylium compounds, and polymethine compounds that strongly absorbs light in the range from the visible long-wavelength region from the 650 nm to the 1000 nm to the near infrared region (Page 17/27, [0057]). ‘820 does not expressly teach the UV-absorbing dye of the methine series.
However, the disclosure of ‘765 is adequately set forth in paragraph 10 above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘765 teaches the dye (U) is a near ultraviolet absorbing dye of the methine series which is a compound represented by the formula (U) as set forth (Page 7, [0095]), and which has an absorption maximum at a wavelength of from 370 to 425 nm and has a molar absorptivity at the maximum absorption wavelength of at least 50,000 [L/(mol.cm)] (Page 8, [0096]), and the dye (A) as the NIR-absorbing dye is particularly preferably the squarylium dye (A1) (Page 9, [0103]). ‘765 teaches in order that in the spectral transmittance curve of the near ultraviolet absorbing dye, the inclination in the vicinity of the visible region boundary is steeper, the maximum absorption wavelength is preferably from 375 to 420 nm, more preferably from 378 to 410 nm. Further, in order to obtain a high shielding effect by blending in a smaller amount with the transparent resin, the molar absorptivity at the maximum absorption wavelength is preferably at least 60,000 [L/(mol.cm)], more preferably from 65,000 to 90,000 [L/(mol.cm)] (Page 9, [0097]) with benefit of providing the dye (U) has a high heat resistance, and in its spectral transmittance curve, a change during the thermal process is small (Page 9 , [0098]).
In an analogous art of the composition for optical filter, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the UV-absorbing dye by ‘820, so as to include the UV-absorbing dye of the methine series as taught by ‘765, and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing a high heat resistance, and in its spectral transmittance curve, a change during the thermal process is small as suggested by ‘765 (Page 9, [0098]).
Thus, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, since the substitution of equivalents (i.e., in view of the art recognized functional equivalence of the two UV-absorbing dyes) requires no express motivation as long as the prior art recognizes the equivalency. In re Fount USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt, 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. Inc. v Linde Air Products Co., 85 USPQ 328 (USSC).
Regarding claim 5: The disclosure of ‘820 in view of ‘765 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘820 teaches the ring-opening metathesis polymer is a polymer obtained by ring-opening polymerization of cyclic olefins using a catalyst (Page 15/27, [0049]), the UV-absorbing dye such as benzotriazole, triazine, and benzophenone-based compounds, and the like (Page 18/37, [0060]) that preferably has a maximum absorption wavelength of 350 nm or more and 370 nm or less (Page 17/37, [0059]), and the NIR-absorbing dye includes squarylium compounds, and polymethine compounds that strongly absorbs light in the range from the visible long-wavelength region from the 650 nm to the 1000 nm to the near infrared region (Page 17/27, [0057]). ‘820 teaches the UV-absorbing dye comprises an amount of 0.1 to 5 parts by weight, preferably 0.2 to 4 parts by weight, and more preferably 0.3 to 3 parts by weight based on a total weight of the composition, and the NIR-absorbing dye comprises an amount of 0.001 to 3 parts by weight, preferably 0.002 to 2 parts by weight, and more preferably 0.005 to 1 part by based on a total weight of the composition (Page 22/27, [0075]). ‘820 does not expressly teach the UV-absorbing dye of the methine series.
The disclosure of ‘765 is adequately set forth in paragraph 9 above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘765 teaches the dye (U) is a near ultraviolet absorbing dye of the methine series which is a compound represented by the formula (U) as set forth (Page 7, [0095]), and which has an absorption maximum at a wavelength of from 370 to 425 nm and has a molar absorptivity at the maximum absorption wavelength of at least 50,000 [L/(mol.cm)] (Page 8, [0096]), and the dye (A) as the NIR-absorbing dye is particularly preferably the squarylium dye (A1) (Page 9, [0103]). ‘765 teaches the total content of the UV-absorbing dye (U) and the NIR-absorbing dye (A) in the transparent resin is, as represented by the mass (PHR) of the dyes per 100 parts by mass of the transparent resin, preferably from 0.5 to 30, and with a view to reducing the film thickness, more preferably from 0.5 to 20. The content of the dye (U) is preferably from 0.1 to 20, more preferably from 0.5 to 15. The content of the dye (A) is preferably from 0.5 to 25, more preferably from 1.0 to 20 (Page 11, [0133]). ‘765 teaches in order that in the spectral transmittance curve of the near ultraviolet absorbing dye, the inclination in the vicinity of the visible region boundary is steeper, the maximum absorption wavelength is preferably from 375 to 420 nm, more preferably from 378 to 410 nm. Further, in order to obtain a high shielding effect by blending in a smaller amount with the transparent resin, the molar absorptivity at the maximum absorption wavelength is preferably at least 60,000 [L/(mol.cm)], more preferably from 65,000 to 90,000 [L/(mol.cm)] (Page 9, [0097]) with benefit of providing the dye (U) has a high heat resistance, and in its spectral transmittance curve, a change during the thermal process is small (Page 9 , [0098]). ‘820 in view of ‘765 does not expressly teach the composition has an absorption range of 400 to 430 nm and another absorption range of 700 nm or more, and wherein the composition has a light transmittance of 20 to 60% at 400 to 430 nm and a light transmittance of 10 to 50% at 700 nm.
However, since the combination of ‘820 in view of ‘765 teaches substantially identical the composition comprises 0.002 to 0.1 wt% of a UV-absorbing dye of the methine series and 0.002 to 0.1 wt% of a NIR-absorbing dye of the squaraine series based on a total weight of the composition as the recited claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made that the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. light transmittance, would be expected to be the same as claimed (i.e., the composition has an absorption range of 400 to 430 nm and another absorption range of 700 nm or more, and wherein the composition has a light transmittance of 20 to 60% at 400 to 430 nm and a light transmittance of 10 to 50% at 700 nm). If there is any difference between the product of ‘820 in view of ‘765 and the product of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical composition, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
"Where ... the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical ... the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977) (citations and footnote omitted). The mere recitation of a property or characteristic not disclosed by the prior art does not necessarily confer patentability to a composition or a method of using that composition. See In re Skoner, 51 7 F .2d 94 7, 950 ( CCP A 1975).
Regarding claims 6,10: The disclosure of ‘820 is adequately set forth in paragraph 8 above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘820 teaches the ring-opening metathesis polymer is a polymer obtained by ring-opening polymerization of cyclic olefins using a catalyst (Page 15/27, [0049]) or thermoplastic resin (A), resins selected from polycarbonates (Page 9/27, [0012]-[0013]), the UV-absorbing dye such as benzotriazole, triazine, and benzophenone-based compounds, and the like (Page 18/37, [0060]) that preferably has a maximum absorption wavelength of 350 nm or more and 370 nm or less (Page 17/37, [0059]), and the NIR-absorbing dye includes squarylium compounds, and polymethine compounds that strongly absorbs light in the range from the visible long-wavelength region from the 650 nm to the 1000 nm to the near infrared region (Page 17/27, [0057]). ‘820 does not expressly teach the UV-absorbing dye is any one or any combination of any two or more of pyrimidine, pyrazole and methine series,
However, the disclosure of ‘765 is adequately set forth in paragraph 9 above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘765 teaches a transparent resin (Page 10, [0116]) such as polycarbonate resin, polyolefin resin, cyclic olefin resin (Page 9, [0120]-[0121]), the dye (U) is a near ultraviolet absorbing dye which is any one or any combination of any two or more of pyrimidine, pyrazole and methine series as a compound represented by the formula (U) as set forth (Page 7, [0095]), and which has an absorption maximum at a wavelength of from 370 to 425 nm and has a molar absorptivity at the maximum absorption wavelength of at least 50,000 [L/(mol.cm)] (Page 8, [0096]), and the dye (A) as the NIR-absorbing dye is particularly preferably the squarylium dye (A1) (Page 9, [0103]). ‘765 teaches in order that in the spectral transmittance curve of the near ultraviolet absorbing dye, the inclination in the vicinity of the visible region boundary is steeper, the maximum absorption wavelength is preferably from 375 to 420 nm, more preferably from 378 to 410 nm. Further, in order to obtain a high shielding effect by blending in a smaller amount with the transparent resin, the molar absorptivity at the maximum absorption wavelength is preferably at least 60,000 [L/(mol.cm)], more preferably from 65,000 to 90,000 [L/(mol.cm)] (Page 9, [0097]) with benefit of providing the dye (U) has a high heat resistance, and in its spectral transmittance curve, a change during the thermal process is small (Page 9 , [0098]).
In an analogous art of the composition for optical filter, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the UV-absorbing dye by ‘820, so as to include the UV-absorbing dye which is any one or any combination of any two or more of pyrimidine, pyrazole and methine series as taught by ‘765, and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing a high heat resistance, and in its spectral transmittance curve, a change during the thermal process is small as suggested by ‘765 (Page 9, [0098]).
Thus, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, since the substitution of equivalents (i.e., in view of the art recognized functional equivalence of the two UV-absorbing dyes) requires no express motivation as long as the prior art recognizes the equivalency. In re Fount USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt, 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. Inc. v Linde Air Products Co., 85 USPQ 328 (USSC).
Regarding claims 7,11: The disclosure of ‘820 in view of ‘765 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘820 teaches the ring-opening metathesis polymer is a polymer obtained by ring-opening polymerization of cyclic olefins using a catalyst (Page 15/27, [0049]), the UV-absorbing dye such as benzotriazole, triazine, and benzophenone-based compounds, and the like (Page 18/37, [0060]) that preferably has a maximum absorption wavelength of 350 nm or more and 370 nm or less (Page 17/37, [0059]), and the NIR-absorbing dye includes squarylium compounds, and polymethine compounds that strongly absorbs light in the range from the visible long-wavelength region from the 650 nm to the 1000 nm to the near infrared region (Page 17/27, [0057]). ‘820 teaches the UV-absorbing dye comprises an amount of 0.1 to 5 parts by weight, preferably 0.2 to 4 parts by weight, and more preferably 0.3 to 3 parts by weight based on a total weight of the composition, and the NIR-absorbing dye comprises an amount of 0.001 to 3 parts by weight, preferably 0.002 to 2 parts by weight, and more preferably 0.005 to 1 part by based on a total weight of the composition (Page 22/27, [0075]). ‘820 does not expressly teach the UV-absorbing dye is any one or any combination of any two or more of pyrimidine, pyrazole and methine series.
The disclosure of ‘765 is adequately set forth in paragraph 9 above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘765 teaches the dye (U) is a near ultraviolet absorbing dye which is any one or any combination of any two or more of pyrimidine, pyrazole and methine series as a compound represented by the formula (U) as set forth (Page 7, [0095]), and which has an absorption maximum at a wavelength of from 370 to 425 nm and has a molar absorptivity at the maximum absorption wavelength of at least 50,000 [L/(mol.cm)] (Page 8, [0096]), and the dye (A) as the NIR-absorbing dye is particularly preferably the squarylium dye (A1) (Page 9, [0103]). ‘765 teaches the total content of the UV-absorbing dye (U) and the NIR-absorbing dye (A) in the transparent resin is, as represented by the mass (PHR) of the dyes per 100 parts by mass of the transparent resin, preferably from 0.5 to 30, and with a view to reducing the film thickness, more preferably from 0.5 to 20. The content of the dye (U) is preferably from 0.1 to 20, more preferably from 0.5 to 15. The content of the dye (A) is preferably from 0.5 to 25, more preferably from 1.0 to 20 (Page 11, [0133]). ‘765 teaches in order that in the spectral transmittance curve of the near ultraviolet absorbing dye, the inclination in the vicinity of the visible region boundary is steeper, the maximum absorption wavelength is preferably from 375 to 420 nm, more preferably from 378 to 410 nm. Further, in order to obtain a high shielding effect by blending in a smaller amount with the transparent resin, the molar absorptivity at the maximum absorption wavelength is preferably at least 60,000 [L/(mol.cm)], more preferably from 65,000 to 90,000 [L/(mol.cm)] (Page 9, [0097]) with benefit of providing the dye (U) has a high heat resistance, and in its spectral transmittance curve, a change during the thermal process is small (Page 9 , [0098]). ‘820 in view of ‘765 does not expressly teach the composition has an absorption range of 400 to 430 nm and another absorption range of 700 nm or more, and wherein the composition has a light transmittance of 20 to 60% at 400 to 430 nm and a light transmittance of 10 to 50% at 700 nm.
However, since the combination of ‘820 in view of ‘765 teaches substantially identical the composition comprises 0.002 to 0.1 wt% of a UV-absorbing dye which is any one or any combination of any two or more of pyrimidine, pyrazole and methine series, and 0.002 to 0.1 wt% of a NIR-absorbing dye of the squaraine series based on a total weight of the composition as the recited claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made that the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. light transmittance, would be expected to be the same as claimed (i.e., the composition has an absorption range of 400 to 430 nm and another absorption range of 700 nm or more, and wherein the composition has a light transmittance of 20 to 60% at 400 to 430 nm and a light transmittance of 10 to 50% at 700 nm). If there is any difference between the product of ‘820 in view of ‘765 and the product of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical composition, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
"Where ... the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical ... the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977) (citations and footnote omitted). The mere recitation of a property or characteristic not disclosed by the prior art does not necessarily confer patentability to a composition or a method of using that composition. See In re Skoner, 51 7 F .2d 94 7, 950 ( CCP A 1975).
Regarding claims 8-9,12-13: The disclosure of ‘820 in view of ‘765 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘820 does not expressly teach the NIR-absorbing dye has a molecular weight of 700 or more, wherein the NIR-absorbing dye is a squaraine series having a functional group of chemical structure of:
However, 765 teaches the dye (A) is particularly preferably the squarylium dye (A1) represented by the following formula (A1) (Page 9, [0103]), wherein R24 is -CH(C2H5)-C4H9- as shown In Example (A1-8) (Page 10, [0114]) with benefit of providing the spectral transmittance curve will be steep, and excellent solubility and heat resistance will be obtained (Page 9, [0102]).
In an analogous art of the composition for optical filter, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the NIR-absorbing dye by ‘820, so as to include the NIR-absorbing dye has a molecular weight of 700 or more, wherein the NIR-absorbing dye is a squaraine series having a functional group of chemical structure as set forth as taught by ‘765, and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing the spectral transmittance curve will be steep, and excellent solubility and heat resistance will be obtained as suggested by ‘765 (Page 9, [0102]).
Regarding claim 14: The disclosure of ‘820 in view of ‘765 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘820 teaches a lens can be applied to glasses, sunglasses, or the like. That is, the above-described lens can be applied to various plastic lenses such as a plastic spectacle lens, a sunglass lens,goggles, a spectacle lens for vision correction, a lens for an imaging device, a Fresnel lens for a liquid crystal projector, a lenticular lens, a contact lens, a lens of a robot, and a sensor.
‘765 reaches the optical filter is useful as an imaging device using a solid-state imaging element, such as a digital still camera or a mobile phone, and a display device using a light receiving element, such as an automatic exposure meter (Page 24, [01095]).
It is submitted that if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Examiner Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Del Sole can be reached on 571-272-1130. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Bijan Ahvazi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
03/20/2026
bijan.ahvazi@uspto.gov