DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2024 and both IDSs submitted on 03/27/2025 were filed after the mailing date of the application on 10/24/2024. The submission are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-13, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0178176), hereinafter Kim in further view of He et al. (US 2025/0374190), hereinafter He.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a base station, wake-up signal reception-related UE capability information: “the method performed by a terminal comprises transmitting WUR capability information to a network entity” (Kim ¶ 0021); receiving, from the base station, wake-up signal reception-related information: “receiving information for a category assigned in the network entity; monitoring a wake-up signal for an on-duration corresponding to the received category” (Kim ¶ 0021).
Kim does not teach: performing measurement on at least one neighbor cell by one of a wake-up receiver of the UE and a main radio of the UE based on the wake-up signal reception-related information.
Regarding Claim 1, He teaches: performing measurement on at least one neighbor cell by one of a wake-up receiver of the UE and a main radio of the UE based on the wake-up signal reception-related information: “The UE 602 receives the SSB at the main radio. Subsequently, at 606, the base station 604 broadcasts the LP-RS to the UE 602. The UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR. At 610, the UE 602 measures the SSB (e.g., using L3-RSRP). In an example, the UE 602 may measure the SSB using a high power (HP) radio 603. At 612, the UE 602 measures the LP-RS (e.g., using L3-RSRP)” (He ¶ 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim with He for the purpose of reducing UE power consumption. According to He: “A UE may be equipped with a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) that utilizes less power than a main radio of the UE. In some aspects, a UE may use a LP-WUR to monitor for a LP-WUS. Aspects presented herein enable the UE to utilize a LP-WUR in different contexts (e.g., for synchronization) in order to reduce UE power consumption” (He ¶ 0021).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches: The method of claim 1.
Kim does not teach: performing cell reselection by comparing a first value of cell measurement on a serving cell using the wake-up receiver with a second value of cell measurement on the at least one neighbor cell using the wake-up receiver considering an offset value of the first value.
Regarding Claim 2, He teaches: performing cell reselection by comparing a first value of cell measurement on a serving cell using the wake-up receiver with a second value of cell measurement on the at least one neighbor cell using the wake-up receiver: “The UE may perform a measurement (e.g., a L3-RSRP measurement) on the LP-RS. The UE may also perform measurements on LP-RSs received by the LP-WUR from neighbor cells. The UE may derive equivalent RSRP measurements on an SSB using RSRP measurements on the LP-RS. The UE may utilize the equivalent RSRP measurements on the SSB in cell selection/reselection. As the LP-WUR receives the LP-RSs (as opposed to a main radio of the UE which receives SSBs), the UE is able to perform cell selection/reselection using less power than cell selection/reselection performed using SSBs” (He ¶ 0123) considering an offset value of the first value: “The UE 602 may periodically measure an SSB to determine whether a derived offset is still valid and/or whether an adjustment to the derived offset is required. For instance, at 634, the base station 604 may broadcast the offset to the UE 602. The UE 602 receives the offset and applies the offset at 632. Thus, the UE 602 may use the equivalent L3-RSRP measurements on the SSB and legacy cell selection/reselection criteria to perform cell selection/reselection” (He ¶ 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim with He for the purpose of reducing UE power consumption. According to He: “A UE may be equipped with a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) that utilizes less power than a main radio of the UE. In some aspects, a UE may use a LP-WUR to monitor for a LP-WUS. Aspects presented herein enable the UE to utilize a LP-WUR in different contexts (e.g., for synchronization) in order to reduce UE power consumption” (He ¶ 0021).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches: The method of claim 1.
Kim does not teach: the wake-up signal reception-related information includes indication information about the at least one neighbor cell supporting a wake-up signal.
Regarding Claim 3, He teaches: the wake-up signal reception-related information includes indication information about the at least one neighbor cell supporting a wake-up signal: “In one aspect, the UE utilizes LP-RSs for neighbor cell measurements. For example, in FIG. 6 at 620, the base station 604 transmits SIBs (e.g., SIB3/4/5) to the UE 602. The SIBs may include system information of a set of neighbor cells that are to be measured. The UE 602 receives the SIBs (e.g., at the main radio). At 622, the UE 602 derives the time and frequency location of a neighbor LP-RS broadcast by a neighbor BS 622 (i.e., a neighbor cell) using relationships between SSBs and LP-RSs” (He ¶ 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim with He for the purpose of reducing UE power consumption. According to He: “A UE may be equipped with a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) that utilizes less power than a main radio of the UE. In some aspects, a UE may use a LP-WUR to monitor for a LP-WUS. Aspects presented herein enable the UE to utilize a LP-WUR in different contexts (e.g., for synchronization) in order to reduce UE power consumption” (He ¶ 0021).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim teaches: A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a UE, wake-up signal reception-related UE capability information: “the method performed by a terminal comprises transmitting WUR capability information to a network entity” (Kim ¶ 0021); and transmitting, to the UE, wake-up signal reception-related information: “receiving information for a category assigned in the network entity; monitoring a wake-up signal for an on-duration corresponding to the received category” (Kim ¶ 0021).
Kim does not teach: the wake-up signal reception-related information is used to perform measurement on at least one neighbor cell by one of a wake-up receiver of the UE and a main radio of the UE.
Regarding Claim 7, He teaches: the wake-up signal reception-related information is used to perform measurement on at least one neighbor cell by one of a wake-up receiver of the UE and a main radio of the UE: “The UE 602 receives the SSB at the main radio. Subsequently, at 606, the base station 604 broadcasts the LP-RS to the UE 602. The UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR. At 610, the UE 602 measures the SSB (e.g., using L3-RSRP). In an example, the UE 602 may measure the SSB using a high power (HP) radio 603. At 612, the UE 602 measures the LP-RS (e.g., using L3-RSRP)” (He ¶ 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim with He for the purpose of reducing UE power consumption. According to He: “A UE may be equipped with a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) that utilizes less power than a main radio of the UE. In some aspects, a UE may use a LP-WUR to monitor for a LP-WUS. Aspects presented herein enable the UE to utilize a LP-WUR in different contexts (e.g., for synchronization) in order to reduce UE power consumption” (He ¶ 0021).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim teaches: The method of claim 7.
Kim does not teach: the wake-up signal reception-related information is used to determine whether to initiate measurement on the at least one neighbor cell by one of the wake-up receiver of the UE and the main radio of the UE.
Regarding Claim 8, He teaches: the wake-up signal reception-related information is used to determine whether to initiate measurement on the at least one neighbor cell by one of the wake-up receiver of the UE and the main radio of the UE: “The UE may perform a measurement (e.g., a L3-RSRP measurement) on the LP-RS. The UE may also perform measurements on LP-RSs received by the LP-WUR from neighbor cells. The UE may derive equivalent RSRP measurements on an SSB using RSRP measurements on the LP-RS. The UE may utilize the equivalent RSRP measurements on the SSB in cell selection/reselection. As the LP-WUR receives the LP-RSs (as opposed to a main radio of the UE which receives SSBs), the UE is able to perform cell selection/reselection using less power than cell selection/reselection performed using SSBs” (He ¶ 0123) considering an offset value of the first value: “The UE 602 may periodically measure an SSB to determine whether a derived offset is still valid and/or whether an adjustment to the derived offset is required. For instance, at 634, the base station 604 may broadcast the offset to the UE 602. The UE 602 receives the offset and applies the offset at 632. Thus, the UE 602 may use the equivalent L3-RSRP measurements on the SSB and legacy cell selection/reselection criteria to perform cell selection/reselection” (He ¶ 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim with He for the purpose of reducing UE power consumption. According to He: “A UE may be equipped with a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) that utilizes less power than a main radio of the UE. In some aspects, a UE may use a LP-WUR to monitor for a LP-WUS. Aspects presented herein enable the UE to utilize a LP-WUR in different contexts (e.g., for synchronization) in order to reduce UE power consumption” (He ¶ 0021).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim teaches: The method of claim 7.
Kim does not teach: the wake-up signal reception-related information includes indication information about the at least one neighbor cell supporting a wake-up signal.
Regarding Claim 9, He teaches: the wake-up signal reception-related information includes indication information about the at least one neighbor cell supporting a wake-up signal: “In one aspect, the UE utilizes LP-RSs for neighbor cell measurements. For example, in FIG. 6 at 620, the base station 604 transmits SIBs (e.g., SIB3/4/5) to the UE 602. The SIBs may include system information of a set of neighbor cells that are to be measured. The UE 602 receives the SIBs (e.g., at the main radio). At 622, the UE 602 derives the time and frequency location of a neighbor LP-RS broadcast by a neighbor BS 622 (i.e., a neighbor cell) using relationships between SSBs and LP-RSs” (He ¶ 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim with He for the purpose of reducing UE power consumption. According to He: “A UE may be equipped with a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) that utilizes less power than a main radio of the UE. In some aspects, a UE may use a LP-WUR to monitor for a LP-WUS. Aspects presented herein enable the UE to utilize a LP-WUR in different contexts (e.g., for synchronization) in order to reduce UE power consumption” (He ¶ 0021).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim teaches: A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to: “the network entity 1510 and the UE 1520 include communication units (transmitting/receiving units, RF units (or RF module), 1513 and 1523), processors 1511 and 1521, and memories 1512 and 1522” (Kim ¶ 0385): transmit, to a base station, wake-up signal reception-related UE capability information: “the method performed by a terminal comprises transmitting WUR capability information to a network entity” (Kim ¶ 0021); receive, from the base station, wake-up signal reception-related information: “receiving information for a category assigned in the network entity; monitoring a wake-up signal for an on-duration corresponding to the received category” (Kim ¶ 0021).
Kim does not teach: perform measurement on at least one neighbor cell by one of a wake-up receiver of the UE and a main radio of the UE based on the wake-up signal reception-related information.
Regarding Claim 11, He teaches: perform measurement on at least one neighbor cell by one of a wake-up receiver of the UE and a main radio of the UE based on the wake-up signal reception-related information: “The UE 602 receives the SSB at the main radio. Subsequently, at 606, the base station 604 broadcasts the LP-RS to the UE 602. The UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR. At 610, the UE 602 measures the SSB (e.g., using L3-RSRP). In an example, the UE 602 may measure the SSB using a high power (HP) radio 603. At 612, the UE 602 measures the LP-RS (e.g., using L3-RSRP)” (He ¶ 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim with He for the purpose of reducing UE power consumption. According to He: “A UE may be equipped with a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) that utilizes less power than a main radio of the UE. In some aspects, a UE may use a LP-WUR to monitor for a LP-WUS. Aspects presented herein enable the UE to utilize a LP-WUR in different contexts (e.g., for synchronization) in order to reduce UE power consumption” (He ¶ 0021).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim teaches: The UE of claim 11.
Kim does not teach: perform cell reselection by comparing a first value of cell measurement on a serving cell using the wake-up receiver with a second value of cell measurement on the at least one neighbor cell using the wake-up receiver considering an offset value of the first value.
Regarding Claim 12, He teaches: perform cell reselection by comparing a first value of cell measurement on a serving cell using the wake-up receiver with a second value of cell measurement on the at least one neighbor cell using the wake-up receiver: “The UE may perform a measurement (e.g., a L3-RSRP measurement) on the LP-RS. The UE may also perform measurements on LP-RSs received by the LP-WUR from neighbor cells. The UE may derive equivalent RSRP measurements on an SSB using RSRP measurements on the LP-RS. The UE may utilize the equivalent RSRP measurements on the SSB in cell selection/reselection. As the LP-WUR receives the LP-RSs (as opposed to a main radio of the UE which receives SSBs), the UE is able to perform cell selection/reselection using less power than cell selection/reselection performed using SSBs” (He ¶ 0123) considering an offset value of the first value: “The UE 602 may periodically measure an SSB to determine whether a derived offset is still valid and/or whether an adjustment to the derived offset is required. For instance, at 634, the base station 604 may broadcast the offset to the UE 602. The UE 602 receives the offset and applies the offset at 632. Thus, the UE 602 may use the equivalent L3-RSRP measurements on the SSB and legacy cell selection/reselection criteria to perform cell selection/reselection” (He ¶ 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim with He for the purpose of reducing UE power consumption. According to He: “A UE may be equipped with a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) that utilizes less power than a main radio of the UE. In some aspects, a UE may use a LP-WUR to monitor for a LP-WUS. Aspects presented herein enable the UE to utilize a LP-WUR in different contexts (e.g., for synchronization) in order to reduce UE power consumption” (He ¶ 0021).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim teaches: The UE of claim 11.
Kim does not teach: the wake-up signal reception-related information includes indication information about the at least one neighbor cell supporting a wake-up signal.
Regarding Claim 13, He teaches: the wake-up signal reception-related information includes indication information about the at least one neighbor cell supporting a wake-up signal: “In one aspect, the UE utilizes LP-RSs for neighbor cell measurements. For example, in FIG. 6 at 620, the base station 604 transmits SIBs (e.g., SIB3/4/5) to the UE 602. The SIBs may include system information of a set of neighbor cells that are to be measured. The UE 602 receives the SIBs (e.g., at the main radio). At 622, the UE 602 derives the time and frequency location of a neighbor LP-RS broadcast by a neighbor BS 622 (i.e., a neighbor cell) using relationships between SSBs and LP-RSs” (He ¶ 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim with He for the purpose of reducing UE power consumption. According to He: “A UE may be equipped with a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) that utilizes less power than a main radio of the UE. In some aspects, a UE may use a LP-WUR to monitor for a LP-WUS. Aspects presented herein enable the UE to utilize a LP-WUR in different contexts (e.g., for synchronization) in order to reduce UE power consumption” (He ¶ 0021).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches: A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor: “the network entity 1510 and the UE 1520 include communication units (transmitting/receiving units, RF units (or RF module), 1513 and 1523), processors 1511 and 1521, and memories 1512 and 1522” (Kim ¶ 0385) configured to: receive, from a UE, wake-up signal reception-related UE capability information: “the method performed by a terminal comprises transmitting WUR capability information to a network entity” (Kim ¶ 0021); and transmit, to the UE, wake-up signal reception-related information: “receiving information for a category assigned in the network entity; monitoring a wake-up signal for an on-duration corresponding to the received category” (Kim ¶ 0021).
Kim does not teach: the wake-up signal reception-related information is used to perform measurement on at least one neighbor cell by one of a wake-up receiver of the UE and a main radio of the UE.
Regarding Claim 17, He teaches: the wake-up signal reception-related information is used to perform measurement on at least one neighbor cell by one of a wake-up receiver of the UE and a main radio of the UE: “The UE 602 receives the SSB at the main radio. Subsequently, at 606, the base station 604 broadcasts the LP-RS to the UE 602. The UE 602 receives the LP-RS at a LP-WUR. At 610, the UE 602 measures the SSB (e.g., using L3-RSRP). In an example, the UE 602 may measure the SSB using a high power (HP) radio 603. At 612, the UE 602 measures the LP-RS (e.g., using L3-RSRP)” (He ¶ 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim with He for the purpose of reducing UE power consumption. According to He: “A UE may be equipped with a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) that utilizes less power than a main radio of the UE. In some aspects, a UE may use a LP-WUR to monitor for a LP-WUS. Aspects presented herein enable the UE to utilize a LP-WUR in different contexts (e.g., for synchronization) in order to reduce UE power consumption” (He ¶ 0021).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim teaches: The base station of claim 17.
Kim does not teach: the wake-up signal reception-related information is used to determine whether to initiate measurement on the at least one neighbor cell by one of the wake-up receiver of the UE and the main radio of the UE.
Regarding Claim 18, He teaches: the wake-up signal reception-related information is used to determine whether to initiate measurement on the at least one neighbor cell by one of the wake-up receiver of the UE and the main radio of the UE: “The UE may perform a measurement (e.g., a L3-RSRP measurement) on the LP-RS. The UE may also perform measurements on LP-RSs received by the LP-WUR from neighbor cells. The UE may derive equivalent RSRP measurements on an SSB using RSRP measurements on the LP-RS. The UE may utilize the equivalent RSRP measurements on the SSB in cell selection/reselection. As the LP-WUR receives the LP-RSs (as opposed to a main radio of the UE which receives SSBs), the UE is able to perform cell selection/reselection using less power than cell selection/reselection performed using SSBs” (He ¶ 0123) considering an offset value of the first value: “The UE 602 may periodically measure an SSB to determine whether a derived offset is still valid and/or whether an adjustment to the derived offset is required. For instance, at 634, the base station 604 may broadcast the offset to the UE 602. The UE 602 receives the offset and applies the offset at 632. Thus, the UE 602 may use the equivalent L3-RSRP measurements on the SSB and legacy cell selection/reselection criteria to perform cell selection/reselection” (He ¶ 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim with He for the purpose of reducing UE power consumption. According to He: “A UE may be equipped with a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) that utilizes less power than a main radio of the UE. In some aspects, a UE may use a LP-WUR to monitor for a LP-WUS. Aspects presented herein enable the UE to utilize a LP-WUR in different contexts (e.g., for synchronization) in order to reduce UE power consumption” (He ¶ 0021).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim teaches: The base station of claim 17.
Kim does not teach: the wake-up signal reception-related information includes indication information about the at least one neighbor cell supporting a wake-up signal.
Regarding Claim 9, He teaches: the wake-up signal reception-related information includes indication information about the at least one neighbor cell supporting a wake-up signal: “In one aspect, the UE utilizes LP-RSs for neighbor cell measurements. For example, in FIG. 6 at 620, the base station 604 transmits SIBs (e.g., SIB3/4/5) to the UE 602. The SIBs may include system information of a set of neighbor cells that are to be measured. The UE 602 receives the SIBs (e.g., at the main radio). At 622, the UE 602 derives the time and frequency location of a neighbor LP-RS broadcast by a neighbor BS 622 (i.e., a neighbor cell) using relationships between SSBs and LP-RSs” (He ¶ 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim with He for the purpose of reducing UE power consumption. According to He: “A UE may be equipped with a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) that utilizes less power than a main radio of the UE. In some aspects, a UE may use a LP-WUR to monitor for a LP-WUS. Aspects presented herein enable the UE to utilize a LP-WUR in different contexts (e.g., for synchronization) in order to reduce UE power consumption” (He ¶ 0021).
Claims 4, 6, 14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and He as applied to claims 1, 11, and 17 above, and further in view of Sharma et al. (US 2025/0133626), hereinafter Sharma.
Regarding Claim 4, Kim and He teach: The method of claim 1.
Kim and He do not teach: determining whether to initiate the measurement on the at least one neighbor cell by the wake-up receiver for a first period is based on a first parameter for serving cell measurement of the wake-up receiver, and wherein the first parameter is predefined or is included in the wake-up signal reception-related information.
Regarding Claim 4, Sharma teaches: determining whether to initiate the measurement on the at least one neighbor cell by the wake-up receiver for a first period is based on a first parameter for serving cell measurement of the wake-up receiver: “For example, the UE may perform cell measurements in every DRX cycle, or in a subset of DRX cycles. In some deployments, an idle mode UE's MR may frequently wake up to perform the cell measurements, which may hamper the effectiveness of the LP-WUR. The UE can use the LP-WUR for cell measurements, which may consume less power relative to using the MR . . . In some aspects, the UE may perform (in accordance with the UE's DRX cycle) one or more first cell measurements using an MR of the UE and one or more second cell measurements using an LP-WUR of the UE. A quantity of the one or more first cell measurements, and a quantity of the one or more second cell measurements, may be in accordance with a parameter which may be referred to herein as an offloading parameter. For example, the offloading parameter may generally indicate when to offload cell measurements from the MR to the LP-WUR” (Sharma ¶ 0031-0032), and wherein the first parameter is predefined or is included in the wake-up signal reception-related information: “the configuration information may indicate a set of values for a parameter referred to herein as an offloading parameter. The offloading parameter may indicate (explicitly or implicitly) a quantity of first cell measurements and a quantity of second cell measurements. For example, the offloading parameter may indicate a distribution of first cell measurements and second cell measurements (such as a distribution in terms of an integer factor identifying which cell measurements are second cell measurements, or in terms of a duration in which cell measurements are second cell measurements). For example, the configuration information may include a set of values from which the offloading parameter can be selected. In some aspects, the set of values may include values for a factor R, described in more detail below. Additionally, or alternatively, the set of values may include values for a duration D, which is also described in more detail below. In some aspects, the set of values may be configured for a specific UE (e.g., via UE-specific signaling). In some aspects, the set of values may be configured for a group of UEs (e.g., via group signaling to the group of UEs). In some aspects, the set of values may be specific to a frequency range, where frequency ranges are defined elsewhere herein. For example, the configuration information may indicate or be associated with a frequency range for which the set of values are used” (Sharma ¶ 0437).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim and He with Sharma for the purpose of balancing a power saving effect of a WUR with reliable measurement results. According to Sharma: “Since the LP-SS is a different signal from the SSBs which are typically used for measurements, the UE may not want to give full control to the LP-SS based measurements depending on various factors such as channel conditions, mobility conditions (e.g., a fast or slow moving UE), UE location (e.g., cell-center or cell edge). Depending on such factors, the UE may offload some of the measurements (fewer in some cases, more in others) to the LP-WUR. Thus, performing cell reselection measurements using only the MR may consume power and reduce the power saving effect of the LP-WUR, whereas performing cell reselection measurements using only the LP-WUR may be less reliable or undesirable for the UE” (Sharma ¶ 0031).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim and He teach: The method of claim 4.
Kim and He do not teach: the first period is predefined or is included in the wake-up signal reception-related information, and wherein the first period differs from a second period for determining whether to initiate neighbor cell measurement in the main radio of the UE.
Regarding Claim 6, Sharma teaches: the first period is predefined or is included in the wake-up signal reception-related information, and wherein the first period differs from a second period for determining whether to initiate neighbor cell measurement in the main radio of the UE: “For example, the UE may perform cell measurements in every DRX cycle, or in a subset of DRX cycles. In some deployments, an idle mode UE's MR may frequently wake up to perform the cell measurements, which may hamper the effectiveness of the LP-WUR. The UE can use the LP-WUR for cell measurements, which may consume less power relative to using the MR . . . In some aspects, the UE may perform (in accordance with the UE's DRX cycle) one or more first cell measurements using an MR of the UE and one or more second cell measurements using an LP-WUR of the UE. A quantity of the one or more first cell measurements, and a quantity of the one or more second cell measurements, may be in accordance with a parameter which may be referred to herein as an offloading parameter. For example, the offloading parameter may generally indicate when to offload cell measurements from the MR to the LP-WUR” (Sharma ¶ 0031-0032)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim and He with Sharma for the purpose of balancing a power saving effect of a WUR with reliable measurement results. According to Sharma: “Since the LP-SS is a different signal from the SSBs which are typically used for measurements, the UE may not want to give full control to the LP-SS based measurements depending on various factors such as channel conditions, mobility conditions (e.g., a fast or slow moving UE), UE location (e.g., cell-center or cell edge). Depending on such factors, the UE may offload some of the measurements (fewer in some cases, more in others) to the LP-WUR. Thus, performing cell reselection measurements using only the MR may consume power and reduce the power saving effect of the LP-WUR, whereas performing cell reselection measurements using only the LP-WUR may be less reliable or undesirable for the UE” (Sharma ¶ 0031).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim and He teach: The UE of claim 11.
Kim and He do not teach: determine whether to initiate the measurement on the at least one neighbor cell by the wake-up receiver for a first period is based on a first parameter for serving cell measurement of the wake-up receiver, and wherein the first parameter is predefined or is included in the wake-up signal reception-related information.
Regarding Claim 14, Sharma teaches: determine whether to initiate the measurement on the at least one neighbor cell by the wake-up receiver for a first period is based on a first parameter for serving cell measurement of the wake-up receiver: “For example, the UE may perform cell measurements in every DRX cycle, or in a subset of DRX cycles. In some deployments, an idle mode UE's MR may frequently wake up to perform the cell measurements, which may hamper the effectiveness of the LP-WUR. The UE can use the LP-WUR for cell measurements, which may consume less power relative to using the MR . . . In some aspects, the UE may perform (in accordance with the UE's DRX cycle) one or more first cell measurements using an MR of the UE and one or more second cell measurements using an LP-WUR of the UE. A quantity of the one or more first cell measurements, and a quantity of the one or more second cell measurements, may be in accordance with a parameter which may be referred to herein as an offloading parameter. For example, the offloading parameter may generally indicate when to offload cell measurements from the MR to the LP-WUR” (Sharma ¶ 0031-0032), and wherein the first parameter is predefined or is included in the wake-up signal reception-related information: “the configuration information may indicate a set of values for a parameter referred to herein as an offloading parameter. The offloading parameter may indicate (explicitly or implicitly) a quantity of first cell measurements and a quantity of second cell measurements. For example, the offloading parameter may indicate a distribution of first cell measurements and second cell measurements (such as a distribution in terms of an integer factor identifying which cell measurements are second cell measurements, or in terms of a duration in which cell measurements are second cell measurements). For example, the configuration information may include a set of values from which the offloading parameter can be selected. In some aspects, the set of values may include values for a factor R, described in more detail below. Additionally, or alternatively, the set of values may include values for a duration D, which is also described in more detail below. In some aspects, the set of values may be configured for a specific UE (e.g., via UE-specific signaling). In some aspects, the set of values may be configured for a group of UEs (e.g., via group signaling to the group of UEs). In some aspects, the set of values may be specific to a frequency range, where frequency ranges are defined elsewhere herein. For example, the configuration information may indicate or be associated with a frequency range for which the set of values are used” (Sharma ¶ 0437).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim and He with Sharma for the purpose of balancing a power saving effect of a WUR with reliable measurement results. According to Sharma: “Since the LP-SS is a different signal from the SSBs which are typically used for measurements, the UE may not want to give full control to the LP-SS based measurements depending on various factors such as channel conditions, mobility conditions (e.g., a fast or slow moving UE), UE location (e.g., cell-center or cell edge). Depending on such factors, the UE may offload some of the measurements (fewer in some cases, more in others) to the LP-WUR. Thus, performing cell reselection measurements using only the MR may consume power and reduce the power saving effect of the LP-WUR, whereas performing cell reselection measurements using only the LP-WUR may be less reliable or undesirable for the UE” (Sharma ¶ 0031).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim and He teach: The UE of claim 14.
Kim and He do not teach: the first period is predefined or is included in the wake-up signal reception-related information, and wherein the first period differs from a second period for determining whether to initiate neighbor cell measurement in the main radio of the UE.
Regarding Claim 16, Sharma teaches: the first period is predefined or is included in the wake-up signal reception-related information, and wherein the first period differs from a second period for determining whether to initiate neighbor cell measurement in the main radio of the UE: “For example, the UE may perform cell measurements in every DRX cycle, or in a subset of DRX cycles. In some deployments, an idle mode UE's MR may frequently wake up to perform the cell measurements, which may hamper the effectiveness of the LP-WUR. The UE can use the LP-WUR for cell measurements, which may consume less power relative to using the MR . . . In some aspects, the UE may perform (in accordance with the UE's DRX cycle) one or more first cell measurements using an MR of the UE and one or more second cell measurements using an LP-WUR of the UE. A quantity of the one or more first cell measurements, and a quantity of the one or more second cell measurements, may be in accordance with a parameter which may be referred to herein as an offloading parameter. For example, the offloading parameter may generally indicate when to offload cell measurements from the MR to the LP-WUR” (Sharma ¶ 0031-0032)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim and He with Sharma for the purpose of balancing a power saving effect of a WUR with reliable measurement results. According to Sharma: “Since the LP-SS is a different signal from the SSBs which are typically used for measurements, the UE may not want to give full control to the LP-SS based measurements depending on various factors such as channel conditions, mobility conditions (e.g., a fast or slow moving UE), UE location (e.g., cell-center or cell edge). Depending on such factors, the UE may offload some of the measurements (fewer in some cases, more in others) to the LP-WUR. Thus, performing cell reselection measurements using only the MR may consume power and reduce the power saving effect of the LP-WUR, whereas performing cell reselection measurements using only the LP-WUR may be less reliable or undesirable for the UE” (Sharma ¶ 0031).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim and He teach: The base station of claim 17.
Kim and He do not teach: wake-up signal reception-related information includes a first parameter for serving cell measurement of the wake-up receiver, and wherein the first parameter is used to determine whether to initiate measurement on the at least one neighbor cell in the wake-up receiver for a first period and is related to a difference between signals received by the wake-up receiver and the main radio of the UE.
Regarding Claim 20, Sharma teaches: wake-up signal reception-related information includes a first parameter for serving cell measurement of the wake-up receiver: “the configuration information may indicate a set of values for a parameter referred to herein as an offloading parameter. The offloading parameter may indicate (explicitly or implicitly) a quantity of first cell measurements and a quantity of second cell measurements. For example, the offloading parameter may indicate a distribution of first cell measurements and second cell measurements (such as a distribution in terms of an integer factor identifying which cell measurements are second cell measurements, or in terms of a duration in which cell measurements are second cell measurements). For example, the configuration information may include a set of values from which the offloading parameter can be selected. In some aspects, the set of values may include values for a factor R, described in more detail below. Additionally, or alternatively, the set of values may include values for a duration D, which is also described in more detail below. In some aspects, the set of values may be configured for a specific UE (e.g., via UE-specific signaling). In some aspects, the set of values may be configured for a group of UEs (e.g., via group signaling to the group of UEs). In some aspects, the set of values may be specific to a frequency range, where frequency ranges are defined elsewhere herein. For example, the configuration information may indicate or be associated with a frequency range for which the set of values are used” (Sharma ¶ 0437), wherein the first parameter is used to determine whether to initiate measurement on the at least one neighbor cell in the wake-up receiver for a first period and is related to a difference between signals received by the wake-up receiver and the main radio of the UE: “For example, the UE may perform cell measurements in every DRX cycle, or in a subset of DRX cycles. In some deployments, an idle mode UE's MR may frequently wake up to perform the cell measurements, which may hamper the effectiveness of the LP-WUR. The UE can use the LP-WUR for cell measurements, which may consume less power relative to using the MR . . . In some aspects, the UE may perform (in accordance with the UE's DRX cycle) one or more first cell measurements using an MR of the UE and one or more second cell measurements using an LP-WUR of the UE. A quantity of the one or more first cell measurements, and a quantity of the one or more second cell measurements, may be in accordance with a parameter which may be referred to herein as an offloading parameter. For example, the offloading parameter may generally indicate when to offload cell measurements from the MR to the LP-WUR” (Sharma ¶ 0031-0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim and He with Sharma for the purpose of balancing a power saving effect of a WUR with reliable measurement results. According to Sharma: “Since the LP-SS is a different signal from the SSBs which are typically used for measurements, the UE may not want to give full control to the LP-SS based measurements depending on various factors such as channel conditions, mobility conditions (e.g., a fast or slow moving UE), UE location (e.g., cell-center or cell edge). Depending on such factors, the UE may offload some of the measurements (fewer in some cases, more in others) to the LP-WUR. Thus, performing cell reselection measurements using only the MR may consume power and reduce the power saving effect of the LP-WUR, whereas performing cell reselection measurements using only the LP-WUR may be less reliable or undesirable for the UE” (Sharma ¶ 0031).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, He, and Sharma as applied to claims 4 and 14 above, and further in view of Reial et al. (US 2022/0232476), hereinafter Reial.
Regarding Claim 5, Kim, He, and Sharma teach: The method of claim 4.
Kim, He, and Sharma do not teach: the first parameter is related to a difference between signals received by the wake-up receiver and the main radio of the UE.
Regarding Claim 5, Reial teaches: the first parameter is related to a difference between signals received by the wake-up receiver and the main radio of the UE: “In situations where the receiver requirements are more relaxed for reception of the WUS compared to the reception of regular data, this would then be taken into account when determining the link quality. As a specific example, if the noise figure is 10 dB higher for the Wake-Up Radio (WUR), i.e. the receiver or receiver configuration used for receiving the WUS, than for the main radio, i.e. the receiver or receiver configuration used for non-WUS signals such as control signals or data transmissions, this link quality for the reception of the WUS would be assumed to be 10 dB worse than for the main radio. This difference in noise figure may either be caused by that a dedicated low power receiver, i.e. the receiver or receiver configuration used for receiving the WUS, is used for the reception of the WUS, or it may be due to that the gain in the receiver's LNA is reduced for the reception of the WUS in order to reduce the power consumption. As stated above, the NW node selects one or more WUS transmission modes/formats based on the robustness and the link quality. The NW node may select the format that provides the required robustness for the estimated channel quality while requiring the least resources and/or providing the maximal signalling/payload capacity. The NW node may also consider UE operating constraints like the number of antennas or BW limits” (Reial ¶ 0051-0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim, He, and Sharma with Reial for the purpose of balancing a power saving effect of a WUR with reliable measurement results. According to Reial: “a missed WUS may result in multiple missed PDCCH/PDSCH and even trigger radio link failure (RLF) status. To ensure that usage of WUS actually results in a reduction of the energy consumption, therefore, WUS reception is desired to be robust, which however is more resource consuming. It is therefore a desire to provide a solution where WUS robustness and resource consumption are balanced” (Reial ¶ 0007-0008).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim, He, and Sharma teach: The UE of claim 14.
Kim, He, and Sharma do not teach: the first parameter is related to a difference between signals received by the wake-up receiver and the main radio of the UE.
Regarding Claim 15, Reial teaches: the first parameter is related to a difference between signals received by the wake-up receiver and the main radio of the UE: “In situations where the receiver requirements are more relaxed for reception of the WUS compared to the reception of regular data, this would then be taken into account when determining the link quality. As a specific example, if the noise figure is 10 dB higher for the Wake-Up Radio (WUR), i.e. the receiver or receiver configuration used for receiving the WUS, than for the main radio, i.e. the receiver or receiver configuration used for non-WUS signals such as control signals or data transmissions, this link quality for the reception of the WUS would be assumed to be 10 dB worse than for the main radio. This difference in noise figure may either be caused by that a dedicated low power receiver, i.e. the receiver or receiver configuration used for receiving the WUS, is used for the reception of the WUS, or it may be due to that the gain in the receiver's LNA is reduced for the reception of the WUS in order to reduce the power consumption. As stated above, the NW node selects one or more WUS transmission modes/formats based on the robustness and the link quality. The NW node may select the format that provides the required robustness for the estimated channel quality while requiring the least resources and/or providing the maximal signalling/payload capacity. The NW node may also consider UE operating constraints like the number of antennas or BW limits” (Reial ¶ 0051-0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Kim, He, and Sharma with Reial for the purpose of balancing a power saving effect of a WUR with reliable measurement results. According to Reial: “a missed WUS may result in multiple missed PDCCH/PDSCH and even trigger radio link failure (RLF) status. To ensure that usage of WUS actually results in a reduction of the energy consumption, therefore, WUS reception is desired to be robust, which however is more resource consuming. It is therefore a desire to provide a solution where WUS robustness and resource consumption are balanced” (Reial ¶ 0007-0008).
Conclusion
/B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473