DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Embodiment 1, Claims 1-8 and 11-20 in the reply filed on 08/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/24/2024, 05/22/2025 and 11/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the push body" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11-13, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhong et al. [US 2023/0090245].
Claim 1, Zohong et al. discloses a push rod assembly [figures 4 and 5], comprising: a push rod [35]; an auxiliary movable contact part [6/62], the auxiliary movable contact part comprises an auxiliary movable contact piece [6] and an auxiliary movable contact [62], an end portion of the auxiliary movable contact piece being provided with the auxiliary movable contact [figure 7]; and an isolation cover [7], the isolation cover being connected to the push rod and the auxiliary movable contact piece [figure 4], so that the isolation cover and the auxiliary movable contact part follow the push rod; the isolation cover covers the auxiliary movable contact to isolate the auxiliary movable contact from a main movable contact part [4]; and the isolation cover is configured to extend an creepage distance from the main movable contact part to the auxiliary movable contact part [as illustrated, the isolation cover is located between the main movable contact part and the auxiliary movable contact to insulate them, this arrangement inherently increases the distance a current has to travel between the main movable contact part and the auxiliary movable contact; paragraph 0058].
Claim 2, Zohong et al. discloses the push rod assembly according to claim 1, wherein a part [portions of 6 between 61; figure 9] of the auxiliary movable contact piece [6] is wrapped inside a part of the isolation cover [7; paragraph 0066], a rest part [portions of 6 from 61 to 62; figure 9] of the auxiliary movable contact piece [6] extends from the part of the isolation cover; another part of the isolation cover [71] covers the rest part of the auxiliary movable contact piece auxiliary movable contact piece extending from the isolation cover and the auxiliary movable contact [figures 7-9].
Claim 3, Zohong et al. discloses the push rod assembly according to claim 2, wherein the isolation cover comprises a main body [72] and a cover case [73], wherein: the main body is connected to the push rod [via 31] and the auxiliary movable contact piece [6]; the cover case is connected to the main body [figure 7], and the cover case covers the rest part of the auxiliary movable contact piece extending from the main body and the auxiliary movable contact [figures 7-9].
Claim 4, Zohong et al. discloses the push rod assembly according to claim 3, wherein along a length direction of the auxiliary movable contact piece [6], both ends of the auxiliary movable contact piece are provided with the auxiliary movable contacts [62; figures 7-9]; a number of the cover case [73] is two [one on either side of 72; figures 7-9], and the two cover cases are placed on an opposite side of the main body [72] along the length direction of the auxiliary movable contact piece [figures 7-9], and each cover case cover the auxiliary movable contacts at a same end of the auxiliary movable contact piece [figures 7-9].
Claim 6, Zohong et al. discloses the push rod assembly according to claim 4, wherein in the direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the push rod, the cover cases are provided with openings [figures 7-9].
Claim 7, Zohong et al. discloses the push rod assembly according to claim 6, wherein along an arrangement direction of two cover cases [73], each cover case is provided with one opening on a side facing away from another cover case [figures 7-9].
Claim 8, as best understood, Zohong et al. discloses the push rod assembly according to claim 7, wherein the cover case comprising: two first plate bodies [73], the two first plate bodies are oppositely arranged, and an arrangement direction of the two first plate bodies is perpendicular to the axial direction of the push body and the length direction of the auxiliary movable contact piece [figures 7-9]; a second plate body [not labeled, the portion that connect U shaped 72 to middle portion 72], along the length direction of the auxiliary movable contact piece, the second plate body connects to ends of the two first plate bodies facing the main body [figures 7-9]; a top plate [74], the top plate connects to the two first plate bodies [73] and the second plate body, to form a chamber for accommodating the auxiliary movable contact [6; figures 7-9]; the top plate and two first plate bodies form openings on sides facing away from the main body [figures 7-9].
Claim 11, Zohong et al. discloses the push rod assembly according to claim 3, wherein the push rod assembly further comprises a contact bracket [31/33], the contact bracket connects to the isolation cover [7], and the contact bracket follows the push rod [figure 4 and 5].
Claim 12, Zohong et al. discloses the push rod assembly according to claim 11, wherein the contact bracket [31/33] is connected to the push rod [35], the auxiliary movable contact part and the isolation cover by integral injection molding [figure 7]. The Examiner notes that the limitation of “the auxiliary movable contact part and the isolation cover by integral injection molding” is considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
Claim 13, Zohong et al. discloses the push rod assembly according to claim11, wherein the contact bracket [31/33] comprises a bottom plate [31], an upper plate and two side plates arranged oppositely [33; figure 5], along the axial direction of the push rod, two side plates are located on a same side of the bottom plate, and the upper plate is connected to another end of the two side plates facing away from the bottom plate [figure 5].
Claim 16, Zohong et al. discloses the push rod assembly according to a claim 3, wherein along an axial direction of the push rod [35], a spring member [32] is installed at a side of the isolation cover facing away from the push rod.
Claim 18, Zohong et al. discloses 18. (Original) The push rod assembly according to claim 1, wherein the isolation cover connects to the push rod and the auxiliary movable contact part by integral injection molding [figures 7-9]. The Examiner notes that the limitation of “the isolation cover connects to the push rod and the auxiliary movable contact part by integral injection molding” is considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
Claim 19, Zohong et al. discloses a relay [abs, figure 1], comprising a push rod assembly according to claim 1.
Claim 20, Zohong et al. discloses the relay according to claim 19, wherein further comprises a yoke plate [83] and an auxiliary lead-out piece [5], the auxiliary lead-out piece and the push rod of the push rod assembly runs through the yoke plate, the auxiliary lead-out piece is provided with an auxiliary static contact corresponding to the auxiliary movable contact at a side of the yoke plate facing the auxiliary movable contact part [figure 1].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 14, 15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837