Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding the summary, page 4 lines 1-2 “will be become readily apparent” should read
“will become readily apparent”.
Regarding the detailed description, page 4 line 14 “susceptible of embodiment” should read “susceptible to embodiment”.
Also in the detailed description, page 5 line 22, “treatment surface or boot 20” should read “treatment surface 20a or boot 20”.
Appropriate correction is required.
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are:
Multiple terms are used for the “boot”, including “head” and “treating surface”. It is recommended that only one term is used when describing said “boot” to ensure clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kal (U.S Patent No. 10,561,578) .
Regarding claim 4, Kal teaches a machine comprising;
A tuning fork having tines connected to an elongated shaft (fig. 2A, tuning fork 50 annotated below), a handle surrounding the shaft with an annular space therebetween (page 9 col. 2 lines 48-49 state a “substantially hollow cylindrical body” & fig. 2A annotated below) the handle sized for a user to grasp the handle (page 9 col. 2 lines 51-55, “ergonomically designed”), the shaft connected to the handle at a forward position furthest from the tines (fig. 2A, tuning fork 50 and handle 10 with tines 52a & 52b annotated below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kal in view of Maichel (U.S Patent No. 10,9005,621).
Regarding claim 1, Kal discloses a therapeutic vibration device for applying vibration to
a patient, comprising: a vibration generator having an end (fig. 2A, tuning fork 50 annotated above) and; a handle attached to the end of the vibration generator (page 9 col. 2 lines 46-47 state “In one embodiment, the assembly 1 includes a handle 10 and a tuning fork 50.", further shown in fig. 2A annotated above); the handle connected to the vibration generator at a position close to the treatment surface (page 9 col. 1 lines 22-34 describe “a tuning fork handle assembly to consistently distribute vibrations caused by a tuning fork into a handle coupled to that tuning fork… the handle portion includes tips that transfer these vibrations to be extended throughout the body”) allowing an annular space between the handle and the vibration generator throughout most of the length of the handle (fig. 2A annotated above).
Kal lacks a bumpy treatment surface.
However, Maichel teaches having a bumpy treatment (fig. 1A annotated below) surface sized and shaped to contact a patient (page 2 col. 2 lines 11-14 “so that the massage pad…is in good contact with the massaged body portion”) to transmit vibrations to the patient for therapeutic benefits (page 10 col. 5 lines 30-36 describe driven motions such as “linear vibration”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface of the boot of Kal to be bumpy as taught by Maichel as to provide known therapeutic effects.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kal in view of Maichel teaches the therapeutic vibration device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the vibration generator comprises a tuning fork having tines connected to an elongated shaft (page 9 col. 2 lines 46-47 "In one embodiment, the assembly 1 includes a handle 10 and a tuning fork 50." and fig. 2A annotated above), the handle surrounding the shaft with an annular space therebetween (page 9 col. 2 lines 48-49 state a “substantially hollow cylindrical body” & fig. 2A annotated below), the handle sized for a user to grasp the handle (page 9 col. 2 lines 51-55, “ergonomically designed” description), the shaft connected to the handle at a forward position furthest from the tines (fig. 2A, tuning fork 50 and handle 10 with tines 52a & 52b annotated above).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kal in view of Maichel teaches the therapeutic vibration device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the treatment surface has a convex surface with individual spaced-apart bumps (abstract states "a convex base surface, and at least one massage projection extending from the base surface" and shown fig. 1A annotated below).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nogami (U.S Patent No 7,381,193) is cited to show additional tuning fork vibrational devices.
/MARY K HETEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785