DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
No amendments were submitted.
Claims 1 - 5, 7 - 10 and 21 - 29 are pending and have been examined.
The after-final response filed on September 14, 2026 has been entered herein.
In response to Applicant arguments considered in the after-final response, this action has been made a SECOND NON-FINAL.
Response to Arguments
The after-final response filed on September 14, 2026 has been entered herein and the corresponding Applicant arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant's arguments against the 101 rejection of pending claims in pages 12-16: Applicant’s arguments directed to Step 2A prong one and prong two from the 101 analysis were considered. However, these arguments are not persuasive and the Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
For Step 2A-Prong 1 starting in p. 12: The Applicant alleges that “a human mind cannot conceivably generate executable code, let alone execute executable code.” However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees since these arguments are unpersuasive. Because Applicant's arguments, directed in part to the step of "generating" "executable code" at least can still be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper since a human can write (i.e. generate) the "executable code". As for the arguments regarding the step of "executing" the code to implement as a "cloud management action", the Examiner, upon re-evaluation of this limitation and the other claim limitations believes that these are considered to be reciting the abstract idea of “fundamental economic principles or practices” by analyzing “cloud information” related to cloud computing resources to determine “cloud management actions” that are implemented to achieve the end result of managing and reducing cloud computing resources as well as cleaning data to optimize the performance of cloud computing platforms resulting in “cost-effective solutions” or solutions that reduces costs to avoid risks such as “disaster recovery” of the cloud computing platforms and penalties due to high “carbon emissions” for a business (as disclosed in ¶0004 – 5 from specs). Even if Applicant does not concede, at Step 2A Prong 2, the claim which also recites mental process in certain steps, excluding the "executing" of the "executable code" step, which was considered as an additional element at Step 2A Prong 2. Please refer to the Step 2A Prong 2 analysis in the 35 USC 101 rejection section of this OA which has been detailed with a complete explanation for purposes of clarity and compact prosecution.
For Step 2A-Prong 2 and Step 2B starting in p. 14: The Applicant alleges that the claims integrate, the judicial exception identified, into a practical application and further alleges the invention provides "an improvement in the existing technological field of cloud computing". However, the Examiner finds these arguments unpersuasive and respectfully disagrees. Because the claims are further describing the end-result of “executing” the “executable code” to implement “cloud management actions” to address "cloud computing limitations". In other words, the claims are "reciting how the determined cloud management action is implemented", as asserted by the Applicant in pp.15 and 16 from Remarks, which is still part of the abstract idea. Thus, the alleged “improvement” to cloud computing technology is not reflected. Rather, such claim steps are reciting the improvement of the abstract idea itself and/or define the abstract idea itself. Meaning, the claims further narrow the abstract idea identified and their specificity in the limitations of claim does not necessarily equate to eligibility. For instance, In buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court stated that "abstract ideas, no matter how groundbreaking, innovative, or even brilliant, are outside what the statute means by "new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter", and reference is made to Myriad by the court for this position. Also stated in buySAFE is "In defining the excluded categories, the Court has ruled that the exclusion applies if a claim involves a natural law or phenomenon or abstract idea, even if the particular natural law or phenomenon or abstract idea at issue is narrow. Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1303. The Court in Mayo rejected the contention that the very narrow scope of the natural law at issue was a reason to find patent eligibility, explaining the point with reference to both natural laws and one kind of abstract idea, namely, mathematical concepts.
Thus, these claim limitations describe the abstract idea for the end-result of executing operations to efficiently optimize and manage cloud computing environment’ infrastructure, energy consumption and capacity when handling the user’s digital assets and avoid digital waste while increasing carbon credits without reciting sufficient details of the computer functioning improvements or provide any meaningful limitations that, in an ordered combination provide “significantly more” or provide any integration into a practical application in the claims. Also, the “executing” step is generally linking the use of the abstract idea for implementing the cloud management actions to a particular technological environment or field of use such as cloud computing technology in computer environments. See MPEP 2106.05(h) for examples (iv), (ix) and (x)). Thus, these claim limitations invoked the use of a computer while using an AI models that are generally/broadly recited as a tool to perform an abstract idea(s) of determining cloud management solutions/actions to further execute a code to perform the solution or action determined (see MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and MPEP 2106.05(f)). For the same reasons, the claims cannot provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Therefore, as stated above, the Examiner respectfully disagrees, and maintains 35 USC § 101 rejection for these pending claims.
Regarding to Applicant's arguments of rejection under 35 USC § 103 for the pending claims in pages 17 – 20: Applicant’s arguments regarding the limitation steps of “generating” and “executing” “executable code” in the independent claims 1 and 21 are not persuasive. Because such arguments are now moot due to the new ground of rejection established in these last steps which do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please, refer to the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 section for further details wherein the reference of Subramanian (U.S. Patent No. 10452441 B1) now satisfies the step of “executing” the code.
Applicant’s arguments regarding these amended limitation steps in the pending claims are not persuasive. Firstly, because Applicant is focusing on each prior art teaching, rather than focusing on the actual language claimed in each claim limitation and how their corresponding limitation steps are different from the prior art teachings. Thus, these alleged features are not actually claimed in this exact manner. Rather, the steps disclose a broader language that the prior art combination of Chen and Gebhart, still reasonably satisfies and teaches in light of the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim language. Specifically, because the Applicant is arguments about the limitations of “generating” an “executable code” that is generated in response to and after determining a cloud management action to further “execute” it while considering specific and different limitations addressed when determining and utilizing the cloud management action, that upon review, are still taught by Chen in view of Gebhart due to broader language the claim language discloses which still is satisfied by Gebhart for the execution of an executable code or “a command” to “take an action changing a state of the cloud system” wherein such command to take action (i.e. directed to a cloud management action) can be “suspend operation of the software or a portion (e.g., specific functionality, component) thereof”, but can “depend upon factors other than cost” such as security/compliance policies see ¶0035 - 36; Gebhart). Also, different commands for action can be issued that can depend “upon the result of processing the inputs according to the ruleset” as well as from direct “user instructions” to “handle operations in a particular manner” (see ¶0037 and ¶0048; Gebhart) which is another example of an executable code. Further, Chen attends the analysis of a request and determination a “power usage” attributable to that request (see ¶0060 – 61; Chen) as well as, upon a service’s power consumption determination, “sustainability impact may be determined” which the “may depend at least in part on the efficiency of the infrastructure” and “power consumption efficiencies may be indicated by the power usage efficiency (PUE) metric” (see ¶0064 – 65; Chen). Therefore, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains 35 USC § 103 rejection for these pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 - 5, 7 - 10 and 21 - 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The analysis of this claimed invention recited in the claims begins in view of independent claim 1, the most representative claim of the independent claims set 1 and 21, as follows:
At Step 1: Claims 1-5 and 7-10 falls under statutory category of a process, while claims 21-29 are directed to a machine.
At Step 2A Prong 1: Claim 1 (representative of claim 21) recites an abstract idea in the following limitations:
receiving…at least one request from at least one user;
receiving…cloud information obtained…associated with the one or more clouds of the user…
analyzing…the cloud information by providing the cloud usage information, the resource allocation information, and the resource utilization information as input…
determining…at least one cloud management action for managing the at least one cloud…based on the analyzing…
generating…at least one management information based on the determining of the at least one cloud management action…; and
transmitting…the at least one management information; and
generating…executable code configured to implement the at least one cloud management action…to address the one or more limitations…; and
… implement the at least one cloud management action
Generally, and as disclosed in the specification in ¶0009 and ¶0004, this claimed invention provides a system and a “method for facilitating managing clouds for a user” for providing “cost-effective solutions to optimally utilize cloud computing platforms”, “recycling unused digital assets” and “optimal data storage using cloud computing platforms” and the like, respectively. Further, the claimed invention is intended for “digital recycling of unused, redundant, and/or unrequired digital assets” (i.e. deduplicating and removing redundant data; see ¶0006 from Applicant disclosure). However, the abstract idea(s) of a certain method of organizing human activity (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II) are/is recited in claim 1 in the form of “fundamental economic principles or practices”. Specifically, the abstract idea is recited in the step(s) as these are directed in part to analyze “cloud information” related to cloud computing resources to determine “cloud management actions” that are implemented to achieve the end result of managing and reducing cloud computing resources as well as cleaning data to optimize the performance of cloud computing platforms resulting in “cost-effective solutions” or solutions that reduces costs and the avoidance of risks such as “disaster recovery” of the cloud computing platforms and penalties due to high “carbon emissions” for a business (as disclosed in ¶0004 – 5 from specs).
Further, certain claim limitations recites mental processes that can be practically performed in the human mind or in pen and paper (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III). Specifically, the abstract idea is recited in the step(s) directed in part to “receiving” requests and “cloud information obtained”, “analyzing…the cloud information…”, “determining…at least one cloud management action for managing the at least one cloud provided”, “generating…at least one management information based on the determining of the at least one cloud management action …” and “transmitting…the at least one management information”. Because receiving cloud-related data and requests to analyze the data and determine cloud management actions to further generate management information to later transmit it at least encompasses concepts that can be performed in the human mind as these steps require observation, evaluation and judgement. Also, these steps can either be done with the help of physical aid such as pen and paper or can be performed by humans without or with the assistance (e.g. tool) a computer. Thus, the steps do not negate and further still reads in the mental nature of the limitation(s), when obtaining and analyzing such cloud-related information to determine actions, as well as the concept is merely claimed to be performed on a generic computer and is merely using a computer as a tool to perform the concept of analyzing cloud-related data and its actions in order to resolve the user request and de-duplicate data so it can be removed or recycled (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B & C)).
At Step 2A Prong 2: For independent claims 1 and 21, The judicial exception(s) or abstract idea previously identified is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04 (d)). The claims recite the additional element(s) of using a communication device, scanning cloud devices, one or more artificial intelligence models, at least one cloud platform, the step of executing, using the processing device or the at least one cloud platform, the executable code and the step of executing, using the processing device or the at least one cloud platform, the executable code and the step “determining” cloud management actions using the AI models. These additional elements, individually and in combination, and while considering the claims as a whole, are merely used as a tool to perform the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Specifically, these steps are recited as being performed by the computer. The computer further uses the AI models is recited at a high level of generality that is being used as a tool to perform the generic computer functions for determining the cloud management actions to manage and optimize the cloud data storage and infrastructure for storage efficiency. Further, the step of “executing an executable code” is generally linking the use of the abstract idea for implementing the cloud management actions to a particular technological environment or field of use such as cloud computing technology in computer environments. See MPEP 2106.05(h) for examples (iv), (ix) and (x)). Thus, these steps mentioned above are further describing and applying the abstract idea without placing any limits on how the technological components are being improved, while distinguishing in the claim language, the performing limitations from functions that generic computer components can perform.
Step 2B: For independent claims 1 and 21, these claims do not provide an inventive concept. The recited additional elements of the claim(s) are the following: using a communication device, scanning cloud devices, one or more artificial intelligence models, at least one cloud platform, the step of executing, using the processing device or the at least one cloud platform, the executable code and the step “determining” cloud management actions using the AI models. These additional elements are not sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception or abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05). Because, as indicated in Step 2A Prong 2, these additional element(s) claimed are merely, instructions to “apply” the abstract ideas, which cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, which do not provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
For dependent claims 2 - 5, 7 - 10 and 22 - 29, the same analysis is incorporated. Due to their dependency to the independent claims analyzed, these claims cover or fall under the same abstract idea(s) of a mental process. They describe additional limitations steps of:
Claims 2 - 5, 7 - 10 and 22 - 29: further describes the abstract idea of the method for facilitating and managing one or more clouds for a user and determinations of spending/pricing information, “digital waste” analysis and “cloud metrics” to generate “spending optimization recommendations”, “management information” (i.e. optimization reports) and “questionnaires” for cloud data analysis to determine corresponding management actions as well as calculations of “reduced energy consumption and/or reduced carbon emission” which are also encompassing mental processes performed mentally and/or in pen and paper that further require observation, evaluation and judgement.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: For dependent claims 2 - 5, 7 - 10 and 22 - 29, are merely reciting further embellishments of the abstract idea and do not amount to anything that is significantly more than the abstract idea itself. In other words, none of the dependent claims recite an improvement to a technology or technical field or provide any meaningful limitations that, in an ordered combination provide “significantly more” or provide any integration into a practical application. Rather, the dependent claims are merely further reciting features that are just as abstract as independent Claims 1 and 21. Nothing additional is claimed that is not part of the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 5, 7, 9 - 10, 21 - 26 and 28 - 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. Pub No. 20140324407 A1) in view of Gebhart (U.S. Pub No. 20210349851 A1) in further view of Subramanian (U.S. Patent No. 10452441 B1).
Regarding claims 1 and 21:
This independent claim set is represented by claim 1.
Chen discloses “systems and methods” to “help identify dependencies, and relate these dependencies to infrastructure, to provide a better understanding of power consumption at the service-level” wherein such services are “individual services executing in data center(s), including cross-platform data centers such as the cloud” (see ¶0014; Chen). Thus, Chen teaches:
receiving, using a communication device, at least one request from at least one user device associated with the user; (In ¶0059 – 60; Fig. 6: teaching determining a received request from a client; see also Figure 6; Further in ¶0021 teaching inputs into the computer environment.)
receiving, using the communication device, cloud information obtained by scanning cloud devices associated with the one or more clouds of the user, wherein the cloud information including cloud usage information associated with the one or more clouds, resource allocation information associated with the one or more clouds, and resource utilization information associated with the one or more clouds, (In ¶0023: teaching an “analyzer 105” that read and “have access to at least one source 115 of information for the data center(s), including cross-platform data centers such as an internal or external cloud, used to provide a service” (i.e. directed to scanning or reading data and pulling/accessing it from the cloud devices) wherein “the source 115” includes “databases for providing historical information, and/or monitoring for providing real-time data” and the information may be “unprocessed or “raw” data, or the content may undergo at least some level of processing”, in accordance to the example for “scanning” cloud devices to “pull all the usage data and information” given in ¶0153 from Applicant disclosure. See ¶0059 – 60 wherein upon receiving a request, “a service performs some processing by itself” or send requests to other services to process/aggregate “replies” to the requests and send results “back to the requesting service” wherein such results are “service dependency” information that can “be modeled as a direct acyclic graph (DAG)” to further determine “power use” from the service.)
wherein the cloud information including cloud usage information associated with the one or more clouds, resource allocation information associated with the one or more clouds, and resource utilization information associated with the one or more clouds, (In ¶0014 – 15: teaching upon modelling “service-level power consumption of individual services executing in data center(s), including cross-platform data centers such as the cloud”, “consumers of services can use [the] output from the determinations to help select a service and/or service provider based at least in part on their own power consumption preferences (e.g., economical, ecological, and/or social preferences). Service providers and their managers can also use output from the determinations as a competitive advantage, for example, if the service provider can show lower power consumption relative to their competition” which is directed to the cloud usage information. See ¶0059 – 61 for details of outputted results that are “service dependency” information that can “be modeled as a direct acyclic graph (DAG)” to further determine “indirect power consumption” which is another example of cloud information.)
wherein the one or more clouds are provided to the user by at least one cloud platform; (In ¶0038: teaching this descriptive matter as “results may be output for a user, e.g., in dashboard 350 or by data center management systems (e.g., a service workload management tool)” which is directed to providing the user with clouds by at least a cloud platform to make the necessary adjustments/actions. See ¶0014 – 15 wherein upon modelling “service-level power consumption of individual services executing in data center(s), including cross-platform data centers such as the cloud”, “consumers of services can use [the] output from the determinations to help select a service and/or service provider based at least in part on their own power consumption preferences (e.g., economical, ecological, and/or social preferences). Service providers and their managers can also use output from the determinations as a competitive advantage, for example, if the service provider can show lower power consumption relative to their competition.”)
generating, using the processing device, at least one management information based on the determining of the at least one cloud management action, wherein the at least one management information facilitates a performing of the at least one cloud management action for the managing of the at least one cloud; and (In ¶0064 – 65: teaching that “after determining the power consumption of a service, the sustainability impact may be determined” which “may depend at least in part on the efficiency of the infrastructure” and “power consumption efficiencies may be indicated by the power usage efficiency (PUE) metric”.)
transmitting, using the communication device, the at least one management information; and (In ¶0077: teaching providing the data to an end-user interface; see also ¶0040 teaching display of the results in a report format for management or a customer.)
executing, using the processing device or the at least one cloud platform, the executable code to implement the at least one cloud management action at the least one cloud platform. (In ¶0029 – 30; Fig. 2 (200); Figs. 3 – 4: teaching in Fig. 2 an example “architecture 200 of machine readable instructions” that are included in the “program code” that is “executed to quantify power consumption”. Further, these “machine-readable instructions” of the code are “executable by one or more processor to perform the operations described herein”. Thus, “the program code executes the function of the architecture of machine readable instructions as self-contained modules” that are “integrated within a self-standing tool, or may be implemented as agents that run on top of an existing program code”, which is another example of executing the executable code. See ¶0027 wherein “the program code 150 for providing these management tools may be executed by any suitable computing device to identify access patterns by the client 120 for content at a remote source. In addition, the program code may serve one or more than one client 120.” See ¶0036 – 39 wherein “example implementation of the program code is illustrated with reference to FIG. 3” specifically “for modeling power consumption and evaluation for sustainability” resulting in outputs that include “information in terms of economic cost 410 for different services 405 and/or ecological cost 415, e.g., based on quantified power consumption. It is noted that the results may include any type of information and is not limited to the data shown in FIG. 4. In addition, the results may be interpreted by a user and/or submitted as input to additional processing components” which is directed to implementing cloud management actions.)
analyzing, using a processing device, the cloud information by providing the cloud usage information, the resource allocation information, and the resource utilization information as input to one or more artificial intelligence models (In ¶0059 – 60: teaching the processing of results by “the first service that the client directly interacts with, and a final reply is sent back by the first service to the client” with a DAG modelling “service dependency” data and the “service in question has been characterized” to analyze it and determine a “power usage” attributable to that request based on different modeling such as a “direct acyclic graph” (DAG). Regarding the input to one more artificial intelligence models, this is further addressed below.)
However, Chen fails to expressly teach the abilities of inputting cloud information to AI models, determining, specifically with AI models execution and analysis, one or more cloud management actions, and generate an executable code to address the one or more limitations in response to and after determining cloud management actions for cloud management. Thus, Gebhart which discloses “methods and apparatuses implementing intelligent control over software programs being hosted by remote cloud providers and private clouds” (see ¶0004; Gebhart), which teaches:
…providing the cloud usage information, the resource allocation information, and the resource utilization information as input to one or more artificial intelligence models (In ¶0058; Fig. 2 (206): teaching “at 206, the operational data and the experiential data are processed with reference to a data layer (e.g., ruleset and/or neural network AI), to generate a query” and at “208 the query is issued to the data layer. At 210, a query result is received including a cost value.”)
determining, using the processing device and based on execution of the one or more artificial intelligence models, at least one cloud management action for managing the at least one cloud provided by the at least one cloud platform based on the analyzing by the one or more artificial intelligence models, (In ¶0060; Fig. 2 (212): teaching “at 212, based upon the query result an actuator is commanded to act upon the software”. In other words, and as further disclosed in ¶0035, “based upon the query result (including the cost value) and the ruleset and/or the neural network, the processing engine issues a command 136 to an actuator 138, to take an action changing a state of the cloud system” such as a command “for the actuator to suspend operation of the software or a portion (e.g., specific functionality, component) thereof. Such an action could be useful, for example, where the query result reveals a usage pattern that is expected to be light (e.g., the middle of the night, a weekend, holiday, or even scheduled vacation time of a particular user of a particular component of the cloud-hosted software).” See ¶0047 for other inputs that can be further considered when generating output commands to an actuator. Refer to ¶0020 teaching an intelligent control application side 116 that includes “a processing engine 118” and “a neural network artificial intelligence 172” that comprises the “data layer 170” and “intelligent control application side 116” that performs the invention.)
wherein the at least one cloud management action is utilized to address limitations corresponding to one or more of (1) redundant data, (2) inefficient storage methods, and (3) underutilized cloud computing resources, wherein the at least one cloud management action comprising modifying a deployment configuration, reallocating cloud resources, resizing infrastructure components, or migrating workloads between cloud resources (In ¶0105: teaching automatically de-provisioning or moving resources based on prices, carbon footprint, or both; see also, e.g., ¶0107 – 112 providing a determination of waste and a more efficient setup of migrating an operation from cloud provider 1 to cloud provider 2 to save costs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to apply the known technique of using artificial intelligence to input cloud information to determine and analyze cloud management actions (as disclosed by Gebhart) to the known method and system of quantifying cloud computing operations and usage data to determine cost and carbon footprint savings as cloud management actions (as disclosed by Chen). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the known technique of using artificial intelligence to perform this analysis because a trained neural network could “automatically analyze large amounts of data” (see Gebhart ¶0065) better than a human and would do it to save costs or reduce a carbon footprint to “continuously and/or automatically adjust the real infrastructure consumption to the needed infrastructure via automatic de-provisioning” (see Gebhart ¶0105). See also MPEP 2143.I.G. and MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
At least Gebhart teaches the executable code is generated in response to and after determining a cloud management action when using the AI models when “based upon the query result (including the cost value) and the ruleset and/or the neural network, the processing engine issues a command” to an actuator to take action “changing a state of the cloud system” wherein different commands for action can be issued that depend “upon the result of processing the inputs according to the ruleset” as well as from direct “user instructions” to “handle operations in a particular manner” (see ¶0035 – 37 and ¶0048; Gebhart). However, neither Chen or Gebhart expressly teach the ability of specifically generating an executable code to address the one or more cloud computing limitations. Thus, Subramanian which discloses a “computing resource allocation platform [that] may be capable of monitoring usage of the computing resources and/or performance of jobs for which the computing resources are being used to dynamically re-allocate the computing resources during performance of the jobs to adjust for deviations from performance predictions on which the computing resources were originally allocated” (see C3; L15 – 22; Subramanian) including the allocation of “cloud resources” and/or “resources of a data center remote to the computing resource allocation platform” (see C13; L6 – 11; Subramanian), which teaches:
generating, using the processing device, executable code configured to implement the at least one cloud management action on the at least one cloud platform to address the one or more limitations, wherein the executable code is generated in response to and after determining, from execution of the one or more artificial intelligence models, the at least one cloud management action for managing the at least one cloud; and (In C23; L21 – 32; Fig. 6 (650); Fig. 7 (750); Fig. 8 (850): teaching generating “a set of scripts related to causing the computing resources to be allocated for the job according to the allocation (block 650)”, based on the “real-time scoring” (RTS) “machine learning model” determining scores “for a predicted allocation of computing resources” from knowledge graphs and other data stored (see C16; L44 – 55), in accordance to the example given in ¶0167 from Applicant disclosure. See C25; L24 – 35 and C27; L29 – 40 for other examples shown in Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 of processes that based on the set of scores, “a set of scripts” is also generated. See C12; L1 – 17 for the use and modifications of “template instructions” for generating the set of scripts based on the RTS component score results to allocate a different amount of computing resources.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Gebhart to provide the ability of specifically generating an executable code to address the one or more cloud computing limitations, in response to and after determining cloud management actions for cloud management, as taught by Subramanian in order to “allocate a particular amount and/or type of computing resource for the job, to perform particular tasks associated with the job, and/or the like”, “thereby efficiently using computing resources of the computing resource allocation platform.” (C12; L9 – 17; Subramanian). But also, Subramanian’s system generally provides “a tool that can more accurately allocate computing resources for a job and that can manage usage of the computing resources across multiple jobs at scale (e.g., can manage computing resources used for thousands, millions, or more jobs).” (C3; L22 – 27; Subramanian), see also MPEP 2143.I.G.
Regarding claims 2 and 22:
The combination of Chen and Gebhart, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 21, respectively.
Chen further teaches:
determining, using the processing device, actual spending corresponding to the usage information; obtaining, using the processing device, platform pricing information corresponding to a plurality of cloud platforms; (In ¶0038 – 39: teaching determining costs (i.e. analyzing “sustainability metrics”) based, e.g., on the “power consumption” attributable to the request and outputting, at a dashboard, “information in terms of economic cost 410 for different services 405 and/or ecological cost 415, e.g., based on quantified power consumption”. See ¶0015, ¶0026, and ¶0031 further teaching the determination of costs.)
comparing the potential spending with the actual spending, wherein determining the at least one management action is further based on the comparison. (In ¶0039 – 40; Fig. 4: teaching “example output for a dashboard 400” that include “information in terms of economic cost 410 for different services 405 and/or ecological cost 415, e.g., based on quantified power consumption” wherein “results may be interpreted by a user and/or submitted as input to additional processing components” and “results may be displayed in a report format (e.g., on a weekly, monthly, or quarterly basis) for management and/or to a customer for comparison with other service providers being considered for a project” Noting that Figure 4, as explained in ¶0039, provides for comparisons by color for economic costs 410.)
However, Chen fails to expressly teach the ability of analyzing the cloud platform pricing information and the actual spending using the AI models (i.e. ML models) to determine a potential spending based on the cloud usage information per cloud platform. Thus, Gebhart further teaches:
and analyzing, using the processing device, the platform pricing information and the actual spending using the one or more artificial intelligence models to determine a potential spending corresponding to the cloud usage information for each of the plurality of cloud platforms; and (In ¶0091 – 92; Fig. 4: teaches an example to “automatically separate mission critical software solutions” by the system (see ¶0087) at step 2., that “automatically compare the real infrastructure consumption (network, compute, storage) with the allocated resources” and “automatically collect real infrastructure cost information concerning the current setup, and potential cost information from other cloud providers (hyperscalers)”. Then, such analysis is performed in ¶0094, using “the focused O-data from step 2. above, embodiments may automatically predict the optimal usage of software solutions via machine learning (ML)”, in accordance with the example for determining potential spending using ML models given in ¶0116 from Applicant disclosure. See ¶0111 wherein “ICO references data stored in the data layer, and generates a recommendation to save cost.”. Refer to ¶0020 teaching an intelligent control application side 116 that includes “a processing engine 118” and “a neural network artificial intelligence 172” that comprises the “data layer 170” and “intelligent control application side 116” that performs the invention.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to apply the known technique of analyzing the cloud platform pricing information and the actual spending using the AI models (i.e. ML models) to determine a potential spending based on the cloud usage information per cloud platform (as disclosed by Gebhart) to the known method and system of quantifying cloud computing operations and usage data to determine cost and carbon footprint savings as cloud management actions (as disclosed by Chen). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the known technique of using artificial intelligence to perform this analysis because a trained neural network could “automatically analyze large amounts of data” (see Gebhart ¶0065) better than a human and would do it to save costs or reduce a carbon footprint to “continuously and/or automatically adjust the real infrastructure consumption to the needed infrastructure via automatic de-provisioning” (see Gebhart ¶0105). See also MPEP 2143.I.G. and MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Regarding claims 3 and 23:
The combination of Chen and Gebhart, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 21, respectively.
Chen further teaches:
determining, using the processing device, one or more cloud metrics of at least one cloud server of the one or more clouds; and (In ¶0059 – 60: teaching analyzing the request and determining a “power usage” attributable to that request.)
generating, using the processing device, at least one recommendation for optimizing a spending associated with the one or more clouds based on the one or more cloud metrics, wherein generating the at least one management information is further based on the at least one recommendation (In ¶0026: teaching using the invention to compare differences and reduce costs.)
Regarding claims 4 and 24:
The combination of Chen and Gebhart, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 21, respectively.
Chen further teaches:
determining, using the processing device, at least one current cloud infrastructure information identifying deployed cloud resources and configuration parameters of a current cloud infrastructure associated with one or more clouds based on the analyzing of the cloud information; analyzing, using the processing device, the at least one current cloud infrastructure information; (In ¶0059 – 60: teaching analyzing the request and determining a “power usage” attributable to that request. Noting that in ¶0014, ¶0023, and ¶0037, the processing environment 300 can be cloud services/resources.)
determining, using the processing device, a digital waste associated with the one or more clouds based on the analyzing of the at least one current cloud infrastructure information; and (In ¶0059 – 60: teaching analyzing the request and determining a “power usage” attributable to that request. Noting that in ¶0014, ¶0023, and ¶0037, the processing environment 300 can be cloud services/resources as well as in ¶0013 and ¶0025 – 26 teaching comparing different services or sites to determine how to do the service most sustainably.)
determining, using the processing device, at least one optimized cloud infrastructure information of an optimized cloud infrastructure associated with the one or more clouds based on the at least one current cloud infrastructure information, the digital waste, and the at least one cloud management action, (In ¶0059 – 60: teaching analyzing the request and determining a “power usage” attributable to that request. Noting that in ¶0014, ¶0023, and ¶0037, the processing environment 300 can be cloud services/resources.)
wherein generating the at least one management information is further based on the at least one optimized cloud infrastructure. (In ¶0026: teaching comparing differences to “reduce costs”.)
However, Chen fails to expressly teach the determination of a “digital waste,” as noted in the rejection of Claim 1 above. Thus, Gebhart teaches the migration of data or processing from one cloud to another (see Gebhart ¶0108 - 113) including for the purpose of cost savings or carbon footprint reduction (see Gebhart ¶0105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to apply the known technique of using artificial intelligence and determining of a “digital waste,” to perform a data migration to a different cloud (as disclosed by Gebhart) to the known method and system of quantifying cloud computing operations and usage data to determine cost and carbon footprint savings as cloud management actions (as disclosed by Chen). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the known technique of using artificial intelligence to perform this analysis because a trained neural network could “automatically analyze large amounts of data” (see Gebhart ¶0065) better than a human and would do it to save costs or reduce a carbon footprint to “continuously and/or automatically adjust the real infrastructure consumption to the needed infrastructure via automatic de-provisioning” (see Gebhart ¶0105). See also MPEP 2143.I.G. and MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Regarding claims 5 and 25:
The combination of Chen and Gebhart, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 4 and 24, respectively.
Chen further teaches:
determining, using the processing device, at least one of an energy consumption and a carbon emission associated with the at least one current cloud infrastructure based on analyzing of the at least one current cloud infrastructure information; (In ¶0038: teaching that energy, i.e., power consumption, is one of the main metrics analyzed for the datacenters and correlates with carbon emissions attributable to the data center actions. Further, in ¶0064 and ¶0066 – 68, teaching the determination of power consumption for a particular service and then an associated carbon emission for that service.)
calculating, using the processing device, a reduced energy consumption and/or reduced carbon emission based on (1) the at least one of the energy consumption and the carbon emission associated with the at least one current cloud infrastructure and (2) the at least one optimized cloud infrastructure information; and (In ¶0026: teaching comparing differences to “reduce costs”, including ecological costs such as carbon emissions. See ¶0038 – 39 also.)
converting, using the processing device, the reduced energy consumption and/or the reduced carbon emission into a carbon credit based on the reduced energy consumption and/or the reduced carbon emission using at least one standard, wherein generating the at least one management information is further based on the carbon credit to prioritize implementation of the at least one cloud management action. (In ¶0077: teaching providing the data to an end-user interface. See also ¶0040 teaching display of the results in a report format for management or a customer.)
However, Chen fails to expressly teach that the carbon emission reduction is converted into a carbon credit. Nevertheless, Gebhart teaches that the determination and taking action that reduces carbon emissions “could even form the basis for an exchange of carbon credits” (see Gebhart ¶0055).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to apply the known technique of using artificial intelligence and the conversion of carbon emission reduction into a carbon credit to perform a data migration to a different cloud (as disclosed by Gebhart) to the known method and system of quantifying cloud computing operations and usage data to determine cost and carbon footprint savings as cloud management actions (as disclosed by Chen). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the known technique of using artificial intelligence to perform this analysis because a trained neural network could “automatically analyze large amounts of data” (see Gebhart ¶0065) better than a human and would do it to save costs or reduce a carbon footprint to “continuously and/or automatically adjust the real infrastructure consumption to the needed infrastructure via automatic de-provisioning” (see Gebhart ¶0105). See also MPEP 2143.I.G. and MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Regarding claims 7 and 26:
The combination of Chen and Gebhart, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 21, respectively.
Chen further teaches:
wherein at least one of the one or more clouds is synchronized with at least one external device, wherein the method further comprising: determining, using the processing device, at least one device management action for the at least one external device based on the determining of the at least one cloud management action, (In ¶0037; Fig. 3: teaching that the invention relates to data center activities such as external cloud management actions, including, as shown in Figure 3, various external devices such as vendor databases or cloud storage. Further, ¶0026 is teaching providing information comparing different potential actions (i.e. “cap power consumption to meet sustainability goals, reduce costs, and/or meet regulator requirements”) so that the more sustainable action can be selected.)
wherein the generating of the at least one management information is further based on the determining of the at least one device management action for the at least one external device, wherein the at least one management information facilitates a performing of the at least one device management action for managing of the at least one external device. (In ¶0026; Fig. 3: teaching providing information comparing different potential actions (i.e. “cap power consumption to meet sustainability goals, reduce costs, and/or meet regulator requirements”) so that the more sustainable action can be selected, including, as shown in Figure 3 and in ¶0023 teaching various external devices as “sources” such as vendor databases or cloud storage.)
Regarding claims 9 and 28:
The combination of Chen and Gebhart, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 21, respectively.
Chen further teaches:
further comprising: generating, using the processing device, at least one initial management information distinct from the executable code, wherein the at least one initial management information comprises a report associated with at least one cloud of the one or more clouds, the report including at least one optimization parameter or configuration option for the at least one cloud; and (In ¶0035: teaching outputting the data in the “format of a report” (see ¶0040 also). See ¶0026 teaching using that data to “reduce costs”, i.e., optimize costs.)
receiving, using the communication device, at least one user response selecting or modifying at least one of the optimization parameters or configuration options, and wherein generating the at least one management information is further based on the at least one initial management information and the at least one user response. (In ¶0026: teaching using the data to “reduce costs” including by the user using the “management tools”.)
Regarding claims 10 and 29:
The combination of Chen and Gebhart, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 21, respectively.
However, Chen fails to expressly teach the abilities of generating and transmitting a questionnaire and instructions associated with the questionnaire to a user device and receive user input commands to analyze and constrain cloud information. Thus, Gebhart further teaches:
further comprising: generating, using the processing device, at least one questionnaire and at least one instruction associated with the at least one questionnaire based on the analyzing of the cloud information and the at least one request; (In ¶0100: teaches “another approach for X-data collection” which “involves automatically asking users for feedback from time to time after having used a specific software solution. The number of survey participants and the corresponding feedback clusters describe the impact. As an incentive to provide feedback, a feedback counter could be established (e.g., X % of all users are happy/unhappy with provided solution), together with an information about the planned next steps in case of a necessary improvement.”)
transmitting, using the communication device, the at least one questionnaire and the at least one instruction to the at least one user device; and (In ¶0121; Fig. 6 (611): teaches that “computer system 610 can send and receive information, including messages or other interface actions, through the network interface 604 across a local network 620, an Intranet, or the Internet 630” wherein “software components or services may reside on multiple different computer systems 610 or servers 631-635 across the network” which is directed to the user devices. See ¶0027 wherein the received “the experiential data can represent actual user feedback (e.g., responses to explicit questions regarding satisfaction with the cloud-hosted software)” which suggests that explicit questions were sent by the system to record user responses/satisfaction. See ¶0050 wherein “a data source that communicates input could be the user of the hosted software program”)
receiving, using the communication device, an input command from the at least one user device based on the at least one questionnaire, wherein analyzing the cloud information is further constrained based on the input command, the at least one questionnaire, and the at least one instruction. (In ¶0047: teaching “the processing engine may receive inputs from other than the cloud system. And, those other inputs may further be considered in generating the output command to an actuator.” Further, in ¶0100 – 106 after receiving “X-data collection” that includes “automatically asking users for feedback from time to time after having used a specific software solution” that is further converted in clusters to “describe the impact”, and based on this received input, the “ICO controller” “can trigger intelligent cloud operations” such as “adjust the infrastructure based on experienced lag times or corresponding survey feedback.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to apply the known technique of generating and transmitting a questionnaire and instructions associated with the questionnaire to a user device and receive user input commands to analyze and constrain cloud information (as disclosed by Gebhart) to the known method and system of quantifying cloud computing operations and usage data to determine cloud management actions for cost savings (as disclosed by Chen). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the known technique of generating questionnaires for the user so the user can provide feedback to “adjust the infrastructure based on experienced lag times or corresponding survey feedback.” (see Gebhart ¶0106). See also MPEP 2143.I.G. and MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Claims 8 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. Pub No. 20140324407 A1) in view of Gebhart (U.S. Pub No. 20210349851 A1) in further view of Subramanian (U.S. Patent No. 10452441 B1) and Forbes (AU Pub No. 2013277072 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 27:
The combination of Chen and Gebhart, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 7 and 26, respectively.
Chen further teaches:
further comprising: obtaining, using the processing device, at least one device data associated with the at least one external device; (In ¶0023: teaching that the invention relates to data center activities such as external, cloud device activities and data can be accessed via a “source 115 of information for the data center(s) including cross-platform data centers such as an internal or external cloud”. See ¶0038 teaching that energy, i.e., power consumption, is one of the main metrics analyzed for the datacenters and correlates with carbon emissions attributable to the data center actions. Further, in ¶0064 and ¶0066 – 68, teaching the determination of power consumption for a particular service and then an associated carbon emission for that service.)
analyzing, using the processing device, the at least one device data; (In ¶0038: teaching that energy, i.e., power consumption, is one of the main metrics analyzed for the datacenters and correlates with carbon emissions attributable to the data center actions.)
calculating, using the processing device, a reduced energy consumption of the at least one external device based on the at least one device data, the digital waste, and the at least one device management action; (In ¶0061; Figs. 4 and 5: teaching energy consumption calculations for a virtual machine as a “virtual machine resource usage model (Equation 2) may be used to calculate usage of a virtualized component. After obtaining the resource usage for each component (virtualized or non-virtualized, dedicated or non-dedicated), the power model (Equation 3) can be used to obtain the component level power consumption. Finally, the component level power consumption can be aggregated to obtain the service's power consumption, as shown by Equation (5)”. See ¶0048 also wherein “a virtual machine's power consumption can be calculated using Equation (3)” which considers “CPU usage and allocated memory sizes” as a basis. Examiner notes that such energy consumption calculations can be re-calculated in the aggregating step (i.e. as shown in Fig. 6 and ¶0059 for details of the DAG modelling with power consumption data of different services) when the system is processing new requests regarding to reduced energy consumption calculations. The consideration of digital waste for the reduced energy consumption calculations is further addressed below.)
However, Chen fails to expressly teach the abilities of determining a digital waste and generate carbon credit information. Thus, Gebhart further teaches:
determining, using the processing device, a digital waste associated with the at least one external device based on the analyzing of the at least one device data, wherein the determining of the at least one device management action is further based on the digital waste associated with the at least one external device; (In ¶0107: teaching an example wherein “ICO actuator provides basic operations” (see ¶0107) such as “Install/deinstall” of operations that “mostly used for software solutions that are unused over a longer period” (i.e. determining digital waste) and “Move” wherein “move operation involves relocating from one cloud provider to another, with zero or near-zero downtime” which is achieved by “using the life migration features of a VM environment, or via using a High Availability (HA) setup to perform a seamless switch”, in accordance to the examples given for external devices that include 3rd party platforms/SaaS platforms in ¶0045 and ¶0092 from Applicant disclosure. See ¶0108 – 112, wherein “FIG. 4 shows a simplified example where a controlled software solution is utilizing the cloud computing resources provided by a particular Cloud Provider #1 (e.g., Google Cloud Services)” to generate a “recommendation to save cost” and/or “recommendation to have the application migrate the operation of the software solution from Cloud Provider #1, to a different Cloud Provider #2 (e.g., AZURE available from Amazon) in order to save costs”.)
…and generating, using the processing device, at least one carbon credit information based on the converting of the reduced energy consumption into the carbon credit (In ¶0055: teaching that “carbon footprint data could be referenced by the processing engine to determine an action to be taken in terms of consumption of fossil fuel resources” which can include “consumption of electricity” that can be processed and thus, the “carbon footprint data could even form the basis for an exchange of carbon credits amongst different software systems”.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to apply the known technique of using artificial intelligence as well as determining a digital waste and generate carbon credit information (as disclosed by Gebhart) to the known method and system of quantifying cloud computing operations and usage data to determine cost and carbon footprint savings as cloud management actions (as disclosed by Chen). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the known technique of using artificial intelligence to perform this analysis because a trained neural network could “automatically analyze large amounts of data” (see Gebhart ¶0065) better than a human and would do it to save costs or reduce a carbon footprint to “continuously and/or automatically adjust the real infrastructure consumption to the needed infrastructure via automatic de-provisioning” (see Gebhart ¶0105). See also MPEP 2143.I.G. and MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
However, Chen fails to expressly teach the ability of converting the reduced energy consumption of an external device into a carbon credit. Thus, Forbes which discloses “method and system and apparatus for actively controlling power load management for customers attached to the electric power grid, and for creating operating reserves for utilities and market participants” (see ¶0002; Forbes) but also include “alternative methods” based on “consumer profiles where multiple “what if” scenarios based upon time of use, pricing, pricing triggers, comfort and unforeseen events such as natural disasters are contemplated” and “the aggregation of the consumer profiles through the plurality of systems and apparatus' to act individually or connected and networked together to act as one resource through an energy management system or some other approved processor/database/cloud based system that is able to aggregate the sum of the profiles, determine the Power Supply Values, create the operating reserves via the profiles and send the appropriate command & control commands through various IP based communications methods to effect the devices, permitted through these profiles, to perform either curtailment (or consumption) to created the appropriate Operating Reserve product.” (see ¶0202; Forbes), thus teaches:
converting, using the processing device, the reduced energy consumption into a carbon credit based on the calculating of the reduced energy consumption;… (In ¶0121: teaching “an optional carbon savings application 132 uses the information produced by the power savings application 120, including PSV, PTB, and combinations, to determine the amount of carbon saved by each utility and by each customer for every Cut or reduce event. Carbon savings information (e.g., type of fuel that was used to generate power for the customer set that was included in the just completed event, power, PSV, PTB, and/or combinations saved in the prior event, governmental standard calculation rates, and/or other data, such as generation mix per serving utility and geography of the customer's location and the location of the nearest power source) is stored in the ALD database 124 for each active load client 300 (customer) and in the utility P&C database 134 for each utility. The carbon savings application 132 calculates the total equivalent carbon credits saved for each active load client 300 (customer) and utility participating in the previous Cut or reduce event, and stores the information in the ALD database 124 and the utility P&C database 134, respectively”. See ¶0154 wherein “the carbon savings application 132 determines carbon credits based on government approved or supplied formulas and stores the determined carbon credits and/or PSV and/or PTB on a per customer and/or per utility basis.” )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen, Gebhart and Subramanian to provide the ability of converting the reduced energy consumption of an external device into a carbon credit, as taught by Forbes in order to track or accumulate “power saved and/or carbon credits earned on a per customer or per utility basis for future use by the utility and/or customer” (¶0013; Forbes), see also MPEP 2143.I.G. Further such ability provided by Forbes into Chen, Gebhart and Subramanian’s systems would have been obvious because the claimed invention is merely applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 406 (2007). In other words, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (i.e., predictable results are obtained by applying the known technique of converting carbon credits from reduced energy consumption calculations for an external device (as provided by Forbes) to the known method of quantifying cloud computing operations and usage data to determine cost and carbon footprint savings as cloud management actions (as disclosed by Chen), but also considering digital waste determinations, to further generate carbon credit information (as provided by Gebhart) from the reduced energy consumption conversion, as provided by Gebhart). See also MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mahadevan (U.S. Pub No. 20230042646 A1) is pertinent because it “relates to techniques for remotely managing resources of an Active Directory (AD) for a cloud computing infrastructure. Specifically, the present disclosure provides a technique to remotely configure and manage AD resources.” See at least ¶0036 wherein “one or more processor(s) within the infrastructure platform 120 may generate one or more scripts, such as Powershell scripts, that will perform the necessary actions, which provide the added benefit of being able to use AD-specific commands, if necessar”
Smith (U.S. Pub No. 20170063710 A1) is pertinent because it provides “a monitoring resource is configured to perform (or cause performance of) operations and/or functions on computing resources of a computing environment in response to alerts generated by a management resource” to “allow users to add operations and/or functionality to the management resource”. See ¶0064 at least wherein “new actions may be uploaded and/or added to the example resource manager 108 to extend the functionality of the resource manager 108. For example, new actions can be implemented by scripts for execution that may be written in any programming language for which an interpreter or execution engine is installed in the resource manager 108”.
Chen - b (U.S. Pub No. 20250013500 A1) is pertinent because it “relates to a deep reinforcement learning-based cloud data center adaptive efficient resource allocation method.”
Chen - b (U.S. Pub No. 20250013500 A1) is pertinent because it “relates to a deep reinforcement learning-based cloud data center adaptive efficient resource allocation method.”
Wong (U.S. Pub No. 20230138727 A1) is pertinent because it is “relates to managing cloud resources, and more particularly to controlling cloud resource usage based on carbon emission.”
Smith - b (U.S. Patent No. US 11755372 B2) is pertinent because it is about “methods, systems, and apparatus, including computer-readable media, for environment monitoring and management. In some implementations, information indicating a planned usage level for usage of cloud computing services is accessed by a group of multiple computing environments over a period of time.”
Lang (U.S. Pub No. US 20210064431 A1) is pertinent because teaches that “during training, once the machine learning model generates the likelihood of the system or user usage, the computing system can take one or more additional steps to improve the prediction of the machine learning model. By communicating with the cloud computing system represented by cloud computing system, the computing system efficiently manage cloud computing resources and predictively avoid running idle cloud-hosted environments, while also not shutting down environments prematurely. Thus, the computing system can anticipate client device action and minimize overall cost for the client devices for using the services provided by the server environment.”
/IVONNEMARY RIVERA GONZALEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3626 /DENNIS W RUHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626