DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of preparing a natural colorant such as described in paragraph [0085] of the specification, does not reasonably provide enablement a method of making a natural colorant by mixing an isolated or purified glutamine with any and all materials in the form selected from the group consisting of whole fruit, fruit juice, fruit puree, fruit juice concentrate of dried powder from fruit, dried powder from juice, water-insoluble parts of fruit of Genipa americana., and combinations of any thereof as claimed.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to practice the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Undue experimentation would be required to practice the invention as claimed due to the quantity of experimentation necessary; limited amount of guidance and limited number of working examples provided in the specification; nature of the invention; state of the prior art; relative skill level of those in the art; predictability or unpredictability in the art; and breadth of the claims. In re Wands, 8USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Applicant’s claims are drawn to a method of making a natural colorant with mixing Genipa americana fruit in any form with glutamine. However, the specification provides only one example of isolated/purified glutamine usage, that is --Table 12, which was produced by the process specified in paragraph [0085].
Unpredictability with regard to natural extracts due to their highly complex nature has been well documented. Revilla et al. (J. Agric. Food Chem. (1998), vol. 46, pp. 4592-4597) showed that the slightest variations in polarity of solvent and reaction time upon grape extraction provided respective products with unique characteristic properties (See tables 1, 2, 4, 5, 6 and 7 in Revilla). In turn, each product would possess varying pharmacological properties based upon their respective methods of extraction.
The specification does not provide any specific guidance to show that any and all forms of Genipa americana combined with any amount of glutamine would produce a natural colorant.
Consequently, given the unpredictability of the art, the lack of guidance from the specification and the quantity of experimentation needed to practice the claimed invention, the claims are not considered to be enabled for the full scope of the invention.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), states that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed" (See page 1117). The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed" (See Vas-Cath at page 1116).
In Ariad Pharm. Inc. v. Eli Lily & Co. 598 F ad 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2010) en banc}, the Federal Circuit noted the importance of an application's disclosure, stating, “the hallmark of written description is disclosure.” A disclosure adequately describes an invention when it “reasonably conveys to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date.” Id. at 1354. “A ‘mere wish or plan’ for obtaining the claimed invention is not adequate written description.” Centocor Ortho Biotech, Inc. v. Abbot Labs, 636 F.3d 1341, 1948 (Fed. Cir. 2011)
Satisfying the written description requirement “varies with the nature and scape of the invention at issue, and with the scientific and technologic knowledge already in existence.” Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F. 3d 1349, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2005). The Federal Circuit explained what is required to meet the written description requirement in Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co:
This inquiry, as we have long held, is a question of fact. Ralston Purina, 772 F.2d at 575. Thus, we have recognized that determining whether a patent complies with the written description requirement will necessarily vary depending on the context. Capon v Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357-58 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Specifically, the level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology. Id. For generic claims, we have set forth a number of factors for evaluating the adequacy of the disclosure, including “the existing knowledge in the particular field, the extent and content of the prior art, the maturity of the science or technology, [and] the predictability of the aspect at issue." Id. at 1359.
A written description of a genus in biotechnological arts “requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name” of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials. Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 199 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The Federal Circuit reflected on Eli Lilly in Ariad while explaining how to sufficiently describe a genus in biotechnological applications:
We held that a sufficient description of a genus instead requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species fitting within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus. Id. at 1568-69. We explained that an adequate written description requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, physical properties, or other properties, of species falling within the genus sufficient to distinguish the genus from other materials. Id. at 1568 (quoting Fiers v. Revel 984 F.2d 1164, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 1993). We have also held that functional claim language can meet the written description requirement when the art has established a correlation between structure and function. See Enzo, 323 F.3d at 964 (quoting 66 Fed. Reg. 1099 (Jan. 5, 2001). But merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing that one has invented a genus and not just a species.
A “representative number of species” must typify the entire claimed genus and account for variation between the species of the genus:
[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictably in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated. Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Or. 2004).
In Ariad, the Court also addressed the presence of a genus within a method claim, in Rochester, we held invalid claims directed to a method of selectively inhibiting the COX-2 enzyme by administering a non-steroidal compound that selectively inhibits the COX-2 enzyme. Id. at 918. We reasoned that because the specification did not describe any specific compound capable of performing the claimed method and the skilled artisan would not be able to identify any such compound based on the specification’s function description, the specification did not provide an adequate written description of the claimed invention. Id. at 927-28. Ariad, at 1373.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the invention had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed by him or her. The courts have stated:
“To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that the inventor invented the claimed invention.’ Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F. 3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Gostelli, 872 F. 2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed.”). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement “by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, no that which makes it obvious,” and by using “such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention.” Lockwood, 107 F. 3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the Application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention. Disclosure of any combination of such identifying characteristics that distinguish the claimed invention from other materials would lead one of skill in the art to the conclusion that the applicant was in possession of the claimed species is sufficient” MPEP § 2163.
The MPEP indicates:
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A), above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B), above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C), above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
What constitutes a “representative number” is an inverse function of the skill and knowledge in the art. Satisfactory disclosure of a “representative number” depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly.
However, the specification provides only one example of isolated/purified glutamine usage, that is --Table 12, which was produced by the process specified in paragraph [0085].
There is well-known unpredictability regarding natural product extracts and their e.g., pharmaceutical capabilities. The resulting compositions and thus functional properties of an extraction process are highly dependent on the particular steps of the extraction and the extraction solvent employed
Raskin et al. clearly establish the grave unpredictability of elucidating active ingredients from natural sources:
Multi-component botanical therapeutics also present unique challenges in identifying their active ingredients and in validating their clinical effects. Activity-guided fractionation and reconstitution experiments currently used to characterize compound interferences within a mixture are cumbersome and time consuming…..While chromatographic analysis is often employed to produce biochemical fingerprints used for product comparison…..in the absence of information about the identity of active ingredients, such analysis is hardly reliable, since chromatography provides an incomplete picture of the qualitative and quantitative comparison of a complex extract (p. 3426, col. 2 – p. 3427, col. 1) emphasis added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rendered vague and indefinite because it is unclear what the difference is between the “blend” and the “natural colorant”.
Claim 3 is rendered vague and indefinite by the phrase “further comprising adjusting a pH of the natural colorant to between 4-9”. The phrase is confusing since there method of claim 1 already has a step of adjusting the pH to between 4 and 9.
Claim 11 is rendered vague and indefinite by the phrase “wherein the adjusting the pH of the natural colorant occurs continuously throughout the process”. It is unclear what this actually entails. The “natural colorant” is the end product of the process, so does the recited language mean that the pH is adjusted at the end.
All other claims depend directly or indirectly from rejected claims and are, therefore, also rejected under U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, for the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 8,945,640) in view of Kelly et al. (US2012/0219667) and further in view of Kisters et al. (US 6,331,569).
Wu et al. discloses a process of making a natural colorant (a method of preparing (a process) a natural colorant from Genipa americana; abstract; column 2, lines 39-42) comprising: mixing a primary amine (a primary amine; column 5, lines 10-13) containing compound to a material selected from the group consisting of genipin, purified genipin, pre-genipin compounds, iridoid compounds, genipin derivatives, a genipin-containing compound, and combinations of any thereof, thus forming a blend (a genipin-rich extract from the fruit of Genipa American (a material consisting of genipin) is mixed with compounds having the primary amine group (forming a blend); abstract;
column 2, lines 39-42; column 5, lines 4-6, 24-26); and heating the blend (heating the mixed genipin-rich extract and the primary amine (the blend); column 2, lines 39-42; column 8, lines 23-25; column 9, lines 24-26), thus producing the natural colorant (heating the mixed materials to form the natural colorant with a desired color such as red or blue; column 2, lines 39-42; column 8, lines 29-31; column 9, lines 24-26).
Wu et al. further discloses wherein the genipin-containing compound is selected
from the group consisting of Genipa americana (the genipin-rich extract from the Genipa americana; abstract; column 3, lines 27-29), fruits from close relatives of Genipa americana, and combinations of any thereof.
Wu et al. further discloses wherein the material (the genipin-rich
extract from the Genipa americana; abstract; column 3, lines 27-29) is in the form selected from the group consisting of whole fruit (whole; fruit; column 3, lines 23-26), fruit juice (fruit juice; column 3, lines 23-26), fruit puree (fruit puree; column 3, lines 23-26), fruit juice concentrate (fruit juice concentrate; column 3, lines 23-26), dried powder from fruit (dried powder from fruit; column 3, lines 23-26), dried powder from juice (dried powder from juice; column 3, lines 23-26), water-insoluble parts of fruit (water-insoluble parts of fruit; column 3, lines 23-26), derivatives of any thereof, and combinations of any thereof.
Wu et al. further discloses wherein the amino acid is selected from the group _
consisting of isoleucine, L-isoleucine (L-isoleucine; cotumn 9, lines 50-52), lysine (lysine; column 5, lines 14-17; column 6, lines 10-15), L-lysine monohydrochloride, arginine, L-arginine base, glutamic acid (glutamic acid; column 6, lines 10-15), L-glutamic acid HCI, phenylalanine, L-phenylalanine, alanine (alanine; column 5, lines 14-17; column 6, lines 10-15; column 8, lines 29-31), serine (serine; column 5, lines 14-17; column 6, lines 10-15), glycine (glycine; column 5, lines 14-17; column 6, lines 10-15), arginine (arginine; column 5, lines 14-17; column 6, lines 10-15), glutamine (glutamine; column 5, lines 14-17), valine (valine; column 5, lines 14-17; column 6, lines 10-15), leucine (leucine; column 5, lines 14-17; column 6, lines 10-15), methionine (methionine; column 5, lines 14-17), asparagine (asparagine; column 5, lines 14-17), tyrosine (tyrosine; column 5, lines 14-17), carnitine (carnitine; column 5, lines 14-17), taurine (taurine; column 9, lines 50-52), and combinations of any thereof.
Wu et al. further discloses wherein the processing the material
further comprises an action selected from the group consisting of chopping (the Genipa americana fruits are cut into pieces (chopping); abstract; column 3, lines 27-29; column 7, lines 14-19), blending, blending with water (pureed and blended with deionized water; column 7, lines 16-19), mashing (pureed; column 7, lines 16-19), extracting juice, milling, filtering (filtering; column 7, lines 20-24), pressing, heating; drying, and combinations of any thereof.
Wu et al. further discloses the process further comprising filtering the blend (after being blended and pureed with the deionized water, puree solids are separated from aqueous extract by filtration; column 7, lines 16-24), resulting in a permeate (filtered to separate an insoluble solid form an aqueous extract (a permeate); column 7, lines 20-35).
While Wu et al. discloses filtering (filtering using a filter paper;
column 9, lines 18-23) the reference does not explicitly disclose wherein filtering the blend further comprises passing the blend through a membrane with a
molecular weight cutoff of 5,000 Daltons or less.
However, Kelly discloses wherein filtering a blend further comprises passing the blend through a membrane with a molecular weight cutoff of 5,000 Daltons or less (a nanofiltration (passing through a membrane) of a mixture (blend) to remove residues that are less than 1,000 Daltons; paragraph [0011}; table 1).
Furthermore, while Wu et al. does not disclose wherein the amino acid is the combination of amino acids selected from the group consisting of isoleucine and lysine, and isoleucine and alanine. However, Kisters discloses wherein the amino acid is the combination of amino acids selected from the group consisting of isoleucine and lysine (the amino acid blend comprising 25 percent isoleucine and 10 percent lysine, therefore 25/35x100= 71 percent isoleucine and 10/35x100= 29 percent lysine; column 5, lines 20-29). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have modified the process, as previously disclosed by Wu et al. in order to have provided wherein the amino acid is the combination of amino acids selected from the group consisting of isoleucine and lysine, as previously disclosed by Kisters, for the benefit of incorporating isoleucine and lysine into a natural colorant to achieve improved hair growth and hair structure (Kisters; column 1, lines 12-15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have modified the process, as previously disclosed by Wu et al., in order to have provided filtering a blend further comprises passing the blend through a membrane with a molecular weight cutoff of 5,000 Daltons or less, as previously
disclosed by Kelly, for the benefit of separating intact products from residual products (Kelly; paragraph [0011]) to improve quality of colorant.
. In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton."). In KSR, the Supreme Court indicated that the obviousness analysis should consider the “background knowledge possessed by a person having ordinary skill in the art.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Under KSR, information deemed within PHOSITA’s general knowledge is more powerful than that found buried in a prior art reference because we assume that PHOSITA would consider using their general knowledge in combination with the prior art — even absent any express motivation to do so. Under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the obviousness inquiry turns not only on the prior art, but whether “the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious . . . to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.” 35 U.S.C. § 103. Regardless of the tribunal, the inquiry into whether any “differences” between the invention and the prior art would have rendered the invention obvious to a skilled artisan necessarily depends on such artisan’s knowledge. See Philips v. Google & Microsoft 2020.
The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., employing one or more commonly-employed techniques of filtration, mixing, or finding an optimum temperature, etc.) is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan.
Accordingly, the instant claims, in the range of methodological variables where no unexpected results are observed, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill having the above cited references before him/her.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No.12,157,825. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to method of producing a natural colorant by combining amino acids with genipin-containing compositions. In addition, please note that the instant claims encompass and/or are encompassed by the "825 claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/RUSSELL G FIEBIG/Examiner, Art Unit 1655