DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8, line 1, “a second fixing hole” is considered indefinite since a first fixing hole has not been cited in claim 5 or 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagahashi (JP 2012-165542).
Re-claim 1, Nagahashi discloses a grommet comprising: a hollow body part (1) configured to be penetrated by a wire (2); a first mounting part (4) formed at a first end of the body part; a second mounting part (5) formed at a second end of the body part; a deformable part (3) configured to connect the first mounting part and the second mounting part, and configured to allow deformation of the body part; and at least one length adjustment part (10) formed on the body part and configured to allow a change in length of the body part.
Nagahashi also discloses that the deformable part is formed in a bellows shape (re-claim 2); the length adjustment part comprises: a variable part configured to be adjusted in length by an external force; and a fixing unit configured to fix the variable part with the adjusted length (re-claim 3); the variable part is formed in a bellows shape (re-claim 4); the fixing unit comprises: a first fixing protrusion (11) formed at one side of the variable part; and a strap (15) configured to be coupled to the first fixing protrusion to fix a length of the variable part (re-claim 5); a plurality of first fixing holes (C1, C3) are formed in the strap and separably coupled to the first fixing protrusion (re-claim 6); the fixing unit further comprises: a second fixing protrusion (12) formed at an other side of the variable part and separably coupled to the strap (re-claim 7); a second fixing hole (C4) is formed in the strap and separably coupled to the second fixing protrusion (12) (re-claim 8); the strap (15) extends from an end of the deformable part (3) (re-claim 9).
Re-claim 11, Nagahashi discloses a vehicle comprising: a first mounting part (4) configured to be fixed to any one of a vehicle body and a door; a second mounting part (5) configured to be fixed to another of the vehicle body and the door; a hollow body part (1) configured to connect the first mounting part and the second mounting part, and be penetrated by a wire (2); a deformable part (3) configured to allow deformation of the body part; and a length adjustment part (10) configured to allow a change in length of the body part.
Nagahashi also discloses that the deformable part is formed in a bellows shape (re-claim 12); the length adjustment part comprises: a variable part (10) configured to be adjusted in length by an external force; a first fixing protrusion (11) formed at one side of the variable part; a second fixing protrusion (12) formed at an other side of the variable part; and a strap (15) having a plurality of first fixing holes (C1, C3) separably coupled to the first fixing protrusion (11), and a second fixing hole (C4) separably coupled to the second fixing protrusion (12) (re-claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahashi in view of Kim et al.
Nagahashi discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the at least one length adjustment part comprising at least two length adjustment parts each formed at an opposite side of the deformable part. Kim et al. discloses a grommet comprising different body parts (40 and 50) which are alternately arranged. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the grommet of Nagahashi to comprise at least two length adjustment parts each formed at an opposite side of the deformable, i.e. two different body parts alternately arranged as taught by Kim et al., to meet the specific use of the resulting grommet. It has been held that merely duplicating the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841