DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen et al. (US Patent 6171297 hereinafter “Pedersen”) in view of Pedroso et al. (US Patent Pub. 20220176071 hereinafter “Pedroso”), Kuwada et al. (US Patent Pub. 20140046301 hereinafter “Kuwada”), Chien et al. (US Patent 5891114 hereinafter “Chien”), Cottone (US Patent Pub. 20180093070), Hoste (US Patent 6508806), Parker (US Patent Pub. 20040236346), and Salahieh et al. (US Patent Pub. 20080188928 hereinafter “Salahieh”).
Regarding Claim 15, Pederson teaches (Fig 9) a catheter body having a distal end and comprising:
an inner liner (!2);
a composite wall (14) comprising:
a reinforcement structure having a first layer (14a) of one or more metallic wires (Col 6 lines 63-64 "one or more wires 14a made of a first metal material") and a second layer (14b) of one or more metallic wires (Col 6 line 65), with each layer of metallic wires wound in helical patterns (Fig 9), with the first layer of one or more metallic wires wound around the inner liner and the second layer of one or more metallic wires wound around the first layer of one or more metallic wires (Col 6 lines 57-58, "radiopaque elements 14a may overlap second radiopaque elements 14b and be generally coaxial along portion A."), and
an outer jacket (16).
Pedersen does not specify that the inner liner is made of a lubricous polymer or that the outer jacket is comprises of a distal jacket material that is a soft elastomer of hardness 60 Shore A or lower.
Pedroso teaches a catheter (Fig 1) comprising a lubricious polymeric inner liner (115; [0042] teaches 115 is an inner most liner that is made of PTFE) and an outer jacket (182) that is comprised of a distal jacket material that is a soft elastomer of hardness 60 Shore A or lower (see [0072], "jacket 182 can be a low durometer urethane or NeuSoft™ (42-73 Shore A)").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner liner and outer jacket of Pedersen such that the inner liner is made of a lubricous polymer and that the outer jacket is comprises of a distal jacket material that is a soft elastomer of hardness 60 Shore A or lower as taught by Pedroso. It has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose (see MPEP 2144.07).
The combination of Pedersen and Pedroso does not specify wherein the first layer of one or more metallic wires and the second layer of one or more metallic wires are together comprised of at least three Parallel Groups of metallic wires; and wherein "Parallel Groups" means all metallic wires that are wound in the same direction and at the same angle such that they never intersect, regardless of which layer they are in; wherein a second Parallel Group is comprised of eight wires and wound clockwise, a third Parallel Group is comprises of eight wires and wound counterclockwise and inter-woven with the second parallel group to create a single layer.
Kuwada teaches [0027] a reinforcement layer (26) may have different combinations of first wires (26a) and second wires (26b) such as 8+8 wires, 4+4 wires, or an unbalanced combination of wires such as 4+8 wires. Kuwada further teaches [0026] that all the first wires are wound in one direction and all the second wires are wound in another direction (this results in a parallel group of first wires wound clockwise and a parallel group of second wires wound counter clockwise and interwoven to create a single layer ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first layer of one or more metallic wires and the second layer of one or more metallic wires of the modified Pedersen such that they are together comprised of at least three Parallel Groups of metallic wires; and wherein "Parallel Groups" means all metallic wires that are wound in the same direction and at the same angle such that they never intersect, regardless of which layer they are in, wherein a second Parallel Group is comprised of eight wires and wound clockwise, a third Parallel Group is comprises of eight wires and wound counterclockwise and inter-woven with the second parallel group to create a single layer as taught by Kuwada. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this is a known method of braiding and weaving multiple metal wires into a net or mesh to create a reinforcement layer (Kuwada [0026]).
The combination does not teach where a first Parallel Group is the first layer and comprises a single wire with a spacing sk that is between 3-5 times the wire width wk and a wire angle 𝛉k that is less than 8 degrees, a second parallel group with wire angle 𝛉k of 15 degrees and a third parallel group with a wire angle 𝛉k of 15 degrees.
Chien teaches (Col 13 line 32) that braid angles may range from 7.5 degrees to 60 degrees. Chien also teaches (Col 10 lines 49-51), that the braid member spacing becomes more spaced distally to promote distal flexibility.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first layer of the modified Pedersen such that it has a wire angle that is less than 8 degrees and larger wire spacing as taught by Chien. Additionally, to modify the second layer of the modified Pederson such that a second parallel group has a wire angle 𝛉k of 15 degrees and a third parallel group has a wire angle 𝛉k of 15 degrees as taught by Chien. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to lower the stiffness in the more distal sections of the catheter (Chien Col 8 lines 36-50).
The combination does not specify a wire spacing that is 3-5 times the width of the wire, where the wire angle is measured relative to a cross-section of the catheter body that is parallel to the distal end of the catheter body. The instant disclosure describes the parameter of a wire spacing that is 3-5 times the width of the wire as being merely preferable, and does not describe the parameter as contributing any unexpected results to the system. As such, parameters such as a wire spacing that is 3-5 times the width of the wire are considered to be matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the limitation of a wire spacing that is 3-5 times the width of the wire would be dependent on the actual application of the system and, thus would be a design choice based on the actual application.
The combination does not specify wherein the catheter body has an inner diameter of 0.088" with three Parallel Groups.
Cottone teaches [0183] a known inner diameter range for catheters is 0.10mm – 3.5mm (which is equivalent to 0.0039 in - 0.1377 in).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner diameter of the catheter body of the modified Pedersen such that it is 0.088” as taught by Cottone. it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the inner diameter of the catheter body to be 0.088” since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
The combination does not specify wherein the second parallel group and third parallel groups have a spacing sk of 0.010" from one wire to the next.
Parker teaches [0058] a catheter with uniform wire spacing within a range of 0.01 – 0.06 inches (see [0058] “Uniform spacing between the turns of the flat wire coil are preferably 0.02 inches ranging from 0.01 to 0.06 inches approximately.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spacing of the wires of the modified Pederson such that the wires have a spacing sk of 0.010" from one wire to the next as taught by Parker. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this as an alternative design of the wires that would yield a similar result of reinforcement of the catheter body (Parker [0058])
The combination does not specify wherein all the layers of one or more metallic wires of the reinforcement structure together results in a Wire Coverage Ratio (WCR) which is the summation of the coverage percentage by each Parallel Group of wires, a second Parallel Group is comprised of eight wires of 0.001" x 0.002" flat wire, a third Parallel Group is comprised of eight wires of 0.001" x 0.002" flat wire with and wherein the WCR of the combined first Parallel Group, the second Parallel Group and the third Parallel Group is 50-60%.
Salahieh teaches [0046] varying wire braid density, through wire wrapping and thickness can allow for different regions of radial compliance.
The examiner takes the position that changing the wire braid density would correlate to the wire coverage ratio as described by the instant application. The recited equation and the instant application Pg. 5 lines 15-32 described how the wire coverage ratio is determined by the number of parallel groups, wire width, angle and spacing. Kuwada already teaches varying the number of parallel groups and Salahieh teaches in [0046] varying the wire thickness.
Furthermore, Hoste teaches (Col 5 line 40- 53) a catheter with wire layers having a wire coverage ratio of about 50%. Hoste also teaches multiple dimensions for the flat wires.
As such, the limitation of a Wire Coverage Ratio (WCR) of 50-60%, wherein the WCR is the percentage of the surface area of the inner liner which is covered by all the layers of the metallic wires of the reinforcement structure is considered to be matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the limitation of a Wire Coverage Ratio (WCR) of 50-60%, would be dependent on the actual application of the system and, thus would be a design choice based on the actual application and obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results.
The combination does not specify the flat wires having a dimension of 0.001" x 0.002". The instant disclosure describes the parameter of the flat wires having a dimension of 0.001" x 0.002" as being merely preferable, and does not describe the parameter as contributing any unexpected results to the system. As such, parameters such as the flat wires having a dimension of 0.001" x 0.002" are considered to be matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the limitation of the flat wires having a dimension of 0.001" x 0.002" would be dependent on the actual application of the system and, thus would be a design choice based on the actual application.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Pedersen, Pedroso, Kuwada, Chien Cottone, Parker, Salahieh and Hoste teaches the catheter body of claim 15, wherein WCR is defined by the equation: WCR, =
(100%-
Where: n = number of distinct Parallel Groups of wires in the reinforcement structure WCRn= The combined Wire Coverage Ratio of all n Parallel Groups of wire(s) of the reinforcement structure Wk = the wire width of wire(s) in the kth Parallel Group θk= the angle of wire(s) in the kth Parallel Group, as measured relative to a cross- section of the catheter body that is parallel to an end of the catheter body sk= the spacing between consecutive wires in the kth Parallel Group. (The examiner takes the position that changing the wire braid density would correlate to the wire coverage ratio as described by the instant application. The recited equation and the instant application Pg. 5 lines 15-32 described how the wire coverage ratio is determined by the number of parallel groups, wire width, angle and spacing. Kuwada already teaches varying the number of parallel groups and Salahieh teaches in [0046] varying the wire thickness.)
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Pedersen, Pedroso, Kuwada, Chien, Cottone, Parker, Salahieh and Hoste teaches the catheter body of claim 15, wherein the soft elastomer has a hardness 42 or 52 Shore A (Pedroso [0072], "jacket 182 can be a low durometer urethane or NeuSoft™ (42-73 Shore A)").
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Pedersen, Pedroso, Kuwada, Chien, Cottone, Parker, Salahieh and Hoste teaches all elements of claim 15 as described above. The combination does not specify the catheter body wherein the catheter body has a distal region which extends for a length of 3cm to 30cm from the distal end of the catheter body, and wherein the WCR of 50-60% for all the layers of one or more metallic wires of the reinforcement structure is only at the distal region.
Chien teaches (Col 9 lines 54-59) a typical dimension of a distal section of a catheter is 2.5-30cm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter body of the modified Pedersen such that the catheter body has a distal region which extends for a length of 3cm to 30cm from the distal end of the catheter body as taught by Chien. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as this is a generally used range of length for catheters (Chien Col 9 lines 54-59).
The combination does not specify the WCR of 50-60% for all the layers of one or more metallic wires of the reinforcement structure is only at the distal region. The instant disclosure describes the parameter of the WCR of 50-60% for all the layers of one or more metallic wires of the reinforcement structure is only at the distal region as being merely preferable, and does not describe the parameter as contributing any unexpected results to the system. As such, parameters such as the WCR of 50-60% for all the layers of one or more metallic wires of the reinforcement structure is only at the distal region are considered to be matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the limitation of the WCR of 50-60% for all the layers of one or more metallic wires of the reinforcement structure is only at the distal region would be dependent on the actual application of the system and, thus would be a design choice based on the actual application.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Pedersen, Pedroso, Kuwada, Chien, Cottone, Parker, Salahieh and Hoste teaches all elements of claim 15 as described above. The combination does not specify the catheter body further including a tubular marker band that has a distal end, a proximal end, and an inner opening, with the inner opening of the marker band positioned around the first layer of one or more metallic wires and the second layer of one or more metallic wires, and wherein the first layer of one or more metallic wires and the second layer of one or more metallic wires each has a distal end that is positioned between the proximal end of the marker band and the distal end of the catheter.
Chien teaches (col 11 lines 42-54) dual marker band on a distal portion of a catheter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter body of the modified Pedersen such that it includes a tubular marker band as taught by Chien. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to identify the end of the catheter using fluoroscopy during procedures using the device (Chien Col 11 lines 15-20).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Pedersen, Pedroso, Kuwada, Chien, Cottone, Parker, Salahieh and Hoste teaches all elements of claim 15 as described above. The combination does not specify the catheter body further including a tubular marker band that has a distal end, a proximal end, and an inner opening, with the inner opening of the marker band positioned around the first layer of one or more metallic wires and the second layer of one or more metallic wires, and wherein the first layer of one or more metallic wires and the second layer of one or more metallic wires each has a distal end that is positioned between the proximal end of the marker band and the distal end of the marker band.
Chien teaches (col 11 lines 42-54) dual marker band on a distal portion of a catheter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catheter body of the modified Pedersen such that it includes a tubular marker band as taught by Chien. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to identify the end of the catheter using fluoroscopy during procedures using the device (Chien Col 11 lines 15-20).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Pedersen, Pedroso, Kuwada, Chien, Cottone, Parker, Salahieh and Hoste teaches the catheter body of claim 15, wherein the outer jacket is provided with softer polymers closer to the distal end of the catheter body and with harder and more rigid polymers proximal from the distal end of the catheter body (See Pedroso [0071-0072]).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Pedersen, Pedroso, Kuwada, Chien, Cottone, Parker, Salahieh and Hoste teaches all elements of claim 15 as described above. The combination does not specify the catheter body wherein WCR is 54%.
As described above, Salahieh teaches [0046] varying wire braid density, through wire wrapping and thickness can allow for different regions of radial compliance.
The examiner takes the position that changing the wire braid density would correlate to the wire coverage ratio as described by the instant application. The recited equation and the instant application Pg. 5 lines 15-32 described how the wire coverage ratio is determined by the number of parallel groups, wire width, angle and spacing. Kuwada already teaches varying the number of parallel groups and Salahieh teaches in [0046] varying the wire thickness.
Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying Pedersen in view of Pedroso, Kuwada, Chien, Cottone, Parker, Salahieh and Hoste to have a WCR that is 54%, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Pedersen by making the WCR is 54% as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen, Pedroso, Kuwada, Chien, Cottone, Parker, Salahieh and Hoste as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Nguyen (US 10512753).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Pedersen, Pedroso, Kuwada, Chien, Cottone, Parker, Salahieh and Hoste teaches all elements of claim 15 as described above. The combination does not specify the catheter body wherein the spacing sk of the first Parallel Group is 0.0065" and the wire angle θk for the first Parallel Group is 1.3 degrees.
Nguyen (Col 10 lines 10-11) teaches a coil spacing of 0.0060 in - 0.0080 in.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spacing of the first Parallel Group of the modified Pedersen to be 0.0065” as taught by Nguyen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide increased flexibility of the device (Nguyen Col 11 lines 5-6).
The combination does not specify the wire angle θk for the first Parallel Group is 1.3 degrees.
Chien teaches varying pitch angle between strands results in a device having different flexibilities.
The instant disclosure describes the parameter of the wire angle θk for the first Parallel Group is 1.3 degrees as being merely preferable, and does not describe the parameter as contributing any unexpected results to the system. As such, parameters such as the wire angle θk for the first Parallel Group is 1.3 degrees are considered to be matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the limitation of the wire angle θk for the first Parallel Group is 1.3 degrees would be dependent on the actual application of the system and, thus would be a design choice based on the actual application.
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Pedersen, Pedroso, Kuwada, Chien, Cottone, Parker, Salahieh, Hoste and Nguyen teaches all elements of claim 22 as described above. the combination does not specify wherein the WCR is 54%.
As described above, Salahieh teaches [0046] varying wire braid density, through wire wrapping and thickness can allow for different regions of radial compliance.
The examiner takes the position that changing the wire braid density would correlate to the wire coverage ratio as described by the instant application. The recited equation and the instant application Pg. 5 lines 15-32 described how the wire coverage ratio is determined by the number of parallel groups, wire width, angle and spacing. Kuwada already teaches varying the number of parallel groups and Salahieh teaches in [0046] varying the wire thickness.
Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying Pedersen in view of Pedroso, Kuwada, Chien, Cottone, Parker, Salahieh and Hoste to have a WCR that is 54%, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Pedersen by making the WCR is 54% as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to the remarks on Pg. 12-14, the applicant argues that the 103 rejection for claim 15 is not obvious because the eight references used do not read on all the limitation and do not make obvious all the limitation of the claim. The applicant argues specifically that the examiner has not taught the limitation that 1. “a spacing of sk that is between 3-5 times the wire width wk”. The examiner does not find this persuasive. The examiner agrees that the primary reference Pedersen does not specify these limitations. However, the examiner does not find the test results in the remarks and affidavit persuasive to provide criticality and non-obvious results. The applicant provided Test results in the affidavit filed 6/15/2026, however the applicant has only provided a few data points, showing results with a WCR of 54% which is within the range claimed 50-60%, 49% and 61% (two that are just outside the ranges). The applicant asserts that the results are “worse” and “significant” however it is not obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the results are “significant”. There is not enough data to show how the results vary within the claimed range of WCR of 50-60% and outside the range of 50-60%, how the data is “significantly” different or considered “worse”. Furthermore, due to the vast number of variables in the claim, particularly in this limitation “a spacing of sk that is between 3-5 times the wire width wk” it is unclear what the dimensions of the wires of the first parallel group need to be, and how varying the dimensions may affect the results of these tests. The claim dictates the dimensions of the wires of the parallel groups 2 and 3 but not the dimensions of the wire(s) of the first parallel group so it is unclear if the wire dimensions would be the same through all the tests or different. For this reason the rejection is maintained.
As to the remarks regarding the 2nd limitation “Flat wires in the second and third parallel groups having a dimension of 0.001” x 0.002” The applicant argues that the examiner has not provided any references for this recitation. However, the examiner has provided secondary references for the 2nd limitation. Hoste Col 5 lines 40-53 teaches an example of a device that shows how there may be multiple configurations of dimensions of flat wires used in order to achieve the desired 50% coverage around the tube. Based on this teaching from Hoste, one of ordinary skill in the art would, through routine optimization be able to determine a size a flat wire (which could include a dimension of 0.001”x0.002”) to be used in order to achieve the same coverage around the tube. For this reason the rejection is maintained.
As to the remarks regarding the 3rd limitation “a wire angle of 15 degrees that can be used for the second and third parallel groups”, the applicant argues that the cited secondary reference Chien does not teach specifically 15 degrees could be used between parallel groups of wires. The examiner has cited Chien Col 13 line 32 for the specific angle of 15 degrees. The examiner uses Chien Col 10 lines 49-51 and Col 8 lines 36-50 as motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Pederson to have the wire angle at 15 degrees in order to lower the stiffness of the catheter. For these reasons the rejection is maintained.
As to the remarks regarding the 4th missing limitation “inner diameter of 0.088””, the applicant argues that the secondary reference Cottone does not specify that the inner diameter of 0.088” is with three parallel groups. The examiner agrees that Cottone does not specify that the inner diameter is with three parallel groups, however the “three parallel groups” limitation was already met through the modification done with Pederson in view of Kuwada. As such, it is interpreted that the inner diameter of the modified Pederson would include the three parallel groups, therefore the modified Pederson in view of Cottone would include a 0.088” diameter with the three parallel groups. For these reasons the rejection is maintained.
As to the remarks on the last paragraph of Pg 13 – first paragraph of Pg 14, the applicant argues that Kuwada does not specify three parallel groups in the device. The examiner uses Kuwada to teach a plurality of wires used to form a parallel group and that multiple layers of parallel groups may be used in a design of a catheter. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived through routine optimization to provide three parallel groups as described by Kuwada to provide the desired reinforcement layers (Kuwada [0027]) and provide the desired effect of strength for the overall device. For these reasons the rejection is maintained.
As to the remarks on Pg. 14, the applicant argues that Hoste teaches a WCR that would result in a ratio greater than 50%. The applicant argues that the inner and outer layer combined would be greater than 50% and greater than 60%. Hoste does not specify that this WCR is greater than 60%. Furthermore, Hoste Col 5 lines 40-53 teaches an example of a device that shows how there may be multiple configurations of dimensions of flat wires used in order to achieve the desired 50% coverage around the tube. Based on this teaching from Hoste, one of ordinary skill in the art would, through routine optimization be able to determine a dimensions of flat wires to be used in order to achieve desired overall WCR including an outer and inner layer. The applicant has provided Test results in the remarks and the affidavit filed 6/15/2026 to assert the unexpected results of a WCR of 50-60%. The examiner does not find the test results in the remarks and affidavit persuasive to provide criticality and unexpected results. The applicant provided Test results in the affidavit filed 6/15/2026, however the applicant has only provided a few data points, showing results with a WCR of 54% which is within the range claimed 50-60%, 49% and 61% (two data points that are just outside the ranges). The applicant asserts that the results are “worse” and “significant” however it is not obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the results are “significant”. There is not enough data to show how the results vary within the claimed range of WCR of 50-60% and outside the range of 50-60%, how the data is “significantly” different or considered “worse”. The results may be a bell curve, which could be a well known or “expected” result. While the tables show “varying” or “different” results, it is not clear how the results are “significant” and “unexpected” (See MPEP 716.02).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Griffin et al. (US Patent Pub. 20070100285) teaches [0066] a flat wire with rectangular cross sectional dimensions.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEERAJA GOLLAMUDI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783